RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Amendments to the specification and claims, filed 07/02/2026, have been entered in the above identified application.
Claims 1-4 and 7-18 are pending in the application.
Claims 5 and 6 are cancelled in the application.
WITHDRAWN OBJECTIONS/REJECTIONS
The objections to the abstract made of record in the office action mailed 04/10/2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed 07/02/2026.
The 35 U.S.C. §112 (a) and 35 U.S.C. §112 (b) rejection of the claims made of record in the office action mailed on 04/10/2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed on 07/02/2026.
The 35 U.S.C. §102 rejections of claims 1. 2-4, 10, 13-15, and 18 made of record in the office action mailed on 04/10/2026 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment/argument in the response filed 07/02/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 is dependent on a cancelled claim 5. Appropriate correction is required.
REJECTIONS
Claims 1-4, 7,10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si Rui et al. (CN107591591A) in view of Rui et al. (CN114824278 A) and Zeng et al. (Electrolyte Design for In Situ...).
Regarding claim 1 and 13, Si Rui et al. discloses an aqueous zinc battery comprising of zinc negative electrode, a positive electrode, an electrolyte solution. Si Rui et al. further discloses the battery assembly system using a porous membrane in between the negative and positive electrode there by meeting the limitation the positive electrode is disposed to be opposite to the negative electrode (para. 0009). Si Rui et al. further discloses the electrolyte comprises of zinc salt (para. 0019) and organic acids having two carboxylic acid groups and having 2 to 4 carbon atoms between the two carboxylic acid groups like glutaric acid, succinic acid, and adipic acid (para. 0019 - 0020).
Si Rui et al. fails to teach forming a protective layer on the surface of the negative electrode.
Rui et al. discloses modifying a zinc anode to use in aqueous zinc battery by generating a protective layer (SEI film, para n0051). Rui et al. further discloses the protective layer formation solution comprises of organic carboxylic acid and the in-situ protective layer formed on the surface of the zinc (para. n0015 and n0018) is zinc organic acid salt (para. n0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling
date of the claimed invention to form a protective layer on the surface of the anode as
taught by Rui et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a
protective layer that is not easily shed during cycling, to suppress hydrogen evolution
reaction, and dendrite growth.
The combination of Si Rui et al. and Rui et al. fails to disclose the thickness of the protective layer to be in the range 1 to 500 nm.
Zeng et al. discloses formation of a stable dense and uniform protective layer
(SEI layer) of hopeite on Zn electrode for aqueous zinc ion battery of thickness 140 nm
(page2, para 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling
date of the claimed invention to form a protective layer of claimed on the surface of the
anode as taught by Zheng et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been
motivated to form a protective layer of claimed thickness to suppress dendrite formation
and side reaction (e.g., corrosion, passivation, and H 2 evolution) and to ensure uniform
and rapid Zn-ion transport kinetics (Zeng et al., page2, para 4).
Regarding claim 2, Si Rui et al. discloses the electrolyte comprises of zinc salt (para. 0019) and organic acids having two carboxylic acid groups and having 2 to 4 carbon atoms between the two carboxylic acid groups like glutaric acid, succinic acid, and adipic acid (para. 0019 - 0020).
Regarding claims 3, 14, and 15, Si Rui et al. discloses organic acids which includes glutaric acid (para. 0020)
Regarding claim 4, Si Rui et al. discloses the electrolyte system with an
acidity range of pH 3-6, which overlaps with the claimed range (para. 0019).
Regarding claim 7, Rui et al. discloses modifying a zinc anode to
use in aqueous zinc battery by generating a protective layer (SEI film, para n0051). Rui
et al. further discloses the protective layer formation solution comprises of organic
carboxylic acid and the in-situ protective layer formed on the surface of the zinc (para.
n0015 and n0018) is zinc organic acid salt (para. n0037).
All though, Si Rui et al and Rui et al. does not explicitly disclose the protective
layer is zinc glutarate layer, the protective layer is made by substantially similar method
as disclosed in the combination of Si Rui et al and Rui et al. substitution of the organic
carboxylic acid by glutaric acid as disclosed by Si Rui et al. would predictably result in
zinc glutarate protective layer formation on zinc anode as taught by Rui et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling
date of the claimed invention to form a protective layer on the surface of the anode as
taught by Rui et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a
protective layer that is not easily shed during cycling, to suppress hydrogen evolution
reaction, and dendrite growth.
Regarding claim 10, Si Rui et al. discloses positive electrode includes one
selected from the group of carbon fiber, carbon black, carbon felt, graphene and
acetylene black (para. 0016).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si Rui et al. (CN107591591A) in view of Rui et al. (CN114824278 A) and Zeng et al. (Electrolyte Design for In Situ...). as applied to claim 1-4, 7, 10 above, and further in view of Adams et al. (U.S. PG Pub.No. 2020/0395606A1).
Si Rui et al, Rui et al. and Zeng et al. are relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 8 and 9, Si Rui et al. fails to disclose a zinc salt from the
list as claimed in the application. Adams et al. discloses aqueous zinc battery
with layered electrode material (para. 0011) which has a zinc negative electrode
(para. 0049) and an electrolyte that includes a zinc salt (para. 0052). The zinc
salt may be selected from zinc sulfate, zinc triflate or zinc acetate (para. 0053,
0140). Adams et al. further discloses in an embodiment a zinc battery comprising
zinc foil negative electrode and zinc sulfate in aqueous electrolyte (para. 0144).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to add zinc sulfate to the electrolyte
of Si Rui et al. as taught by Adams et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would
have been motivated to add stable and soluble zinc sulphate to enable consistent
zinc ion availability during operation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si Rui et al. (CN107591591A) in view of Rui et al. (CN114824278 A) and Zeng et al. (Electrolyte Design for In Situ...). as applied to claim 1-4, 7, 10 above, and further in view of LI et al (U.S. PG Pub.No. 2021/00184233A1).
Si Rui et al, Rui et al. and Zeng et al. are relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 11, Si Rui et al. discloses the negative electrode in contact with
the electrolyte solution (para. 0009).
Si Rui et al. fails to disclose a positive electrode in contact with a solution
including at least one selected from the group consisting of KI, KBr, and KCl.
LI et al. discloses a redox flow battery (zinc iodine flow battery, para. 0006) . LI et
al. further discloses the electrolyte solution contains KI (para 009) and is in contact with
positive electrode (carbon felt, para. 009- 0010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling
date of the claimed invention to add KI to the electrolyte of Si Rui et al. as taught by LI
et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add KI due to its high
solubility and less corrosive chemical nature to result in long cycling life of the redox
flow battery.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si Rui et al. (CN107591591A) in view of Rui et al. (CN114824278 A) and Zeng et al. (Electrolyte Design for In Situ...) as applied to claim 1-4, 7, 10 above, and further in view of Jin-qing et al. (CN107240723A, for prior art discussion see the machine translation ).
Si Rui et al, Rui et al. and Zeng et al. are relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 12, Si Rui et al. fails to disclose an aqueous zinc battery
wherein a concentration ratio of the organic acid having two carboxylic acid
groups to the zinc salt is 0.001:1 to 1:1.
Jin-qing et al. discloses an aqueous Zinc battery (Zn-PANI) where in the
electrolyte comprises of zinc salt and organic acid having two carboxylic acid
groups (dicarboxylic acid) and a pH of 3-6 (para. 0009). Jin-qing et al. further
discloses the concentration of the organic acid is 0.01- 1 M and zinc salt is 0.1-
1.0 M which overlaps with the claimed ratio range (para.009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
effective filling date of the claimed invention to have a concentration ratio of the
organic acid to the zinc salt of Si Rui et al. in the range as taught by Jin-qing et
al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to keep it at this
range to suppress the zinc dendrite formation during charging and discharging of
the aqueous zinc battery.
Claims 16, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si Rui et al. (CN107591591A) in view of Rui et al. (CN114824278 A) and Zeng et al. (Electrolyte Design for In Situ...) as applied to claim 1-4, 7, 10 above, and further in view of Lee (US PG Pub. 20190010283A1).
Si Rui et al, Rui et al. and Zeng et al. are relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 16, as discussed above with respect to claim 1, Si Rui et al. discloses organic acids which includes glutaric acid (para. 0020) which has 3 carbon atoms between the two carboxylic acid groups. Rui et al. discloses formation of protective layer on a surface of a negative electrode. Rui et al. further discloses the protective layer formation solution comprises of organic carboxylic acid and the in-situ protective layer formed on the surface of the zinc (para. n0015 and n0018) is zinc organic acid salt (para. n0037).
Combination of Si Rui and Rui fails to disclose the thickness of the protective layer is 1 to 500 nm.
Zeng discloses the thickness of the stable dense and uniform protective layer (SEI layer) of hopeite on Zn electrode for aqueous zinc ion battery of thickness 140 nm (page2, para 4). Zeng further discloses the in situ formed SEI possess high interfacial stability, a high Zn-ion transference number, and high Zn-ion conductivity, which not only restrains the side reactions via isolating the active Zn from the bulk electrolyte, but
also ensures uniform and rapid Zn-ion transport kinetics for dendrite-free Zn deposition (page 2, col. 2, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling
date of the claimed invention to form a protective layer of zinc organic acid salt protective layer having a thickness in the of claimed on the surface of the anode as taught by Zheng. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a
protective layer in the claimed thickness range to possess high interfacial stability, a high Zn-ion transference number, and high Zn-ion conductivity, which not only restrains the side reactions via isolating the active Zn from the bulk electrolyte, but
also ensures uniform and rapid Zn-ion transport kinetics for dendrite-free Zn deposition
The combination of SiRui, Rui and Zeng fails to disclose the thickness of the zinc organic acid salt protective layer is 1 to 500 nm.
Lee discloses zinc dicarboxylate materials including zinc glutarate (para. 0035) and discloses providing the zinc dicarboxylate material as a thin film of thickness 10 nm to 500 nm (para. 0054) on the surface of zinc layer (ref. 2, figure 1). Lee establishes that same type material ie zinc dicarboxylate material as a film on the surface in a nanometer scale falling within the claimed range. Lee further discloses the degree of the reaction forming the zinc organic acid salt, thereof may be proportional to the reaction time and the amount of dicarboxylic acid to be added (para. 0054). Lee discloses agglomeration is remarkably reduced in such a thin zinc carboxylate film (para. 0033). However Lee discloses the use of such films as part of a catalyst, so Lee is relied upon to disclose the thickness of zinc organic acid salt layer in the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling
date of the claimed invention to form a protective layer of zinc organic acid salt protective layer having a thickness in the of claimed on the surface of the anode as taught by Zheng and Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a protective layer in the claimed thickness range to reduce agglomeration on the surface.
Regarding claim 17, as discussed with respect to claim 7 and 16, the combination of Si Rui, Rui, Zeng and Lee discloses the zinc organic acid salt protective layer is a zinc glutarate protective layer.
Regarding claim 18, as discussed with respect to claim 1 and 16, the combination of Si Rui, Rui, Zeng and Lee discloses the electrolyte solution further includes an organic acid having two carboxylic acid groups.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed on 07/02/2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. §102 of Claims 1, 2- 4, 10, 13-15 and 18 of record have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection.
Regarding applicant’s arguments on page 8 but have not found persuasive. Si Rui does not directly disclose a configuration in which the organic acid forms a protective layer on the surface of the zinc anode, nor does it disclose that the thickness of such protective layer is 1 to 500 nm. It is agreed SiRui does not teach the thickness of such protective layer is 1 to 500 nm which is why Si Rui in combination with Rui and Zeng to teach all the limitations of the claim 1. Si Rui et al. does not explicitly teach the limitation a protective layer of zinc organic acid salt - Zinc glutarate is formed on the surface of negative electrode. It is reasonable to presume that said limitation are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. zinc battery with electrolyte including zinc salt and an organic acid having two carboxylic acid groups has 2-4 carbon atoms between the two carboxylic acid groups and at a pH less than 5.6) and in the similar production steps (i.e. immersing the zinc electrode in the electrolyte solution for a finite amount of time) will result in the formation of the protective layer on the zinc surface which is the zinc organic acid salt - Zinc glutarate as indicated on page 8 of the office action.
Regarding applicant’s argument on page 8 but have not found persuasive. If Rui were combined with Si Rui, it would still be difficult to readily arrive at the configurations of amended Claims 1, 13, and 16. It is agreed SiRui in combination with Rui does not teach the thickness of such protective layer is 1 to 500 nm which is why Si Rui in combination with Rui and Zeng to teach all the limitations of the claim 1.
Regarding applicants argument on page 9, but have not found persuasive. Zheng negatively teaches away from the inventions of amended Claims 1, 13, and 16. Zeng is relied upon solely for teaching that in situ formed protective layers on zinc anodes in aqueous zinc battery systems are characterized at ~ 140 nm thickness – a value falling within the claimed range and no reliance is placed on Zeng for any teaching identity of the SEI as claimed- a zinc organic acid salt. Zeng further discloses that the in situ formed SEI having a thickness of ~140 nm possess high interfacial stability, a high Zn-ion transference number, and high Zn-ion conductivity, which not only restrains the side reactions via isolating the active Zn from the bulk electrolyte, but also ensures uniform and rapid Zn-ion transport kinetics for dendrite-free Zn deposition (page 2, col. 2, para 2).
Regarding applicants argument on page 10, Adams does not cure the deficiencies in Si Rui with regard to amended independent claim 1. It is agreed SiRui in combination with Adams doesnot teach all the limitations of the amended claim which is why Si Rui in combination with Rui and Zeng to teach all the limitations of the claim 1.
Regarding applicants argument on page 10, LI does not cure the deficiencies in Si Rui with regard to amended independent claim 1. It is agreed SiRui in combination with LI doesnot teach all the limitations of the amended claim which is why Si Rui in combination with Rui and Zeng to teach all the limitations of the claim 1.
Regarding applicants argument on page 10. Jin-qing does not cure the deficiencies in Si Rui with regard to amended independent claim 1. It is agreed SiRui in combination with Jin-Quings doesnot teach all the limitations of the amended claim which is why Si Rui in combination with Rui and Zeng to teach all the limitations of the claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.M./
Iswarya MathewExaminer, Art Unit 1788
09/03/2026
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788