DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 01/28/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. No Claim has been cancelled. No Claim has been added. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, p. 6-10) with respect to the independent claims 1, 9, and the dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant’s arguments directed to amended limitation have been addressed in the detail rejection below with new reference by Yuan et al.
The arguments regarding dependent claims for the virtue of their dependency are moot because the independent claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (WO 2021259249 A1), in view of Kim (US 10997942 B2), and further in view of Yuan et al. (US 20200043150 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Xiao discloses A display device, signally connected to a source (ABST reciting “a data display processing method and apparatus”. Fig. 6 showing a structural diagram of an electronic device, a computer device), the display device comprising:
an image processor, configured to store a current image frame provided by the source in a memory when receiving a notification signal from the source to switch a display format; (Fig. 5 sowing processor and memory. ¶73 reciting “The computer device may be a terminal, and its internal structure diagram may be as shown in FIG5 . The computer device includes a processor, a memory, a communication interface, a display screen and an input device connected via a system bus.” Fig. 2, step 202: “Obtain a resolution switching request” (¶19). Further, ¶22 reciting “The terminal calls a preset thread according to the resolution switching request. . . The frame buffer corresponding to the display device is adjusted through a preset thread. . . A framebuffer is a two-dimensional array of pixels located in kernel space. Each storage unit in the frame buffer may correspond to a pixel on the screen of the display device, and the data to be displayed in the entire frame buffer may correspond to a frame of image, i.e., a screen picture displayed on the display device. The frame buffer is used to store data to be displayed and provide display data to the display device. The current display area may be a display ratio of the original data to be displayed corresponding to the area where the displayed data is located.”) and
a panel module (Fig. 5 showing a display. ¶73 reciting “The computer device may be a terminal, and its internal structure diagram may be as shown in FIG5 . The computer device includes . . ., a display screen”), electrically connected to the image processor, wherein the image processor provides the current image frame to the panel module, so that the panel module displays the current image frame; and the image processor continuously provides the current image to the panel module for display simultaneously until the image processor receives a new image frame provided and transmit the new image frame to the panel module. (Fig. 5. ¶22 disclosing the current image frame is displayed on the screen via a frame buffer, and reciting “The terminal calls a preset thread according to the resolution switching request. . . A framebuffer is a two-dimensional array of pixels located in kernel space. Each storage unit in the frame buffer may correspond to a pixel on the screen of the display device, and the data to be displayed in the entire frame buffer may correspond to a frame of image, i.e., a screen picture displayed on the display device. The frame buffer is used to store data to be displayed and provide display data to the display device. The current display area may be a display ratio of the original data to be displayed corresponding to the area where the displayed data is located.”)
However, Xiao does not explicitly disclose the image processor is re-handshaking with the source and the panel module, so that the panel module displays the new image frame instead of the current image frame.
Kim teaches a wired input source, a wireless input source and a controller in Figs. 1 and 2, and recites “A display apparatus comprising: a display unit; an external device interface configured to be connected to a first external device through a wire; a communication unit configured to wirelessly communicate with a second external device, wherein the communication unit is different from the external device interface; and a controller” (Claim 11). Further, Kim teaches the controller (i.e. the image processor) is establishing again with the image input source and the display unit to display a new image frame from the established connection while displaying the first image in Claim 11.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings from Xiao and Kim and to obtain new image data with a newly established connection with an input source (taught by Kim). The suggestions/motivations would have been to solve the problem “to connect the source device and the display apparatus for wireless display of the source image, a user should input an instruction to connect the two devices through an input part of the source device, or input an instruction to connect the two devices and/or input an instruction to convert the input source into an input source for wireless display through an input part of the display apparatus.” (col. 1 ln. 64 – col. 2 ln. 4), and to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
However, Xiao in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the current image frame and the new image frame are provided by the same source.
Yuan teaches “An image processing method determining a format of first image data, determining a first interface mode that is currently used, where the first interface mode is determined when the processing device establishes physical connections with a display device, and the format of the first image data format is not supported by the first interface mode, and processing, the first image data based on the first interface mode to generate second image data, where a format of the second image data is supported by the first interface mode.” (ABST). FIG. 1 shows a schematic structural diagram of a display system including a processing device and a display device. ¶45 teaches a display device (for example, a television set) ; and ¶55 teaches a processing device being a playback device (for example, a set top box). In addition, ¶78 recites “when S303 is performed, if it is determined that the image format corresponding to the video data is the image format corresponding to the HDR, S306 (in an embodiment, the video data is output) is directly performed after S303. Alternatively, when S303 is performed, if it is determined that the image format corresponding to the video data is not the image format corresponding to the HDR, S304 and S305 (in an embodiment, by performing S304 and S305, the formats of the images corresponding to the video data are converted) are continuously performed after S303, and S306 is performed after S304 and S305.” In other words, the current displayed image frame and the new image frame are provided by the same source, i.e. the playback device.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device (taught by Xiao in view of Kim) to receive the image frames from the same source, such as a playback device (taught by Yuan). The suggestions/motivations would have been “to avoid one or more seconds of black screen of the display device resulting from re-initialization of an interface mode between the processing device and the display device caused by inconsistency of the format of the first image data and the first interface mode, thereby improving viewing experience of a user.” (¶9), and to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 10, Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan discloses The display device according to claim 9,
wherein the switching of the display format comprises switching of display timing, version switching of DP interface, version switching of HDMI interface, switching from HDMI 2.1 TMDS mode to HDMI 2.1 FRL mode, switching from DP HBR2 to HBR3, on/off switching of Freesync or on/off switching of HDR.
(Xiao discloses to switch a display format (e.g. display resolution). The examples of switching display format disclosed in this claim are well known in that art, which would have switched display resolution.)
Regarding Claim 13, Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan discloses The display device according to claim 9, wherein the switching of the display format is realized through an application program of an operating system or an on-screen display (OSD) menu of the display device in the source. (Xiao, Fig. 2 showing a method of switching of display resolution. ¶18-25. Further, ¶72 reciting “The specific definition of the data display and processing device can be found in the above definition of the data display and processing method, which will not be repeated here. Each module in the above data display processing device can be fully or partially implemented by software, hardware or a combination thereof. The above modules can be embedded in or independent of the processor in the computer device in the form of hardware, or can be stored in the memory of the computer device in the form of software, so that the processor can call and execute the operations corresponding to the above modules.”)
Regarding Claim 14, Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan discloses The display device according to claim 13, wherein completion of the switching of the display format is confirmed through the operating system or the display device. (Xiao, ¶23-25 disclosing a new image frame (with a second resolution) is transmitted to the panel module and reciting “After the resolution switching is completed, the adjusted display data is displayed on the display device after the resolution switching.” (¶25) In other words, the switching of display resolution is confirmed by the display device.)
Claim 1, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 9, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 9.
Claim 2, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 10, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 10.
Claim 5, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 13, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 13.
Claim 6, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 14, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 14.
Claim(s) 3, 7-8, 11, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan, and further in view of Weng et al. (TW 201016002 A)
Regarding Claim 11, Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan discloses The display device according to claim 9.
However, Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan does not explicitly disclose wherein the panel module further comprises a timing controller, and the panel module handshakes with the image processor through the timing controller.
Weng teaches a timing controller 290 shown in Figs. 2A and 2B. Further, ¶18 recites “The clock controller 290 is coupled to the scaler 270, and outputs a data signal Data to the source driving unit 220 according to the digital image output signal, so that the source driving unit 220 drives the panel 210 according to the data signal Data.”
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device (taught by Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan) to include a timing controller that outputs the image signal from the processor to the display panel (taught by Weng). The suggestions/motivations would have been for a multi-interface image signal processing system with “small size and low cost” (¶6), and to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 15, Xiao in view of Kim, Yuan and Weng discloses The display device according to claim 9, wherein the memory is built in the image processor. (Weng, ¶12 reciting “122 The multi-interface image signal processing system 240 is substantially packaged in a single chip, which includes a data input processing unit 250, a scaler 270, a line buffer 280, and a timing controller 290. The data input processing unit 250 includes an analog to digital converter (ADC) 252 , a decoder 254 , and a switching device 260 .” The suggestions/motivations would have been the same as that of Claim 11 rejections.)
Regarding Claim 16, Xiao in view of Kim, Yuan and Weng discloses The display device according to claim 9, wherein the image processor is a scaler IC. (Weng, ¶12 reciting “122 The multi-interface image signal processing system 240 is substantially packaged in a single chip, which includes a data input processing unit 250, a scaler 270, a line buffer 280, and a timing controller 290. The data input processing unit 250 includes an analog to digital converter (ADC) 252 , a decoder 254 , and a switching device 260 .” The suggestions/motivations would have been the same as that of Claim 11 rejections.)
Claim 3, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 11, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 11.
Claim 7, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 15, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 15.
Claim 8, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 16, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 16.
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan, and further in view of Verbeure et al. (US 20150109286 A1)
Regarding Claim 12, Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan discloses The display device according to claim 9.
Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan does not explicitly disclose wherein the panel module further comprises a backlight module, and when the panel module sequentially displays the current image frame and the new image frame, the panel module does not turn off the backlight module.
Verbeure teaches a display system (ABST). More specifically, ¶26 teaches a constant illumination with the backlight staying on, and recites “a constant illumination is provided by the backlight for each of the image frames, during the first mode of operation.” Further, ¶99 recites “when a new frame was expected at the location of the dashed arrow, but didn't arrive, the display logic decided to disable the low motion blur mode and switch to the variable refresh rate with constant backlight mode immediately”. In other words, ¶99 and Fig. 9 teach a constant backlight mode between image frames.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device (taught by Xiao in view of Kim and Yuan) to use a constant backlight mode between image frames (taught by Verbeure). The suggestions/motivations would have been “for error compensation when operating a display with a variable refresh rate and flashing backlight” (¶98), and to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 4, has similar limitations as of Claim(s) 12, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as Claim(s) 12.
Conclusion
/YI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619