DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 6/17/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim 1 has been amended; claim 20 has been cancelled; and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-2, 7-12, and 15 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 7-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 7 recites “the nozzle including a head that narrows to the opening”, however it is unclear how the nozzle can be formed by an opening in the chamber, as recited in lines 5-6, and have a head that narrows to that same opening. The specification discloses, in paragraph [0030], that the injector head 104 includes a chamber 106 and a nozzle at a distal end 110 of the chamber. It further discloses that the nozzle 108 includes a head 112 and an opening 114 and that the outer diameter of the head 112 of the nozzle 108 narrows to the opening 114. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim as being “the nozzle including a head that narrows to an opening of the nozzle”.
Dependent claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Antonio et al. (US 6056716 A1) in view of Hein, Jr. (US 2635602 A).
Regarding claim 1, D’Antonio discloses an apparatus (Fig. 2AA) comprising:
a needle free injector (Fig. 2AA) including:
a housing (220),
a chamber (122, Fig. 1A) in the housing (Fig. 2AA) for holding an injectate,
a nozzle (101) to discharge the injectate (Col 11, lines 37-39), the nozzle formed by an opening in the chamber (Fig. 1A), and the nozzle including a head (Image 1) that narrows to an opening of the nozzle (Image 1),
a plunger (124) slidably disposed within the chamber (Figs. 2AA-2BB),
a spring (227) coupled between the plunger and the housing (Fig. 2AA), the spring being configured to apply a spring force to the plunger to discharge the injectate from the chamber through the nozzle (Col 11, lines 35-39), and
a controller (Figs. 3-4) configured by computer executable code to execute a reset mode including applying a resetting force to compress the spring such that mechanical energy is stored in the spring for use in discharging the injectate (Col 11, lines 57-60, Cols 16-17, lines 65-45, Cols 18-19, lines 55-33); and
a motor (221) engaged with the spring to apply the resetting force to compress the spring after the spring has applied the spring force to the plunger (Col 11, lines 14-21).
Image 1:
[AltContent: textbox (Opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Head)]
D’Antonio is silent regarding the nozzle with an inner diameter of 50 micrometers to 300 micrometers.
In analogous art, Hein, Jr. teaches a nozzle (19) with an inner diameter of 50 micrometers to 300 micrometers (Col 2, lines 28-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nozzle of D’Antonio to incorporate the teachings of Hein, Jr. to incorporate having an inner diameter of 50 micrometers to 300 micrometers in order to allow for liquid streams, when projected with sufficient velocity, to penetrate the epidermis and lodge in tissues underlying the same (Col 2, lines 28-32).
Regarding claim 2, D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the motor is configured to generate a torque after having engaged the spring, the torque generating a corresponding force that resets the spring (Col 11, lines 14-21, Col 11, lines 35-39, Col 11, lines 57-60, Cols 16-17, lines 65-45, Cols 18-19, lines 55-33. Because the motor 221 causes rotation of shaft 222 in order to advance the ram 224, which would require generating a torque, which in turn would compress the spring, thus resetting the spring, D’Antonio).
Regarding claim 7, D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured by computer executable code to execute an injection mode wherein the spring applies a net force to drive the plunger at a target velocity (Col. 11, lines 14-43, D’Antonio).
Regarding claim 8, D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. disclose the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the controller is further configured to modulate the spring force with the motor to control the net force according to a target velocity profile (Col. 11, lines 14-43, Cols 16-17, lines 65-45, D’Antonio).
Regarding claim 10, D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the motor is an electric motor (221, Col 10, line 1, D’Antonio).
Regarding claim 11, D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the motor includes a rotary motor (Col 10, lines 1-17, D’Antonio).
Regarding claim 12, D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spring is a helical spring (227, Fig. 2AA, Col 11, lines 16-17, D’Antonio).
Regarding claim 15, D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is disposed in the housing (Cols. 9-10, lines 65-1, D’Antonio).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Antonio et al. (US 6056716 A1) in view of Hein, Jr. (US 2635602 A) further in view of Dixon (US 4722728 A).
Regarding claim 9, D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. disclose the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the spring is a helical spring (Col 11, lines 16-17, D’Antonio) that is configured to apply a linear force to the plunger (Col 11, lines 35-39, D’Antonio), wherein the linear force provides a high initial pressure (Col 11, lines 39-42, D’Antonio) for jet injection (Col 9, lines 63-65, D’Antonio).
D’Antonio in view of Hein, Jr. are silent regarding wherein the linear force is between two hundred newtons and three hundred newtons.
In analogous art, Dixon teaches a spring that generates an axial force of about 41kg-45kg (Col 2, lines 62-67, 41kg-45kg falls within the 200N-300N range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the linear force of D’Antonio to incorporate the teachings of Dixon to incorporate being between two hundred newtons and three hundred newtons in order to minimize bruising of the skin and minimize discomfort during the injection (Col 2, lines 62-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment to claim 1 has overcome the 102 rejection however, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hein, Jr. (US 2635602 A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG-VAN N TRINH/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783