This Final-Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 7/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11, 13-15, 17, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP 10188209 to Hoffmann et al (hereinafter Hoffmann) in view of USP 5478146 to Grabher and US 2012/0210558 to Logan et al (hereinafter Logan) and DE 102011109010 to Buhr.
Hoffmann discloses (Claim 1). A furniture fitting for movably supporting at least one furniture part on a furniture carcass 9, the method comprising (such as shown in Figs. 1a-1b and 3) comprising: at least one base body 4; at least one collar (see attached annotated Fig. 3), wherein the at least one collar protrudes from the at least one base body 4; at least one further component 20 of the furniture fitting mounted to the at least one base body 4 so as to be pivotally supported on the at least one collar having an axis of rotation A; (Claim 13). A furniture fitting for movably supporting at least one furniture part on a furniture carcass 9, the furniture fitting comprising (such as shown in Figs. 1a-1b and 3): at least one base body 4, wherein the at least one base body 4 includes at least one collar (see attached annotated Fig. 3), wherein the at least one collar protrudes from the at least one base body 4; and at least one further component 20 of the furniture fitting which is pivotally fixed to the at least one collar about an axis of rotation A, wherein the furniture fitting is a drawer pull-out guide, wherein the at least one collar has at least one front face; (Claim 20). The method according to claim 1, wherein: in the providing of the at least one base body 4, the at least one base body 4 is plate-shaped; (Claim 21). The method according to claim 2, wherein in the providing of the at least one base body 4, the at least one base body 4 is a flat sheet; (Claim 22). The furniture fitting according to claim 13, wherein: the at least one base body 2 is plate-shaped; or the opening 12 is cylindrical.
The differences being that Hoffmann fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 1 of an opening in the at least one base body 4, the at least one collar surrounding the opening, after the mounting of the at least one further component 20, at least partially heating the at least one collar; and while the at least one collar is in a heated condition, widening the at least one collar in at least one radial direction by mechanical forming to form a ring-shaped bulge at an end of the at least one collar spaced from the at least one base body so as to pivotally fix the at least one further component to the at least one collar, wherein the bulge and the at least one collar define a radially inner opening which is continuous with the opening in the at least one base body, wherein in the widening of the at least one collar, at least one hollow-cylindrical portion remains on the at least one collar between the bulge and the at least one base body, wherein the at least one further component remains pivotally movable about the at least one hollow-cylindrical portion after the mounting of the at least one further component, the at least partially heating of the at least one collar and the widening of the at least one collar, wherein the at least one collar has at least one front face, and wherein in the at least partially heating of the at least one collar, the at least one collar is heated by a rotating tool having a centering pin and a ring-shaped elevation which radially projects from the centering pin, and the ring-shaped elevation is brought into direct contact with the at least one front face of the at least one collar; (ii) claims 2 and 21 of the flat sheet is a sheet metal made of steel; (iii) claims 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 15, 17; (iv) claim 13 of the at least one base body 4 includes an opening, the at least one collar surrounding the opening, wherein the at least one collar includes a ring-shaped bulge extending in at least one radial direction, the bulge being arranged at an end of the at least one collar spaced from the at least one base body, wherein the at least one collar includes at least one hollow-cylindrical portion which extends between the bulge and the at least one base body; and the at least one further component of the furniture fitting which is pivotally fixed between the at least one base body and the bulge while being pivotally movable about the at least one hollow cylindrical portion to the at least one collar, and wherein the bulge is a portion of the at least one collar which is deformed by, using a rotating tool having a centering pin and a ring-shaped elevation which radially projects from the centering pin, bringing the ring-shaped elevation into direct contact with the at least one front face of the at least one collar so as to heat the portion of the at least one collar, and widening the portion of the at least one collar in the at least one radial direction while the portion of the at least one collar is in a heated condition; (v) claim 14; (vi) the method steps of claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11, and 20-21.
Grabher discloses a furniture fitting for movably supporting at least one furniture part on a furniture carcass, the furniture fitting comprising: at least one base body 5, wherein the at least one base body includes an opening having at least one collar 6 surrounding the opening, wherein the at least one collar 6 protrudes from the at least one base body, wherein the at least one collar includes at least one bulge (such as shown in Fig. 2) extending in at least one radial direction, wherein the bulge and the at least one collar 6 define a radially inner opening which is continuous with the opening in the at least one base body 5, and wherein the furniture fitting is a drawer pull-out guide; wherein the at least one bulge is formed on an end of the at least one collar 6, the end of the at least one collar 6 being spaced from the at least one base body 5; wherein at least one hollow cylindrical portion is arranged on the at least one collar 6 between the at least one bulge and the at least one base body 5, the at least one hollow cylindrical portion having a smaller diameter than the at least one bulge (Fig. 2); wherein at least one further component 4 is supported on the at least one collar 6; wherein: the at least one base body 5 is plate-shaped; or the opening is cylindrical; or the at least one bulge is ring-shaped.
Logan discloses a method for coupling a plurality of parts together comprising (such as shown in Figs. 1 & 4-7): a plate-shaped base body 10 having at least one collar 16 protruding from the base body 10, the collar 16 being at least partially heated (heating element 36) to be widened by mechanical forming in at least one radial direction to form a ring-shaped budge at an end of the at least one collar 16 spaced from the at least one base body, wherein in the widening of the at least one collar 16, at least one hollow-cylindrical portion remains on the at least one collar between the bulge and the at least one base body; wherein the at least one collar 16 is discolored in the heated region ([0032]: “a heating element 36 can be operably connected to the tool 30 to increase the temperature of the head 32”, which would discolored the heated region of the at least one collar); wherein the at least one collar 16 has at least one front face, and wherein in the at least partially heating of the at least one collar, the at least one collar 16 is heated by a rotating tool 30; wherein the tool 30 is at least partially introduced into the at least one collar; wherein the tool 30 includes at least one ring-shaped elevation which is brought into contact with the at least one collar 16 (such as shown in Figs. 5-6).
Meanwhile, Buhr discloses a method for coupling a plurality of parts together comprising (such as shown in Fig. 1): a plate-shaped base body 1 having at least one collar 3 protruding from the base body 1, the collar 3 being at least partially heated (Abstract: “heating a sheet metal part (1)”) to be widened by mechanical forming in at least one radial direction to form a ring-shaped budge at an end of the at least one collar spaced from the at least one base body, wherein in the widening of the at least one collar 3, at least one hollow-cylindrical portion remains on the at least one collar between the bulge and the at least one base body; wherein the at least one collar 3 is discolored in the heated region (Abstract: “heating a sheet metal part (1) of high-strength steel sheet to austenitizing temperature”, which inherently would discolored the heated region of the at least one collar); wherein the at least one collar 3 has at least one front face, and wherein in the at least partially heating of the at least one collar 3, the at least one collar 3 is heated by a rotating tool (Fig. 1, not numbered) having a centering pin and a ring-shaped elevation which radially projects from the centering pin, and the ring-shaped elevation is brought into direct contact with the at least one front face of the at least one collar 3 (such as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, regarding (i), (iii)-(iv), it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Grabher, Logan and Buhr, to modify Hoffmann to include the limitations in (i) claim 1 of an opening in the at least one base body 4, the at least one collar surrounding the opening, after the mounting of the at least one further component 20, at least partially heating the at least one collar; and while the at least one collar is in a heated condition, widening the at least one collar in at least one radial direction by mechanical forming to form a ring-shaped bulge at an end of the at least one collar spaced from the at least one base body so as to pivotally fix the at least one further component to the at least one collar, wherein the bulge and the at least one collar define a radially inner opening which is continuous with the opening in the at least one base body, wherein in the widening of the at least one collar, at least one hollow-cylindrical portion remains on the at least one collar between the bulge and the at least one base body, wherein the at least one further component remains pivotally movable about the at least one hollow-cylindrical portion after the mounting of the at least one further component, the at least partially heating of the at least one collar and the widening of the at least one collar, wherein the at least one collar has at least one front face, and wherein in the at least partially heating of the at least one collar, the at least one collar is heated by a rotating tool having a centering pin and a ring-shaped elevation which radially projects from the centering pin, and the ring-shaped elevation is brought into direct contact with the at least one front face of the at least one collar; (iii) claims 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 15, 17: claim 3 of wherein in the forming of the opening, the at least one collar is produced by collar forming, or the opening is formed in the base body by drilling; claim 4 of wherein in the at least partially heating of the at least one collar, the at least one collar is discolored in a heated region; claim 5 of wherein in the at least partially heating of the at least one collar, the at least one collar is heated at least on the at least one front face; claim 7 of wherein the rotating tool is at least partially introduced into the at least one collar or into the opening; claim 9 of wherein in the widening of the at least one collar, the bulge is formed by at least one tool, and wherein a pressure is applied in at least one axial direction of the at least one collar by the at least one tool; claim 11 of wherein the at least one hollow-cylindrical portion has a smaller diameter than the bulge; claim 15 of wherein the bulge has a discolored portion that is different from a color of the base body; claim 17 of wherein the at least one hollow cylindrical portion has a smaller diameter than the at least one bulge; (iv) claim 13 of the at least one base body 4 includes an opening, the at least one collar surrounding the opening, wherein the at least one collar includes a ring-shaped bulge extending in at least one radial direction, the bulge being arranged at an end of the at least one collar spaced from the at least one base body, wherein the at least one collar includes at least one hollow-cylindrical portion which extends between the bulge and the at least one base body; and the at least one further component of the furniture fitting which is pivotally fixed between the at least one base body and the bulge while being pivotally movable about the at least one hollow cylindrical portion to the at least one collar, and wherein the bulge is a portion of the at least one collar which is deformed by, using a rotating tool having a centering pin and a ring-shaped elevation which radially projects from the centering pin, bringing the ring-shaped elevation into direct contact with the at least one front face of the at least one collar so as to heat the portion of the at least one collar, and widening the portion of the at least one collar in the at least one radial direction while the portion of the at least one collar is in a heated condition with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the furniture fitting.
Regarding (ii) claims 2 and 21 of the sheet metal is made of steel, and (v) claim 14, since punching is a well-known method and steel is a well-known and commercially available product for a furniture fitting, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a base body by punching from a flat sheet metal; wherein in the providing of the at least one base body, the sheet metal is a flat sheet metal made of steel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the furniture fitting.
Regarding (vi) the method steps, since Hoffmann, as modified, discloses all the structural limitations recited therein, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method steps recited therein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument on page 8 that Grabher and Logan fails to disclose “the at least one further component remains pivotally movable about the at least one hollow-cylindrical portion after…the widening of the at least one collar”, the examiner respectfully take the position that Grabher and Logan are NOT required to teach or disclose the at least one further component remains pivotally movable about the at least one hollow-cylindrical portion after…the widening of the at least one collar. More specifically, Grabher and Logan are used for the teaching as stated in the above pages 6-7 of the Office action.
In response to applicant’s argument on pages 8-9 that the combination of Hoffmann, Grabher and Logan fails to disclose or suggest “a rotating tool having a centering pin and a ring-shaped elevation which….is brought into direct contact with the at least one front face of the at least one collar”, the examiner respectfully take the position that Buhr teaches a rotating tool having a centering pin and a ring-shaped elevation which radially projects from the centering pin, and the ring-shaped elevation is brought into direct contact with the at least one front face of the at least one collar.
In response to applicant’s argument on pages 9-10 regarding claim 13, the examiner respectfully take the position that, as stated in the above-noted rejection, the combination of Hoffmann, Grabher and Logan teaches the at least one further component of the furniture fitting which is fixed between the at least one base body and the bulge while being pivotally movable about the at least one hollow cylindrical portion of the at least one base body, (ii) both Logan and Buhr teach the bulge is a portion of the at least one collar which is deformed by, using a rotating tool, and (iii) Buhr teaches the rotating tool having a centering pin and a ring-shaped elevation which radially projects from the centering pin, bringing the ring-shaped elevation into direct contact with the at least one front face of the at least one collar so as to heat the portion of the at least one collar. Therefore, the combination of Hoffmann, Grabher, Logan and Buhr teaches all the limitations recited in claim 13.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HVT
August 6, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637