DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim s 1 -8, 10-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eidam et al. ( DE 102012002958 A1 ) in view of Inoue et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0231640) . Regarding claim 1, Eidam et al. disclose : a laser (1) configured to generate pulses with a repetition rate greater than 40 MHz (100 MHz) (Fig. 1, page 5 of the translation) ; a pulse stretcher (2) configured to increase the duration of pulses (stretching pulses from less than 1 ps to 100 ps) (Fig. 1, page 5 of the translation) ; an optical cavity (cavity/resonator 7 formed between mirrors 8) configured to receive the pulses from the pulse stretcher and coherently stack the pulses within the optical cavity to increase a pulse amplitude (emitted light pulses from the laser are coherently superimposed in the cavity) (Fig. 1, page 5 of the translation, last paragraph) ; an active coupling element (modulator 9) configured to out couple pulses from inside of the optical cavity to outside of the optical cavity at a fraction of the repetition rate (Fig. 1, page 6 of the translation) ; and a compressor (12) configured to reduce the pulse duration of the out coupled pulses to femtosecond duration pulses (Fig. 1, page 6 of the translation, third paragraph) . Eidam et al. do not explicitly disclose: a femtosecond laser configured to generate femtosecond duration pulses; increase the femtosecond duration pulses to picosecond duration pulses . Inoue et al. disclose: femtosecond optical parametric oscillator pumped by a Yb-doped fiber laser ([0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eidam by using a femtosecond optical parametric oscillator pumped by a Yb-doped fiber laser as the pulsed laser source in order to obtain femtosecond output pulses. The device as modified disclose: increase the femtosecond duration pulses to picosecond duration pulses (stretcher would stretch femtosecond pulse to picosecond pulse). Fig. 1 of Eidam Regarding claim 2, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the femtosecond laser is an optical parametric oscillator (OPO) (Inoue, [0053]) . Regarding claim 3, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the optical cavity is configured with a maximum pulse energy build-up between a factor of 10 and 1000 times the input pulse energy (Eidam, page 2 of translation, last paragraph) . Regarding claim 4, Eidam as modified do not disclose: wherein the optical cavity is configured to have a finesse of more than 300. However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, an optical cavity having a finesse value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the finesse of the cavity by routine experimentation. Regarding claim 5, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the system is configured to output pulses with power greater than 100 nJ (1mJ pulse energy) (Eidam, page 5 of translation, 2 nd to last paragraph) . Regarding claim 6, Eidam as modified do not disclose: wherein the system is configured to provide a wavelength capability to cover a range of 200 nm-20 μm. However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system having a wavelength range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the wavelength range by routine experimentation. Regarding claim 7 , Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the optical cavity comprises a partial reflector (left mirror 8) and one or more mirrors (right mirror 8 ) , and the optical cavity is configured to receive input pulses through the partial reflector (input pulse 6 received through left mirror 8) (Eidam, Fig. 1, page 5 of the translation, last paragraph) . Regarding claim 8, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the optical cavity comprises a plurality of mirrors (mirrors 8) , and the input pulses are switched into the optical cavity by the active coupling element (acousto-optic modulator 9) (Eidam, Fig. 1, page 6 of the translation, first paragraph) . Regarding claim 10, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the optical cavity is configured to support multiple wavelength operations simultaneously ( femtosecond optical parametric oscillator input in the device as modified results in optical cavity configured to support multiple wavelengths) (see the rejection of claim 1) . Regarding claim 11, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the optical cavity comprises an optical fiber based, or free space component (Eidam, page 5 of translation) . Regarding claim 12, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the optical cavity comprises a polarization element ( Pockels cell 9) (Eidam, Fig. 1, page 6 of the translation, first paragraph) . Regarding claim 15, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the active coupling element comprises one of the following elements: acousto-optic modulator (AOM), electro-optic modulation (EOM), Pockels cell (Eidam, Fig. 1, page 6 of the translation, first paragraph) . Regarding claim 16, Eidam as modified disclose: wherein the optical cavity is configured to use an acousto-optic modulator (AOM) as a non-linear element (Eidam, Fig. 1, page 6 of the translation, first paragraph) . Regarding claim 17, Eidam as modified do not explicitly disclose: wherein the compressor is configurable to provide an adjustable pulse chirp for use with a dispersive optical system. The examiner takes official notice that a compressor configured to provide an adjustable pulse chirp was well known in the art before the time of filing . For example, see Wise et al. (US PG Pub 2010/0020387) ([0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eidam as modified by using a compressor that is adjustable in order to change the pulse width and chirp of the output pulse . Regarding claim 18, Eidam as modified do not disclose: wherein the active coupling element is configured to out couple pulses at a repetition rate of about 1 MHz. However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a laser system comprising an active coupling element configured to out couple pulses at a repetition rate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for the repetition rate by routine experimentation. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eidam et al. ( DE 102012002958 A1 ) in view of Inoue et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0231640) and Daiber (US PG Pub 2015/0036704). Regarding claim 9, Eidam as modified do not disclose: further comprising a locking system configured to keep the pulses in the optical cavity at the same repetition rate as the input pulses via a feedback loop for controlling an intra-cavity actuator. Daiber discloses: a cavity length actuator to adjust and lock an optical path length of a laser devic e ([0015]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eidam as modified by adding an actuator to one of the mirrors and a feedback loop in order to lock the repetition rate of the device to a desired value. Claim s 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eidam et al. ( DE 102012002958 A1 ) in view of Inoue et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0231640) and Shchegrov (US PG Pub 2006/0280219). Regarding claim 13, Eidam as modified do not disclose: wherein the optical cavity comprises a non-linear element. Shchegrov discloses: optical cavity comprises non-linear element and dispersion element (Fig. 31, [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eidam as modified by adding a nonlinear crystal to the cavity in order to change the output wavelength of the device. Regarding claim 14, Eidam as modified do not disclose: wherein the optical cavity includes a wavelength dispersion element either spatially or temporally. Shchegrov discloses: optical cavity comprises non-linear element and dispersion element (Fig. 31, [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eidam as modified by adding a wavelength dispersion element to the cavity in order to choose the wavelength range of the output laser pulse. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eidam et al. ( DE 102012002958 A1 ) in view of Inoue et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0231640) and Xu et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0069233). Regarding claim 19, Eidam as modified do not disclose: wherein the system is configured to produce light pulses for three-photon excitations. Xu et al. disclose: three-photon excitation microscopy ([0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Eidam as modified by using the output pulses for three photon excitation microscopy because o ne of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jonuska (US PG Pub 2015/0207292) discloses: t his invention provides a solution for operating a mode-locking and cavity dumping laser apparatus using a single electro-optical switch or modulator, such as a Pockels cell, without the need of multiplexing between two sources of voltage. The complex waveform of electrical signal, which controls the Pockels Cell is achieved by employing the phenomena, called LC circuit ringing, where the LC circuit is formed from an inductive element and a capacitor, where the Pockels Cell works as a capacitor itself. The ringing frequency should be calculated such that the period of oscillations is preferably two times longer than the round-trip time of a light pulse inside the optical cavity. As a result, optical losses are created inside the cavity with a period, which coincides with the travel of a light pulse, thus the pulse build-up is consistent and stable (Abstract). Honninger et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0343682) disclose: a system and a method for generating high-power laser pulses with very high repetition rate. The laser system includes an oscillator capable of generating a source laser beam including a series of sources pulses with femtosecond or picosecond duration at a first repetition frequency no lower than 800 megahertz and an optical amplifier system suitable for receiving and amplifying the series of source pulses at a second repetition frequency that is equal to or a multiple of the first repetition frequency, the multiple being a non-negative integer greater than or equal to two, so as to generate a series of laser pulses with very high repetition frequency (Abstract) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT XINNING(TOM) NIU whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1437 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F: 9:30am-6:00pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Minsun Harvey can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1835 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /XINNING(Tom) NIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828