DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in JP on 02/05/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/01/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14: “a width of the vehicle” should read “the vehicle width” because “a vehicle width” was recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "when a central region is defined as a region having widths equidistant to each other in a left-right vehicle width direction from the center line that bisects a vehicle width when viewed in a vertical direction of the vehicle" in lines 10-13 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Moreover, it is not clear the center line of what element the claim refers to. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as "when a central region is defined as a region having widths equidistant to each other in a left-right vehicle width direction from [[the]] a center line of the central region that bisects a vehicle width when viewed in a vertical direction of the vehicle".
Claims 2-17 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "wherein the first antenna and the third antenna are arranged at positions apart by the same distance from the center line, and the second antenna and the fourth antenna are arranged at positions apart by the same distance from the center line” in lines 2-5 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Moreover, if the first and third antennas are arranged in the central region and the second antenna is arranged in the first peripheral region, and the fourth antenna is arranged in the second peripheral region as cited in claim 4, the distance between the first and third antennas would be different to the distance between the second and fourth antennas. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the MIMO antenna is arranged in the first region or the second region" in lines 2-3 which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “the MIMO antenna” includes all four antennas recited in claim 1 which includes the first and second antennas, therefore this limitation would conflict with the configuration (2) of claim 1 wherein one antenna is arranged in the first region and another one is arranged in the second region, not all of the MIMO antenna is arranged in one region as cited in claim 6. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claims 7-8 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 8 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim 7 recites the limitation " wherein the MIMO antenna is arranged on a windshield" in lines 1-2 which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “the MIMO antenna” includes all four antennas recited in claim 1 which includes the first and second antennas, therefore this limitation would conflict with the configuration (2) of claim 1 wherein one antenna is arranged in the first region and another one is arranged in the second region, not all of the MIMO antenna is arranged in one region/the windshield as cited in claim 7. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " wherein the MIMO antenna is arranged a rear window" in lines 1-2 which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “the MIMO antenna” includes all four antennas recited in claim 1 which includes the first and second antennas, therefore this limitation would conflict with the configuration (2) of claim 1 wherein one antenna is arranged in the first region and another one is arranged in the second region, not all of the MIMO antenna is arranged in one region/the rear window as cited in claim 8. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kopelman, US-20190058248-A1.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Kopelman discloses the following:
an antenna system for vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle (fig. 7B below); and
a MIMO antenna (para [0064]) that is mounted on the vehicle and transmits and receives radio waves of a predetermined frequency (para [0066]), wherein the MIMO antenna includes four antennas including a first antenna that mainly transmits and receives a first polarized wave and a second antenna that mainly transmits and receives a second polarized wave orthogonal to the first polarized wave (fig. 7B below, para [0064]: horizontal polarized antennas along the x-axis and vertical polarized antennas along the y-axis), the four antennas being dispersedly arranged on the vehicle (fig. 7B), and
when a central region is defined as a region having widths equidistant to each other in a left-right vehicle width direction from the center line that bisects a vehicle width when viewed in a vertical direction of the vehicle, a first peripheral region and a second peripheral region are defined as two regions with the central region interposed therebetween, a first region is defined as a front region of the vehicle using an arbitrary line extending in the vehicle width direction as a boundary, and a second region is defined as a rear region of the vehicle relative to the first region (fig. 7B),
the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged based on at least one of:
(1) a configuration in which one is arranged in the central region and another one is arranged in the first peripheral region or the second peripheral region; and
(2) a configuration in which one is arranged in the first region and another one is arranged in the second region (fig. 7B: plurality of antennas 710B in the first and second regions).
Regarding claim 2, Kopelman discloses wherein the MIMO antenna includes a third antenna that mainly transmits and receives the first polarized wave and a fourth antenna that mainly transmits and receives the second polarized wave (fig. 7B above, para [0064]: horizontal polarized antennas along the x-axis and vertical polarized antennas along the y-axis).
Regarding claim 3, Kopelman discloses wherein one of a first antenna group including the first antenna and the third antenna and a second antenna group including the second antenna and the fourth antenna is arranged in the central region, and another one is arranged in at least one of the first peripheral region and the second peripheral region (fig. 7B below).
Regarding claim 4, Kopelman discloses wherein the first antenna and the third antenna are arranged in the central region (fig. 7B above: first group), the second antenna is arranged in the first peripheral region (fig. 7B above), and the fourth antenna is arranged in the second peripheral region (fig. 7B above), or the first antenna is arranged in the first peripheral region, the third antenna is arranged in the second peripheral region, and the second antenna and the fourth antenna are arranged in the central region.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Kopelman discloses wherein the first antenna and the third antenna are arranged at positions apart by the same distance from the center line, and the second antenna and the fourth antenna are arranged at positions apart by the same distance from the center line (fig. 7B below).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Kopelman discloses wherein the arbitrary line is provided on a roof of the vehicle, and the MIMO antenna is arranged in the first region or the second region (fig. 7B above).
Regarding claim 9, Kopelman discloses wherein the arbitrary line is provided on a roof of the vehicle, and one of a first antenna group including the first antenna and the third antenna and a second antenna group including the second antenna and the fourth antenna is arranged in the first region, and another one is arranged in the second region (fig. 7B below).
Regarding claim 12, Kopelman discloses wherein the first polarized wave is a vertically polarized wave, and the second polarized wave is a horizontally polarized wave,
the first antenna is a vertically polarized wave antenna that mainly transmits and receives the vertically polarized wave, and
the second antenna is a horizontally polarized wave antenna that mainly transmits and receives the horizontally polarized wave (fig. 7B above, para [0064]: vertical polarized antennas along the y-axis and horizontal polarized antennas along the x-axis).
Regarding claim 13, Kopelman discloses wherein
the first polarized wave is a vertically polarized wave, and the second polarized wave is a horizontally polarized wave,
the first antenna and the third antenna are vertically polarized wave antennas that mainly transmit and receive the vertically polarized wave, and
the second antenna and the fourth antenna are horizontally polarized wave antennas that mainly transmit and receive the horizontally polarized wave (fig. 7B above, para [0064]: vertical polarized antennas along the y-axis and horizontal polarized antennas along the x-axis).
Regarding claim 16, Kopelman discloses wherein the predetermined frequency is 3.3 GHz or more (para [0066]: 3.1-10.6 GHz band).
Regarding claim 17, Kopelman discloses wherein the predetermined frequency is 6 GHz or less (para [0066]: 2.4/5.2/5.8 GHz bands).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopelman as applied to claims 6 and 9 above, and in view of Sugimoto et al, US-20070097001-A1 (hereinafter Sugimoto).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Kopelman does not disclose wherein the MIMO antenna is arranged on a windshield.
Kopelman discloses the position of the antennas can be adjusted (para [0067]: Antennas can be selected and positioned to take into account board or other ground effects).
Sugimoto suggests the MIMO antenna is arranged on a windshield (1-1c, fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the MIMO antenna taught in Kopelman on a windshield as suggested in Sugimoto as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to keep the antenna hidden to improve the aesthetic look of the vehicle, provide protection to the antennas and improve signal stability.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Kopelman does not disclose wherein the MIMO antenna is arranged on a rear window.
Kopelman discloses the position of the antennas can be adjusted (para [0067]: Antennas can be selected and positioned to take into account board or other ground effects).
Sugimoto suggests the MIMO antenna is arranged on a rear window (1d-1g, fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the MIMO antenna taught in Kopelman on a rear window as suggested in Sugimoto as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to keep the antenna hidden to improve the aesthetic look of the vehicle, provide protection to the antennas and improve signal stability.
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Kopelman does not disclose wherein one of the first antenna group and the second antenna group is arranged on a windshield, and another one is arranged on a rear window.
Kopelman discloses the position of the antennas can be adjusted (para [0067]: Antennas can be selected and positioned to take into account board or other ground effects).
Sugimoto suggests wherein one of the first antenna group and the second antenna group is arranged on a windshield (1-1a, fig. 8), and another one is arranged on a rear window (1d, 1e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first and second antenna groups taught in Kopelman on a windshield and a rear window as suggested in Sugimoto as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).The motivation stems from the need to keep the antenna hidden to improve the aesthetic look of the vehicle, provide protection to the antennas and improve signal stability.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopelman as applied to claim 2 above, and in view of Sugimoto et al, JP-2011250108-A (hereinafter Sugimoto’108).
Regarding claim 11, Kopelman does not disclose wherein when the predetermined frequency is defined as λ, a wavelength shortening rate of a dielectric to which the first antenna and the third antenna are attached is defined as k1, and a wavelength shortening rate of a dielectric to which the second antenna and the fourth antenna are attached is defined as k2, a distance between the first antenna and the third antenna is k1 x λ/2 or more, and a distance between the second antenna and the fourth antenna is k2 x λ/2 or more.
Kopelman discloses the position of the antennas can be adjusted (para [0067]: Antennas can be selected and positioned to take into account board or other ground effects), the distance between the antennas should be at least a quarter wavelength apart from each other (para [0063]) and the distance between the antennas should be moved far away from each other as possible to achieve adequate isolation (para [0064]).
Sugimoto’108 discloses the shortening effect/shortening rate of the dielectric 13 would increase the distance between the antennas 11 and 12 and when a dielectric having a relative dielectric constant εr is arranged between two antennas, the effective length between the antennas is √εr times the actual distance (page 4, para 6 – page 5, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the first and third antennas and the second and fourth antennas taught in Kopelman to be k1 x λ/2 and k2 x λ/2 or more as suggested in Sugimoto’108 as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve enough isolation between the antennas in order to improve the antenna reliability and performance (Kopelman, para [0064]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopelman as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, although Kopelman does not explicitly disclose wherein a width Wc of the central region satisfies the following relationship when a width of the vehicle is defined as W 0.1 x W ≤ Wc ≤ 0.5 x W, Kopelman discloses 0.1 x W ≤ Wc ≤ W (fig. 7B) and the position of the antennas can be adjusted (para [0067]: Antennas can be selected and positioned to take into account board or other ground effects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the central region of the antenna system taught in Kopelman to satisfy the relationship 0.1 x W ≤ Wc ≤ 0.5 x W as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve desired radiation characteristics in order to improve the antenna reliability and performance (para [0067]).
Regarding claim 15, although Kopelman does not explicitly disclose wherein an antenna, which is arranged in either the first peripheral region or the second peripheral region, in the MIMO antenna is arranged apart from a pillar of the vehicle by a distance of 100 mm or less, Kopelman discloses the antenna 710B arranged in the first peripheral region (fig. 7B below) arranged in either the first peripheral region arranged apart from a pillar of the vehicle by a distance (fig. 7B below) and the position of the antennas can be adjusted (para [0067]: Antennas can be selected and positioned to take into account board or other ground effects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the antenna and the pillar taught in Kopelman to be of 100 mm or less as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve desired radiation characteristics in order to improve the antenna reliability and performance (para [0067]).
Citation of Pertinent Art
Inomata et al, US-20210242578-A1, fig. 1 would read on claim 1
Smith et al, US-20180213355-A1, fig. 23 would read on claim 1
Kane et al, CN-1211833-A, fig. 52 would read on claim 1
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845