Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Wietfeldt reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nader et al. (US 20210351837) in view of Li et al. (WO 2018191935). With regarding Claim 1 Nader disclose a communication method, comprising: generating, by a processor of a communication device having a plurality of antennas, an antenna selection information, wherein the antenna selection information comprises a PDCCH-only (physical downlink control channel) ratio, (1837 See FIG. 2C, 7-9 and ¶[0032], [0034]-[0039] [0073], [0072], [0094], [0098], [0124].[0032] The exemplary methods and/or procedures can also include selecting a first number of antennas and receive chains for PDCCH reception, wherein the first number comprises the minimum number of the available antennas and receive chains needed to meet one or more PDCCH performance metrics. In some embodiments, the first number can be one.[0034] In such embodiments, selecting one of the first and second numbers of antennas and receive chains can include determining whether the format of DCI messages can indicate at least one PDSCH transmission format that requires the second number of antennas and receive chains for correct decoding. In some embodiments, the at least one PDSCH transmission format comprises at least one of the following: a multi-layer PDSCH transmission; and a PDSCH transmission that uses additional frequency-domain resources than the PDCCH (e.g., different and/or additional BWPs).).
determining, by the processor, first antennas to be used for a transmission with a network within the plurality of antennas according to the antenna selection information (1837 See FIG. 4, 11 and ¶[0032], [0034]-[0039], [0122], [0084]-[0085], [0095].[0122] In some embodiments, selecting a first number of antennas and receive chains for PDCCH reception can include: determining a link quality and a code rate associated with each PDCCH candidate; determining, for each PDCCH candidate based on the associated code rate, one or more performance metrics for each of a plurality of candidate numbers of antennas and receive chains; and selecting, as the first number, the minimum of the candidate numbers for which link qualities associated with all PDCCH candidates are greater than or equal to the corresponding one or more performance metrics. In some embodiments, at least two of the plurality of PDCCH candidates can be associated with different code rates.); and performing, by the processor, the transmission with the network through the first antennas (1837 See FIG. 10 and ¶[0084]-[0086], [0094]-[0095], [0126], [0128]-[0129].[0129] The exemplary method and/or procedure can also include the operations of block 1050, where the UE can receive the PDCCH using the selected number of antennas and receive chains. In some embodiments, the exemplary method and/or procedure can also include the operations of block 1060, where the UE can receive a downlink control indicator (DCI) message scheduling a PDSCH transmission at a first slot offset that was indicated in the configuration. In some embodiments, the exemplary method and/or procedure can also include the operations of block 1070, where the UE can receive the PDSCH transmission, at the first slot offset, using the second number of antennas and receive chains.); wherein determining the first antennas to be used for the transmission with the network comprises: determining whether the communication device is in a light traffic state according to the PDCCH-only ratio and the average PHY throughput and whether the at least one signal quality indicator of the communication device is in a poor state (1837 See FIG. 10 and ¶[0084]-[0086], [0094], [0110].[0086] As a further example, based on factor 1, the UE determine whether DCI formats that can be carried by PDCCH can include PDSCH transmission techniques needing multiple UE antennas and/or receive chains for correct PDSCH reception. For example, if the UE is configured to receive simple DCI formats only (e.g., indicating single-layer PDSCH transmission) without the possibility of multi-layer PDSCH scheduling, the UE could turn off its receiver chains regardless of whether the time-domain configuration indicates same-slot or inter-slot PDSCH scheduling.[0110] In some embodiments, such as when the UE's power consumption is in a critical situation (e.g., low battery, poor link quality, etc.), the UE can request the network to configure a PDCCH search-space that is favorable to the UE from a power savings perspective. The UE can make such a request using, e.g., channel quality indicator (CQI) report, UE assistance information, etc. The UE and network can negotiate and/or agree upon a favorable PDCCH search space in advance of such an event, such as during network configuration of the UE.[0122] In some embodiments, selecting a first number of antennas and receive chains for PDCCH reception can include: determining a link quality and a code rate associated with each PDCCH candidate; determining, for each PDCCH candidate based on the associated code rate, one or more performance metrics for each of a plurality of candidate numbers of antennas and receive chains; and selecting, as the first number, the minimum of the candidate numbers for which link qualities associated with all PDCCH candidates are greater than or equal to the corresponding one or more performance metrics.); maintaining or increasing the antenna number of the first antennas in an event that the communication device is not in the light traffic state or the at least one signal quality of the communication device is not in the poor state (1837 See FIG. 8 and ¶[0064], [0126]-[0128], [0092], [0094]-[0095], [0122])[0094] In operation 830, the UE can determine whether a particular number of antennas and receive chains (e.g., N.sub.R) can provide sufficient PDCCH reception quality. For example, the UE can determine whether, in view of the robustness and/or quality of the potential PDCCH candidates determined in operation 830, using N.sub.R antennas (e.g., for diversity gain) can meet one or more block error rate (BLER) requirements for the respective PDCCH candidates. If the UE determines that N.sub.R antennas provide insufficient PDCCH reception quality, the UE proceeds to operation 870, where the UE can receive PDCCH with a greater number of antennas than N.sub.R (e.g., N.sub.R+1)..); and decreasing the antenna number of the first antennas in an event that the communication device is in the light traffic state and the at least one signal quality of the communication device is in the poor state (1837 See FIG. 8 and ¶[0094]-[0097], [0111]-[0112], [0086]-[0087], [0122][0086] As a further example, based on factor 1, the UE determine whether DCI formats that can be carried by PDCCH can include PDSCH transmission techniques needing multiple UE antennas and/or receive chains for correct PDSCH reception. For example, if the UE is configured to receive simple DCI formats only (e.g., indicating single-layer PDSCH transmission) without the possibility of multi-layer PDSCH scheduling, the UE could turn off its receiver chains regardless of whether the time-domain configuration indicates same-slot or inter-slot PDSCH scheduling.
[0087] For NR, the set of possible values of the slot offset parameter, k0, is indicated in a time-domain resource allocation table, while the particular k0 associated with a scheduled PDSCH is indicated in DCI as an index into the table. As yet another example, based on factor 3, even if (e.g., based on factor 1) the UE determines that a PDSCH requiring a particular number of antennas can be scheduled, the UE can determine to use less than this number of antennas to monitor the PDCCH so long as its receive chain activation delay is less than the minimum k0 value in the time-domain resource allocation table.).
Nader may not explicitly disclose an average PHY throughput and at least one signal quality indicator of the communication device.However, in analogous art, Li disclose an average PHY throughput and at least one signal quality indicator of the communication device , (1935 See FIG. 5, 10 and ¶[0004]-[0005], [0126]-[0127], [0129]-[0130].
[0004] In some aspects, a method of wireless communication may include estimating, by a user equipment (UE), an estimated downlink data throughput associated with the UE based at least in part on a throughput indicator; and/or configuring, by the UE, a reception configuration based at least in part on the estimated downlink data throughput and based at least in part on a channel quality indication, wherein the reception configuration relates to at least one of a number of active receiver chains of the UE or a traffic rank of the UE.[00129] In some aspects, the throughput indicator is based at least in part on a
transport block size allocated for the UE 145, 250. In some aspects, the throughput
indicator is based at least in part on a quantity of consecutive subframes having a
granted rank number that is lower than a rank context between the UE 145, 250 and a
base station (e.g., eNB 110, 210, 230). In some aspects, the throughput indicator is
based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme associated with the UE 145,
250.
[00130] In some aspects, the throughput indicator is based at least in part on a
resource block allocation of the UE 145, 250. In some aspects, the channel quality
indication is based at least in part on a signal to noise ratio of the UE 145, 250. In some
aspects, the channel quality indication is based at least in part on a cyclic redundancy
check error rate of the UE 145, 250. In some aspects, the reception configuration is
further configured based at least in part on a determination that the UE 145, 250 is
associated with a connected-mode discontinuous reception cycle. In some aspects, the
reception configuration is further configured based at least in part on a determination
that the UE 145, 250 is associated with an idle discontinuous reception cycle. In some
aspects, the UE 145, 250 is configured to use at least two channels with an intra-band operation and behavior of the systems and/or methods were described herein without
reference to specific software code-it being understood that software and hardware can
be designed to implement the systems and/or methods based, at least in part, on the
description herein.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify Nader’s teachings. Nader teaches a control flow that PDCCH condition/quality and then selects antenna count/rank accordingly increase or maintain on sufficient condition and decrease when insufficient or No PDCCH. It further uses the selected configuration for subsequent transmissions.Li teaches computing and using PHY throughput to classify Light vs. not light traffic evaluating signal quality indicators with thresholds and policy that maintains/increases antennas when light or not poor and decrease antenna when light and quality poor.This combination yields the claimed antenna-selection information comprising a PDCCH-only ratio by Nader’s and average PHY throughput from Li and at least signal quality indicator. Resulting when to reduce antennas for power savings without compromising control channel reception. With regarding Claim 2 Nader and Li disclose the communication method of claim 1, Nader disclose wherein the antenna selection information comprises a first layer number of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (1837 See FIG. 2C and ¶[0007]-[0010], [0081], [0086], [0126].[0086] As a further example, based on factor 1, the UE determine whether DCI formats that can be carried by PDCCH can include PDSCH transmission techniques needing multiple UE antennas and/or receive chains for correct PDSCH reception. For example, if the UE is configured to receive simple DCI formats only (e.g., indicating single-layer PDSCH transmission) without the possibility of multi-layer PDSCH scheduling, the UE could turn off its receiver chains regardless of whether the time-domain configuration indicates same-slot or inter-slot PDSCH scheduling. More generally, the UE can leave activated the number of receiver chains corresponding to the maximum number of PDSCH transmission layers than can be indicated by a particular DCI format, with the remainder being turned off/deactivated.[0126] In some embodiments, the received configuration can include a format of downlink control indicator (DCI) messages transmitted on the PDCCH. In such embodiments, selecting one of the first and second numbers of antennas and receive chains comprises determining whether the format of DCI messages can indicate at least one PDSCH transmission format that requires the second number of antennas and receive chains for correct decoding. In some embodiments, the at least one PDSCH transmission format comprises at least one of the following: a multi-layer PDSCH transmission; and a PDSCH transmission that uses additional frequency-domain resources than the PDCCH (e.g., different and/or additional BWPs).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify Nader’s teachings. Nader teaches PDSCH layer number is integral to antenna selection decision ¶[0086], PDSCH transmission format comprises at least one of the multi-layer PDSCH transmission ¶[0126].Li teaches about Layers FIG. 5¶[0059], [0063] its systematic incorporation of channel configuration parameters into reception configuration decisions, establishing that physical layer parameters in reception configuration. This combination results the integration creates a coherent system where the first layer number of a physical downlink shared channel is properly recognized as an essential component of the antenna selection information. With regarding Claim 3 Nader and Li disclose the communication method of claim 2, Nader disclose wherein determining the first antennas to be used for the transmission with the network comprises: comparing the first layer number of the PDSCH with an antenna number of the first antennas (1837 See ¶[0033]-[0034], [0086], [0095]-[0097], [0108], [0126].
[0033] The exemplary methods and/or procedures can also include selecting one of the following to use for PDCCH reception: the first number of antennas and receive chains, and a greater second number of antennas and receive chains. In some embodiments, selecting one of the first number or the greater second number can be based on the at least one slot offset (e.g., received as part of the configuration). In some embodiments, the second number can be the minimum number of the available antennas and receive chains that are required to correctly decode the subsequent PDSCH transmission. In some embodiments, the second number can be the number of available antennas and receive chains.
[0034] In such embodiments, selecting one of the first and second numbers of antennas and receive chains can include determining whether the format of DCI messages can indicate at least one PDSCH transmission format that requires the second number of antennas and receive chains for correct decoding. In some embodiments, the at least one PDSCH transmission format comprises at least one of the following: a multi-layer PDSCH transmission; and a PDSCH transmission that uses additional frequency-domain resources than the PDCCH (e.g., different and/or additional BWPs).); maintaining the antenna number of the first antennas in an event that the antenna number of the first antennas is equal to the first layer number of the PDSCH (1837 See ¶[0032]-[0036], [0086], [0095]-[0097], [0108], [0124], [0126].0036] Furthermore, if it is determined that the minimum is less than the predetermined duration, the second number of antennas and receive chains can be selected. In some embodiments, selecting one of the first and second numbers of antennas and receive chains can also include, if it is determined that the slot offset is greater than or equal to the predetermined duration, selecting the first number of antennas and receive chains.); and decreasing the antenna number of the first antennas in an event that the antenna number of the first antennas is greater than the first layer number of the PDSCH (1837 See ¶[0032]-[0036], [0086], [0095]-[0097], [0108], [0126].[0035] In some embodiments, selecting one of the first and second numbers of antennas and receive chains can also include, if it is determined that the format of the DCI messages can indicate the at least one PDSCH transmission format, determining whether the minimum of the at least one slot offset is less than a predetermined duration. In some embodiments, the predetermined duration can be based on the time required to activate additional antennas and receive chains.[0108] In a second example, the UE is configured with the same parameters as the first example, except that the second PDCCH candidate is configured with AL=2. As such, the code-rate of PDCCH candidate 1 is still 0.06 but the code-rate of PDCCH candidate 2 is now 0.27 (e.g., 60 bits/(2*6*12*2*0.75 coded bits)). Table 3 below shows the trade-off chart corresponding to this example. More specifically, Table 3 shows that for PDCCH candidate 2, the BLER metric is satisfied when the number of antennas is greater than or equal to three. Thus, the achievable power savings is limited to deactivating one of the four receive chains during PDCCH reception. As in the first example, slot offset values k0={1, 2} allows the UE to choose three antennas for PDCCH reception without compromising possible MIMO PDSCH reception.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify Nader’s teachings. Nader teaches selecting minimum number of antennas required to correctly decode PDSCH transmission, power savings by deactivating unnecessary antennas and multi-layer PDSCH transmission as key factor in antenna selection. Li teaches explicit rank layer to receiver chain correspondence R1 corresponds to rank 1 or 1 active Rx chain, R2 to rank 2 and reception configuration based on number of active receiver chains or traffic rank. This combination teaches comparing layer number with antenna count, maintaining when equal, and decreasing when excessive, as these are natural implementations of Nader’s minimum antenna selection using Li’s rank-chain correspondence.With regarding Claim 11 Nader disclose a communication method, comprising: generating, by a processor of a communication device having a plurality of antennas, an antenna selection information, wherein the antenna selection information comprises a PDCCH-only (physical downlink control channel) ratio, (1837 See FIG. 2C, 7-9 and ¶[0032], [0034]-[0039] [0073], [0072], [0094], [0098], [0124].[0032] The exemplary methods and/or procedures can also include selecting a first number of antennas and receive chains for PDCCH reception, wherein the first number comprises the minimum number of the available antennas and receive chains needed to meet one or more PDCCH performance metrics. In some embodiments, the first number can be one.[0034] In such embodiments, selecting one of the first and second numbers of antennas and receive chains can include determining whether the format of DCI messages can indicate at least one PDSCH transmission format that requires the second number of antennas and receive chains for correct decoding. In some embodiments, the at least one PDSCH transmission format comprises at least one of the following: a multi-layer PDSCH transmission; and a PDSCH transmission that uses additional frequency-domain resources than the PDCCH (e.g., different and/or additional BWPs).).
; determining, by the processor, first antennas to be used for a transmission with a network within the plurality of antennas according to the antenna selection information (1837 See FIG. 4, 11 and ¶[0032], [0034]-[0039], [0122], [0084]-[0085], [0095].[0122] In some embodiments, selecting a first number of antennas and receive chains for PDCCH reception can include: determining a link quality and a code rate associated with each PDCCH candidate; determining, for each PDCCH candidate based on the associated code rate, one or more performance metrics for each of a plurality of candidate numbers of antennas and receive chains; and selecting, as the first number, the minimum of the candidate numbers for which link qualities associated with all PDCCH candidates are greater than or equal to the corresponding one or more performance metrics. In some embodiments, at least two of the plurality of PDCCH candidates can be associated with different code rates.); and performing, by the processor, the transmission with the network through the first antennas (1837 See FIG. 10 and ¶[0084]-[0086], [0094]-[0095], [0126], [0128]-[0129].[0129] The exemplary method and/or procedure can also include the operations of block 1050, where the UE can receive the PDCCH using the selected number of antennas and receive chains. In some embodiments, the exemplary method and/or procedure can also include the operations of block 1060, where the UE can receive a downlink control indicator (DCI) message scheduling a PDSCH transmission at a first slot offset that was indicated in the configuration. In some embodiments, the exemplary method and/or procedure can also include the operations of block 1070, where the UE can receive the PDSCH transmission, at the first slot offset, using the second number of antennas and receive chains.); wherein determining the first antennas to be used for the transmission with the network comprises: determining whether the communication device is in a light traffic state according to the PDCCH-only ratio and the average PHY throughput and whether the at least one signal quality indicator of the communication device is in a poor state (1837 See FIG. 10 and ¶[0084]-[0086], [0094], [0110].[0086] As a further example, based on factor 1, the UE determine whether DCI formats that can be carried by PDCCH can include PDSCH transmission techniques needing multiple UE antennas and/or receive chains for correct PDSCH reception. For example, if the UE is configured to receive simple DCI formats only (e.g., indicating single-layer PDSCH transmission) without the possibility of multi-layer PDSCH scheduling, the UE could turn off its receiver chains regardless of whether the time-domain configuration indicates same-slot or inter-slot PDSCH scheduling.[0110] In some embodiments, such as when the UE's power consumption is in a critical situation (e.g., low battery, poor link quality, etc.), the UE can request the network to configure a PDCCH search-space that is favorable to the UE from a power savings perspective. The UE can make such a request using, e.g., channel quality indicator (CQI) report, UE assistance information, etc. The UE and network can negotiate and/or agree upon a favorable PDCCH search space in advance of such an event, such as during network configuration of the UE.[0122] In some embodiments, selecting a first number of antennas and receive chains for PDCCH reception can include: determining a link quality and a code rate associated with each PDCCH candidate; determining, for each PDCCH candidate based on the associated code rate, one or more performance metrics for each of a plurality of candidate numbers of antennas and receive chains; and selecting, as the first number, the minimum of the candidate numbers for which link qualities associated with all PDCCH candidates are greater than or equal to the corresponding one or more performance metrics.); maintaining or increasing the antenna number of the first antennas in an event that the communication device is not in the light traffic state or the at least one signal quality of the communication device is not in the poor state (1837 See FIG. 8 and ¶[0064], [0126]-[0128], [0092], [0094]-[0095], [0122])[0094] In operation 830, the UE can determine whether a particular number of antennas and receive chains (e.g., N.sub.R) can provide sufficient PDCCH reception quality. For example, the UE can determine whether, in view of the robustness and/or quality of the potential PDCCH candidates determined in operation 830, using N.sub.R antennas (e.g., for diversity gain) can meet one or more block error rate (BLER) requirements for the respective PDCCH candidates. If the UE determines that N.sub.R antennas provide insufficient PDCCH reception quality, the UE proceeds to operation 870, where the UE can receive PDCCH with a greater number of antennas than N.sub.R (e.g., N.sub.R+1)..); and decreasing the antenna number of the first antennas in an event that the communication device is in the light traffic state and the at least one signal quality of the communication device is in the poor state (1837 See FIG. 8 and ¶[0094]-[0097], [0111]-[0112], [0086]-[0087], [0122][0086] As a further example, based on factor 1, the UE determine whether DCI formats that can be carried by PDCCH can include PDSCH transmission techniques needing multiple UE antennas and/or receive chains for correct PDSCH reception. For example, if the UE is configured to receive simple DCI formats only (e.g., indicating single-layer PDSCH transmission) without the possibility of multi-layer PDSCH scheduling, the UE could turn off its receiver chains regardless of whether the time-domain configuration indicates same-slot or inter-slot PDSCH scheduling.
[0087] For NR, the set of possible values of the slot offset parameter, k0, is indicated in a time-domain resource allocation table, while the particular k0 associated with a scheduled PDSCH is indicated in DCI as an index into the table. As yet another example, based on factor 3, even if (e.g., based on factor 1) the UE determines that a PDSCH requiring a particular number of antennas can be scheduled, the UE can determine to use less than this number of antennas to monitor the PDCCH so long as its receive chain activation delay is less than the minimum k0 value in the time-domain resource allocation table.).and a processor, coupled to the plurality of antennas and the storage device, configured to execute the instructions stored in the storage device (See FIG. 12, 13 and ¶[0074], [0137][0074] In further exemplary embodiments, processor 700 can comprise one or more general-purpose microprocessors, one or more special-purpose microprocessors, one or more digital signal processors (DSPs), one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), and/or one or more other types of computer arrangement known to persons of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, processor 700 can be programmable and/or configured to perform the functions described herein by executable software code stored in an accessible memory or other type of computer-readable medium. In some exemplary embodiments, memory and/or other computer-readable medium (e.g., including RAM, ROM, memory stick, floppy drive, memory card, etc.) can be permanently programmed and/or configured with such executable software code, while in other exemplary embodiments, the memory or computer-readable medium can have the executable software code downloaded and/or configured.
Nader may not explicitly disclose an average PHY throughput and at least one signal quality indicator of the communication device.However, in analogous art, Li disclose an average PHY throughput and at least one signal quality indicator of the communication device , (1935 See FIG. 5, 10 and ¶[0004]-[0005], [0126]-[0127], [0129]-[0130].[0004] In some aspects, a method of wireless communication may include estimating, by a user equipment (UE), an estimated downlink data throughput associated with the UE based at least in part on a throughput indicator; and/or configuring, by the UE, a reception configuration based at least in part on the estimated downlink data throughput and based at least in part on a channel quality indication, wherein the reception configuration relates to at least one of a number of active receiver chains of the UE or a traffic rank of the UE.[00129] In some aspects, the throughput indicator is based at least in part on a
transport block size allocated for the UE 145, 250. In some aspects, the throughput
indicator is based at least in part on a quantity of consecutive subframes having a
granted rank number that is lower than a rank context between the UE 145, 250 and a
base station (e.g., eNB 110, 210, 230). In some aspects, the throughput indicator is
based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme associated with the UE 145,
250.
[00130] In some aspects, the throughput indicator is based at least in part on a
resource block allocation of the UE 145, 250. In some aspects, the channel quality
indication is based at least in part on a signal to noise ratio of the UE 145, 250. In some
aspects, the channel quality indication is based at least in part on a cyclic redundancy
check error rate of the UE 145, 250. In some aspects, the reception configuration is
further configured based at least in part on a determination that the UE 145, 250 is
associated with a connected-mode discontinuous reception cycle. In some aspects, the
reception configuration is further configured based at least in part on a determination
that the UE 145, 250 is associated with an idle discontinuous reception cycle. In some
aspects, the UE 145, 250 is configured to use at least two channels with an intra-band operation and behavior of the systems and/or methods were described herein without
reference to specific software code-it being understood that software and hardware can
be designed to implement the systems and/or methods based, at least in part, on the
description herein.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li to modify Nader’s teachings. Nader teaches a control flow that PDCCH condition/quality and then selects antenna count/rank accordingly increase or maintain on sufficient condition and decrease when insufficient or No PDCCH. It further uses the selected configuration for subsequent transmissions.Li teaches computing and using PHY throughput to classify Light vs. not light traffic evaluating signal quality indicators with thresholds and policy that maintains/increases antennas when light or not poor and decrease antenna when light and quality poor.This combination yields the claimed antenna-selection information comprising a PDCCH-only ratio by Nader’s and average PHY throughput from Li and at least signal quality indicator. Resulting when to reduce antennas for power savings without compromising control channel reception.
With regarding claim 12, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 12 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding claim 13, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 13 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 3, and is rejected under the same reasoning.5. Claims 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nader and Li as applied to claim 1/11 above, and further in view of Nimbalker et. al.(US 20220393740). With regarding Claim 4 Nader and Li disclose the communication method of claim 1. Nader and Li may not explicitly disclose wherein the antenna selection information comprises a second layer number of a downlink (DL) maxLayersMIMO. However, in analogous art Nimbalker disclose wherein the antenna selection information comprises a second layer number of a downlink (DL) maxLayersMIMO(3740 See ¶[0011]-[0012], [0047]-[0048], [0060], [0091].
([0011] An advantage that the inventive concepts may enable the UE to provide a second capability indication that indicates that the UE supports a maximum number of MIMO layers for a bandwidth part, BWP, of the serving cell, e.g. a UE capability referred to as e.g. maxLayersMIMO-Indication-BWP or similar, in a relation to the existing first capability indication that indicates that the UE supports a maximum number of MIMO layers for a serving cell configuration on a carrier, e.g. a UE capability referred to as e.g. maxLayersMIMO-Indication or similar. This helps the network to ensure proper operation (e.g. rate-matching, etc.) and configure maximum number of layers per BWP and per cell accordingly and may allow the UE to reduce its power consumption accordingly.]
[0012] In one embodiment there is provided a method of operating a wireless device, UE, in a communication network. The method includes transmitting, to the communication network, a first capability indication that indicates that the UE supports a maximum number of MIMO layers for a serving cell configuration on a carrier and the second capability indication that indicates that the UE supports a maximum number of MIMO layers for a bandwidth part, BWP, of the serving cell. The method further includes receiving a configuration that includes a first higher layer parameter associated with the maximum number of MIMO layers for a serving cell and a second higher layer parameter associated with the maximum number of MIMO layers for a specific BWP part of the serving cell, wherein the configuration is based on the first capability indication and the second capability indication.)
[0048], [0047] For a Rel-15 UE, the network can configure, via RRC parameter, an upper limit on the maximum number of MIMO layers for the downlink and for the uplink, more specifically for PDSCH and for PUSCH, respectively. In some embodiments the parameter indicates maximum number of layers for one transport block (TB) for data channels, uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) and/or downlink shared channel (DL-SCH). Since the RRC parameter was introduced very late in the design, to ensure backwards-compatibility, a corresponding communication device capability parameter was also introduced that allows a communication device to tell the network that it can receive and process the corresponding RRC parameter. A communication device that does not or cannot (e.g. because such communication devices were already in field) indicate this capability will simply ignore the RRC parameter even if it is configured. Such communication devices derive the maximum number of MIMO layers for the downlink or for uplink based on the indicated MIMO capability from the feature set and band/band combination signaling.
[0060] The communication device may acquire a configuration from higher layers. e.g. RRC, where the configuration comprises a first higher layer parameter associated with max number of MIMO layers for a serving cell and a second higher layer parameter associated with max number of MIMO layer for a specific BWP part of the serving cell, the configuration is based on the first and second capability indication. The communication device can be configured with one or more BWPs, where at least one of the BWPs is configured with the second higher layer parameter.)Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Nimbalker to modify Li and Nader’s teachings Li and Nader’s teaching multiple layer PDSCH transmission impacts an antenna selection and Li provides the rank determiners the required number of active receiver chain configurations and Nimbalker invention that the UE is having the DL Maximum number of MIMO layers the network configures for the UE and provides a layer number that is logically relevant to antenna selection decisions . This combination would be (DL maxLayersMIMO reporting and configuration with antenna selection logic) would result in optimize antenna usage at the user equipment in a multi-antenna wireless communication system (3GPP) to reduce power consumption, prevent unnecessary antenna activation and improve efficiency.
With regarding claim 14, through of a different scope, the limitation of claim 14 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 4, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
6. Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the system of Nader, LI, and Nimbalker as applied to claim 4/14 above, and further in view of Maleki et.al.(US 20220304024).
With regarding claim 5, Nader, Li and Nimbalker disclose the communication method of claim 4, Nader, Li and Nimbalker may not explicitly disclose wherein determining the first antennas to be used for the transmission with the network comprises: comparing the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMIMO with a receiver capability; decreasing the antenna number of the first antennas in an event that the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMIMO is smaller than the receiver capability; and requesting the network to decrease the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMIMO to be smaller than the receiver capability in an event that the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMIMO is not smaller than the receiver capability.
However, in analogous art Maleki disclose wherein determining the first antennas to be used for the transmission with the network comprises: comparing the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMIMO with a receiver capability.[0026] In some embodiments of this aspect, the processing circuitry is further configured to receive a scheduling for the wireless device according to the indicated number of MIMO layers; and receive a downlink, DL, channel according to the indicated number of MIMO layers. In some embodiments of this aspect, the indicated number of MIMO layers is one of reduced and increased as compared to the maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device based at least in part on the at least one parameter. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes pending downlink, DL, traffic to the wireless device. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes expected downlink, DL, traffic to the wireless device. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes a wireless device power savings gain. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes a network node performance impact. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes a MIMO transmission robustness.
[0011] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a method implemented in a network node is provided. The method includes determining a number of multiple-input multiple-output, MIMO, layers for a wireless device, WD, the determined number of MIMO layers being adjusted as compared to a maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device based at least in part on at least one parameter associated with at least one of the wireless device and the network node; and signaling an indication of the determined number of MIMO layers to the wireless device.
[0012] In some embodiments of this aspect, the method further includes at least one of: scheduling the wireless device according to the determined number of MIMO layers; and transmitting a downlink, DL, channel to the wireless device according to the determined number of MIMO layers. In some embodiments of this aspect, determining the number of MIMO layers for the wireless device further includes determining to one of reduce and increase the number of MIMO layers for scheduling the wireless device as compared to the maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device based at least in part on the at least one parameter.
[0015] In some embodiments of this aspect, the maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device is based on the wireless device capability. In some embodiments of this aspect, the maximum number of MIMO layers is configured to the wireless device via radio resource control, RRC, signaling; and the indication of the determined number of MIMO layers is signaled to the wireless device via one of a downlink control information, DCI, message and an RRC message. In some embodiments of this aspect, the maximum number of MIMO layers is configured to the wireless device at least one of per cell and per bandwidth part, BWP. In some embodiments of this aspect, the indication of the determined number of MIMO layers is signaled to the wireless device via a downlink control information, DCI, message including an indication to switch an active bandwidth part, BWP.
decreasing the antenna number of the first antennas in an event that the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMIMO is smaller than the receiver capability [0012] In some embodiments of this aspect, the method further includes at least one of: scheduling the wireless device according to the determined number of MIMO layers; and transmitting a downlink, DL, channel to the wireless device according to the determined number of MIMO layers. In some embodiments of this aspect, determining the number of MIMO layers for the wireless device further includes determining to one of reduce and increase the number of MIMO layers for scheduling the wireless device as compared to the maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device based at least in part on the at least one parameter); and
requesting the network to decrease the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMIMO to be smaller than the receiver capability in an event that the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMlMO is not smaller than the receiver capability
[0014] In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes at least one channel state information, CSI, report from the wireless device. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes at least one hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, indication from the wireless device. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes at least one feedback indication from the wireless device. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes at least one rank indication from the wireless device. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes at least one modulation and coding scheme, MCS, for the wireless device.
[0015] In some embodiments of this aspect, the maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device is based on the wireless device capability. In some embodiments of this aspect, the maximum number of MIMO layers is configured to the wireless device via radio resource control, RRC, signaling; and the indication of the determined number of MIMO layers is signaled to the wireless device via one of a downlink control information, DCI, message and an RRC message. In some embodiments of this aspect, the maximum number of MIMO layers is configured to the wireless device at least one of per cell and per bandwidth part, BWP. In some embodiments of this aspect, the indication of the determined number of MIMO layers is signaled to the wireless device via a downlink control information, DCI, message including an indication to switch an active bandwidth part, BWP.
[0017] In some embodiments of this aspect, the method further includes receiving a scheduling for the wireless device according to the indicated number of MIMO layers; and receiving a downlink, DL, channel according to the indicated number of MIMO layers. In some embodiments of this aspect, the indicated number of MIMO layers is one of reduced and increased as compared to the maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device based at least in part on the at least one parameter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Maleki to modify Nader, Li and Nimbalker teachings Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have knowledge of Nader and Li teachings with Nimbalker teaches that the UE configured with DL Maximum number of MIMO layers via higher layer signaling. And Maleki teaches adapting antenna usage based on comparison between DL maxLayerMIMO and UE capability, and providing network feedback when reconfiguration needed. This combination would be would result in optimize antenna usage at the user equipment, based not only internal selection logic but also on network provided DL layers configuration and receiver capability awareness with cooperative adjustment mechanisms. This would have recognized that aligning antenna activation with both configured MIMO layers and device capability improves power efficiency, avoids unnecessary resource use, and ensures capability with network imposed constrains.
With regarding claim 6, Nader, Li, Nimbalker and Maleki disclose the communication method of claim 5, Nader, Li and Nimbalker may not explicitly disclose wherein requesting the network to decrease the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMIMO to be smaller than the receiver capability is through sending a fake rank indicator (RI) or a UE-assisted information (UAI) to the network. However, in analogous art Maleki disclose wherein requesting the network to decrease the second layer number of the DL maxLayersMlMO to be smaller than the receiver capability is through sending a fake rank indicator (RI) or a UE-assisted information (UAI) to the network[0017] In some embodiments, the at least one parameter includes at least one feedback indication from the wireless device 22. In some embodiments, the at least one parameter includes at least one rank indication from the wireless device 22; and the method further comprises transmitting, such as via layer unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, the at least one rank indication. In some embodiments, the at least one parameter includes at least one modulation and coding scheme, MCS, for the wireless device 22. In some embodiments, the maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device 22 is based on the wireless device capability.,[0026] In some embodiments of this aspect, the processing circuitry is further configured to receive a scheduling for the wireless device according to the indicated number of MIMO layers; and receive a downlink, DL, channel according to the indicated number of MIMO layers. In some embodiments of this aspect, the indicated number of MIMO layers is one of reduced and increased as compared to the maximum number of MIMO layers for the wireless device based at least in part on the at least one parameter. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes pending downlink, DL, traffic to the wireless device. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes expected downlink, DL, traffic to the wireless device. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes a wireless device power savings gain. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes a network node performance impact. In some embodiments of this aspect, the at least one parameter includes a MIMO transmission robustness. [0129] In another embodiment, the network node 16, such as for example, via processing circuitry 68 and/or radio interface 62, may consider the channel conditions of the WD 22 in determining an empirical and/or useful MIMO layer limit. For example, for WDs 22 with good channel conditions (e.g., positioned relatively near the network node 16) but lacking richness in multipath propagation (e.g., line-of-sight (LOS)-dominant channels), transmission with a larger number of layers than 2-4, as using a larger number of RX antennas than that, is typically not useful for further increasing the achievable data rate. The network node 16 may then use the CSI report as a way to determine, for example, that higher-rank transmission is not likely to be useful and to determine to set a number of layers constraint while the WD 22 remains in such channel conditions. For example, CSI reports consistently indicating a low rank indication (RI) (e.g., RI may be a WD 22 indication of a number of layers) but high modulation and coding scheme (MCS) may indicate to the network node 16 that