DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1, 3-11, 13, 15-22 are pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 1, 11, 22 are amended, claims 3-10, 13, 15-21 are original, claims 2, 12, 14, 23 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, no information disclosure statement has been filed on behalf of this case.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the structural elements of the invention are difficult to see in the drawings, such as in FIGs 6-9, which appear to be describing the claimed subject matter. It is difficult to see the positioning of the elements in FIG 6, as well as noting there are excess lines and arrows which appear to have no element numbers. Additionally, the drawings are objected to for excess shading and it is noted that the drawings should be line drawings only. MPEP 1.84 m.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13, 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20070124987 A1) to Brown in view of (US 20200349870 A1) to Fallon.
In regards to claim 1, Brown teaches an insect trap light comprising: a first electronic display screen facing in a first direction (Brown; display assembly 44; [0030] the display being plasma, liquid crystal, and where it can display dynamic images such as via the internet; facing in a first direction); an insect trapping housing portion coupled between said first electronic display screen and a rear of a frame (Brown; comprised of 80, 54, 56, 58 and the chamber where they are housed), said insect trapping housing portion creating an ultraviolet light chamber; an ultraviolet light source mounted within said ultraviolet light chamber (Brown; the interior being an ultraviolet light chamber made of ultra-violet emitting LEDs 54, 56, 58), and an adhesive board removably mounted within said ultraviolet light chamber (Brown; 80 having a trap portion 84 which is a board on which trapping composition 100 is placed, the trapping composition being sticky adhesive [0045]).
Brown fails to teach a second electronic display screen facing in a second direction opposite to said first direction; an insect trapping housing portion coupled between said first electronic display screen and said second electronic display screen, the ultraviolet light chamber positioned between said first electronic display screen and said second electronic display screen.
Fallon teaches a first and second electronic display screen (Fallon; each of 250 on either side of FIG 3, one associated with 280 and another associated with 282), the second electronic display screen facing in a second direction opposite to said first direction (Fallon; each of 250 facing in opposite directions see 280, 282).
Together, Brown as modified by Fallon teach an insect trapping housing portion coupled between said first electronic display screen and said second electronic display screen, the ultraviolet light chamber positioned between said first electronic display screen and said second electronic display screen (Brown; comprised of 80, 54, 56, 58 and the chamber where they are housed as well as the UV light chamber being between the front and the rear of the frame) (Fallon; the two electronic display screens provided on a front and rear of the frame).
Brown and Fallon are analogous art from similar fields of endeavor i.e. display screens and signage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brown such that it has a secondary display screen such as taught by Fallon, such that the insect trapping portion is coupled between first and second screens. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize the concept of Brown in more versatile signage which could display information or advertisements from two sides simultaneously, while retaining the functionality of providing an insect trap to mitigate the presence of insects.
In regards to claim 3, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 1 wherein said ultraviolet light chamber includes side opening include a vane for restricting viewing through said side opening (Brown; apertures 40 exist on a side of the ultraviolet light chamber, and include a louvres (vanes) 42).
In regards to claim 4, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 1 wherein said first electronic display screen is a television (Television is defined as “an electronic system of transmitting transient images of fixed or moving objects together with sound over a wire or through space by apparatus that converts light and sound into electrical waves and reconverts them into visible light rays and audible sound” By Merriam Webster) (Brown; 44 [0030]; 44 being an electronic system which displays both fixed and moving images with sound via speaker 132, either wirelessly or wired).
In regards to claim 5, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 1 wherein said first electronic display screen is an electronic image display or video player (Brown; 44 [0030]; 44 being an electronic system which displays both fixed and moving images; moving images being types of videos).
In regards to claim 6, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 1 wherein said first electronic display screen is a computer monitor (Brown; 44 [0030]; the display being plasma, liquid crystal, and where it can display dynamic images such as via the internet).
In regards to claim 7, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 1 further comprising an attractive scent producing device (Brown; [0045] 100 being scented to attract insects).
In regards to claim 8, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 1 further comprising a removable insect attractant bait tray (Brown; 80 having 82 which is a tray which holds composition 100; [0045] composition 100 being scented to attract insects, 80 being removable and thus 82 being removable).
In regards to claim 9, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 1 further comprising at least one sound speaker (Brown; [0022] speaker 132).
In regards to claim 1, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 9 wherein said at least one sound speaker is removable (Brown; see speaker 132 in FIG 3, and removed in FIG 2) and includes a power source (Brown [0032] power supply 72, and where power is supplied to control the speakers 132).
In regards to claim 11, Brown teaches an insect trap light comprising: a frame having a floor (Brown; frame of 20 with floor being either 22 or lowermost surface 26, or any other of the surfaces, based on orientation); peripheral sidewalls extending from said floor (Brown; sidewalls such as 28, 30, 24, 26 if the floor is 22, or sidewalls being 28, 30, 22, 33 if the floor is 26, etc based on orientation; peripheral sidewalls also being 37, 38, 35 with floor being 36) said peripheral sidewalls having openings therethrough (Brown; [0028] where the apertures can be in front housing in peripheral sidewalls 37, 38); a first electronic display screen coupled to said frame facing in a first direction (Brown; display assembly 44; [0030] the display being plasma, liquid crystal, and where it can display dynamic images such as via the internet; facing in a first direction); an ultraviolet light source coupled to said frame (Brown; ultra-violet emitting LEDs 54, 56, 58 as seen in FIG 3 coupled to 20), and an adhesive board removably mounted to said frame in a position facing said ultraviolet light source (Brown; 80 having a trap portion 84 which is a board on which trapping composition 100 is placed, the trapping composition being sticky adhesive [0045], an upper surface of 84 facing the LEDs, a rear surface of 82 facing the LEDs) and accessible through said openings of said peripheral sidewalls (Brown; [0028-0029] where the apertures 40 are for accessing the adhesive, and can be in the peripheral sidewalls 37, 38).
Brown fails to teach a second electronic display screen coupled to said frame and facing in a direction opposite to said first direction.
Fallon teaches a second electronic display screen coupled to said frame and facing in a direction opposite to said first direction (Fallon; each of 250 on either side of FIG 3, one associated with 280 and another associated with 282).
Brown and Fallon are analogous art from similar fields of endeavor i.e. display screens and signage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brown such that it has a secondary display screen such as taught by Fallon facing in an opposite direction of the first display screen. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize the concept of Brown in more versatile signage which could display information or advertisements from two sides simultaneously, while retaining the functionality of providing an insect trap to mitigate the presence of insects.
In regards to claim 13, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 11 wherein the combination of said frame and said electronic display screens define an ultraviolet light chamber (Brown; 20, 44 define the ultraviolet light chamber) (Fallon; 250 on either side 280, 282), and wherein said ultraviolet light source is mounted with said ultraviolet light chamber (Brown; the interior being an ultraviolet light chamber made of ultra-violet emitting LEDs 54, 56, 58).
In regards to claim 15, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 11 wherein said first electronic display screen is a television (Television is defined as “an electronic system of transmitting transient images of fixed or moving objects together with sound over a wire or through space by apparatus that converts light and sound into electrical waves and reconverts them into visible light rays and audible sound” By Merriam Webster) (Brown; 44 [0030]; 44 being an electronic system which displays both fixed and moving images with sound via speaker 132, either wirelessly or wired).
In regards to claim 16, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 11 wherein said first electronic display screen is an electronic image or video player (Brown; 44 [0030]; 44 being an electronic system which displays both fixed and moving images; moving images being types of videos).
In regards to claim 17, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 11 wherein said first electronic display screen is a computer monitor (Brown; 44 [0030]; the display being plasma, liquid crystal, and where it can display dynamic images such as via the internet).
In regards to claim 18, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 11 further comprising an attractive scent producing device (Brown; [0045] 100 being scented to attract insects).
In regards to claim 19, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 11 further comprising a bait tray for holding an insect attractant (Brown; 80 having 82 which is a tray which holds composition 100; [0045] composition 100 being scented to attract insects, 80 being removable and thus 82 being removable).
In regards to claim 20, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 11 further comprising at least one sound speaker (Brown; [0022] speaker 132).
In regards to claim 21, Brown as modified by Fallon teach the insect trap light of claim 20 wherein said at least one sound speaker is removable from said frame (Brown; see speaker 132 in FIG 3, and removed in FIG 2).
In regards to claim 22, Brown teaches an insect trap light mountable to a vertical support surface, said insect trap light comprising: an electronic display screen (Brown; display assembly 44; [0030] the display being plasma, liquid crystal, and where it can display dynamic images such as via the internet); an ultraviolet light chamber coupled to said electronic display screen (Brown; comprised of 80, 54, 56, 58 and the chamber where they are housed, coupled to 44) said ultraviolet light chamber having side openings therethrough (Brown; apertures 40 being in a side of the light chamber extending through 33, alternatively where these apertures can be on 36, 35, 37, 38 [0028]); an ultraviolet light source mounted within said ultraviolet light chamber (Brown; the interior being an ultraviolet light chamber made of ultra-violet emitting LEDs 54, 56, 58), and an adhesive board removably mounted within said ultraviolet light chamber (Brown; 80 having a trap portion 84 which is a board on which trapping composition 100 is placed, the trapping composition being sticky adhesive [0045]) and accessible through said side openings of said ultraviolet light chamber (Brown; [0028-0029] where the apertures 40 are for accessing the adhesive).
Brown fails to teach a pair of oppositely facing electronic display screens.
Fallon teaches a pair of oppositely facing electronic display screens (Fallon; each of 250 on either side of FIG 3, one associated with 280 and another associated with 282).
Brown and Fallon are analogous art from similar fields of endeavor i.e. display screens and signage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brown such that it has two oppositely facing electronic display screens such as taught by Fallon. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize the concept of Brown in more versatile signage which could display information or advertisements from two sides simultaneously, while retaining the functionality of providing an insect trap to mitigate the presence of insects.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Brown reference does not have the unobstructed construction recited in the claims between the UV light sources and the adhesive surface, and that Fallon does not have an insect trapping housing with side openings, an ultraviolet light chamber, or an adhesive board.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the “unobstructed construction”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant’s arguments are directed towards this unobstructed construction but this is not required in the claims as written. The terminology “unobstructed” or language describing “unobstruction” is not present in the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATELYN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647