DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figures 1-8) in the reply filed on 10/29/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/29/25.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the domestic priority from provisional application no. 62/434,452 (titled “PADE-WEIERSTRASS ANALYTIC CONTINUATION TECHNIQUE FOR THE EFFICIENT ENFORMENT OF CONTROL LIMITS IN POWER-FLOW STUDIES”) filed 12/15/2016 appears to be incorrect. The proper provisional application no. appears to be 63/434,452 (titled “HOLSTER AND TOURNIQUET”) filed 12/21/2022. Appropriate correction is required. For examination purposes, the earliest priority date for the present application will be considered as 12/21/2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“tensioning member” in claims 1, 8, 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig et al., hereinafter “Craig” (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0090140) in view of Reis (U.S. Patent No. 7,947,061).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Craig discloses a tourniquet (including a lateral strap system 240 or 240’ that may be used as a tourniquet assembly; Figures 3, 13-15, [0071], [0100]), comprising:
a plate 202 (Figure 3; liner 202 is considered a “plate” or thin sheet, and is curved to fit over a user’s leg, similar to the present application plate 30 including “a curved portion 34 to fit over leg/thigh” as disclosed in [0031] of the present application publication);
a first band 241 (Figures 3, 13-15), wherein said first band draws through said plate (Figure 3);
a tensioning member 311 (Figures 14-15, [0104]: lever 311 increases and maintains tension via ratchets; interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to ratchet lever 56 as disclosed in [0034] of the present application publication); and
a second band 242 (Figures 14-15), wherein one end of said second band connects to said first band at an inner side of said first band (at 243) and the other end of said second band connects to said tensioning member (around 313),
wherein said first band receives a limb of a user and said plate remains on the limb (Figure 3; [0076]), and
wherein said tensioning member operates to draw said second band towards said tensioning member allowing said first band to apply pressure on the limb and stop flow of blood (Id., [0100]).
However, Craig does not disclose the tensioning member positioned at an outer surface of said first band (tensioning member 311 is positioned at an outer surface of said second band 242).
Reis teaches a tourniquet (Figures 1-5) including a first band 14, a tensioning member 36 (ratchet lever 36; interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to ratchet lever 56 as disclosed in [0034] of the present application publication) positioned at an outer surface of said first band (Id.), a second band 30 having one end connected to an inner side of said first band (near 22) and another end connected to said tensioning member (Figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Craig with a tensioning member that is positioned at an outer surface of said first band, as taught by Reis, since Craig teaches that “[a]ny suitable mechanisms may be used to selectively adjust the lateral strap system 240” ([0097]), and since doing so would be substitution of one known tensioning member configuration for another, which would yield predictable results, namely applying pressure to a limb to stop the flow of blood. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, Craig as modified teaches said plate 202 is anatomically shaped to position on the limb (Craig, Figure 3, [0077]; plate 202 is curved to conform to the leg).
Regarding claims 3 and 5-6, Craig as modified teaches the claimed invention, as discussed above, except for said second band comprises a ratchet ladder strap, and wherein said ratchet lever lifts repeatedly to draw said ratchet ladder strap towards said ratchet lever.
Reis teaches a tourniquet (Figures 1-5) with a tensioning mechanism including a second band 30 comprising a ratchet ladder strap 32 and wherein a ratchet lever 36 lifts repeatedly to draw said ratchet ladder strap towards said ratchet lever to tension the strap (col. 3, lines 55-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Craig with a ratchet ladder strap as claimed, as taught by Reis, since Craig teaches that “[a]ny suitable mechanisms may be used to selectively adjust the lateral strap system 240” ([0097]), and since doing so would be since doing so would be substitution of one known tensioning member mechanism for another, which would yield predictable results, namely applying pressure to a limb to stop the flow of blood. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 7, Craig as modified teaches said plate 202 (Craig, Figure 3) connects to a holster ([0076]; utility module 50 on plate 202 can be connected with a holster 290 as shown in Figures 10-11).
Regarding claim 15, Craig discloses a tourniquet (including a lateral strap system 240 or 240’ that may be used as a tourniquet assembly; Figures 3, 13-15, [0071], [0100]), comprising:
a first band 241 (Figures 3, 13-15), wherein said first band suspends from a waist strap 110;
a tensioning member 311 (Figures 14-15, [0104]: lever 311 increases and maintains tension via ratchets; interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to ratchet lever 56 as disclosed in [0034] of the present application publication); and
a second band 242 (Figures 14-15), wherein one end of said second band connects to said first band at an inner side (at 243) of said first band and the other end of said second band connects to said tensioning member (around 313),
wherein said first band receives a limb of a user and said waist strap wraps around a waist of the user (Figure 3; [0076]), and
wherein said tensioning member operates to draw said second band towards said tensioning member allowing said first band to apply pressure on the limb and stop flow of blood (Id., [0100]).
However, Craig does not disclose the tensioning member positioned at an outer surface of said first band (tensioning member 311 is positioned at an outer surface of said second band 242).
Reis teaches a tourniquet (Figures 1-5) including a first band 14, a tensioning member 36 (ratchet lever 36; interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to ratchet lever 56 as disclosed in [0034] of the present application publication) positioned at an outer surface of said first band (Id.), a second band 30 having one end connected to an inner side of said first band (near 22) and another end connected to said tensioning member (Figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Craig with a tensioning member that is positioned at an outer surface of said first band, as taught by Reis, since Craig teaches that “[a]ny suitable mechanisms may be used to selectively adjust the lateral strap system 240” ([0097]), and since doing so would be substitution of one known tensioning member configuration for another, which would yield predictable results, namely applying pressure to a limb to stop the flow of blood. See MPEP 2143.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig et al., hereinafter “Craig” (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0090140) in view of Reis (U.S. Patent No. 7,947,061) and Rogers et al., hereinafter “Rogers” (U.S. Patent No. 6,588,640).
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Craig discloses a tourniquet (including a lateral strap system 240 or 240’ that may be used as a tourniquet assembly; Figures 3, 13-15, [0071], [0100]), comprising:
a plate 202 (Figure 3; liner 202 is considered a “plate” or thin sheet, and is curved to fit over a user’s leg, similar to the present application plate 30 including “a curved portion 34 to fit over leg/thigh” as disclosed in [0031] of the present application publication);
a first band 241 (Figures 3, 13-15), wherein said first band draws through said plate (Figure 3);
a tensioning member 311 (Figures 14-15, [0104]: lever 311 increases and maintains tension via ratchets; interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to ratchet lever 56 as disclosed in [0034] of the present application publication); and
a second band 242 (Figures 14-15), wherein one end of said second band connects to said first band at an inner side of said first band (at 243) and the other end of said second band connects to said tensioning member (around 313),
wherein said first band receives a limb of a user and said plate remains on the limb (Figure 3; [0076]), and
wherein said tensioning member operates to draw said second band towards said tensioning member allowing said first band to apply pressure on the limb and stop flow of blood (Id., [0100]).
However, Craig does not disclose said plate comprises channels positioned at opposite sides, wherein said first band draws through said channels.
In Figures 1-2, 8, Rogers teaches a holster plate 26 comprising channels 27 positioned at opposite sides, wherein a first band 20, 21, or 55 draws through said channels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the plate of Craig to have channels as claimed, as taught by Rogers, to further secure the first band to the plate, and since doing so would be substitution of one known holster plate for another, which would yield predictable results, namely securely mounting a holster to the first band. See MPEP 2143.
Additionally, Craig does not disclose the tensioning member positioned at an outer surface of said first band (tensioning member 311 is positioned at an outer surface of said second band 242).
Reis teaches a tourniquet (Figures 1-5) including a first band 14, a tensioning member 36 (ratchet lever 36; interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to ratchet lever 56 as disclosed in [0034] of the present application publication) positioned at an outer surface of said first band (Id.), a second band 30 having one end connected to an inner side of said first band (near 22) and another end connected to said tensioning member (Figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Craig with a tensioning member that is positioned at an outer surface of said first band, as taught by Reis, since Craig teaches that “[a]ny suitable mechanisms may be used to selectively adjust the lateral strap system 240” ([0097]), and since doing so would be substitution of one known tensioning member configuration for another, which would yield predictable results, namely applying pressure to a limb to stop the flow of blood. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 9, Craig as modified teaches said plate 202 is anatomically shaped to position on the limb (Craig, Figure 3, [0077]; plate 202 is curved to conform to the leg).
Regarding claims 10 and 12-13, Craig as modified teaches the claimed invention, as discussed above, except for said second band comprises a ratchet ladder strap, and wherein said ratchet lever lifts repeatedly to draw said ratchet ladder strap towards said ratchet lever.
Reis teaches a tourniquet (Figures 1-5) with a tensioning mechanism including a second band 30 comprising a ratchet ladder strap 32 and wherein a ratchet lever 36 lifts repeatedly to draw said ratchet ladder strap towards said ratchet lever to tension the strap (col. 3, lines 55-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Craig with a ratchet ladder strap as claimed, as taught by Reis, since Craig teaches that “[a]ny suitable mechanisms may be used to selectively adjust the lateral strap system 240” ([0097]), and since doing so would be since doing so would be substitution of one known tensioning member mechanism for another, which would yield predictable results, namely applying pressure to a limb to stop the flow of blood. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 14, Craig as modified teaches said plate 202 (Craig, Figure 3) connects to a holster ([0076]; utility module 50 on plate 202 can be connected with a holster 290 as shown in Figures 10-11).
Conclusion
/DIANE D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771