DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—16 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Amendments/Remarks” filed 06/05/2025.
Claim Objections
The objection made in the Non-Final to Claim(s) 10 has been withdrawn in light of this
claim’s cancelation/amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2, 4—7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2005/0022307 A1 to McClintock (McClintock hereafter).
As per claim 1, McClintock teaches:
An inflatable mattress apparatus (5—Fig.9; para [0048]: inflatable mattress generally shown) comprising:
a body, the body being hollow, the body comprising a flexible material such that the body is movable between a compressed condition and an expanded condition (claim 1: air mattress provided with a chamber capable of assuming a collapsed and expanded condition), the body having a bottom wall (7—Fig.1; para [0031] bottom wall vertically opposite of top wall 7), a perimeter wall (17—Fig.1; para [0031]), and a top wall (7—Fig.1; para [0031]),
the perimeter wall being coupled to and extending between the bottom wall and the top wall (17—Fig.1; para [0031]);
a topper being removably connected to the top wall of the body (202—Fig.9; para [0048]), the topper being positioned on an exterior of the top wall (202—Fig.9; para [0048]), the topper being compressible such that the topper is configured to cushion a user lying on the topper (206—Fig.10; para [0049]); a connector (15—Fig.9) being coupled to the body and the topper (104—Fig.8; para [0048]), the connector releasably connecting the body and the topper together (104—Fig.8; para [0048]),
the connector comprising a first mating member and a second mating member (18 & 19—Fig.2; para [0033]), the first mating member being coupled to the body (19—Fig.2; para [0033]), the second mating member being coupled to the topper (18—Fig.2; para [0033]);
and wherein a central portion of the topper is positionable spaced from the top wall of the body when the topper is connected to the top wall such that the topper (Fig.10 top portion of topper spaced from top wall of the body), the top wall, and the connector bound a gap, a padding (106—Fig.8;para [0046]) positioned in the gap between the topper and the top wall of the body (106—Fig.8;para [0046]).
As per claim 2, McClintock teaches: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the topper comprising a casing and a filling (206—Fig.10; para [0050]), the filling being enclosed by the casing (204, 206 & 208—Fig.10; para [0050]), the filling comprising a compressible material such that the filling is configured to cushion the user (206—Fig.10; para [0050]).
As per claim 4, McClintock teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first mating member extends along a perimeter of the top wall (19—Fig.3: first mating member extended around top wall perimeter).
As per claim 5, McClintock teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second mating member extends along a peripheral edge of the topper (18—Fig.3: first mating member extended around top wall perimeter).
As per claim 6, McClintock teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a zipper (15—Fig.3: connector includes zipper).
As per claim 7, McClintock teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the topper is coextensive with the top wall of the body (6—Fig.1:topper coextensive with top wall of body).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0022307 A1 to McClintock in view of U.S Patent Application 2009/0077753 A1 to Wang (Wang hereafter).
As per claim 3, McClintock teaches: The apparatus of claim 2.
McClintock does not teach, wherein the compressible material comprises a cotton fiber.
Wang teaches wherein the compressible material comprises a cotton fiber (11—Fig.2; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper ) and Wang (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a topper including a fill fiber made of cotton) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a fill fiber made of cotton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a soft and comfortable feel to persons lying on the coverlet as taught in Wang (para [0037]).
Claim(s) 8—12 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0022307 A1 to McClintock in view of U.S Patent Application 2014/0130252 A1 to Carlin et. al (Carlin hereafter).
As per claim 8, McClintock teaches: The apparatus of claim 1.
McClintock does not teach, further comprising a pouch being coupled to the body.
Carlin teaches, further comprising a pouch being coupled to the body (68—Fig.4; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper ) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pouch coupled to the mattress body) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pouch coupled to the mattress body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a pouch capable of retaining various objections for a user as taught in Carlin (para [0037]).
As per claim 9, McClintock (as modified) teaches: The apparatus of claim 8,
wherein the body is elongated between a first end and a second end, the perimeter wall having a first end section (annotated Fig.1), a second end section, and a pair of lateral sections (annotated Fig.1), each lateral section of the pair of lateral sections being coupled to and extending between the first end section and the second end section (annotated Fig.1)
McClintock does not teach, the pouch being positioned on an associated one of the pair of lateral sections of the perimeter wall and adjacent to the first end section of the perimeter wall.
Carlin teaches, the pouch being positioned on an associated one of the pair of lateral sections of the perimeter wall and adjacent to the first end section of the perimeter wall (68—Fig.4; para [0037]: pouch positioned on lateral section of perimeter wall 70).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper ) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pouch coupled to the mattress body) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pouch coupled to the mattress body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a pouch capable of retaining various objections for a user as taught in Carlin (para [0037]).
As per claim 10, McClintock teaches: The apparatus of claim 9.
McClintock does not teach wherein the pouch comprises: a back panel, a top edge of the back panel being coupled to an upper edge of the associated lateral section of the perimeter wall; and a front panel being coupled to a bottom edge and a pair of lateral edges of the back panel, the front panel and the back panel forming a cavity therebetween, the cavity having an opening facing upwardly.
Carlin teaches wherein the pouch comprises: a back panel (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]),
a top edge of the back panel being coupled to an upper edge of the associated lateral section of the perimeter wall (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]); and a front panel being coupled to a bottom edge and a pair of lateral edges of the back panel, the front panel and the back panel forming a cavity therebetween (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]), the cavity having an opening facing upwardly (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pouch with a back panel, a top edge of the back panel being coupled to an upper edge of the associated lateral section of the perimeter wall) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pouch with a back panel, a top edge of the back panel being coupled to an upper edge of the associated lateral section of the perimeter wall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a pouch capable of retaining various objections for a user as taught in Carlin (para [0037]).
As per claim 11, McClintock teaches: The apparatus of claim 1.
McClintock does not teach, further comprising a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with an interior side and an exterior side of the perimeter wall, the pump being configured to selectively urge air into the body to move the body from the compressed condition to the expanded condition.
Carlin teaches, further comprising a pump (31—Fig.4; para [0031]) being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with an interior side and an exterior side of the perimeter wall (31—Fig.4; para [0031]), the pump being configured to selectively urge air into the body to move the body from the compressed condition to the expanded condition (para [0031]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper ) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with an interior side and an exterior side of the perimeter wall) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with an interior side and an exterior side of the perimeter wall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow the user to rotate a control knob to control inflation, deflation, and/or the hardness or softness of the mattress as taught in Carlin (para [0031]).
As per claim 12, McClintock (as modified) teaches: The apparatus of claim 11.
McClintock does not teach, further comprising an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source.
Carlin teaches further comprising an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source (33—Fig.4; para [0031]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper ) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow the user to access a recessed area including an electrical cord as taught in Carlin (para [0031]).
As per claim 14, McClintock teaches: The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
a port tube being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with the interior side and the exterior side of the perimeter wall (22—Fig.1;para [0031]) , the port tube being configured for facilitating moving air into the body from an extrinsic pump to move the body from the compressed condition to the expanded condition (Claim 1).
McClintock does not teach the port tube being configured for facilitating releasing air from the body to move the body from the expanded condition to the compressed condition.
Carlin teaches the port tube being configured for facilitating releasing air from the body to move the body from the expanded condition to the compressed condition (32—Fig.3; para [0030]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and a port tube being configured for facilitating releasing air from the body to move the body from the expanded condition to the compressed condition) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and a port tube being configured for facilitating releasing air from the body to move the body from the expanded condition to the compressed condition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to an inflation device with an inflation substance which may be inflated and deflated as taught in Carlin (para [0031]).
Claim(s) 13 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0022307 A1 to McClintock in view of U.S Patent Application 2014/0130252 A1 to Carlin in view of U.S Patent Application 2018/0160820 A1 to Hsu (Hsu hereafter)
As per claim 13, McClintock (as modified) teaches: The apparatus of claim 11.
McClintock does not teach, further comprising a housing being mounted to the perimeter wall adjacent to the pump, the electrical cord being storable in a chamber positioned in the housing, the housing including a door which is movable between an open position
and a closed position with respect to the chamber to selectively access the chamber.
Carlin teaches, further comprising a housing being mounted to the perimeter wall adjacent to the pump (annotated Fig.4), the electrical cord being storable in a chamber positioned in the housing (annotated Fig.4)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow the user to access a recessed area including an electrical cord as taught in Carlin (para [0031]).
Carlin does not teach, the housing including a door which is movable between an open position and a closed position with respect to the chamber to selectively access the chamber.
Hsu teaches, the housing including a door which is movable between an open position and a closed position with respect to the chamber to selectively access the chamber (32—Fig.8; para [0028] housing door threadably attached to housing providing an open and closed position).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source) and Hsu (directed to an inflatable chamber with a housing including a door movable between and open and closed position) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source including a housing including a door movable between and open and closed position. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide access to the pump if problems are detected in inflation pump after assembly and connection of inflation pump to peripheral panel , a user can easily remove, disassemble, and replace inflation pump as taught in Hsu(para [0044]).
As per claim 15, McClintock (as modified) teaches: The apparatus of claim 14.
McClintock does not teach, further comprising a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube to close an outlet of the port tube, the cap being configured to prevent air moving through the port tube when the cap is engaged with the port tube.
Hsu teaches, further comprising a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube to close an outlet of the port tube, the cap being configured to prevent air moving through the port tube when the cap is engaged with the port tube (23—Fig.8; para [0032]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source) and Hsu (directed to an inflatable chamber with a housing including a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source including a housing including a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a user-operable portion of inflate/deflate control knob 23, which can be rotated by the user to switch between configurations of inflate/deflate as taught in Hsu (para [0044]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0022307 A1 to McClintock in view of U.S Patent Application 2014/0130252 A1 to Carlin in view of U.S Patent Application 2018/0160820 A1 to Hsu in further view of U.S Patent Application 2009/0077753 A1 to Wang.
As per claim 16, McClintock teaches:
An inflatable mattress apparatus (5—Fig.9; para [0048]: inflatable mattress generally shown) comprising:
a body, the body being hollow, the body comprising a flexible material such that the body is movable between a compressed condition and an expanded condition (claim 1: air mattress provided with a chamber capable of assuming a collapsed and expanded condition), the body having a bottom wall (7—Fig.1; para [0031] bottom wall vertically opposite of top wall 7),
a perimeter wall (17—Fig.1; para [0031]), and a top wall (7—Fig.1; para [0031]), the perimeter wall being coupled to and extending between the bottom wall and the top wall (17—Fig.1; para [0031]), the body being elongated between a first end and a second end (annotated Fig.1), the perimeter wall having a first end section, a second end section (annotated Fig.1), and a pair of lateral sections, each lateral section of the pair of lateral sections being coupled to and extending between the first end section and the second end section (annotated Fig.1);
a topper being removably connected to and being coextensive with the top wall of the body (202—Fig.9; para [0048]), the topper being positioned on an exterior of the top wall (202—Fig.9; para [0048]), the topper comprising a casing and a filling (206—Fig.10; para [0049]), the filling being enclosed by the casing, the filling comprising a compressible material such that the filling is configured to cushion a user lying on the topper (para [0049]),
a connector (15—Fig.9) being coupled to the body and the topper (104—Fig.8; para [0048]), the connector releasably connecting the body and the topper together(104—Fig.8; para [0048]), the connector comprising a first mating member and a second mating member (18 & 19—Fig.2; para [0033]), the first mating member being coupled to the body (19—Fig.2; para [0033]), the second mating member being coupled to the topper (19—Fig.2; para [0033]), the first mating member extending along a perimeter of the top wall (19—Fig.2; para [0033]),
the second mating member extending along a peripheral edge of the topper (18—Fig.2; para [0033]), the connector comprising a zipper (15—Fig.3: connector includes zipper); wherein a central portion of the topper is positionable spaced from the top wall of the body when the topper is connected to the top wall such that the topper (Fig.10 top portion of topper spaced from top wall of the body),
the top wall, and the connector bound a gap, a padding (106—Fig.8;para [0046]) positioned in the gap between the topper and the top wall of the body (106—Fig.8;para [0046]);
a port tube being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with the interior side and the exterior side of the perimeter wall (22—Fig.1;para [0031]), the port tube being configured for facilitating moving air into the body from an extrinsic pump to move the body from the compressed condition to the expanded condition (claim 1).
McClintock does not teach the compressible material comprising a cotton fiber;
a pouch being coupled to the body, the pouch being positioned on an associated one of the pair of lateral sections of the perimeter wall and adjacent to the first end section of the perimeter wall, the pouch comprising:
a back panel, a top edge of the back panel being coupled to an upper edge of the associated lateral section of the perimeter wall; and a front panel being coupled to a bottom edge and a pair of lateral edges of the back panel, the front panel and the back panel forming a cavity therebetween, the cavity having an opening facing upwardly;
a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with an interior side and an exterior side of the perimeter wall, the pump being configured to selectively urge air into the body to move the body from the compressed condition to the expanded condition; an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source; a housing being mounted to the perimeter wall adjacent to the pump, the electrical cord being storable in a chamber positioned in the housing, the housing including a door which is movable between an open position and a closed position with respect to the chamber to selectively access the chamber;
the port tube being configured for facilitating releasing air from the body to move the body from the expanded condition to the compressed condition;
and a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube to close an outlet of the port tube, the cap being configured to prevent air moving through the port tube when the cap is engaged with the port tube.
Carlin teaches a pouch being coupled to the body (68—Fig.4; para [0037]), the pouch being positioned on an associated one of the pair of lateral sections of the perimeter wall and adjacent to the first end section of the perimeter wall (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]), the pouch comprising:
a back panel (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]), a top edge of the back panel being coupled to an upper edge of the associated lateral section of the perimeter wall (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]); and a front panel being coupled to a bottom edge and a pair of lateral edges of the back panel (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]), the front panel and the back panel forming a cavity therebetween, the cavity having an opening facing upwardly (annotated Fig.4; para [0037]);
a pump (31—Fig.4; para [0031]) being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with an interior side and an exterior side of the perimeter wall (31—Fig.4; para [0031]), the pump being configured to selectively urge air into the body to move the body from the compressed condition to the expanded condition (para [0031]); an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source (33—Fig.4; para [0031]); a housing being mounted to the perimeter wall adjacent to the pump, the electrical cord being storable in a chamber positioned in the housing (33—Fig.4; para [0031]),
a port tube being mounted to the perimeter wall and being in fluid communication with the interior side and the exterior side of the perimeter wall (32—Fig.3; para [0030]).
the port tube being configured for facilitating releasing air from the body to move the body from the expanded condition to the compressed condition (32—Fig.3; para [0030]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pouch with a back panel, a top edge of the back panel being coupled to an upper edge of the associated lateral section of the perimeter wall) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pouch with a back panel, a top edge of the back panel being coupled to an upper edge of the associated lateral section of the perimeter wall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a pouch capable of retaining various objections for a user as taught in Carlin (para [0037]) and to make such a combination to an inflation device with an inflation substance which may be inflated and deflated as taught in Carlin (para [0031]).
McClintock (as modified) does not teach the compressible material comprising a cotton fiber; the housing including a door which is movable between an open position and a closed position with respect to the chamber to selectively access the chamber; and a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube to close an outlet of the port tube, the cap being configured to prevent air moving through the port tube when the cap is engaged with the port tube.
Hsu teaches, the housing including a door which is movable between an open position and a closed position with respect to the chamber to selectively access the chamber (32—Fig.8; para [0028] housing door threadably attached to housing providing an open and closed position); and a cap (23—Fig.8; para [0032]) being releasably engaged to the port tube to close an outlet of the port tube, the cap being configured to prevent air moving through the port tube when the cap is engaged with the port tube (23—Fig.8; para [0032]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source) and Hsu (directed to an inflatable chamber with a housing including a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source including a housing including a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a user-operable portion of inflate/deflate control knob 23, which can be rotated by the user to switch between configurations of inflate/deflate as taught in Hsu (para [0044]) and to provide access to the pump if problems are detected in inflation pump after assembly and connection of inflation pump to peripheral panel , a user can easily remove, disassemble, and replace inflation pump as taught in Hsu(para [0044]).
McClintock (as modified) does not teach the compressible material comprising a cotton fiber
Wang teaches the compressible material comprising a cotton fiber (11—Fig.2; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined McClintock (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper ) and Carlin (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a pump being mounted to the perimeter wall and an electrical cord being electrically coupled to the pump and being configured to electrically couple to an external power source) and Hsu (directed to an inflatable chamber with a housing including a cap being releasably engaged to the port tube) and Wang (directed to an inflatable mattress provided with a topper including a fill fiber made of cotton) and arrived at an inflatable mattress provided with an attachable topper including a fill fiber made of cotton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a soft and comfortable feel to persons lying on the coverlet as taught in Wang (para [0037]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2005/0022307 A1 to McClintock. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2005/0022307 A1 to McClintock in view of U.S Patent Application 2014/0130252 A1 to Carlin in view of U.S Patent Application 2018/0160820 A1 to Hsu in further view of U.S Patent Application 2009/0077753 A1 to Wang.
Applicant’s Arguments:
Regarding the Non-Final Rejection filed on 12/22/2025, the Applicant argues,
Regarding Claim 1 has been amended to clarify the invention and distinguish from the cited reference. Specifically, the invention includes padding positioned within the gap defined inside the connection border and between the topper and the top wall of the body of the mattress. The padding was not actively claimed previously, but described in the original disclosure, Further. these limitations are provided for in the original disclosure including the drawings as originally filed, see particularly Figure 7A. The Figures form part of the disclosure of a patent and are capable of providing support for claim limitations that are not specifically stated in the written detailed description. See, e.g., Vas-Cath,/nc.v.
Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Therefore, no new matter has been introduced. Prior art patents are to be measured as anticipations by what is clearly and definitely expressed in them. Weller Manufacturing Company v. Wen Products, Incorporated, et al,101 USPQ 14, (DC N.lll 1954). The rejection relies on Figure 10and paragraph [0050] of McClintock, but these do not clearly and definitely disclose padding in a gap between a topper and a mattress. It is respectfully submitted the disclosure relates to quilting in a topper structure. Thus, MeClintock does not disclose, teach, suggest, or contemplate the claim limitations. Therefore, claim 1 should be allowed. By virtue of dependence on claim 1, claims 2 and 4 through 7 are believed to be allowable.
Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested by the applicant.
Examiner's Response to Arguments:
The examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s Arguments for the following reasons
1) Regarding claim 1 & 16 the examiner relies on the teachings of McClintock to teach the padding positioned within the gap defined inside the connection border and between the topper and the top wall of the body of the mattress as presented above.
2) Claims 2—15 are rejected as presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application 2007/0107134 A1 discloses an inflatable air mattress, a cover and a heating pad
U.S Patent 9879682 B1 discloses unit for inflating an inflatable object includes a first sub-system for initially inflating the inflatable object and a second sub-system for automatically adding air to the inflatable object when the air pressure within the object falls below a predetermined threshold after inflation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 12/22/2025
/DAVID R HARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
12/30/2025