DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed on 01/22/2026 have been received, to which the Applicant is thanked.
Response to Arguments
The arguments have been fully considered, but have not been found to be persuasive.
In response to Applicants arguments on pages 6-7 (8-9), regarding Son failing to show the substrate container comprising of the purge flow distribution system being positioned an the exterior of the shell of the substrate container,
The examiner respectfully responds the Applicant argues that elements 3122 and 3142 are “gas supply lines that are not part of the substrate container”, however, the Examiner would argue that elements 3122 and 3142 are integral parts as seen in Fig. 7, that literally extend before, between, and inside, the shell; the device would cease to function as intended without the components being in the designed locations, of which of those locations meets the limitation of the substate container comprising a purge flow distribution system, which is positioned on the exterior of the shell of the substrate container, before it enters inside for gas distribution, as seen in Fig. 7.
Additionally, claim 21 is also still rejected under Chiu et al (US 2023/0054753), hereinafter referred to as Chiu (via Provisional 63/233,878), in view of Kim (US 2013/0121851), which on pages 8-9, the Applicant argues “neither Chiu nor Kim disclose a substrate container having a purge flow distribution system positioned on an exterior of the shell”, because the shell can be moved between different units in a system, however, the Examiner argues the claim limitations as currently constructed, are met, as previously disclosed Kim, a substrate container, is in the same field of endeavor as Chiu which is a substate container, teaches a purge flow distribution system (Fig. 3/4 – the purge flow distribution system comprises of the elements depicted in Fig. 3) positioned on an exterior of the shell (100, Fig. 3/4), which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shell of Chiu to incorporate the teachings of the purge flow distribution system of Kim, which would provide an external system on a base that is to support the seated FOUP to purge to prevent undesirable gas buildup (¶0003) while helping mitigate shock (¶0006 / 0010, Lines 6-8),
and in light of MPEP 2115 which says material or article worked on does not limit an apparatus claim provided the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function. As the claim limitations are currently constructed, Chiu is capable of performing the claimed limitations of claim 21 as stated below, with Kim teaching the limitation of a substrate container having a purge flow distribution system positioned on an exterior of the shell, as Kim is still designed in its best use mode to be constructed to meet the current limitations, as stated on the record below, and at least in the Non-Final Rejection filed 09/23/2025, overcoming the Applicants arguments.
In response to Applicants argument on page 7-8 regarding the rejection of claim 35 and Son failing to disclose both a manifold and a diffuser as recited in claim 35, and that “Sons parallel, independent supply lines do not equate to a manifold”
The examiner respectfully responds while the Applicants arguments over the rejection of claim 35 only pertains to the 102 rejection in view of Son, the Examiner would first note that claim 35 is still currently rejected via 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al (US 2023/0054753), hereinafter referred to as Chiu (via Provisional 63/233,878), in view of Kim (US 2013/0121851), as the Applicants arguments fail to make mention of.
In regards to the 102 rejection of claim 35 in view of Son, and the Applicants arguments that “Sons parallel, independent supply lines do not equate to a manifold” and that “the claim requires a manifold base positioned on an exterior of the shell with diffusers in communication with that manifold base” and that the elements 2640a and 2620a are not diffusers, The Examiner argues that Son does show a manifold as claimed, and as elaborated on in Annotated Figure 5, which expresses the base of a manifold, of which again, MPEP 2115 says material or article worked on does not limit an apparatus claim provided the apparatus is capable of performing the claimed function. The prior art is capable of performing the currently claimed limitation of a manifold base, of which is positioned on an exterior of the shell with diffusers in communication with that manifold base; with elements 2640a and 2620a being gas supply nozzle that diffuse gas, and per MPEP 2115 above, fulfill the current claim limitations of the claim requirements of “a manifold base positioned on an exterior of the shell with diffusers in communication with that manifold base”, of which overcomes the Applicants argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24, 27-32, & 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al (US 2023/0054753), hereinafter referred to as Chiu (via Provisional 63/233,878), in view of Kim (US 2013/0121851).
Regarding claim 21, Chiu (US 63/233,878) shows a substrate container, comprising: a shell (see Annotated Figure 1) defining an interior space (see Annotated Figure 1 – the interior space is the space inside of the shell), the shell including a front opening (see Annotated Figure 1), a first side wall (see Annotated Figure 1l), a second side wall (see Annotated Figure 1), a rear wall (see Annotated Figure 1), and a bottom wall (see Annotated Figure 1) including a front edge (see Annotated Figure 1) extending between the first side wall and the second side wall along the front opening of the shell (see Annotated Figure 1); a purge flow distribution system (see Annotated Figure 1 - the purge flow distribution system comprises of the elements as seen in Fig. 5), the purge flow distribution system configured to receive a stream of purge gas (Fig. 5), wherein the purge flow distribution system includes an inlet (see Annotated Figure 1) configured to receive the stream of purge gas (Fig. 5); and a plurality of gas distributing devices (Fig. 5 / see Annotated Figure 1) for distributing the stream of purge gas into the interior space (Fig. 5).
However, Chiu lacks showing the purge flow distribution system positioned on an exterior of the shell.
Kim (US 2013/0121851), a substrate container, is in the same field of endeavor as Chiu which is a substate container.
Kim teaches a purge flow distribution system (Fig. 3/4 – the purge flow distribution system comprises of the elements depicted in Fig. 3) positioned on an exterior of the shell (100, Fig. 3/4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shell of Chiu to incorporate the teachings of the purge flow distribution system of Kim, which would provide an external system on a base that is to support the seated FOUP to purge to prevent undesirable gas buildup (¶0003) while helping mitigate shock (¶0006 / 0010, Lines 6-8).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 22, Chiu shows wherein the plurality of gas distributing devices is a diffuser, manifold, membrane, side portions of the shell having slits or nozzles, a porous material, or a combination of at least two selected from the foregoing (Fig. 5 – the plurality of gas distributing devices are porous pipes, which act as a diffuser of gas).
Regarding claim 23, Chiu shows wherein the plurality of gas distributing devices (Fig. 5 / see Annotated Figure 1) further comprises a network of gas distributing devices (Figs. 2/5 – Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines Network: “an interconnected or interrelated chain, group, or system”; the Examiner is interpreting the plurality of gas distributing devices to at least comprise of a network of gas distributing devices).
Regarding claim 24, Chiu shows wherein the one of the network of gas distributing devices is a first gas distributing device (see Annotated Figure 1) provided nearer the rear wall (see Annotated Figure 1) and another of the network of gas distributing devices is a second gas distributing device (see Annotated Figure 1/Fig. 5) provided in the interior space of the substrate container (see Annotated Figure 1/Fig. 5), and wherein a first flow path (see Annotated Figure 1) is configured to supply a portion of the stream of purge gas to the first gas distributing device (see Annotated Figure 1) and a second flow path (see Annotated Figure 1) is configured to supply another portion of the stream of purge gas to the second gas distributing device (see Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 27, Chiu shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 21 including the purge flow distribution system, a bottom wall, the exterior of the shell, and the stream of purge gas.
However, Chiu lacks showing wherein the purge flow distribution system further comprises a manifold base provided on the bottom wall and positioned on an exterior of the shell, the manifold base receives the stream of purge gas.
Kim teaches wherein the purge flow distribution system further comprises a manifold base (400, Fig. 3) provided on the bottom wall (Fig. 3 – the bottom wall of the shell 100 can be seen in Fig. 3) and positioned on an exterior of the shell (Fig. 3), the manifold base receives the stream of purge gas (Fig. 3 – elements 151 and 150 are holes for diffusing gas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shell of Chiu to incorporate the teachings of the manifold base of Kim, which would provide a base that is to support the seated FOUP, to help mitigate shock (¶0006 / 0010, Lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 28, Chiu shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 27 including dividing the stream of purge gas into at least a left side flow path (see Annotated Figure 1) and a right side flow path (see Annotated Figure 1) to supply the portion of the stream of purge gas to two or more gas distributing devices (see Annotated Figure 1).
However, Chiu lacks showing wherein the manifold base is configured to divide the stream of purge gas into at least a left side flow path and a right side flow path to supply the portion of the stream of purge gas to two or more gas distributing devices.
Kim teaches wherein the manifold base (400, Fig. 3) is configured to divide the stream of purge gas into at least a left side flow path and a right side flow path to supply the portion of the stream of purge gas to two or more gas distributing devices (Fig. 3 – the manifold base 400 is configured to divide the stream of purge gas into at least a left side flow path and a right side flow path to supply the portion of the stream of purge gas to two or more gas distributing devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shell of Chiu to incorporate the teachings of the manifold base of Kim, which would provide an external system on a base that is to support the seated FOUP to purge to prevent undesirable gas buildup (¶0003) while helping mitigate shock (¶0006 / 0010, Lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 29, Chiu shows wherein the plurality of gas distributing devices comprises a gas distributing surface having porous material (see Annotated Figure 1 – the plurality of gas distributing devices are porous pipes, which act as a diffuser of gas).
Regarding claim 30, Chiu shows wherein the purge flow distribution system is attached to an inlet purge port in the bottom wall of the shell (see Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 31, Chiu shows further comprising: an outlet port (26, Fig. 2) for discharging gas from the interior space (Fig. 2 – element 26 are gas discharging module for discharging the gas supplied by element 25 which is a gas intake module to intake the gas), the outlet port being disposed in the bottom wall between the inlet and the second side wall (see Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 32, Chiu shows wherein the bottom wall includes a rear inlet port (see Annotated Figure 1) for introducing a stream of purge gas into the interior space (Fig. 5) from the purge flow distribution system (see Annotated Figure 1), the rear inlet port being disposed nearer the rear wall than the front opening (see Annotated Figure 1/Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 34, Chiu shows further comprising: a door (see Annotated Figure 1) configured to be received within the front opening defined by the shell to enclose the interior space (see Annotated Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Son et al (US2020066562), hereinafter referred to as Son.
Regarding claim 21, Son (US 2020/0066562) shows a substrate container, comprising:
a shell (2100, Fig. 4) defining an interior space (Fig. 4 – the interior can be seen as the space inside the shell), the shell including a front opening (see Annotated Figure 3), a first side wall (see Annotated Figure 3), a second side wall (see Annotated Figure 3), a rear wall (see Annotated Figure 3), and a bottom wall (see Annotated Figure 3) including a front edge (see Annotated Figure 3) extending between the first side wall and the second side wall along the front opening of the shell (see Annotated Figure 3);
a purge flow distribution system (Fig. 7) positioned on an exterior of the shell (Fig. 7 – the purge flow distribution system, which comprises of components 3122 and 3142 which are valves that are attached to lines that go through the exterior of the shell to deliver gas), the purge flow distribution system configured to receive a stream of purge gas (Fig. 7 – the purge flow distribution system is configured to receive a stream of purge gas with elements 3122 and 3142 are both supply valves), wherein the purge flow distribution system includes an inlet (see Annotated Figure 4) configured to receive the stream of purge gas (Fig. 7 – elements 3122 and 3142 are supply valves); and
a plurality of gas distributing devices (see Annotated Figure 4 – elements 2620a and 2640a are gas supply units) for distributing the stream of purge gas into the interior space (Fig. 7).
Annotated Figure 3
Annotated Figure 4
Claims 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al (US 2023/0054753), hereinafter referred to as Chiu (via Provisional 63/233,878), in view of Kim (US 2013/0121851).
Regarding claim 35, Chiu (US 63/233,878) shows a substrate container, comprising: a shell (see Annotated Figure 2) defining an interior space (see Annotated Figure 2 – the interior space is the space inside of the shell), the shell including a front opening (see Annotated Figure 2), a first side wall (see Annotated Figure 2), a second side wall (see Annotated Figure 2), a rear wall (see Annotated Figure 2), and a bottom wall (see Annotated Figure 2) including a front edge (see Annotated Figure 2) extending between the first side wall and the second side wall along the front opening of the shell (see Annotated Figure 2), and a plurality of diffusers (Fig. 5 / see Annotated Figure 1) for distributing the stream of purge gas into the interior space of the shell (Fig. 5).
However, Chiu lacks showing a manifold base positioned on an exterior of the shell, the manifold base having an inlet configured to receive a stream of purge gas, and the plurality of diffusers in communication with the manifold base.
Kim (US 2013/0121851), a substrate container, is in the same field of endeavor as Chiu which is a substate container.
Kim teaches a manifold base (400, Fig. 3) positioned on an exterior of the shell (Fig. 3), the manifold base having an inlet (420, Fig. 3) configured to receive a stream of purge gas (Fig. 3/4 – the manifold base has an inlet 420 that is configured to receive a stream of purge gas, as it passes supply gas from element 110 which extends through the shell), and a plurality of diffusers in communication with the manifold base (Fig. 3 – elements 151 and 150 are holes for diffusing gas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shell of Chiu to incorporate the teachings of the manifold base of Kim, which would provide a base that is to support the seated FOUP, to help mitigate shock (¶0006 / 0010, Lines 6-8).
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 36, Chiu shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 35 including the shell and a carrier plate (see Annotated Figure 2).
However, Chiu lacks showing wherein the manifold base is positioned between the shell and a carrier plate.
Kim teaches wherein the manifold base (400, Fig. 4) is positioned between the shell (100, Fig. 4) and a carrier plate (113, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shell of Chiu to incorporate the teachings of the manifold base of Kim, which would provide a base that is to support the seated FOUP, to help mitigate shock (¶0006 / 0010, Lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 37, Chiu shows wherein the plurality of diffusers are positioned near the rear wall of the shell (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 38, Chiu shows wherein the plurality of diffusers comprises a gas distributing surface having porous material (Fig. 5 – element 27 is a porous pipe).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Son et al (US2020066562), hereinafter referred to as Son.
Regarding claim 35, Son (US 2020/0066562) shows a substrate container, comprising:
a shell (2100, Fig. 4) defining an interior space (Fig. 4 – the interior can be seen as the space inside the shell), the shell including a front opening (see Annotated Figure 3), a first side wall (see Annotated Figure 3), a second side wall (see Annotated Figure 3), a rear wall (see Annotated Figure 3), and a bottom wall (see Annotated Figure 3) including a front edge (see Annotated Figure 3) extending between the first side wall and the second side wall along the front opening of the shell (see Annotated Figure 3);
a manifold base (see Annotated Figure 5) positioned on an exterior of the shell (see Annotated Figure 5), the manifold base having an inlet (see Annotated Figure 5 - ) configured to receive a stream of purge gas (Fig. 7 – the manifold base has an inlet configured to receive a stream of purge gas, as elements 3142 and 3122 are gas supply valves that deliver gas to diffusers), and
a plurality of diffusers (see Annotated Figure 5) in communication with the manifold base (see Annotated Figure 5) for distributing the stream of purge gas into the interior space of the shell (Fig. 7 – supply lines 3120 leads into the diffusers 2640a and 2620a which distribute supplied gas).
Annotated Figure 5
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN L FAULKNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762