DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/11/2024, 12/17/2024, and 05/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim s 10 and 12 recites the limitation " the second current collector ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the independent claim 1 contains an anode current collector and cathode current collector and not the second current collector as claimed. Claims 11 and 13 recites the limitations “the first current collector” and "the second current collector". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the independent claim 1 contains an anode current collector and cathode current collector and not the second current collector as claimed. Claims 10 and 12 are further rejected as claim 12 is identical to claim 10. Claims 11 and 13 are further rejected as claim 13 is identical to claim 11. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim s 1, 3, 5-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Churchill (US 2021/0288362 A1) and Kwon (KR 20140148121 A) . Regarding claim 1 , Churchill discloses an electrochemical cell (Figure 1; pouch cell), comprising: An anode current collector ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes negative current collector 53); A cathode current collector ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes positive current collector 54 ) ; A separator disposed between the anode and cathode ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes a separator) ; and A heating element wherein the heating element includes an electrically conductive material and an electrically insulative material (Figures 1-3; thermal management multilayer sheet 400, 401, 402 made of a first and second heat spreading layer 61/63 made of a conductive material such as aluminum and copper [0028], a first and second integrity layer 84/86 made of materials such as polymer materials having insulative properties [0033-0037], and at least one adhesive layer 85/87) . Churchill discloses wherein the heating element can be disposed on or directly on a cell or cell array in any configuration in a battery as such as between battery cells or individual layers of the battery cells ([0051-0052]). While Churchill is explicitly silent with respect to wherein the heating element is disposed on a second side of the cathode current collector, it would have been obvious given the teaching of Churchill to rearrange the thermal management layer to be disposed on the second side of the cathode current collector as a simple rearrangement of the thermal management layer. The resulting modification would render obvious wherein the heating element is disposed on the second side of the cathode current collector. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Churchill further discloses a positive and negative electrode, however, is silent with respect to active material being disposed on the current collectors. Examiner notes that this is a known feature of battery cell and is shown to be well known in view of the secondary reference Kwon . Kwon discloses a secondary battery in a pouch casing and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Kwon discloses wherein the electrodes comprise a current collector that is coated with an active material on at least one side of the current collector to form an electrode ([41]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of Churchill and Kwon that the current collector s of Kwon would be coated with active material to form an electrode as taught by Kwon. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 1. Regarding claim 3 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill is silent with respect to wherein the electrically conductive material includes a metallic wire, the metallic wire including a first terminal end in contact with the cathode current collector and a second terminal end extending away from the electrochemical cell. Kwon discloses a secondary battery in a pouch casing and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Kwon discloses wherein a heating layer 140 is connected to the current supply device through lead wires that connect the first electrode pattern and extends outside the external insulating layer for electrical connection of the conductive wires to the electrodes ([87-92]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to include the metallic lead wires taught by Kwon into the battery of Churchill such that the metallic lead wires are connected to the current collectors and extends through the casing and away from the electrochemical cell in order to electrically connect the electrode layers to a region outside of the battery cell to provide electrical energy outside of the battery cell. Thus all the claim limitations of claim 3 are rendered obvious through the modification as lead wires can be included within the conductive material to be electrically connected to the current collectors and provide electrical energy outside of the battery cell. Regarding claim s 5-6 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill further discloses wherein the heating element further includes a conductive material, wherein the conductive material includes at least one of graphene, carbon powder, pyrolytic carbon, carbon black, carbon fibers, carbon microfibers, carbon nanotubes, fullerene carbons or graphene sheets ([0055], claim 5; wherein the heat spreading layers/ adhesive layers can contain at least one of carbon fibers, carbon nanotubes, graphene, and graphite). Regarding claim 7 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill further discloses wherein the electrically conductive material includes at least one of aluminum or copper ([0055] aluminum or copper can be used). Regarding claim 8 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill further discloses wherein a first film is disposed on the heating element and a second film is disposed on the anode current collector, the second film coupled to the first film to form a pouch ([0021-0022, 0071-0072] pouch cells having a pouch casing can be used). Regarding claim 9 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill further discloses wherein a first film is disposed between the heating element and the cathode current collector; and a second film disposed on the anode current collector, the second film coupled to the first film to form a pouch and the heating element disposed outside the pouch ([0021-0022, 0071-0072] pouch cells having a pouch casing can be used and Figure 1; [0051-0052] the thermal management multilayer sheet can be disposed on and or between cells or cell arrays in any configuration and thus can be relocated on/outside the pouch casing). Regarding claim 10 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill further discloses wherein a first film is disposed on the heating element and a second film is disposed on the second current collector, the second film coupled to the first film to form a pouch ([0021-0022, 0071-0072] pouch cells having a pouch casing can be used). Regarding claim 11 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill further discloses wherein a first film is disposed between the heating element and the first current collector; and a second film disposed on the second current collector, the second film coupled to the first film to form a pouch and the heating element disposed outside the pouch ([0021-0022, 0071-0072] pouch cells having a pouch casing can be used and Figure 1; [0051-0052] the thermal management multilayer sheet can be disposed on and or between cells or cell arrays in any configuration and thus can be relocated on/outside the pouch casing). Regarding claim 12 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill further discloses wherein a first film is disposed on the heating element and a second film is disposed on the second current collector, the second film coupled to the first film to form a pouch ([0021-0022, 0071-0072] pouch cells having a pouch casing can be used). Regarding claim 13 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill further discloses wherein a first film is disposed between the heating element and the first current collector; and a second film disposed on the second current collector, the second film coupled to the first film to form a pouch and the heating element disposed outside the pouch ([0021-0022, 0071-0072] pouch cells having a pouch casing can be used and Figure 1; [0051-0052] the thermal management multilayer sheet can be disposed on and or between cells or cell arrays in any configuration and thus can be relocated on/outside the pouch casing). Regarding claim 1 8 , Churchill discloses an electrochemical cell (Figure 1; pouch cell), comprising: A first current collector ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes current collector 5 4 ); A second current collector ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes current collector 5 3) ; A separator disposed between the first and second electrodes ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes a separator); and An insulating layer disposed the first current collector (Figure 3; adhesive layer 87 can be an polyester adhesive which is insulating; [0051-0052] and can be disposed on the current collector or on cell arrays or individual layers in any configuration); and A metallic sheet disposed on the insulating layer and electrically coupled in series with the first current collector (Figures 1-3; thermal management multilayer sheet 400, 401, 402 made of a first and second heat spreading layer 61/63 made of a conductive material such as aluminum and copper [0028], a first and second integrity layer 84/86 made of materials such as polymer materials having insulative properties [0033-0037], and at least one adhesive layer 85/87 and can be electrically connected to the electrodes ). Churchill discloses wherein the heating element can be disposed on or directly on a cell or cell array in any configuration in a battery as such as between battery cells or individual layers of the battery cells ([0051-0052]). While Churchill is explicitly silent with respect to wherein the insulating layer is disposed on a second side of the first current collector, it would have been obvious given the teaching of Churchill to rearrange the thermal management layer to be disposed on the second side of the first current collector such that the insulating adhesive layer is located on the second side of the first current collector as a simple rearrangement of the thermal management layer. The resulting modification would render obvious wherein the insulating layer is disposed on the second side of the first current collector. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Churchill further discloses a positive and negative electrode, however, is silent with respect to active material being disposed on the current collectors. Examiner notes that this is a known feature of battery cell and is shown to be well known in view of the secondary reference Kwon. Kwon discloses a secondary battery in a pouch casing and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Kwon discloses wherein the electrodes comprise a current collector that is coated with an active material on at least one side of the current collector to form an electrode ([41]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of Churchill and Kwon that the current collectors of Kwon would be coated with active material to form an electrode as taught by Kwon. Additionally , Churchill is silent with respect to wherein the electrically conductive material includes a metallic wire disposed inside the insulating layer following a circuitous path, the metallic wire connected in series with the first current collector. Kwon discloses a secondary battery in a pouch casing and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Kwon discloses wherein a heating layer 140 is connected to the current supply device through lead wires that connect the first electrode pattern and extends outside the external insulating layer for electrical connection of the conductive wires to the electrodes ([87-92]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to include the metallic lead wires taught by Kwon into the battery of Churchill such that the metallic lead wires are disposed inside the insulating layer and are connected in series to the current collectors and extends through the casing and away from the electrochemical cell in order to electrically connect the electrode layers to a region outside of the battery cell to provide electrical energy outside of the battery cell. While Modified Churchill is silent with respect to the circuitous path, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to change the shape of the pathway of the wire to be a circuitous path as a simple change in shape of the wire used through the insulating layer. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey , 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Thus all the claim limitations of claim 18 are rendered obvious through the modification as lead wires can be included within the insulating adhesive layer to be electrically connected to the current collectors and provide electrical energy outside of the battery cell. Regarding claim 19 , modified Churchill discloses all of the claim limitations of claim 18. Kwon further discloses wherein the metallic wire can include aluminum ([45-46] metal layer and also the wire can be made of a conductive material such as aluminum or other metallic materials for electrical conductivity and connectivity). It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to select aluminum for the material of the conductive wire as a known material for electrical conductivity and connectivity. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin , 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Churchill (US 2021/0288362 A1) and Kwon (KR 20140148121 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FILLIN "Insert the additional prior art reference(s) relied upon for the obviousness rejection." \d "[ 4 ]" Yasui et al. (US 2012/0021260 A1) . Regarding claim 2 , modified Churchill discloses all of the claim limitations of claim 2. Churchill is silent with respect to wherein the conductive material includes a metallic sheet including etched grooves for dissipation of heat. Yasui discloses a battery module and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Yasui discloses a heat sink 70 that serves as a heat dissipation member having heat dissipating fins 72 that extends from the heat sink sheet to dissipate heat more effectively (Figure 5; [0079-0080], [0093]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to modify the thermal management multilayer sheet to include a heat dissipating protrusion portions that form a grooved portion within the thermal management multilayer sheet in order to effectively dissipate heat from the battery module/cells as taught by Yasui . The resulting modification would read on the claim limitations of claim 2 as the multilayer sheet that can be made of a metallic material can include grooves for heat dissipation. The limitation of “etched grooves” is deemed to be a product by process limitation as the resulting structure requires grooves that are formed for heat dissipation and does not dependent upon the method for forming the grooved. The product-by-limitations of claim 2 are not given patentable weight since the courts have held that patentability is based on a product itself, even if the prior art product is made by a different process (In re Thorpe , 227 USPQ 964, 1985). Moreover, a product-by-process limitation is held to be obvious if the product is similar to a prior art product ( In re Brown , 173 USPQ 685, and In re Fessman , 180 USPQ 324). Claim 2 as written does not distinguish the product of the instant application from the product of the prior art. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Churchill (US 2021/0288362 A1) , and Kwon (KR 20140148121 A) as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Pant et al. (US 2016/0010227 A1) . Regarding claim 4 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Churchill is silent with respect to wherein the electrically conductive material includes a planar metallic sheet with sections removed to create a flow path for flow of current. Pant discloses a current density distributor for use in electrodes and is analogous with the instant invention as being reasonable pertinent to electrodes and batteries. Pant discloses wherein an electrical sheet may be formed by etching to form a pathway for major current flow within the sheet in order to guide current flow within the sheet ([0053]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to modify the electrically conductive sheet of modified Churchill to have a section removed that creates and defined a flow path for current to flow within the sheet as discloses by Pant. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 4. Claim s 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Churchill (US 2021/0288362 A1) , Kwon (KR 20140148121 A) and FILLIN "Insert the additional prior art reference(s) relied upon for the obviousness rejection." \d "[ 4 ]" Yasui et al. (US 2012/0021260 A1) . Regarding claim 1 4 , Churchill discloses an electrochemical cell (Figure 1; pouch cell), comprising: A first current collector ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes current collector 5 4 ); A second current collector ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes current collector 5 3) ; A separator disposed between the first and second electrodes ([0050] electrode assembly 52 includes a battery 2000 that also includes a separator); and An insulating layer disposed the first current collector (Figure 3; adhesive layer 87 can be an polyester adhesive which is insulating; [0051-0052] and can be disposed on the current collector or on cell arrays or individual layers in any configuration); and A metallic sheet disposed on the insulating layer and electrically coupled in series with the first current collector (Figures 1-3; thermal management multilayer sheet 400, 401, 402 made of a first and second heat spreading layer 61/63 made of a conductive material such as aluminum and copper [0028], a first and second integrity layer 84/86 made of materials such as polymer materials having insulative properties [0033-0037], and at least one adhesive layer 85/87 and can be electrically connected to the electrodes ). Churchill discloses wherein the heating element can be disposed on or directly on a cell or cell array in any configuration in a battery as such as between battery cells or individual layers of the battery cells ([0051-0052]). While Churchill is explicitly silent with respect to wherein the insulating layer is disposed on a second side of the first current collector, it would have been obvious given the teaching of Churchill to rearrange the thermal management layer to be disposed on the second side of the first current collector such that the insulating adhesive layer is located on the second side of the first current collector as a simple rearrangement of the thermal management layer. The resulting modification would render obvious wherein the insulating layer is disposed on the second side of the first current collector. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Churchill further discloses a positive and negative electrode, however, is silent with respect to active material being disposed on the current collectors. Examiner notes that this is a known feature of battery cell and is shown to be well known in view of the secondary reference Kwon. Kwon discloses a secondary battery in a pouch casing and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Kwon discloses wherein the electrodes comprise a current collector that is coated with an active material on at least one side of the current collector to form an electrode ([41]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of Churchill and Kwon that the current collectors of Kwon would be coated with active material to form an electrode as taught by Kwon. Additionally , Churchill is silent with respect to wherein the metallic sheet includes grooves for dissipation of heat. Yasui discloses a battery module and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of batteries. Yasui discloses a heat sink 70 that serves as a heat dissipation member having heat dissipating fins 72 that extends from the heat sink sheet to dissipate heat more effectively (Figure 5; [0079-0080], [0093]). Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to modify the thermal management multilayer sheet to include a heat dissipating protrusion portions that form a grooved portion within the thermal management multilayer sheet in order to effectively dissipate heat from the battery module/cells as taught by Yasui . The resulting modification would read on the claim limitations of claim 14 as the multilayer sheet that can be made of a metallic material can include grooves for heat dissipation. The resulting modification would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 1 4 . Regarding claim 15 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 14. Churchill further discloses a conductive sheet can be used ( Figure 3; heat spreading layer 61/63 can read as the conductive sheet). While, Churchill is silent with respect to the specific orientation of the conductive sheet being on the metallic sheet, it would have bee obvious in view of a skilled artisan to rearrange the layers of the thermal management multilayer sheet such that the heat spreading layer 61 that can be read as the conductive material can be applied to the heat spreading layer 63 that reads as the metallic layer as a simple rearrangement of the layers of Churchill. The resulting modification would read on the required structure of a conductive material being on the metallic sheet. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse , 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Regarding claim 16 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 14. Churchill further discloses wherein the conductive material includes at least one of graphene, carbon powder, pyrolytic carbon, carbon black, carbon fibers, carbon microfibers, carbon nanotubes, fullerene carbons or graphene sheets ([0055], claim 5; wherein the heat spreading layers/ adhesive layers can contain at least one of carbon fibers, carbon nanotubes, graphene, and graphite). Regarding claim 17 , modified Churchill discloses all the claim limitations of claim 14. Churchill further discloses wherein the electrically conductive material includes at least one of aluminum or copper ([0055] aluminum or copper can be used). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2017/0352900 A1)- discloses an end cell heater assembly having a planar heating element 22, a thermal insulation pad 24 and case 21. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Adam J Francis whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1021 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-Th: 7 am-4 pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Matthew Martin can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7871 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ADAM J FRANCIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728