DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hiramatsu (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286030).
Regarding claim 1.
A fixture for forming components of a rotating electrical machine, comprising:
Hiramatsu discloses Figs. 2-7:
a main body(24) defining a cavity(middle area), having a closed end(upper plate 21), configured to receive a stack-up of metal plates(4) forming a rotor or a stator(1 2);
an end cap assembly(21 23), removably coupled to an open end of the cavity, having at least one spring that applies force in an axial direction toward the closed end of the main body(21 23 removeable); and
an inductive heating system(102) having an inductive loop that receives electrical current from a source and heats the metal plates(see 4d, and [0032]-[0035], Figs. 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 4.
Hiramatsu discloses Figs. 2-7:
The fixture recited in claim 1, wherein the stack-up of metal plates include apertures between an inner diameter of the plates and an outer diameter of the plates.([0026], 5 in holes)
Regarding claim 6.
Hiramatsu discloses The fixture recited in claim 1, further comprising one or more adjustable stud(s) (21 and 4b)that control an amount of force exerted by the spring(s).(Fig. 7, 22)
Regarding claim 9.
Hiramatsu discloses
A fixture for forming components of a rotating electrical machine, comprising:
a main body(20 24 )defining a cavity configured to receive a stack-up of metal plates forming a rotor or a stator(4d );
a closed end(21 23) coupled to an end of the cavity;
an end cap assembly(21 23), removably coupled to an opposite end of the cavity(21 removeable), having a plurality of springs(22 plurality see fig. 2) carried by adjustable studs that apply force in an axial direction toward the closed end of the main body(22 carried by 23); and
an inductive heating system(102a) having an inductive loop that receives electrical current from a source and heats the metal plates(4d, [0032]-[0035] Figs. 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 12.
Hiramatsu discloses:
The fixture recited in claim 9, wherein the stack-up of metal plates include apertures between an inner diameter of the plates and an outer diameter of the plates. .([0026], 5 in holes)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286030) in view of Takahashi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0066987)
Regarding claims 3, 5, 11 and 13.
Hiramatsu disclose all of the features of claim 1.
Hiramatsu does not discloses;
The fixture recited in claim 1, wherein the stack-up of metal plates includes metal plates having an adhesive coating on each side of the plates.
Regarding claim 5. The fixture recited in claim 1, wherein the stack-up of metal plates includes an adhesive coating comprising epoxy.
Regarding claim 11. The fixture recited in claim 9, wherein the stack-up of metal plates includes metal plates having an adhesive coating on each side of the plates.
Regarding claim 13. The fixture recited in claim 9, wherein the stack-up of metal plates includes an adhesive coating comprising epoxy.
In related art Takahashi discloses:
The fixture recited in claim 1, wherein the stack-up of metal plates includes metal plates having an adhesive coating on each side of the plates.
Regarding claim 5. The fixture recited in claim 1, wherein the stack-up of metal plates includes an adhesive coating comprising epoxy.
Regarding claim 11. The fixture recited in claim 9, wherein the stack-up of metal plates includes metal plates having an adhesive coating on each side of the plates.
Regarding claim 13. The fixture recited in claim 9, wherein the stack-up of metal plates includes an adhesive coating comprising epoxy.
In related art, Takahashi discloses:
Using an adhesive epoxy in the manufacturing to hold lose items together. See [0028]. As such, it would have been obvious to use the adhesive epoxy in on the metal plates of Hiramatsu to include adhesive epoxy for the benfit of securing the lose plates. Thus, the recited features of claims 3, 5, 11 and 13 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286030) in view of Iwasaki (JPH07298567).
Regarding claim 2.
Hiramatsu disclose all of the features of claim 1.
Hiramatsu does not disclose:
The fixture recited in claim 1, wherein the stack-up of metal plates are carried by a mandrel that engages with the closed end.
In related art, Iwasaki discloses:
the stack-up of metal plates are carried by a mandrel(68) that engages with the closed end. (engages with ends with ends shown in fig. 3.).
The device of Iwasaki discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing the device to be manufactured with high accuracy. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Hiramatsu to include the recited features for the benefit of improving the accuracy of the device manufactured by the device of Hiramatsu. Thus, the features of claim 2 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10.
Hiramatsu disclose all of the features of claim 1.
Hiramatsu does not disclose:
The fixture recited in claim 9, wherein the stack-up of metal plates are carried by a mandrel that engages with the closed end.
In related art, Iwasaki discloses:
The fixture recited in claim 9, wherein the stack-up of metal plates are carried by a mandrel that engages with the closed end. (engages with ends with ends shown in fig. 3.).
The device of Iwasaki discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing the device to be manufactured with high accuracy. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Hiramatsu to include the recited features for the benefit of improving the accuracy of the device manufactured by the device of Hiramatsu. Thus, the features of claim 10 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 7, 8, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286030) in view of Bereznicki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0065999)
Regarding claim 7, 8, 14 and 15.
Hiramatsu discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Hiramatsu does not disclose:
The fixture recited in claim 1, further comprising grooves formed in an outer surface of the fixture that are configured to engage a base that holds the fixture vertically.
Regarding claim 8. The fixture recited in claim 1, further comprising a pivot linking the end cap assembly with the main body.
Regarding claim 14. The fixture recited in claim 9, further comprising grooves formed in an outer surface of the fixture that are configured to engage a base that holds the fixture vertically.
Regarding claim 15. The fixture recited in claim 9, further comprising a pivot linking the end cap assembly with the main body.
In related art, Bereznicki discloses:
The fixture recited in claim 1, further comprising grooves formed in an outer surface of the fixture that are configured to engage a base that holds the fixture vertically. (base 30 including screws into base holding device vertical, see fig. 2)
Regarding claim 8. The fixture recited in claim 1, further comprising a pivot linking the end cap assembly with the main body.(Pivot at 52 allows device to pivot)
Regarding claim 14. The fixture recited in claim 9, further comprising grooves formed in an outer surface of the fixture that are configured to engage a base that holds the fixture vertically. (base 30 including screws into base holding device vertical, see fig. 2)
Regarding claim 15. The fixture recited in claim 9, further comprising a pivot linking the end cap assembly with the main body. .(Pivot at 52 allows device to pivot)
Bereznicki discloses that he recited features provide the benefit of holding the device vertical and allow the parts to move relative to each other as desired. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for allowing the device to be held vertical and the parts to move relative to each other. IT would have been obvious to include protrusions or rotation joints for the obvious benefit of holding the device vertical or to allow the parts to move relative to each other. Thus, the features of claims 7, 8, 14 and 15 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898