DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7, 9, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Relative to claim 3, in line 2, it appears “comprising” should be “comprises”. Similar changes should be made to claims 3, 7, and 11.
Relative to claim 9, it appears “reduces” should be “reduce”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Relative to claim 1, in lines 1-4, it is not clear as to whether the limitations, “capable of conveying an object to be conveyed supported by a support along a vertical direction in a non-restricted area and a restricted area narrower than the non-restricted area”, is included in the claim since these limitations are mentioned in the preamble. If Applicant intends to include these features, Applicant should clarify the language so that the limitations in the preamble are in the body if the claim. It appears that Applicant intends to include the limitations mentioned in the preamble.
Also, in lines 1-3, the language is unclear. For instance, it is not clear as to whether the object is to be conveyed along a vertical direction and in a non-restricted area, and that the object passes in a restricted area that is narrower than the non-restricted area. In lines 1-2, it is also not clear that the limitation object is support by a support. The phrase “supported by a support along a vertical direction” is unclear. As recited, it is not clear as to whether the support is along a vertical direction, or the object is supported by a support that is conveyed along a vertical direction.
The words “non-restricted area” and “restricted area” is unclear. In the specification, the “restricted” and “non-restricted” areas are described as areas inside a cover 22 through which the object 12 passes through. It appears that the “restricted area” inside the cover 22 that is narrower in width than the “non-restricted area”.
In lines 5-7, detecting ..“a runout of the object supported by the support” is unclear. It appears that the Applicant means that a first detection device detects whether the movement of the object runs, extends, or deviates outside or beyond the designated “non-restricted area”, or whether the object runs or passes inside or within the “non-restricted area”. In lines 6-10, it also appears that the detected area, such as the non-restricted and restricted areas through which the object is configured to run or pass through, are normal to the movement of the object in the vertical direction, the non-restricted area intersecting the vertical direction of the object.
Similarly, it appears that the Applicant means that the second detection device detects whether the movement of the object runs, extends, or deviates outside or beyond the “restricted area”, or whether the object runs inside or within the “restricted area”.
In lines 11-12, “object to be conveyed by the support” is unclear because it is not clear that the object is conveyed by the support. Lines 1-4 recite that the object is supported by the support. Does Applicant mean that the object is supported by the support as the object is being conveyed? Also, does the controller control a conveying operation of the object based on the detection results of the first and second detection device?
Regarding claim 13, similar clarification as mentioned in claim 1 above is required. Moreover, in lines 1-4, it is not clear as to whether the “method in conveying an object supported by a support horizontally at a position above a processing device by a carrier holding the support and raising and lowering the object between the carrier and the processing device by lowering the support from or raising the support toward the carrier” is included in the claim since these features are stated in the preamble.
Regarding claim 4, a first processing device with the restricted area and a second processing device without the restricted area is unclear. What does Applicant mean by with or without a restricted area?
Regarding claim 10, lines 2-7, the first and second detection devices detecting a first and second physical quantity that changes between when the runout of the object from the normal position is within the non-restricted or restricted areas is unclear and needs revision.
Claims not mentioned above are rejected because of their dependency from claim 1.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ota (US Patent No. 10,037,908). Relative to claims 1-10, Ota discloses:
claim 1) A conveying apparatus (see Ref. 6, 10, 4, 8, 12, 13, 30, 32)(Fig. 1) capable of conveying an object (14)(Fig. 1) to be conveyed supported by a support (24, 26)(Fig. 1) along a vertical direction in a non-restricted area and a restricted area narrower than the non-restricted area (non-restricted area may include area between right buffer edge 32 near Ref. 40 and left buffer edge 32 near Ref. 41, along length of monitoring line L1; the restricted area between inside of each buffer 12, between left edge 32 and right edge 32, between Ref. 40 and 41, along length of monitoring line L3 in each buffer 12; the non-restricted area may also be between the right and left vertical supports, along length of monitoring line L2)(Fig. 1) the conveying apparatus comprising;
a first detection device (40, 41) configured to detect whether a runout of the object supported by the support from a normal position thereof is within or outside the non- restricted area in a first direction intersecting the vertical direction (sensors 40 of the left buffer, on the buffer edge 32 on the right side near Ref. 40 to buffer edge 32 of right buffer 12 near Ref. 41, along monitoring line L1 detects a horizontal swinging of article 14 along L1; Col. 5, lines 55-67; sensors and mirrors 40, 41 from left support 30 to right support along L2, detects a horizontal swinging of article 14 between the sensor and mirror; Col. 6, lines 8-13; Col. 8, lines 15-28)(Fig. 1-2),
a second detection device (40, 41) configured to detect whether the runout of the object supported by the support from the normal position thereof is within or outside the restricted area in a second direction intersecting the vertical direction (sensors and mirror 40, 41 between the inside edges of 32 of buffer 12 along monitoring line L3 detect a horizontal swinging of article 14 along L3; Col. 6, lines 1-3; Col. 8, lines 15-28)(Fig. 1-2), and
a controller (34, 51, 53)(Fig. 5-6) configured to control a conveying operation of the object to be conveyed by the support (24, 26) based on the detection results of the first detection device and the second detection device (Col. 6, lines 38-42; Col. 7, lines 7-10; Col. 7, lines 22-25; control system controls the conveying of the article based on the sensed results);
claim 2) the controller (34, 51, 53) is configured to control the conveying operation of the object (14) by the support (24, 26) based on the detection result of the first detection device in the non-restricted region, and the controller (34, 51, 53) is configured to control the conveying operation of the object by the support (24, 26) based on the detection result of the second detection device in the restricted area (control system controls the movement of the vehicle 4 and carriage 8 based on whether the sensors detect a swingout or an obstacle within the detected areas, carriage is stopped if there is a swingout or obstacles within the detected area along the monitoring lines);
claim 3) the conveying apparatus (6, 10, 4, 8, 12, 13, 30, 32)(Fig. 1) further comprising:
a processing device (13, 12, 16, 17)(Fig. 1) for processing the object (14),
the processing device having the non-restricted area and the restricted area (Fig. 1), and a carrier (4)(Fig. 1) that travels horizontally at a position above the processing device while holding the support (24, 26)(Fig. 1)(Col. 4, lines 3-10), and
the support (24, 26) conveys the object between the position above the processing device and a position for placing the object in the processing device by raising and lowering operations thereof (the support moves articles along vertical direction to and from tracks and processing device 13, 16, 17 and to and from buffer 12);
claim 4) a plurality of processing devices (12, 16, 17) are provided, including a first processing device (12) with the restricted area and a second processing device (see processing area 13, which includes load ports 16, 17) without the restricted area (Fig. 1);
claim 5) at least one of the controller (34, 51, 53), the carrier (4) and the support (24, 26) has map information about at least one of the restricted area and the non-restricted area at each processing device (Col. 7, lines 10-18);
claim 6) the map information (see “map storage”) includes a location of at least one of the restricted area and the non-restricted area along a movement path of the support (Col. 7, lines 10-18);
claim 7) the conveying apparatus (6, 10, 4, 8, 12, 13, 30, 32)(Fig. 1) further comprising a position detection device to detect a position of the support (24, 26) along a movement path thereof (the position detecting device is included in Ref. 40, 41 detect a position of the platforms 24, 26; Col. 8, lines 13-25)(Fig. 1-2);
claim 8) the controller (34, 51, 53) is configured to control a speed of movement of the support along a movement path thereof (control system stops the movement of the platform 24, 26 based on whether a horizontal swinging or obstacle is detected; Col. 8, lines 114-27; Col. 6, lines 60-65);
claim 9) the controller (34, 51, 53) is configured to reduce the speed of movement of the support (24, 26), when the second detection device (40, 41) detects that the runout of the object (14) supported by the support from the normal position is outside the restricted area, more than when the runout of the object supported by the support from the normal position is within the restricted area (if there is horizontal swinging of the article that may extend outside of area along L3, the vertical traveling of the article is stopped; Col. 8, lines 15-27); and
claim 10) the first detection device (40, 41) is configured to detect a first physical quantity that changes between when the runout of the object (14) from the normal position is within the non-restricted area and when the runout of the object (14) from the normal position is outside the non-restricted area (if there is horizontal swinging of the article that may extend outside of areas along L2 or L1, the vertical traveling of the article is stopped; Col. 8, lines 15-27), and
the second detection device (40, 41) is configured to detect a second physical quantity that changes between when the runout of the object from the normal position is within the restricted area and when the runout of the object from the normal position is outside the restricted area (if there is horizontal swinging of the article that may extend outside of areas along L3, the vertical traveling of the article is stopped; Col. 8, lines 15-27).
Relative to claim 13, the disclosure of Ota includes:
A conveying method in conveying an object (14) supported by a support (24, 26) horizontally at a position above a processing device (13, including ref. 16, 17, and ref. 12) by a carrier (4) holding the support (24, 26) and raising and lowering the object (14) between the carrier (4) and the processing device (13, 12) by lowering the support (24, 26) from or raising the support (24, 26) toward the carrier (4)(Col. 4, lines 7-12; Col. 4, lines 45-67)(Fig. 1), the conveying method comprising;
determining, by means of a control operation using map information (included in map storage 52) in a controller (34, 51, 53), a presence or an absence of a restricted area narrower than a non-restricted area along a vertical direction and a location of the restricted area in the processing device (sensors 40 of the left buffer, on the buffer edge 32 on the right side near Ref. 40 to buffer edge 32 of right buffer 12 near Ref. 41, along monitoring line L1 detects a horizontal swinging of article 14 along L1; Col. 5, lines 55-67; sensors and mirrors 40, 41 from left support 30 to right support along L2, detects a horizontal swinging of article 14 between the sensor and mirror; Col. 6, lines 8-13; Col. 8, lines 15-28)(Fig. 1-2),
detecting, by a first detection device (see 40, 41, that detect between monitoring lines L1 and L2), whether a runout from a normal position
of the object (14), which is supported by the support (24, 26) and conveyed, is within or outside the non-restricted area in a first direction intersecting the vertical direction (Col. 5, lines 55-67; Col. 6, lines 8-13; Col. 8, lines 15-28)(Fig. 1-2),
detecting, by a second detection device (see 40, 41 that detects between monitoring line L3), whether a runout from the normal position of the object (14), which is supported by the support (24, 26) and conveyed, is within or outside the restricted area in a second direction intersecting the vertical direction (Col. 6, lines 1-3; Col. 8, lines 15-28)(Fig. 1-2),
controlling, by the controller (34, 51, 53)(Fig. 5-6), the raising and lowering operation of the support (24, 26) based on a first detection result of the first detection device (40, 41) in the non-restricted area, and controlling, by the controller (34, 51, 53), the raising and lowering operation of the support (24, 26) based on a second detection result of the second detection device (40, 41) in the restricted area (Col. 6, lines 38-42; Col. 7, lines 7-10; Col. 7, lines 22-25; control system controls the conveying of the article based on the sensed results).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of Wada (WO 2020/121765 A1). Relative to claims 11-12, Ota discloses all claim limitations above, but does not expressly disclose:
claim 11) the conveying apparatus further comprising;
a light emitting device provided on the carrier to emit light beam toward the support,
a reflective member provided on the support and/or the object to reflect the light beam from the light emitting device, and
a light intensity detecting device installed on the carrier to detect the intensity of light reflected from the reflective member,
the reflective member has a first reflector and a second reflector, the reflectance of which differs from each other,
the first reflector is formed in a first size corresponding to the non-restricted area,
the second reflector is formed in a second size corresponding to the restricted area,
the first detection device is configured to detect whether the runout of the object from the normal position is within or outside the non-restricted area by a first difference in the light intensity of the reflected light detected by the light intensity detection device, and
the second detection device is configured to detect whether the runout of the object from the normal position is within or outside the restricted area by a second
difference in the light intensity of the reflected light detected by the light intensity detection device;
claim 12) the reflector is larger in size than the second reflector, and the second reflector is installed inside an area where the first reflector is installed.
Wada teaches:
claim 11) the conveying apparatus further comprising;
a light emitting device (47)(Fig 1) provided on the carrier to emit light beam toward the support (Page 8, Para. 0025 of the English translation of the Specification),
a reflective member (49)(Fig. 1) provided on the support (42)(Fig. 1) and/or the object to reflect the light beam (L1) from the light emitting device (47)(Page 9, Para. 0026 of the English translation of the Specification), and
a light intensity detecting device (inherently included) installed on the carrier (100) to detect the intensity of light reflected from the reflective member (49)(the intensity of the light emitted by the sensor 47 is detected due to the presence of an object, it is known that light sensors and reflectors work together to detect the intensity of light by measuring the light energy and converting it into an electrical signal, since the light emitter 47 and reflection plate 49 is included with the vehicle and support 42, the light intensity device is included with the vehicle 100)(Fig. 1),
the first detection device (47) is configured to detect whether the runout of the object (FP) from the normal position is within or outside the non-restricted area by a first difference in the light intensity of the reflected light detected by the light intensity detection device (Page 8-9, Para. 0025-0026 of the English translation of the specification, sensor 47 detects when there is movement if the lifting table or FP outside the normal range).
Wada teaches: the light emitting device, reflective member, and light intensity device as described above for the purpose of providing a transport vehicle having a sensor for detecting a lateral alignment of an article in advance of placing the article, so that the magnitude of a deflection can be adjusted based on the obtained data (Page 1, Para. 0002 of the English translation of the Specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ota with the light emitting device, reflective member, and light intensity device, as taught in Wada for the purpose of providing a transport vehicle having a sensor for detecting a lateral alignment of an article in advance of placing the article, so that the magnitude of a deflection can be adjusted based on the obtained data.
Relative to claims 11-12, Ota in view of Wada discloses all claim limitations above, but does not expressly disclose:
the reflective member has a first reflector and a second reflector, the reflectance of which differs from each other,
the first reflector is formed in a first size corresponding to the non-restricted area,
the second reflector is formed in a second size corresponding to the restricted area,
the first detection device is configured to detect whether the runout of the object from the normal position is within or outside the non-restricted area by a first difference in the light intensity of the reflected light detected by the light intensity detection device, and
the second detection device is configured to detect whether the runout of the object from the normal position is within or outside the restricted area by a second
difference in the light intensity of the reflected light detected by the light intensity detection device; or
the reflector is larger in size than the second reflector, and the second reflector is installed inside an area where the first reflector is installed.
Ota in view of Wada teaches:
the reflective member has a first reflector and a second reflector, the reflectance of which differs from each other as a matter of design choice since providing multiple reflectors, such as the reflector in the reflection plate 49 is a mere duplication of parts. Providing multiple reflectors would not provide an unexpected result. It is also obvious that the first and second reflectors have a different reflectance based on the specific application of the sensor.
For instance, if a light source is intended to emit light in a concentrated area for sensing, the reflector, such as a second reflector can focus the light in that area or in that direction with a higher reflectance level. If the light source is designed to emit light over a broader area, the reflector, such as a first reflector can scatter light in multiple directions, thereby providing a different level of reflectance than when light is emitted over a more focused area.
Providing the first and second reflectors of first and second sizes is also a matter of design choice based on the desired level of intensity of the spread of the emitted light. For a light reflector intended to reflect light over a broader, more general area, the reflector may be larger to maximize light output. When a light reflector is designated to reflect light in a narrow or more focused area, the size of the reflector may be smaller to ensure the light is concentrated towards the area, thereby enhancing the performance of the light reflector. Therefore, it is obvious to provide first and second light reflectors having different levels of reflectance and of larger and smaller sizes.
Accordingly, based on the application, it is obvious to provide a first reflector formed in a first size for reflecting light in a broader area where light can be more scattered to correspond to a broader or “non-restricted” area. It is also obvious, based on the application, to provide a second reflector that is a smaller size that the first reflector for reflecting light in a more concentrated and focused area to correspond to a narrow or “restricted area”. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV, VI); §2144.03
Accordingly, since providing multiple reflectors of different sizes for reflecting light in concentrated or broader areas in order to provide reliable reflection output is obvious, it is also obvious that the first and second detection devices can be configured to detect whether the runout of an object from a normal position is within or outside the restricted or non-restricted areas by a first and second difference in the light intensity, is a matter of design choice based on the particular sensing application, the size of the area being detected, and other factors.
For the reasons above, it is obvious to provide the first reflector that reflects light over a broader area to be larger in size than the second reflect that is smaller in size intended to reflect light over a more focused area. It is also obvious that the second reflector is installed inside an area where the first reflector is installed based on the user’s preference. For instance, if there is a focused area to be sensed where light is to be reflected in a concentrated manner is located inside of a broader area where light is to be reflected in a broader manner, then the second reflector can be inside of the first reflector. Moreover, providing the second smaller reflector inside of the first larger reflector is obvious since providing a reflector inside a larger reflector is a mere rearrangement of parts. See MPEP §2144.04 (C)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ota in view of Wada with the first and second reflectors of different sizes corresponding to a restricted or non-restricted areas for detecting a runout of the object described above as an obvious matter of design choice based on the particular sensing application and the sizes of the areas to be sensed, to provide optimum reflection output for the application. Moreover, providing multiple reflectors, with one small reflector inside the other larger reflector, is a mere duplication and arrangement of parts and would not produce an unexpected result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shimizu et al (US PG. Pub. 2024/0128113).
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651