DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/229,190 filed on August 2, 2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
The amended claims submitted February 1, 2026 in response to the office action mailed November 24, 2025 are under consideration. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are pending. Claims 2, 9 and 16 are cancelled.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted February 1, 2026 contain new matter and thus cannot be entered. In particular, there is no way of deducing the vertical position of the first reference plane from the specification as filed. Therefore, its position on the replacement drawings of Figs. 3 and 4 is new matter. Given that the position of 26 is new matter, the position of the center of rotation 27 on Fig. 3 is also new matter.
The explanations of the drawing objections of the previous office action are revised below to further explain which are withdrawn, which have been overcome by the amendments to the claims, which would be overcome by the replacement drawings if they were resubmitted omitting the new matter, and any additional comments as necessary.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the features enumerated in the following table as described in the specification. Further the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations enumerated below must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
paragraph or claim
feature or limitation
Status/explanation
[0055]
claim 1
The second magnet holder 10 is connected to the inner ball holder 2
“wherein the second magnet holder is connected to the inner ball holder”
This would be overcome by the replacement drawing of Fig. 3 if resubmitted without the new matter.
This is withdrawn, because upon further consideration it is reasonably possible to see in original Fig. 4
[0058]
“two portions of the outer ball holder 1 are respectively provided with two fulcrums of rotation, namely there are four fulcrums of rotation.”
as underlined above, drawing objections can be raised by the specification as well as the claims. “Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).”
[0058]
“At least four spherical segments in one-to-one correspondence with the balls 3 are arranged at a periphery of the inner ball holder 2. A center of each of the at least four spherical segments coincides with a center of rotation. The center of rotation passes through or approximately passes through an optical axis Z of the lens.”
This would be overcome by the replacement drawing of Fig. 4 if resubmitted without the new matter.
[0058]
“The four balls 3 respectively abut against four concentric spherical segments of the inner ball holder 2 in one-to-one correspondence to realize multi-axis rotational stabilization.”
as underlined above, drawing objections can be raised by the specification as well as the claims. “Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).”
[0059]
claim 1
“
The examiner now sees how original Fig. 4 showed the feature of the ball holder being in two portions as disclosed and claimed. However, it is still unclear how two sets of four balls total could be in one-to-one correspondence with only two portions of the outer ball holder.
[0060]
claim 1
“A horizontal plane of a center of rotation is defined as a first reference plane. One set of the two sets of the balls 3 is located above the first reference plane, while the other one set of the two sets of the balls 3 is located under the first reference plane.”
“a horizontal plane of a center of rotation is defined as a first reference plane, and one set of the two sets of the balls is located above the first reference plane, while the other set of the two sets of the balls is located under the first reference plane.”
The additions to Figs. 3 and 4 of reference plane 26 are new matter because there is no way of deducing the vertical position of the first reference plane from the specification as filed. The examiner recommends instead claiming that the two sets of balls are positioned at different vertical heights in the optical axis direction, which would avoid reference to an unmarked, imaginary plane.
[0061]
claim 3
“The two balls 3 under the first reference plane are adjacent to the two balls 3 above the first reference plane.”
“the two balls under the first reference plane are adjacent to the two balls above the first reference plane.”
From the applicant’s explanation, it appears that by “adjacent” the applicant meant separated by 90 degrees with respect to an axis coinciding with the optical axis. In which case the so-called “adjacent” balls are not proximate to one another. By “adjacent” the examiner had expected the balls to be stacked vertically, proximate to one another. To overcome this, the examiner recommends claiming the positions of the balls on opposing spherical segments or on adjacent spherical segments.
[0065]
claim 7
“The connecting spring 12 is provided on the spring holder 25. Specifically, the connecting spring 12 can be connected to the lens carrier 11 and the second magnet holder 10 through the spring holder 25.”
“a spring holder provided on the second magnet holder; and the connecting spring is provided on the spring holder.”
This would be overcome by the replacement drawing of Fig. 3 if resubmitted without the new matter.
[0072]
claims 15-19
This has been overcome by the amendments to the claims and specification.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 USC §112 rejections of the previous office action have been overcome by the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. US 2015/0103195 A1 (hereafter Kwon) in view of Yu et al. US 2017/0108705 A1 (hereafter Yu) and Wei et al WO 2022/078386 A1 (hereafter Wei, where reference will be made to Wei US 2024/0276088 as the English language equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon teaches “A stabilizing-focusing motor (camera module 1000 with the elements thereof that follow), comprising:
a stabilizing structure (hand-shake correcting part 520 and other elements thereof) comprising
an outer ball holder (at least fixed part 400 with fixed frame 410 with accommodating parts 411 in which the plurality of ball bearings 800 are accommodated see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0091]),
an inner ball holder (yoke base 321 which is an inner ball holder in that it is interior to 400 and balls 800 are disposed between 400 and 300 see Fig. 1 and e.g. paragraph [0086]),
balls (plurality of ball bearings 800),
a stabilizing magnet (second magnet 521 which are for hand-shake correction see e.g. paragraph [0069]),
a stabilizing coil (second coils 525, which are for hand-shake correction see e.g. paragraph [0069]), and
…wherein the inner ball holder is provided in the outer ball holder (see Fig. 1), and connected to the outer ball holder through the balls (e.g. paragraph [0086]: “The plurality of ball bearings 800 may be disposed between the fixed part 400 and the driving part 300 to support the driving part 300 and the fixed part 400.”);
the stabilizing magnet is provided on the inner ball holder (paragraph [0070]: “the second magnets 521 may be attached to a lower surface of the yoke base 321”);
the stabilizing coil is provided on the outer ball holder (see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0096] coils 525 are attached to the upper surface of substrate 420 of 400), and opposite to the stabilizing magnet (see Fig. 1 and e.g. paragraph [0098]); … and
a focusing structure (autofocus driving part 510 and other elements thereof below) comprising
a second magnet holder (support plate 323 which holds first magnets 511 see e.g. paragraph [0062]),
a lens carrier (bobbin 220),
a connecting spring (elastic member 600 or elements thereof),
a focusing magnet (first magnets 511, which are part of 510 see paragraph [0061]),
a focusing coil (first coil 513 which is part of 510 see paragraph [0061]), and …
wherein the second magnet holder is connected to the inner ball holder (second magnet holder 323 is connected to inner ball holder 321 see Fig. 1 and e.g. paragraph [0052]);
the focusing magnet is provided on the second magnet holder (paragraph [0062]: “The first magnet 511 may be attached to … an inner surface of the support plate 323”);
the lens carrier is connected to the second magnet holder through the connecting spring (e.g. paragraph [0042]: “The driving part 300 may include a driving frame 310… and a yoke plate 320 coupled to the driving frame 310” and paragraph [0047]: “the first elastic member 610 may be coupled to an upper portion of the driving frame 310 to support the bobbin 220, and the second elastic member 620 may be coupled to a lower portion of the driving frame 310 to support the bobbin 220.”. Thus 220 is connected to 323 through 600);
the focusing coil is provided on the lens carrier (see Fig. 1 and e.g. paragraph [0062]: “first coil 513 may be provided on an outer surface of the bobbin 220”)…
and
a horizontal plane of a center of rotation is defined as a first reference plane (a horizontal plane in which driving part 300 is driven in the horizontal directions which can include rotations given that the suspension wires 700 are rotatable during this driving see paragraph [0114]).”
However, Kwon fails to explicitly teach “a stabilizing circuit board, … and the stabilizing circuit board is provided on the outer ball holder, and electrically connected to the stabilizing coil;…
a focusing circuit board… and the focusing circuit board is provided on the lens carrier, and electrically connected to the focusing coil.”
Yu teaches “A stabilizing-focusing motor (camera module 400 with a lens unit 410, an optical image stabilization (OIS) stabilizer 420, and an autofocus (AF) actuator 430), comprising:
a stabilizing structure (OIS stabilizer 420) comprising an outer ball holder (base 421 with balls 428), an inner ball holder (moving unit 424), balls (balls 428), … and a stabilizing circuit board (first flexible circuit board 427), wherein the inner ball holder is provided in the outer ball holder (see e.g. Figs. 4-5), and connected to the outer ball holder through the balls (see Fig. 5 and e.g. paragraph [0117]); … and the stabilizing circuit board is provided on the outer ball holder (see Figs. 4 and 5), and electrically connected to the stabilizing (e.g. paragraph [0115]: “The first board (e.g., flexible circuit board) 427 may be provided on at least one surface (e.g., top surface) of the base 421 to electrically connect and simultaneously supply power to the first and second sub actuator 425 and 426.”); and
a focusing structure (AF actuator 430) comprising a second magnet holder (side surface of lens carrier 431 that holds 433e see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0130]: “the AF-side magnet 433a may be provided on a side surface of the lens carrier 431”), a lens carrier (body of lens carrier 431 that holds lens unit 410 see Fig. 16), … a focusing magnet (AF-side magnet 433a), a focusing coil (coil 433e), and a focusing circuit board (second board 434 which is a flexible circuit board see paragraph [0130]), wherein the second magnet holder is connected to the inner ball holder (431 is connected to 424 see e.g. paragraph [0134]: “The AF actuator 430 may be coupled onto a side surface of the OIS stabilizer 420. A coupling unit 429 provided on a side surface of the moving unit 424 of the OIS stabilizer 420 may be coupled with the AF actuator 430.”); the focusing magnet is provided on the second magnet holder (see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0130]: “the AF-side magnet 433a may be provided on a side surface of the lens carrier 431”);
the lens carrier is connected to the second magnet holder (see Fig. 12 the portion of 431 that holds the lens unit is connected to the side surface of 431 that holds the second magnet); … and the focusing circuit board is … electrically connected to the focusing coil (e.g. paragraph [0135]: “A second board (e.g., flexible circuit board) 434 may be provided which is electrically connected with the coil of the first direction moving unit 433 while supplying power the coil.”).”
Yu further teaches (paragraph [0115]): “The first board (e.g., flexible circuit board) 427 may be provided on at least one surface (e.g., top surface) of the base 421 to electrically connect and simultaneously supply power to the first and second sub actuator 425 and 426.” and (paragraph [0135]): “A second board (e.g., flexible circuit board) 434 may be provided which is electrically connected with the coil of the first direction moving unit 433 while supplying power the coil.”
Kwon discloses the instant device except for failing to explicitly disclose the presence of circuit boards that are electrically connected to the OIS and AF actuators.
Yu teaches a lens holding device with both OIS and AF functionalities which utilizes two circuit boards, one for OIS positioned on the base and one for AF on which the AF coil is disposed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an OIS circuit board on the base and an AF circuit board connected to the AF coil as taught by Yu in the device of Kwon for the purpose of supplying power to the OIS and AF actuators as taught by Yu (paragraphs [0115] and [0135]).
Note that the limitations “the stabilizing circuit board is … electrically connected to the stabilizing coil” are considered to be met by the references when taken in combination because Kwon teaches that the stabilization actuator includes a stabilizing coil and Yu teaches providing power to the stabilization actuator using a stabilization circuit board.
Further note that the limitations “the focusing circuit board is provided on the lens carrier” are considered to be met by the combination of references because Kwon teaches that the focusing coil is provided on the lens carrier and Yu teaches a focusing circuit board connected to the focusing coil, which would then also need to be provided on the lens carrier in the device of Kwon.
However, Kwon also fails to teach “wherein the outer ball holder is provided with at least two portions; the at least two portions are spliced up and down; there are two sets of the balls; and the two sets of the balls are provided on the at least two portions of the outer ball holder in one-to-one correspondence; and
a horizontal plane of a center of rotation is defined as a first reference plane, and one set of the two sets of the balls is located above the first reference plane, while the other set of the two sets of the balls is located under the first reference plane.”
Wei teaches (claim 1) “A stabilizing-focusing motor (e.g. paragraph [0195]: “focusing function… optical image stabilization function”), comprising:
a stabilizing structure (at least coil magnet pairs 63, 64 and 65 which realize rotation in the xoy plane see paragraph [0169]) comprising an outer ball holder (Fig. 10c base 41a and cover 41b which hold balls 81 and 82), an inner ball holder (movable portion 42), balls (81 and 82), a stabilizing magnet (magnet of coil magnet pairs 63, 64 and 65), a stabilizing coil (coils of coil magnet pairs 63, 64 and 65), and a stabilizing circuit board (paragraph [0166] FPC board and circuit board 23), wherein the inner ball holder is provided in the outer ball holder (see Fig. 10c), and connected to the outer ball holder through the balls (see Fig. 10c); the stabilizing circuit board is … electrically connected to the stabilizing coil (paragraph [0166] “soldered and conducted”)
… and
a focusing structure (e.g. paragraph [0195]: “focusing function”) comprising … a lens carrier (Fig. 24 first carrier 31 in which lens 10 is seated see paragraph [0195]), a connecting spring (paragraph [0195] suspension system such as elastic sheets)…
wherein the outer ball holder is provided with at least two portions (Fig. 10c 41d and 41a); the at least two portions are spliced up and down (see Fig. 10c there is a horizontal splicing between 41d and 41a such that the two portions are spliced up and down); there are two sets of the balls (two layers of balls 81 and 82); and the two sets of the balls are provided on the at least two portions of the outer ball holder in one-to-one correspondence (see how balls 81 and 82 are provided on 41a and 41d in a one-to-one correspondence with recesses to receive them); and
a horizontal plane of a center of rotation is defined as a first reference plane (let a horizontal plane through the middle of 42 between the two sets of balls be defined as the first reference plane. This is a plane of the center of rotation, see e.g. paragraph [0157]: “allow the movable portion to rotate in the xoy plane with respect to the base portion, that is, to rotate around the z axis. The direction of rotation around the z-axis may be referred to as the Rz direction, and may also be referred to as the Rz-axis rotation.”), and one set of the two sets of the balls is located above the first reference plane (balls 81 are above the reference plane), while the other set of the two sets of the balls is located under the first reference plane (balls 82 are below the reference plane).”
Wei further teaches arrangements with only one set of balls above or below the outer ball holder see Figs. 10b and 10d. Wei further teaches (paragraph [0159]): “Compared with the embodiment shown in FIG. 10a, in this embodiment, the layer of ball 82 is added between the movable portion 42 and the supporting platform 41d, so that the movable portion 42 will not directly touch the supporting platform 41d during the optical image stabilization movement, so as to reduce the debris generation. And by setting two layers of balls 81 and 82, the resistance of the movable portion 42 during movement can be reduced.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the outer ball holder in two portions spliced up and down with two sets of balls above and below the outer ball holder as taught by Wei in the device of the Kwon – Yu combination because Wei teaches that such an arrangement improves on arrangements with only a single layer of balls by reducing debris generation and reducing the resistance of the movable platform during movement (Wei paragraph [0159]).
Regarding claim 3, the Kwon – Yu – Wei combination teaches “The stabilizing-focusing motor according to claim 2,” however, Kwon fails to teach “wherein the two sets of the balls each comprise two balls; the two balls above the first reference plane are opposite to each other; and the two balls under the first reference plane are adjacent to the two balls above the first reference plane.”
Wei teaches “wherein the two sets of the balls each comprise two balls (see the at least two balls 81 and the at least two balls 82 in Fig. 10c); the two balls above the first reference plane are opposite to each other (the two balls 81 are opposite to each other in Fig. 10c); and the two balls under the first reference plane are adjacent to the two balls above the first reference plane (there is a ball 82 adjacent to each ball 81 in Fig. 10c).”
Wei further teaches arrangements with only one set of balls above or below the outer ball holder see Figs. 10b and 10d. Wei further teaches (paragraph [0159]): “Compared with the embodiment shown in FIG. 10a, in this embodiment, the layer of ball 82 is added between the movable portion 42 and the supporting platform 41d, so that the movable portion 42 will not directly touch the supporting platform 41d during the optical image stabilization movement, so as to reduce the debris generation. And by setting two layers of balls 81 and 82, the resistance of the movable portion 42 during movement can be reduced.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate two sets of at least two balls above and below the outer ball holder in the manner claimed as taught by Wei in the device of the Kwon – Yu combination because Wei teaches that such an arrangement improves on arrangements with only a single layer of balls by reducing debris generation and reducing the resistance of the movable platform during movement (Wei paragraph [0159]).
Regarding claim 4, the Kwon – Yu -Wei combination teaches “The stabilizing-focusing motor according to claim 1,” and Kwon further teaches “wherein the stabilizing structure further comprises a holder (accommodating parts 411) provided on the outer ball holder (411 are on 410), and configured to locate each of the balls (see Figs. 4A and 6 and e.g. paragraph [0091]: “accommodating parts 411 in which the plurality of ball bearings 800 are accommodated”).”
Regarding claim 5, the Kwon – Yu -Wei combination teaches “The stabilizing-focusing motor according to claim 1,” and Kwon further teaches “wherein the stabilizing structure further comprises a first magnet holder (the lower surface of the yoke base plate 321 on which second magnets 521 are provided are a first magnet holder in that they hold the first magnets) provided on the inner ball holder (the lower surface of 321 is provided on 321); and the stabilizing magnet is provided on the first magnet holder (paragraph [0070]: “the second magnets 521 may be attached to a lower surface of the yoke base 321 of the yoke plate 320”).”
Regarding claim 6, the Kwon – Yu -Wei combination teaches “The stabilizing-focusing motor according to claim 1,” and Kwon further teaches “wherein the stabilizing structure further comprises a first coil holder (the combination of accommodating grooves 415 and the exposed upper surface of 420 where coils 525 reside) provided on the outer ball holder (see Fig. 4A and paragraph [0097]); and the stabilizing coil is provided on the first coil holder (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4A).”
Regarding claim 7, the Kwon – Yu – Wei combination teaches “The stabilizing-focusing motor according to claim 1, wherein the focusing structure further comprises a spring holder (driving frame 310) provided on the second magnet holder (e.g. paragraph [0042]: “yoke plate 320 coupled to the driving frame 310”); and the connecting spring is provided on the spring holder (paragraph [0047]: “the first elastic member 610 may be coupled to an upper portion of the driving frame 310).”
Regarding claims 8, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14, the Kwon – Yu -Wei combination teaches the stabilizing-focusing motor according to claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7, and Kwon further teaches “An application module of a stabilizing-focusing motor (camera module 1000), comprising the stabilizing-focusing motor according to claim 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 7 (see claims 1and 3-7 above), and further comprising:
a lens (one or a plurality of lenses L) provided on the lens carrier (paragraph [0037]: “lenses L may be provided in the lens barrel 210” and paragraph [0039]: “lens barrel 210 may be coupled to the bobbin 220”);
an image module (sensor housing 430) provided at a bottom end of the lens carrier (430 is located at the bottom end of 220 see e.g. Fig. 3), and corresponding to the lens (see Fig. 3);
a module housing (case 100) connected to a bottom end of the outer ball holder (paragraph [0054]: “The case 100 may enclose outer surfaces of the driving part 300 and the fixed part 400” see Fig. 3 100 is connected laterally to the bottom end of 420).”
However, Kwon does not explicitly disclose: “a module circuit board provided in the module housing, and connected to the focusing structure and the stabilizing structure.”
Yu teaches (Fig. 24) “a module circuit board (printed circuit board 392 including an image sensor, paragraph [0262]) provided in the module housing (the top of 392 is within cover unit 300a), and connected to the focusing structure and the stabilizing structure (392 is connected to the focusing, AF actuator 340, and stabilizing structures, OIS stabilizers 320 and 330, of the embodiment of Fig. 24).”
Yu further teaches (Fig. 32 and paragraph [0298]) “obtain at least one image on the external object using the lens unit 310 at operation S3.” and Fig. 33 paragraphs [0300]-[0301]): “The electronic device 1901 may include one or more processors (e.g., application processors (APs)) 1910, a communication module 1920, a subscriber identification module (SIM) 1924, a memory 1930, a sensor module 1940, an input device 1950, a display 1960, an interface 1970, an audio module 1980, a camera module 1991, a power management module 1995, a battery 1996, an indicator 1997, and a motor 1998. The processor 1910 may control multiple hardware and software components connected to the processor 1910 by running, e.g., an operating system (OS) or application programs, and the processor 1910 may process and compute various data.”
Kwon teaches the application module of claims 8 and 10-14 except for explicitly teaching a circuit board for the image sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a circuit board with an image sensor thereon as taught by Yu to the sensor housing of Kwon for the purpose of enabling the transfer of image data from the sensor to the processor of the electronic device as taught by Yu (Figs. 32, 33 and paragraphs [0298]-[0301]).
Regarding claims 15, 17, 18 and 19, the Kwon – Yu – Wei combination teaches the application module of a stabilizing-focusing motor according to claims 8, 10, 12 and 13,” however, Kwon fails to teach “wherein the image module comprises a sensor carrier, an optical filter, an image sensor, and a sensor circuit board that are provided sequentially from top to bottom; the sensor carrier is connected to the focusing structure; the optical filter and the sensor circuit board are provided on the sensor carrier;
and the image sensor is provided on the sensor circuit board.”
Yu teaches “wherein the image module comprises a sensor carrier (metal plate 393), an optical filter (infrared light film 394), an image sensor (paragraph [0262] “image sensor (not shown)”), and a sensor circuit board (printed circuit board 392) that are provided sequentially from top to bottom (see Fig. 27 the above elements are provided in a sequential order from top to bottom); the sensor carrier is connected to the focusing structure (393 is connected to AF actuator 340 at least in the sense that all of the parts are interconnected); the optical filter and the sensor circuit board are provided on the sensor carrier (see Figs. 24 and 27);
and the image sensor is provided on the sensor circuit board (paragraph [0262]: “a printed circuit board 392 including an image sensor (not shown)”).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor carrier of Yu into the module of the Kwon – Yu combination for the purpose of supporting the printed circuit board.
Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an infared light film as taught by Yu into the module of the Kwon – Yu combination in order to protect the image sensor from infrared light and to exclude infrared light from the detected image.
Lastly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an sensor circuit board as taught by Yu in the module of the Kwon – Yu combination for the purpose of enabling the transfer of image data from the sensor to the processor of the electronic device as taught by Yu (Figs. 32, 33 and paragraphs [0298]-[0301]).
Regarding claim 20, the Kwon – Yu – Wei combination teaches “The application module of a stabilizing-focusing motor according to claim 15,” however, Kwon fails to teach “wherein the module circuit board comprises a movable portion, an unmovable portion, and an elastic portion;
and the movable portion is connected to the unmovable portion through the elastic portion.”
Wei teaches (Fig. 17) “wherein the module circuit board comprises a movable portion (see Fig. 7 and paragraph [0173] the photosensitive assembly 20 is movable, thus the portion of the circuit board 23 directly underneath 20 is also movable), an unmovable portion (Fig. 17 portion of 26 at 26c is fixed see paragraph [0173]: “A connector may be provided at an end of the second connecting band 26b, and the connector may be fixed and electrically connected to an intermediate transfer column by pressing, and then is connected to the main board (or other components) of the terminal device through the intermediate transfer column 26c.”), and an elastic portion (connecting band 26b is an elastic portion in that it is elastic enough to be connected to a movable portion and a fixed portion without breakage);
and the movable portion is connected to the unmovable portion through the elastic portion (see Fig. 17 and paragraph [0173] the portion of 23 under 20 and the fixed end of 26b are connected through 26b).”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a module circuit board with a movable portion connected to a fixed portion by an elastic portion as taught by Wei in the device of the Kwon – Yu combination for the purpose of further enabling movements of the photosensitive assembly in addition to the movements of the lens as taught by Wei (e.g. Fig. 17 and paragraph [0173]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the “Claim Interpretation – Drawings” section on pages 12-15 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant explains why each of the drawing objections have either been overcome by the replacement drawings, amendments to the claims or are unnecessary because they are merely disclosed not claimed. These arguments are believed to have been addressed within the Drawing Objection section above.
Under the heading “Claim Interpretation 35 U.S.C. 112” on pages 16-18 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues that the 35 USC §112 rejections of the previous office action have been overcome by the amendments to the claims and specification. The examiner agrees, these rejections have been withdrawn.
Under the heading “Claim Interpretation - 35 U.S.C.102 & 35 U.S.C.103 on page 18 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant notes that claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the features of claim 2, and thus that claims 2, 9 and 16 have been cancelled. The applicant then introduces that they will be arguing two technical features:
1. the inner ball holder is provided in the outer ball holder, and connected to the outer ball holder through the balls
2. a horizontal plane of a center of rotation is defined as a first reference plane, and one set of the two sets of the balls is located above the first reference plane, while the other set of the two sets of the balls is located under the first reference plane.
In lines 3-4 of page 19 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant introduces that they will be arguing that Kwon, Yu and Wei fail to teach technical feature 1.
In lines 5-13 of page 19 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant summarizes the position of the office with respect to the teachings of Kwon. No specific argument is made in this paragraph.
In the paragraph of lines 14-25 of page 19 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant first argues that because the planar area of 410 is approximately equal to or smaller than the yoke base 321 that it is “impossible for the yoke base 321 to be located interior to it”. This argument is not persuasive. If one considers the device of Kwon, 400 is closer to the outside of the device than 321 by virtue of being beneath 321 vertically along the optical axis. Thus 321 is interior to 400 and also 410. Furthermore, 410 has corner portions with holes 417 which the suspension wires 700 penetrate that are clearly outside of the horizontal extent of 321 which instead has concave corner recesses to avoid the wires 700. That 410 has a wider horizontal extent than 320 can also be seen in Fig. 3. Thus 321 is “in” 410 both in the sense that it is located further to the interior of the camera and that it’s horizontal extent is smaller, even if there is no portion of 410 disposed laterally exterior to 321.
Next in this paragraph of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues “420 is a substrate ([0055]), and as a plate, it is also clearly impossible for the yoke base 321 to be located inside it.” In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “inside”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In particular, the claim recites that “the inner ball holder is provided in the outer ball holder” not “inside” the outer ball holder. These two words are similar but not identical.
Next in this paragraph of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues “430 is a sensor housing. Although 430 is a housing, its upper surface is already attached to the substrate 420 ([0090]), and at this point, 430 is separated from the yoke base 321 by substrate 420, making it impossible for the yoke base 321 to be located inside it.” In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “inside”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In particular, the claim recites that “the inner ball holder is provided in the outer ball holder” not “inside” the outer ball holder. These two words are similar but not identical.
Lastly in this paragraph of the applicant’s remarks the applicant concludes “Obviously, the opinion that the fixed part 400 discloses the outer ball holder and the yoke base 321 discloses the inner ball holder is logically untenable. The ball bearings 800 disclosed by Kwon cannot serve as a basis for inferring the disclosure of other structures with structural connections or positional relationships with the ball bearings 800.” This conclusion is predicated on the previous arguments which have been addressed above. To summarize, the applicant is arguing that the term “in” requires some degree of enclosing, encompassing, encircling, or surrounding. The position of the office is that if applicant wants to claim such a configuration, a term more specific than “in” is needed.
In the paragraph spanning pages 19 and 20 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues “Moreover, the ball bearings disclosed by Kwon are used to support the driving part 300 in the optical axis direction (Z-direction) to prevent deformation of the suspension wires 700 ([0089]). In contrast, the present application utilizes an Ampere force generated by the powered stabilizing coil 5 in a magnetic field of the stabilizing magnet 4 is applied to the inner ball holder 2, such that the inner ball holder 2 moves relative to the outer ball holder 1 under an action of the balls 3. In combination with an external or internal control driver chip, a direction and an amplitude of a current in the stabilizing coil 5 are controlled, thereby controlling an angle of the inner ball holder 2, counteracting vibration interferences in photographing to eliminate the blur of the image, and improving a quality of the image or film ([0056]). The two (Kwon and the present application) clearly have different technical purposes… Importantly, the structure disclosed by Kwon does not achieve movement via the balls. The technical effect that the technical solution disclosed by Kwon can achieve is merely the direct driving generated by the second magnet 521 ([0071]). That is, as stated above, the balls disclosed by Kwon primarily serve a supporting function.” This argument is not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Contrary to applicant’s assertion that the “primary” purpose of the balls is a supporting function cannot negate the fact that Kwon, like the instant application, uses the balls to permit movements that provide an image stabilization function. See Kwon paragraph [0040]: “and the driving part 300 accommodating the lens module 200 therein may be driven in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction) in order to correct hand-shake” and paragraphs [0102]-[0103]: “Therefore, the ball bearings 800 may roll between the driving part 300 and the fixed part 400 when the driving part 300 is moved in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction). Since the driving part 300 is continuously in point-contact with the plurality of ball bearings 800, it may be stably driven in the horizontal directions (X-direction and Y-direction).”
Further in this paragraph of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues “Furthermore, the examiner believes that the second coil 525 disclosed by Kwon discloses the stabilizing coil and the second magnet 521 discloses the stabilizing magnet. However, as indicated by the analysis above, the opinion that the fixed part 400 discloses the outer ball holder and the yoke base 321 discloses the inner ball holder is logically untenable. The relationship between "the second coil 525 and the second magnet 521" and "the fixed part 400 and the yoke base 321" disclosed by Kwon cannot serve as proof that Kwon discloses "the stabilizing magnet is provided on the inner ball holder" and "the stabilizing coil is provided on the outer ball holder".” This argument is predicated on the previous argument that Kwon fails to teach “the inner ball holder is provided in the outer ball holder” which has been addressed above.
Lastly in this paragraph of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues “A person skilled in the art would not have a reasonable expectation of obtaining the technical teaching of feature 1 from the technical solution disclosed by Kwon.” Since no modification of Kwon is needed to meet technical feature 1, it is not necessary to prove a reasonable expectation of success.
In the second paragraph of page 20 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant first argues that “Yu discloses that, between the base 421 ("outer ball holder") and the moving unit 424 ("inner ball holder"), there exists a fastening unit 422 fastened to a surface of base 421 ([0115], Figure 6). The inner and outer ball holders are not connected through the balls; the balls merely serve to reduce friction and do not provide a connection function.” This argument is not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Firstly, since Kwon already teaches this feature, there is no reason why Yu also must teach this feature for the rejection to be proper. Secondly, the examiner would point out, that Yu teaches the balls enable smooth or rolling movement between 421 and 424 (paragraph [0117]). The examiner cannot see how this could possibly occur without the balls being in connection with 421 and 424. This is especially true given the explanation in paragraph [0053] of the specification of the instant application: “In the description of the present disclosure, it should be noted that, unless otherwise clearly specified, meanings of terms “install”, “connected with”, and “connected to” should be understood in a board sense. For example, the connection may be a fixed connection, a removable connection, or an integral connection; may be a mechanical connection or an electrical connection; may be a direct connection or an indirect connection by using an intermediate medium; or may be intercommunication between two components.”
In this paragraph the applicant next argues “Similarly, the balls 80 disclosed by Wei also lack a connection function. Clearly, Yu and Wei do not disclose technical feature 1.” This argument is not persuasive. As pointed to in the rejection, Fig. 10C and the description thereof clearly shows an outer ball holder formed in two parts 41a and 41d, an inner ball holder 41c inside the outer ball holder, and two sets of balls 81 and 82 connecting 41a to 41c and 41c to 41d. This is how rolling members work. Furthermore it should be noted that if the claim were amended to change “in” to something more specific like “inside” or “surrounded by”, the embodiment of Fig. 10c of Wei would still read on this portion of the claim, see Fig. 10C reproduced below:
In the last paragraph of page 20 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues that a person skilled in the art would have no motivation to introduce technical feature 1 to Kwon, as it would disrupt its precise structure. This argument is moot because no combination of references was needed to meet technical feature 1. However, it is worth noting that the combination of references introduced to meet the limitations of previous claim 2, also meets current technical feature 1 and would further meet more specific versions of technical feature 1 depending on how it is amended. This modification was duly motivated by the teachings of Wei in paragraph [0159] that explain in what way the embodiment of Fig. 10c is an improvement over having a single layer of balls like Kwon and other embodiments. Thus, applicant’s repeated argument that there would be no motivation to modify Kwon to have an outer ball holder that encompasses the inner ball holder is demonstrably false since such a motivation has already been provided.
In the first paragraph of page 21 of 22 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues that Wei fails to teach technical feature 2 because “the center of rotation disclosed in the present application should satisfy the following: at least four spherical segments in one-to-one correspondence with the balls 3 are arranged at a periphery of the inner ball holder 2. A center of each of the at least four spherical segments coincides with a center of rotation 27. The center of rotation 27 passes through or approximately passes through an optical axis Z of the lens ([0058]). Clearly, not every plane rotating around the z-axis can be defined as the first reference plane. Wei does not disclose technical feature 2.” In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the center of rotation disclosed in the present application should satisfy the following: at least four spherical segments in one-to-one correspondence with the balls 3 are arranged at a periphery of the inner ball holder 2. A center of each of the at least four spherical segments coincides with a center of rotation 27. The center of rotation 27 passes through or approximately passes through an optical axis Z of the lens”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the current instance, none of the features argued by applicant are present in any of the claims. The specification does state that “A horizontal plane of a center of rotation is defined as a first reference plane” however, that is the sum total of the “definition” and the reference plane of Wei indicated in the Office Action clearly meets it.
No further arguments are made after this paragraph.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mai et al. CN 114660871 A “An Anti-shake Camera Module” cited in the file wrapper of a family member of the instant application, pertinent to at least claims 1 and 3-4, could be overcome by perfection of foreign priority and evidence that the inventorship is the same. This appears to be the case as line 72 of CN 114660871 A is virtually identical to the last line on the front page of the foreign priority document of the instant application.
Mak et al. US 2023/0296913 A1 “Camera Stabilizer Module” possible U.S. family member of CN 114660871 A.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARA E RAKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872