DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 6/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“air displacement mechanism” in claim 2. In particular, the claim limitation “air displacement mechanism” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language “causing air to flow out of the volatile material dispenser” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder “an air displacement mechanism” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In this case, in para 0007, the specification states: In some embodiments, the air displacement mechanism is an air pump. In some embodiments, the air displacement mechanism is a fan, therefore, the air displacement mechanism encompasses an air pump or fan, any other structures in the disclosure which positively perform the function, and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US7629001B2) in view of Banco (US9855361B2).
Regarding claim 1, Davis teaches a method of emitting a volatile material (68, 69) from a volatile material dispenser (60), comprising the steps of:
Identifying a first fragrance characteristic of the volatile material (68, Col. 14 lines 45-60 faster acting);
Identifying a second fragrance characteristic of the volatile material (69, Col. 14 lines 45-60 slower acting);
heating the volatile material to a first temperature associated with the first fragrance characteristic (Col. 10 line 30-55 a first region 68 impregnated with a first volatile material, first region 68 may be selected to rapidly evaporate at the lower temperatures) and
heating the volatile material to a second temperature associated with the second fragrance characteristic that is different than the first temperature (Col. 10 line 30-55 a second region 69 impregnated with a second volatile material, second region 69 may be selected to slowly evaporate at the steady operating temperature of the heating plate).
Davis is silent on identifying a first vapor pressure of a first fragrance characteristic of the volatile material and identifying a second vapor pressure of a second fragrance characteristic of the volatile material that is different than the first vapor pressure.
Banco teaches identifying a first vapor pressure of a first fragrance characteristic of the volatile material (Col. 6 lines 1-15 Col. 11 line 60- Col. 12 line 15 first composition 30 may be a water-based composition, identified by an indicator, having a vapor pressure);
identifying a second vapor pressure of a second fragrance characteristic of the volatile material that is different than the first vapor pressure (Col. 6 lines 1-15 Col. 11 line 60- Col. 12 line 15 second composition 32 may be an oil-based fragranced composition known to have a different vapor pressure than a water-based composition, identified by an indicator).
Davis and Banco are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of volatile material dispensers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Davis to incorporate the teachings of Banco to have a step of identifying a vapor pressure of the volatile material as vapor pressure affects the delivery rate of individual components in a fragrance, where higher vapor pressure has a faster delivery rate, so it is desired to have a material with a suitable vapor pressure (Banco Col. 5 lines 60-67).
Regarding claim 7, Davis and Banco teach the method of claim 1 and Davis teaches further comprising the step of: heating the volatile material to the first temperature for a first amount of time (Col. 10 lines 30-55 first region 68 may be selected to rapidly evaporate at the lower temperatures of the heating plate warm up period) and the second temperature to a second amount of time that is different than the first amount of time (Col. 10 lines 30-55 insecticide in the second region 69 may be selected to slowly evaporate at the steady operating temperature of the heating plate).
Regarding claim 8, Davis and Banco teach the method of claim 1 and Davis teaches wherein the first fragrance characteristic is associated with a first composition that is not a fragrance (Col. 10 lines 35-50 two regions 68, 69 with two different volatile materials such as two insecticides), and the second fragrance characteristic is associated with a second composition that is a fragrance (Col. 13 lines 40-60 thermally volatilizable materials include air scents (e.g. fragrances)).
Claims 2-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US7629001B2) and Banco (US9855361B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Becker (US10814028B2).
Regarding claim 2, Davis and Banco teach the method of claim 1, but are silent on further including the step of: causing air to flow out of the volatile material dispenser by an air displacement mechanism.
Becker teaches causing air to flow out of the volatile material dispenser by an air displacement mechanism (Col. 16 lines 30-50 diffusion device, air pump, fan).
Davis, Banco, and Becker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of volatile material dispensers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Davis and Banco to incorporate the teachings of Becker to have an air displacement mechanism to cause air to flow in order to enable uniform dispersion of vaporized fragrance oil throughout an environment using dispersion technologies that require minimal heat (Becker Col. 16 lines 30-50).
Regarding claim 3, the combination Davis, Banco, and Becker teaches all of the elements of the current invention as described in claim 2 above. Becker further teaches wherein the air displacement mechanism is an air pump (Col. 12 lines 35-40 air pump).
Regarding claim 4, the combination Davis, Banco, and Becker teaches all of the elements of the current invention as described in claim 2 above. Becker further teaches wherein the air displacement mechanism is a fan (Col. 16 lines 40-50 fan).
Regarding claim 5, Davis, Banco, and Becker teach the method of claim 4, but Davis and Banco are silent on further comprising the step of: controlling a speed of the air displacement mechanism to achieve varied fragrance intensities.
Becker teaches controlling a speed of the air displacement mechanism to achieve varied fragrance intensities (Col. 16 lines 45-50 speed control air pump).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Davis and Banco to incorporate the teachings of Becker to control a speed of the air displacement mechanism in order to be able to vary the output of the diffusion device advantageously, for example, in relation to a size of the environment the diffuser is set (Becker Co. 10 lines 50-67).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US7629001B2) and Banco (US9855361B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bleloch (US 20150320116).
Regarding claim 6, Davis and Banco teach the method of claim 1 and Davis teaches heating the volatile material to the first temperature (Col. 10 line 30-55 lower temperatures) and the second temperature (Col. 10 line 30-55 steady operating temperature), but is silent on using pulse with modulation.
Bleloch teaching heating the volatile material using pulse with modulation ([0088] Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) control signals to the induction heater power supply 1515).
Davis, Banco, and Bleloch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of volatile material dispensers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Davis and Banco to incorporate the teachings of Bleloch to heat the volatile material using pulse width modulation so that the device may start at a high power to get up to temperature but then reduces to an optimal power before the temperature overshoots (Bleloch [0012]).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/11/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761