DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/05/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 remain pending. Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 have been amended.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome each objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 01/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (US 2,939,649) in view of Milde (US 2006/0054736 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shaw teaches a propulsion system, comprising:
a source of compressed fluid (#3; jet propulsion engines provide compressed air);
at least one tail thruster (#6) in fluid communication with the source (#5 to #5a to #6, see Fig. 6);
at least one turbine (#16, Fig. 3) in fluid communication with the source (#3 to #5 to #5a to #7 to #14) and coupled to a propeller (#11); and
an apparatus (#21/#22) for selectively providing the compressed fluid to one or both of the at least one tail thruster and the at least one turbine (column 2, line 44- column 3, line 2).
Shaw does not expressly disclose a primary airfoil element having an interior region, wherein the at least one tail thruster is at least partially disposed within the interior region.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Milde teaches a primary airfoil element having an interior region, wherein the at least one tail thruster is at least partially disposed within the interior region (Figs. 1-9, with thruster formed by 32, 28, and 30 shown disposed within the interior region of the primary airfoil; “The "thruster" incorporated into each wing component of the aircraft is illustrated in the concept diagrams of FIGS. 2, 5a, 5b, 6, 7 and 9.”, Para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Shaw further including a primary airfoil element having an interior region, wherein the at least one tail thruster is at least partially disposed within the interior region, as taught by Milde, with a reasonable expectation for success, “to enhance the vertical lift produced by the wing(s) of an aircraft when the aircraft is flying slowly…When the thruster operates to increase the speed of the air moving over the upper surfaces of the wing components, it decreases the pressure at the surface in accordance with Bernoulli's principle, thereby increasing the lift of the wing.”, as discussed by Milde, Para. [0008] – [0016].
Regarding claim 2, Shaw as modified by Milde teaches the propulsion system of claim 1. Further, Shaw teaches wherein the apparatus comprises at least one exhaust port (#7) and at least one plugging device (#21) that is controllably operable to open and close the at least one exhaust port (column 2, lines 51-65).
Regarding claim 3, Shaw as modified by Milde teaches the propulsion system of claim 1. Further, Shaw teaches wherein the apparatus comprises at least one obstructive device (#22) coupled to the at least one tail thruster (#6) that is controllably operable to enable and disable fluid flow from the source to the at least one tail thruster (column 2, lines 51-65).
Regarding claim 4, Shaw teaches an aircraft (Fig. 1; Title), comprising:
a source of compressed fluid (#3; jet propulsion engines provide compressed air);
at least one tail thruster (#6) in fluid communication with the source (#5 to #5a to #6, see Fig. 6);
at least one turbine (#16, Fig. 3) in fluid communication with the source (#3 to #5 to #5a to #7 to #14) and coupled to a propeller (#11); and
an apparatus (#21/#22) for selectively providing the compressed fluid to one or both of the at least one tail thruster and the at least one turbine (column 2, line 44- column 3, line 2).
Shaw does not expressly disclose a primary airfoil element having an interior region, wherein the at least one tail thruster is at least partially disposed within the interior region.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Milde teaches a primary airfoil element having an interior region, wherein the at least one tail thruster is at least partially disposed within the interior region (Figs. 1-9, with thruster formed by 32, 28, and 30 shown disposed within the interior region of the primary airfoil; “The "thruster" incorporated into each wing component of the aircraft is illustrated in the concept diagrams of FIGS. 2, 5a, 5b, 6, 7 and 9.”, Para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Shaw further including a primary airfoil element having an interior region, wherein the at least one tail thruster is at least partially disposed within the interior region, as taught by Milde, with a reasonable expectation for success, “to enhance the vertical lift produced by the wing(s) of an aircraft when the aircraft is flying slowly…When the thruster operates to increase the speed of the air moving over the upper surfaces of the wing components, it decreases the pressure at the surface in accordance with Bernoulli's principle, thereby increasing the lift of the wing.”, as discussed by Milde, Para. [0008] – [0016].
Regarding claim 5, Shaw as modified by Milde teaches the propulsion system of claim 4. Further, Shaw teaches wherein the apparatus comprises at least one exhaust port (#7) and at least one plugging device (#21) that is controllably operable to open and close the at least one exhaust port (column 2, lines 51-65).
Regarding claim 6, Shaw as modified by Milde teaches the propulsion system of claim 4. Further, Shaw wherein the apparatus comprises at least one obstructive device (#22) coupled to the at least one tail thruster (#6) that is controllably operable to enable and disable fluid flow from the source to the at least one tail thruster (column 2, lines 51-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies upon Milde (US 2006/0054736 A1) for the added limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647