4-DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (W0 2017/1877011 found in IDS – 7/1/2024) in view of Faccin et al (2019/0124561).
Regarding claim 1. D1 teaches a control method for an edge computing service (abstract – method and apparatus in mobile edge computing), comprising:
identifying a terminal corresponding to a subscriber of the edge computing service (0063-0064, figure 4 - UE sends an attach request comprising one or more UE parameters, eNB provides the attach request to MME with the related parameters, and MME notes a target eNB and/or any other UE related information, and at operation 420 provides IMSI (e.g., identifying a UE) towards S/P-GW. At operation 425, MME 330 may receive subscription information from the HSS, and subsequently, at operation 430, transmit a create session request including, for example, IMSI to P-GW 340. At operation 455, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or subsequently send UE/IMSI related parameters, e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (cell ID) and/or subscription/group/classification info, to a MEC server to which the current eNB of the UE is connected);
based on service authorization information of the terminal, IMSI (e.g., identifying a UE) towards S/P-GW. At operation 425, MME 330 may receive subscription information from the HSS, and subsequently, at operation 430, transmit a create session request including, for example, IMSI to P-GW 340. At operation 455, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or subsequently send UE/IMSI related parameters, e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (cell ID) and/or subscription/group/classification info, to a MEC server to which the current eNB of the UE is connected);
detecting a movement of the terminal from a first edge cluster to a second edge cluster (abstract – detect HO of UE between first eNB and second eNB and determine whether the HO involves first MEC server coverage or outside first MEC server coverage and within coverage of the a second MEC server coverage, 0064 – at operation 450, MME 330 may then save the UE IP address, for possible later use, e.g. upon handovers to update the new (to-be-handed-over-to) MEC server, figure 6, 0067 – wherein a handover process between eNBs within the areas of different MEC servers. At operation 605, UE transmits a path switch request to MME 330. At operation 610, MME 330 notes the new eNB is in the area of another MEC server); and
performing an action, based on the movement of the terminal, related to at least one of a first edge control server of the first edge cluster and a second edge control server of the second edge cluster (figure 6, 0067-0068 – As shown in operation 615, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or send UE related parameters (e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (e.g., cell ID) and/or group identification information and/or user/UE classification information), to the new MEC server. At operation 620, MME may prepare to inform and/or inform the old MEC server about the UE leaving the area, e.g., to enable the MEC server to invalidate/nullify UE related information, e.g., the UE IP address. At operation 625, MME330 may then transmit message (IMSI and/or UE IP address), location info, subscription/Group/Classification info, … ) to the new MEC server 325. At operation 635, MME 330 may transmit message (indication of UE leaving the area / request to nullify parameters) to the old MEC server 320),
wherein the service authorization information comprises a UE usage type of the UE stored in a HSSIMSI (e.g., identifying a UE) towards S/P-GW. At operation 425, MME 330 may receive subscription information from the HSS, and subsequently, at operation 430, transmit a create session request including, for example, IMSI to P-GW 340. At operation 455, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or subsequently send UE/IMSI related parameters, e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (cell ID) and/or subscription/group/classification info, to a MEC server to which the current eNB of the UE is connected).
Regarding amendment 11/26/2025. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach … wherein the UE usage type of the terminal corresponds to a multi-access edge computing (MEC) value predetermined and assigned by a mobile telecommunication service provider.
Faccin teaches HSS stores UE usage type which corresponds to a dedicated core network (DCN) (e.g., a MEC). When the MME asks the UE Usage Type from the HSS, if the Temporary UE Usage Type is set, the HSS provides such value. In this way the MME can select the DCN serving the UE based on dynamic information and not just subscription information (0036). A high overview for supporting DCNs (e.g. MECs) is provided below. In some examples, an optional subscription information parameter (“UE Usage Type”) is used in selection of a DCN (e.g., MEC). An operator configures which of his DCN(s) serves which UE Usage Type(s). The HSS provides the “UE Usage Type” value in the subscription information (0057, 0062). The serving network selects the DCN (e.g., MEC) based on the operator configured (UE Usage Type to DCN) mapping (0063, 0155).
It would have been extremely obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to store UE Usage Type corresponding to a DCN (e.g., MEC) value in the HSS as taught by Faccin thereby enabling a network node the ability to query the HSS and the HSS providing the UE Usage Type value to the requesting node. In this way the network node can select the DCN (e.g., MEC) serving the UE based on dynamic information and not just subscription information (Faccin at 0036).
Regarding claim 6. D1 teaches wherein the detecting of the movement of the terminal comprises detecting the movement of the terminal from a first network area belonging to the first edge cluster to a second network area belonging to the second edge cluster (abstract – detect HO of UE between first eNB and second eNB and determine whether the HO involves first MEC server coverage or outside first MEC server coverage and within coverage of the a second MEC server coverage, 0074 – MME is able to detect, for example, if a HO of a UE takes place between eNBs in the area of the same MEC server or between eNBs that belong to the areas of different MEC servers).
Regarding claim 7. D1 teaches wherein the performing of the action comprises:
requesting the first edge control server to delete subscriber information of the terminal; and transmitting the subscriber information of the terminal to the second edge control server (figure 6, 0067-0068 – As shown in operation 615, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or send UE related parameters (e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (e.g., cell ID) and/or group identification information and/or user/UE classification information), to the new MEC server. At operation 620, MME may prepare to inform and/or inform the old MEC server about the UE leaving the area, e.g., to enable the MEC server to invalidate/nullify (e.g., delete) UE related information, e.g., the UE IP address. At operation 625, MME330 may then transmit message (IMSI and/or UE IP address), location info, subscription/Group/Classification info, … ) to the new MEC server 325. At operation 635, MME 330 may transmit message (indication of UE leaving the area / request to nullify parameters) to the old MEC server 320).
Regarding claim 8. D1 teaches wherein the subscriber information comprises at least one of: international mobile subscriber identity (MSI), an internet protocol (IP) address, an evolved universal terrestrial access network (E-UTRAN) cell global identifier (EGCI), a tracking area identifier (TAI), an access point name network identifier (APNNI), and a user equipment usage type of the terminal (0067-0068 – IMSI, UE IP address, location information, and/or UE classification information).
Regarding claim 9. D1 teaches based on a cell change of the terminal, which is detected in the second edge cluster, notifying the cell change to the second edge control server (abstract – detect HO of UE between first eNB and second eNB and determine whether the HO involves first MEC server coverage or outside first MEC server coverage and within coverage of the a second MEC server coverage, 0064 – at operation 450, MME 330 may then save the UE IP address, for possible later use, e.g. upon handovers to update the new (to-be-handed-over-to) MEC server, figure 5, 0066 – facilitating HO process between eNBs within the area of a MEC server, figure 6, 0067 – wherein a handover process between eNBs within the areas of different MEC servers. At operation 605, UE transmits a path switch request to MME 330. At operation 610, MME 330 notes the new eNB is in the area of another MEC server).
Regarding claim 11. D1 teaches wherein the control method is performed by a network core server (see MME in abstract, 0063-0068).
2. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (W0 2017/1877011 found in IDS – 7/1/2024) in view of Faccin et al (2019/0124561) further in view of So et al (2020/0374740).
Regarding claim 4. D1 in view of Faccin do not explicitly teach a re-selection a user plane device based on the movement of the terminal.
So also teaches dynamically moving UEs between MEC servers (0014) and determines whether to assign a specific UE to user plane site 204 for service, or whether that specific UE would be better served at other user plane sites (e.g., re-selection of a user plane) … based upon changing to conditions of the service instance (UE usage type), such as changing in network data traffic or UE locations … traffic throughput of user plane site 204, type of device (UE usage type), type of application logic to be performed (UE usage type), time of day, user membership identifiers (e.g., premium tiers) (UE usage type), QoS (UE usage type), latency requirements for the requested application (UE usage type), among others (0023) and usage data reported from UEs (UE usage type), … UE’s requesting the same application (UE usage type) (0024).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Faccin to use the UE usage type information as taught by So in order to enable the network to quickly re-select user plane sites that would better service the UE based upon UE movement.
3. Claims 12-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (W0 2017/1877011 found in IDS – 7/1/2024) in view of So et al (2020/0374740) further in view of Faccin et al (2019/0124561).
Regarding claim 12. D1 teaches a network core server comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (abstract – MME (e.g., network Core Server comprising processor, memory and program)), wherein, based on the instructions being executed by the processor, the processor is configured to:
identify a terminal corresponding to a subscriber of an edge computing service based on service authorization information of the terminal (0063-0064, figure 4 - UE sends an attach request comprising one or more UE parameters, eNB provides the attach request to MME with the related parameters, and MME notes a target eNB and/or any other UE related information, and at operation 420 provides IMSI (e.g., identifying a UE) towards S/P-GW. At operation 425, MME 330 may receive subscription information from the HSS, and subsequently, at operation 430, transmit a create session request including, for example, IMSI to P-GW 340. At operation 455, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or subsequently send UE/IMSI related parameters, e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (cell ID) and/or subscription/group/classification info, to a MEC server to which the current eNB of the UE is connected);
detect a movement of the terminal from a first edge cluster to a second edge cluster (abstract – detect HO of UE between first eNB and second eNB and determine whether the HO involves first MEC server coverage or outside first MEC server coverage and within coverage of the a second MEC server coverage, 0064 – at operation 450, MME 330 may then save the UE IP address, for possible later use, e.g. upon handovers to update the new (to-be-handed-over-to) MEC server, figure 6, 0067 – wherein a handover process between eNBs within the areas of different MEC servers. At operation 605, UE transmits a path switch request to MME 330. At operation 610, MME 330 notes the new eNB is in the area of another MEC server; and
perform an action, based on the movement of the terminal, related to at least one of a first edge control server of the first edge cluster and a second edge control server of the second edge cluster (figure 6, 0067-0068 – As shown in operation 615, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or send UE related parameters (e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (e.g., cell ID) and/or group identification information and/or user/UE classification information), to the new MEC server. At operation 620, MME may prepare to inform and/or inform the old MEC server about the UE leaving the area, e.g., to enable the MEC server to invalidate/nullify UE related information, e.g., the UE IP address. At operation 625, MME330 may then transmit message (IMSI and/or UE IP address), location info, subscription/Group/Classification info, … ) to the new MEC server 325. At operation 635, MME 330 may transmit message (indication of UE leaving the area / request to nullify parameters) to the old MEC server 320), and
D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the service authorization information comprises a user equipment usage type of the terminal.
However, D1 teaches receiving subscription information from HSS wherein subscription information of UE relates to IMSI, UE IP address, location information, group information, … UE classification information (0063-0064, 0067).
So also teaches dynamically moving UEs between MEC servers (0014) and determines whether to assign a specific UE to user plane site 204 for service, or whether that specific UE would be better served at other user plane sites … based upon changing to conditions of the service instance (UE usage type), such as changing in network data traffic or UE locations … traffic throughput of user plane site 204, type of device (UE usage type), type of application logic to be performed (UE usage type), time of day, user membership identifiers (e.g., premium tiers) (UE usage type), QoS (UE usage type), latency requirements for the requested application (UE usage type), among others (0023) and usage data reported from UEs (UE usage type), … UE’s requesting the same application (UE usage type) (0024).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to use the UE usage type information as taught by So in order to enable the network to quickly determine which MEC server(s) would better serve the UE.
Regarding amendment 11/26/2025. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach … wherein the UE usage type of the terminal corresponds to a multi-access edge computing (MEC) value predetermined and assigned by a mobile telecommunication service provider.
Faccin teaches HSS stores UE usage type which corresponds to a dedicated core network (DCN) (e.g., a MEC). When the MME asks the UE Usage Type from the HSS, if the Temporary UE Usage Type is set, the HSS provides such value. In this way the MME can select the DCN serving the UE based on dynamic information and not just subscription information (0036). A high overview for supporting DCNs (e.g. MECs) is provided below. In some examples, an optional subscription information parameter (“UE Usage Type”) is used in selection of a DCN (e.g., MEC). An operator configures which of his DCN(s) serves which UE Usage Type(s). The HSS provides the “UE Usage Type” value in the subscription information (0057, 0062). The serving network selects the DCN (e.g., MEC) based on the operator configured (UE Usage Type to DCN) mapping (0063, 0155).
It would have been extremely obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of So to store UE Usage Type corresponding to a DCN (e.g., MEC) value in the HSS as taught by Faccin thereby enabling a network node the ability to query the HSS and the HSS providing the UE Usage Type value to the requesting node. In this way the network node can select the DCN (e.g., MEC) serving the UE based on dynamic information and not just subscription information (Faccin at 0036).
Regarding claim 13. D1 does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to perform a re-selection a user plane device based on the movement of the terminal.
So also teaches dynamically moving UEs between MEC servers (0014) and determines whether to assign a specific UE to user plane site 204 for service, or whether that specific UE would be better served at other user plane sites (e.g., re-selection of a user plane) … based upon changing to conditions of the service instance (UE usage type), such as changing in network data traffic or UE locations … traffic throughput of user plane site 204, type of device (UE usage type), type of application logic to be performed (UE usage type), time of day, user membership identifiers (e.g., premium tiers) (UE usage type), QoS (UE usage type), latency requirements for the requested application (UE usage type), among others (0023) and usage data reported from UEs (UE usage type), … UE’s requesting the same application (UE usage type) (0024).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to use the UE usage type information as taught by So in order to enable the network to quickly re-select user plane sites that would better service the UE based upon UE movement.
Regarding claim 15. D1 teaches request the first edge control server to delete subscriber information of the terminal, and transmit the subscriber information of the terminal to the second edge control server (figure 6, 0067-0068 – As shown in operation 615, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or send UE related parameters (e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (e.g., cell ID) and/or group identification information and/or user/UE classification information), to the new MEC server. At operation 620, MME may prepare to inform and/or inform the old MEC server about the UE leaving the area, e.g., to enable the MEC server to invalidate/nullify (e.g., delete) UE related information, e.g., the UE IP address. At operation 625, MME330 may then transmit message (IMSI and/or UE IP address), location info, subscription/Group/Classification info, … ) to the new MEC server 325. At operation 635, MME 330 may transmit message (indication of UE leaving the area / request to nullify parameters) to the old MEC server 320).
4. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (W0 2017/1877011 found in IDS – 7/1/2024) in view of Faccin further in view of Young et al (10,841,974) hereinafter D2 found in IDS 7/1/1014.
Regarding claim 10. D1 in view of Faccin do not teach receiving an audit query for the terminal from a third edge control server of a third edge cluster; and transmitting subscriber information of the terminal to the third edge control server.
D2 teaches receiving a query for UE information from end control servers (figure 2A, col. 9 line 30 – line 60) which enables end control servers to request early mobility notification from the core network (A/SME140) in order to instantiate the T-AF 126-2 and the target RAN 105-2 may transmit a path switch request and the core network (A/SME 140) determines that the intermediate UPF is to be relocated and selects 210 an intermediate UPF, e.g., T-UPF 124-2 from among a number of MEC devices at the target MEC 115-2 based on, for example, location. The core network (A/SME 140) may send a UP early path change message 215 to S-AF 126-1. Message 215 may include an identification, such as a data network access identifier (DNAI), for S-AF 126-1 and/or T-AF 126-2, as well as a unique identifier for the UE.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Faccin to query for UE information as taught by D2 thereby enabling edge control server(s) to get information regarding mobility events of the UE which speeds up the re-selection of User Plane based on UE location.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 16-20 are allowed.
6. Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant generally argues D1 does not teach “service authorization” page 9 – page 12.
The Examiner disagrees. D1 teaches “service authorization”. D1 teaches IMSI (e.g., identifying a UE) towards S/P-GW. At operation 425, MME 330 may receive subscription information from the HSS, and subsequently, at operation 430, transmit a create session request including, for example, IMSI to P-GW 340. At operation 455, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or subsequently send UE/IMSI related parameters, e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (cell ID) and/or subscription/group/classification info, to a MEC server to which the current eNB of the UE is connected).
D1 further teaches IMSI (e.g., identifying a UE) towards S/P-GW. At operation 425, MME 330 may receive subscription information from the HSS, and subsequently, at operation 430, transmit a create session request including, for example, IMSI to P-GW 340. At operation 455, MME 330 may prepare to send and/or subsequently send UE/IMSI related parameters, e.g., IMSI, UE IP address, location information (cell ID) and/or subscription/group/classification info, to a MEC server to which the current eNB of the UE is connected).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2020/0259896) Sachs et al teaches information from the HSS is used to determine “UE Usage type” which is use to connect the UE to the proper MEC (e.g., edge server) (0289, 0292).
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646