DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/23/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 remain pending. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the at least one thruster having at least one convex surface over which compressed fluid from the source flows” from claims 1 and 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 4 recite the limitation “the at least one thruster having at least one convex surface over which compressed fluid from the source flows”. There is no disclosure of convex surfaces in the specification or drawings. Therefore, the limitation was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to make and/or use the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (US 2,939,649) in view of Moller (US 2004/0026563 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shaw teaches a propulsion system, comprising:
a source of compressed fluid (#3; jet propulsion engines provide compressed air);
at least one thruster (#6) in fluid communication with the source (#5 to #5a to #6, see Fig. 6);
at least one turbine (#16, Fig. 3) in fluid communication with the source (#3 to #5 to #5a to #7 to #14) and coupled to a propeller (#11); and
an apparatus (#21/#22) for selectively providing the compressed fluid to one or both of the at least one thruster and the at least one turbine (column 2, line 44- column 3, line 2).
Shaw does not expressly disclose the at least one thruster having at least one convex surface over which compressed fluid from the source flows.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Moller teaches the at least one thruster having at least one convex surface over which compressed fluid from the source flows (Figs. 5, 7, and 9 shows flow of thrusters flowing over the vanes of the thrusters, each having a concave and convex side; “The boundary layer is the thin layer of flow near the surface and, in the current configuration, develops on the convex side of the vanes and the inner walls holding the lateral ends of the vanes.”, Para. [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Shaw further including the at least one thruster having at least one convex surface over which compressed fluid from the source flows, as taught by Moller, with a reasonable expectation for success, “to provide an improved VTOL vehicle that utilizes nacelles in conjunction with adjustable vane systems to eliminate duct leading edge stall during the transition of the flight mode, to enhance thrust efficiency, to eliminate the need for variable pitch fans and to reduce the tendency to suck foreign objects into the fans”, as discussed by Moller, Para. [0013].
Regarding claim 2, Shaw as modified by Moller teaches the propulsion system of claim 1. Further, Shaw teaches wherein the apparatus comprises at least one exhaust port (#7) and at least one plugging device (#21) that is controllably operable to open and close the at least one exhaust port (column 2, lines 51-65).
Regarding claim 3, Shaw as modified by Moller teaches the propulsion system of claim 1. Further, Shaw teaches wherein the apparatus comprises at least one obstructive device (#22) coupled to the at least one thruster (#6) that is controllably operable to enable and disable fluid flow from the source to the at least one thruster (column 2, lines 51-65).
Regarding claim 4, Shaw teaches an aircraft (Fig. 1; Title), comprising:
a source of compressed fluid (#3; jet propulsion engines provide compressed air);
at least one thruster (#6) in fluid communication with the source (#5 to #5a to #6, see Fig. 6);
at least one turbine (#16, Fig. 3) in fluid communication with the source (#3 to #5 to #5a to #7 to #14) and coupled to a propeller (#11); and
an apparatus (#21/#22) for selectively providing the compressed fluid to one or both of the at least one thruster and the at least one turbine (column 2, line 44- column 3, line 2).
Shaw does not expressly disclose the at least one thruster having at least one convex surface over which compressed fluid from the source flows.
However, in an analogous aircraft art, Moller teaches the at least one thruster having at least one convex surface over which compressed fluid from the source flows (Figs. 5, 7, and 9 shows flow of thrusters flowing over the vanes of the thrusters, each having a concave and convex side; “The boundary layer is the thin layer of flow near the surface and, in the current configuration, develops on the convex side of the vanes and the inner walls holding the lateral ends of the vanes.”, Para. [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Shaw further including the at least one thruster having at least one convex surface over which compressed fluid from the source flows, as taught by Moller, with a reasonable expectation for success, “to provide an improved VTOL vehicle that utilizes nacelles in conjunction with adjustable vane systems to eliminate duct leading edge stall during the transition of the flight mode, to enhance thrust efficiency, to eliminate the need for variable pitch fans and to reduce the tendency to suck foreign objects into the fans”, as discussed by Moller, Para. [0013].
Regarding claim 5, Shaw as modified by Moller teaches the propulsion system of claim 4. Further, Shaw teaches wherein the apparatus comprises at least one exhaust port (#7) and at least one plugging device (#21) that is controllably operable to open and close the at least one exhaust port (column 2, lines 51-65).
Regarding claim 6, Shaw as modified by Moller teaches the propulsion system of claim 4. Further, Shaw wherein the apparatus comprises at least one obstructive device (#22) coupled to the at least one thruster (#6) that is controllably operable to enable and disable fluid flow from the source to the at least one thruster (column 2, lines 51-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies upon Moller (US 2004/0026563 A1) for the added limitations.
Conclusion
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647