DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 12/01/2025 was considered.
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Amendment filed on 01/28/2026 in which claims 1, 3-6, 12, and 14-15 have been amended, claims 2 and 13 have been canceled and entered of record.
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-15 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 8-13 recite “a first end of the primary-side winding of the second transformer is directly connected to a node to which a secondary-side first winding of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer and the first diode included in the first rectifier are directly connected,
a second end of the primary-side winding of the second transformer is directly connected to a node to which a secondary-side second winding of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer and the second diode included in the first rectifier are connected”. However, line 7 recites “wherein the secondary-side winding of the first transformer is a single winding”. It is unclear how a “single winding” of the secondary-side of the first transformer can have “a secondary-side first winding” and “a secondary-side second winding”. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construe as originally claimed “wherein the secondary-side winding of the first transformer is a single winding”.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 3-11, and 14-15, the claims are rejected due to the rejection of claims 1 and 12 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 11-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, US Patent 4626982; hereinafter “Huber” in view of Singh, US Patent Publication 20210075325; hereinafter “Singh”.
Regarding claim 1, Huber discloses an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a converter (Fig. 1) including a first transformer (26), the first transformer including a primary-side winding (24) and a secondary-side winding (28);
a first rectifier (34) connected to the secondary-side winding (28) of the first transformer (26), and including a first diode and a second diode (36, 38); and
a second transformer (48) including a primary-side winding (46) and a secondary-side winding (50),
wherein the secondary-side winding of the first transformer is a single winding (28),
a first end of the primary-side winding of the second transformer (bottom connection of 46) is directly connected to a node (32) to which a secondary-side first winding of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (28) and the first diode (38) included in the first rectifier are directly connected (38 is directly connected to 32),
a second end of the primary-side winding of the second transformer (top connection of 46) is directly connected to a node (30) to which a secondary-side second winding of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (28) and the second diode (36) included in the first rectifier are connected (28 and 38 are directly connected to 30),
the first transformer is a reinforced insulation transformer, and
the second transformer is a basic insulation transformer.
Huber does not disclose
the first transformer is a reinforced insulation transformer, and
the second transformer is a basic insulation transformer.
Singh discloses an electronic apparatus having a first transformer and a second transformer, wherein the first transformer is a reinforced insulation transformer (Singh suggest what is well-known and a requirement for the EHV should be a reinforced insulation due to its high voltage) [0008], and
the second transformer is a basic insulation transformer (Singh suggest reinforced insulation only for the high voltage transformer, and since LV is a low voltage transformer, it is not required) [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Huber to incorporate the teachings of Singh and have the first transformer is a reinforced insulation transformer, and the second transformer is a basic insulation transformer. Doing so would allow the first transformer operates in high voltage and achieve higher efficiency at the second transformer due to closer coupling.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Huber and Singh discloses the electronic as claimed in claim 1 above, Huber further discloses the first rectifier (34) includes:
an output capacitor (44) having a first end (top side of 44) connected to a first end of the secondary-side first winding (top side of 28) of the first transformer (26) and a first end of the secondary-side second winding of the first transformer (top side of 28),
the first diode (38) has a cathode (cathode of 38) connected to a second end of the secondary-side first winding of the first transformer (top side of 28) and an anode connected to a second end of the output capacitor (44), and
the second diode (36) has a cathode (cathode of 36) connected to a second end of the secondary-side second winding of the first transformer (bottom side of 28) and an anode connected to a second end of the output capacitor (44).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Huber and Singh discloses the electronic as claimed in claim 1 above, Huber further discloses the first rectifier (34) includes a third diode (38) and a fourth diode (36),
the first rectifier includes an output capacitor (164),
the first diode has a cathode (cathode of 40) connected to a first end of the output capacitor (left side of 164) and an anode (anode of 40) connected to a first end of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (top side of 28),
the second diode has a cathode (cathode of 42) connected to the first end of the output capacitor (left side of 164) and an anode (anode of 42) connected to a second end of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (bottom side of 28),
the third diode has a cathode (cathode of 38) connected to the first end of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (top side of 28) and an anode (anode of 38) connected to a second end of the output capacitor (right side of 164 through 90),
the fourth diode has a cathode (cathode of 36) connected to the second end of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (bottom side of 28) and an anode (anode of 36) connected to the second end of the output capacitor (right side of 164 through 90), and
the primary-side winding of the second transformer (46) has a first end (bottom end of 46) connected to the first end of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (top end of 28), and a second end (top end of 46) connected to the second end of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (top end of 46).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Huber and Singh discloses the electronic as claimed in claim 1 above, Huber further discloses the electronic further comprising:
a second rectifier (52) connected to the secondary-side winding of the second transformer (48).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Huber and Singh discloses the electronic as claimed in claim 1 above, Huber discloses the second rectifier has a single diode. Huber does not disclose the second rectifier is a full-bridge diode. However, Huber discloses the first rectifier is a full bridge rectifier. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the rectifier of the second transformer to incorporate the teachings of the rectifier of the first transformer output and have a full bridge rectifier. Doing so would provide higher power with less ripple noise.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Huber and Singh discloses the electronic as claimed in claim 1 above, Singh further discloses an electronic apparatus having a first transformer and a second transformer. Singh suggests what is well-known and also a requirement for the EHV should be a reinforced insulation due to its high voltage; therefore, due no reinforced insulation in the LV transformer, the LV transformer has lower leakage due to thinner insulation [0008].
Regarding claim 12, Huber discloses a manufacturing method of an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
forming a converter (Fig. 1) including a first transformer (26) having a primary-side-winding (24) and a secondary-side winding (26);
forming a first rectifier (34) connected to a secondary-side winding (26) of the first transformer, and including a first diode and a second diode (36, 38); and
forming a second transformer (48) including a primary-side winding (46) and a secondary-side winding (50),
wherein the secondary-side winding of the first transformer is a single winding (28), and
the primary-side winding of the second transformer (46) is directly connected to a node (32) to which the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (28) and the diode (38 or 40) included in the first rectifier are directly connected (38 or 40 are directly connected to 32).
a first end of the primary-side winding of the second transformer (bottom connection of 46) is directly connected to a node (32) to which a secondary-side first winding of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (28) and the first diode (38) included in the first rectifier are directly connected (38 is directly connected to 32),
a second end of the primary-side winding of the second transformer (top connection of 46) is directly connected to a node (30) to which a secondary-side second winding of the secondary-side winding of the first transformer (28) and the second diode (36) included in the first rectifier are connected (28 and 38 are directly connected to 30),
the first transformer is a reinforced insulation transformer, and
the second transformer is a basic insulation transformer.
Huber does not disclose
the first transformer is a reinforced insulation transformer, and
the second transformer is a basic insulation transformer.
Singh discloses an electronic apparatus having a first transformer and a second transformer, wherein the first transformer is a reinforced insulation transformer (Singh suggest what is well-known and a requirement for the EHV should be a reinforced insulation due to its high voltage) [0008], and
the second transformer is a basic insulation transformer (Singh suggest reinforced insulation only for the high voltage transformer, and since LV is a low voltage transformer, it is not required) [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Huber to incorporate the teachings of Singh and have the first transformer is a reinforced insulation transformer, and the second transformer is a basic insulation transformer. Doing so would allow the first transformer operates in high voltage and achieve higher efficiency at the second transformer due to closer coupling.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Huber and Singh discloses the method as claimed in claim 12 above, Huber also discloses the forming of the first rectifier includes:
forming an output capacitor (44) having a first end connected to a first end of the secondary-side first winding of the first transformer (top side of 28) and a first end of the secondary-side second winding of the first transformer (bottom side of 28),
forming the first diode to have a cathode (cathode of 38) connected to a second end of the secondary-side first winding of the first transformer (top side of 28) and an anode (anode of 38) connected to a second end of the output capacitor (bottom side of 44), and
forming the second diode to have a cathode (cathode of 36) connected to the second end of the secondary-side second winding of the first transformer (bottom side of 28) and an anode (anode of 36) connected to the second end of the output capacitor (bottom side of 44).
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Huber and Singh in view of Lo.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the combination of Huber and Singh discloses the electronic apparatus and the method as claimed in claims 1 and 12 above, Singh does not explicitly disclose the second transformer is formed with an interleaved winding structure in which the primary-side winding and the secondary-side winding of the second transformer are alternately wound. Lo discloses a transformer is formed with an interleaved winding structure in which the primary-side winding and the secondary-side winding of the second transformer are alternately wound [0039]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Huber and Singh to incorporate the teachings of Lo and have the second transformer is formed with an interleaved winding structure in which the primary-side winding and the secondary-side winding of the second transformer are alternately wound. Doing so would allow higher coupling in the transformer to improve efficiency of the transformer.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Huber and Singh in view of Kim et al., US Patent Publication 20050237292; hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Huber and Singh discloses the electronic as claimed in claim 7 above, Huber discloses electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 7, further comprising:
wherein the first rectifier provides the main board with first output power (Fig. 1, output of load terminals 140 and 66),
the second rectifier provides the backlight driver and/or the backlight with second output power (Fig. 1, output of load terminals 56 and 58), and
the first output power is different from the second output power (Column 3 lines 19-24) and (Column 4 lines 34-45).
Huber discloses the electronic circuit provide power to an electronic control system 180 and the output of the and electronic load 190. Huber does not disclose the electronic control system 180 having a board, and the electronic load 190 is a backlight driver; and a backlight. Kim discloses an electronic system having a controller board [0028]; a backlight driver (Fig. 2, 51); and a backlight (Fig. 2, 51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Huber to incorporate the teachings of Kim and install controller on a board since using a printed circuit board is a common practice to install electronic components; and have a backlight driver and a backlight as the electronic load. Doing so would allow using the electronic apparatus in a television application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836