DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/2/23 was. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is been considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings were received on 8/2/23. These drawings are acceptable. Specification The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 1-7 and 9-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0351212 A1 (US’212) in view of JP 2015-138729 A (JP’729). As to Claim 1: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body 100 including a stack wound around a central axis J extending in a first direction ([0058] –[ 0060]), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator 30, the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); an electrolytic solution ([0058]); the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector 11 ([0018]) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface formed in the wound structure ([0149] –[ 0153]); an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer 12A covering at least a portion of the inner peripheral surface ([0150]–[0153]); and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer 12B covering at least a portion of the outer peripheral surface ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector 21 ([0019]; [0064]) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface ([0154] –[ 0158]); an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer 22A covering at least a portion of the inner peripheral surface ([0154] –[ 0158]); and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer 22B covering at least a portion of the outer peripheral surface ([0154]–[0158]); wound inner and wound outer sides in the winding direction ([0149] –[ 0153]; [0158]–[0161]), thereby teaching positional relationships between inner and outer wound portions of the electrodes. In particular, US’212 teaches relative positioning of the inner-peripheral-side and outer-peripheral-side active material layers at wound inner and wound outer portions ([0153]; [0158]). However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose: (1) a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face of the wound electrode body and a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face opposite the first end face; and (2) a battery can containing the wound electrode body together with such current collector plates and the electrolytic solution. US’212 instead discloses an exterior member 1 and lead structures ([0062] –[ 0065]) rather than end-face current collector plates and a battery can structure. JP’729 teaches these missing limitations. JP’729 discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery including a wound electrode body 200 housed in a battery case 300 (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 3, lines 1–8). JP’729 further discloses that the wound electrode body 200 is accommodated in the battery case 300 together with an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 8–12; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 additionally discloses electrode terminals 420 (positive) and 440 (negative) that are fixed to uncoated portions 222 and 242 of the respective current collectors, which protrude on opposite sides of the wound electrode body (p. 2, lines 3–7). These uncoated portions of the current collectors function as current collection regions disposed at end portions of the wound electrode body to enable electrical connection to the terminals (p. 2, lines 3–7). JP’729 therefore teaches a battery can configuration containing the wound electrode body and electrolyte and providing structural accommodation of the current collection structure. US’212 and JP’729 are analogous arts because both are directed to lithium-ion secondary batteries having wound electrode bodies and both address structural configuration of electrodes and current collection structures to improve battery performance and reliability (US’212 [0008] –[ 0009]; JP’729 p. 1, lines 1–10). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wound electrode body structure of US’212 to employ the battery case housing and end-portion current collection structure taught by JP’729 in order to provide a robust battery enclosure and practical terminal connection arrangement, thereby improving mechanical stability and manufacturability of the battery assembly while maintaining the wound electrode configuration disclosed by US’212. As to Claim 2: US’212 discloses a secondary battery according to claim 1 ([0008] –[ 0010]; [0058]–[0060]); and wherein the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) is provided in a winding portion of the wound electrode body (100) ([0154]–[0158]). US’212 further discloses that the anode (negative electrode 20) includes regions along the winding direction where active material layers are selectively provided or not provided, such that inner-peripheral-side anode active material layers are absent in certain wound-inner end portions while being present in other wound portions ([0155] –[ 0161]). These disclosures teach that the inner-peripheral-side negative electrode active material layer is not formed at the innermost winding portions but is provided in subsequent winding portions of the wound electrode body. However, US’212 does not explicitly state that the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer is provided in “second and subsequent winds” using that specific terminology, nor does it explicitly disclose the collector plates and battery can as configured in the parent claim. JP’729 teaches a battery can (battery case 300) housing a wound electrode body (200) together with an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further teaches electrode current collecting structures provided at end portions of the wound electrode body, including positive and negative terminals 420 and 440 fixed to uncoated portions of the respective current collectors that protrude at opposite ends of the wound electrode body (p. 2, lines 3–7). JP’729 additionally teaches configurations in which active material layers are defined and controlled in specific regions along the winding circumferential direction from winding start portions, thereby providing positional control of active material layers within wound portions to improve reliability (p. 9, lines 25–33; p. 10, lines 21–33). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer in second and subsequent winds as suggested by the segment-based omission and provision of active material layers along the winding direction taught by US’212, while incorporating the battery can and end-portion current collecting structures of JP’729 in order to provide a mechanically robust battery housing and practical terminal configuration while maintaining optimized electrode layer arrangement within the wound electrode body. As to Claim 3: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J) ([0058]–[0060]), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) ([0018]), an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21) ([0019]; [0064]), an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode ([0149]–[0153]); and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) due to the absence of the inner layer at the wound-inner end portion and presence of the outer layer ([0153]; [0158]). Further, US’212 discloses that the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) is provided on the inner peripheral surface of the negative electrode current collector (21) ([0154] –[ 0158]). US’212 also teaches that, within the spiral-wound structure, electrode layers arranged on opposite sides of current collectors are positioned adjacent to and face corresponding layers of the opposing electrode across the separator ([0058]; [0149] –[ 0153]), thereby disclosing that the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer is located opposed to the outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer within the wound stack configuration. However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can as configured in the parent claim. US’212 instead utilizes a film-like exterior member and terminal leads ([0062] –[ 0065]). JP’729 teaches the missing limitations by disclosing a battery can (battery case 300) containing a wound electrode body (200) and an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further discloses positive and negative electrode terminals (collector plates 420 and 440) disposed at opposite end portions of the wound electrode body and fixed to protruding uncoated portions of the respective current collectors (p. 2, lines 3–7), thereby teaching current collection structures located at end faces of the wound electrode body within a battery can configuration. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plate structures of JP’729 into the electrode winding configuration of US’212 in order to provide a mechanically robust battery housing and practical terminal arrangement, while maintaining the opposed positioning of inner negative active material layers and outer positive active material layers inherently produced by the spiral winding structure taught by US’212. As to Claim 4: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J) ([0058]–[0060]), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) ([0018]), an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21) ([0019]; [0064]), an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode ([0149]–[0153]); and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) ([0153]; [0158]). Further, US’212 discloses that the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) is provided on the outer peripheral surface of the negative electrode current collector (21) ([0154] –[ 0158]). US’212 also teaches that, in the spiral-wound stack, electrode layers provided on opposite sides of current collectors are positioned adjacent to and face corresponding layers of the opposing electrode across the separator ([0058]; [0149] –[ 0153]), thereby disclosing that the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer is located opposed to the inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer within the wound configuration. However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can as configured in the parent claim. US’212 instead utilizes a film-like exterior member and terminal leads ([0062] –[ 0065]). JP’729 teaches the missing limitations by disclosing a battery can (battery case 300) containing a wound electrode body (200) and an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further discloses positive and negative electrode terminals (collector plates 420 and 440) disposed at opposite end portions of the wound electrode body and fixed to protruding uncoated portions of the respective current collectors (p. 2, lines 3–7), thereby teaching current collection structures located to face opposite end faces of the wound electrode body. JP’729 additionally teaches the opposed positional relationship of active material layers within the wound structure, including configurations where outer peripheral negative electrode active material layers are arranged to face inner peripheral positive electrode active material layers across the separator in the winding direction (p. 5, lines 1–8; p. 6, lines 1–8). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plate structures of JP’729 into the electrode winding configuration of US’212 in order to provide a mechanically robust battery housing and practical terminal arrangement, while maintaining the opposed positioning of outer negative active material layers and inner positive active material layers inherently produced by the spiral winding structure taught by US’212 and expressly recognized by JP’729. As to Claim 5: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J) ([0058]–[0060]), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); an electrolytic solution ([0058]); wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) ([0018]), an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21) ([0019]; [0064]), an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode ([0149]–[0153]); and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) ([0153]; [0158]). US’212 further discloses that the electrolytic solution includes fluorine-containing compounds such as fluorinated carbonate esters and fluorine-containing electrolyte salts ([0140] –[ 0144]). However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose inclusion of a nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution, nor does it explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can as configured in the parent claim. US’212 instead utilizes a film-like exterior member and terminal leads ([0062] –[ 0065]). JP’729 teaches the missing limitations by disclosing a battery can (battery case 300) containing a wound electrode body (200) and an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further discloses positive and negative electrode terminals (collector plates 420 and 440) disposed to face opposite end faces of the wound electrode body and fixed to protruding uncoated portions of the current collectors (p. 2, lines 3–7). JP’729 additionally teaches that the electrolytic solution may include nitrile-based compounds used as electrolyte additives to improve battery characteristics (p. 7, lines 11–20). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plate structures of JP’729 into the secondary battery configuration of US’212 in order to provide a mechanically robust battery housing and practical terminal arrangement, while including nitrile electrolyte additives as taught by JP’729 together with the fluorine-containing electrolyte components of US’212 to predictably improve electrochemical stability and performance of the battery as recited in the claim. As to Claim 6: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J) ([0058]–[0060]), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); an electrolytic solution ([0058]); wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) ([0018]), an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21) ([0019]; [0064]), an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode ([0149]–[0153]); the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) ([0153]; [0158]); the electrolytic solution includes a fluorine compound ([0140]–[0144]); and the fluorine compound includes fluorinated ethylene carbonate, specifically disclosed as the cyclic halogenated carbonate ester 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one ([0141]–[0143]). However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can as configured in the parent claim. US’212 instead utilizes a film-like exterior member and terminal leads ([0062] –[ 0065]). JP’729 teaches these missing limitations by disclosing a lithium ion secondary battery including a battery case (300) that contains a wound electrode body (200) and an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further teaches current collector plates in the form of a positive electrode terminal (420) and a negative electrode terminal (440) fixed to respective uncoated portions (222, 242) of the current collectors that protrude at opposite end faces of the wound electrode body (p. 2, lines 3–7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plate structures of JP’729 into the secondary battery of US’212 in order to provide a mechanically durable and low-resistance battery structure, while utilizing the specific fluorinated solvent additive (4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one / fluorinated ethylene carbonate) taught by US’212 to predictably enhance the chemical stability and cycle characteristics of the electrolytic solution as recited in the claim. As to Claim 7: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J) ([0058]–[0060]), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); an electrolytic solution ([0058]); wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface ([0149]–[0153]), an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface ([0154]–[0158]), an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode (anode 20) is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode (cathode 10) ([0149]–[0153]); and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) ([0153]; [0158]). However, US’212 does not disclose inclusion of a nitrile compound in the electrolytic solution, nor does it disclose that the nitrile compound comprises succinonitrile . US’212 further does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can containing the components as configured in the parent claim. US’212 instead utilizes a film-like exterior member and terminal leads ([0062] –[ 0065]). JP’729 teaches these missing limitations by disclosing a lithium-ion secondary battery including a battery case (300) that contains a wound electrode body (200) and an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further teaches current collector plates in the form of a positive electrode terminal (420) and a negative electrode terminal (440) that are fixed to respective uncoated portions (222, 242) of the current collectors protruding at opposite end faces of the wound electrode body (p. 2, lines 3–7). JP’729 additionally teaches that the electrolytic solution includes nitrile compounds and specifically discloses succinonitrile as a suitable nitrile-based electrolyte additive (p. 7, lines 14–20). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plate structures of JP’729 into the secondary battery of US’212 in order to provide a mechanically robust and low-resistance battery structure, while including the specific dinitrile compound ( succinonitrile ) taught by JP’729 to predictably improve the chemical stability and electrochemical performance of the electrolytic solution as recited in the claim. As to Claim 9: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J) ([0058]–[0060]), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); an electrolytic solution ([0058]); wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface ([0149]–[0153]), an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface ([0154]–[0158]), an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode ([0149]–[0153]); and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) ([0153]; [0158]). US’212 further discloses that the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer each include a negative electrode active material including at least one of silicon (Si), silicon oxide ( SiO_v ), a carbon–silicon compound ( SiC ), or a silicon alloy ([0067] –[ 0069]). However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can containing the components as configured in the parent claim. US’212 generally utilizes a film-like exterior member (1) and terminal leads (2, 3) ([0062] –[ 0065]). JP’729 teaches these missing limitations by disclosing a lithium-ion secondary battery including a battery case (300) that contains a wound electrode body (200) and an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further teaches current collector plates in the form of a positive electrode terminal (420) and a negative electrode terminal (440) that are fixed to the respective uncoated parts (222, 242) of the current collectors protruding at opposite end faces of the wound electrode body (p. 2, lines 3–7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plates of JP’729 into the secondary battery of US’212 in order to provide a mechanically robust and low-resistance battery structure, while utilizing the silicon-based negative electrode active materials taught by US’212 to predictably increase the energy density and capacity of the battery as recited in the claim. As to Claim 10: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J) ([0058]–[0060]), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface ([0149]–[0153]), an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21), an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode (anode 20) is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode (cathode 10) ([0149]–[0153]); and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) ([0153]; [0158]). US’212 further discloses that the inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer and the outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer each include a positive electrode active material including at least one of lithium cobalt oxide ( LiCoO ₂), lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide ( LiNiCoMnO ₂), or lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide ( LiNiCoAlO ₂) ([0072] –[ 0074]). However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can as configured in the parent claim. US’212 generally utilizes a film-like exterior member (1) and terminal leads (2, 3) ([0062] –[ 0065]). JP’729 teaches these missing limitations by disclosing a lithium-ion secondary battery including a battery case (300) that contains a wound electrode body (200) and an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further teaches current collector plates in the form of a positive electrode terminal (420) and a negative electrode terminal (440) that are fixed to the respective uncoated parts (222, 242) of the current collectors protruding at opposite end faces of the wound electrode body (p. 2, lines 3–7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plates of JP’729 into the secondary battery of US’212 in order to provide a mechanically robust and low-resistance battery structure, while utilizing the specific lithium-containing composite oxides taught by US’212 to predictably achieve high energy density and stable cycle characteristics as recited in the claim. As to Claim 11: US’212 discloses a battery pack comprising: a secondary battery ([0008] –[ 0010]; [0058]–[0060]); a processor configured to control the secondary battery, in the form of battery control circuitry and management electronics ([0009]; [0010]); and an outer package body containing the secondary battery, in the form of an exterior member and housing structure accommodating the battery components ([0062]–[0065]). US’212 further discloses that the secondary battery includes a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]; [0015]–[0016]); an electrolytic solution ([0058]); wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface, an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface, an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode (anode 20) is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode (cathode 10) ([0149]–[0153]); and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) ([0153]; [0158]). However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can as configured in the parent claim. US’212 generally utilizes a film-like exterior member (1) and terminal leads (2, 3) ([0062] –[ 0065]). JP’729 teaches these missing limitations by disclosing a lithium-ion secondary battery including a battery case (300) that contains a wound electrode body (200) and an electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further teaches current collector plates in the form of a positive electrode terminal (420) and a negative electrode terminal (440) that are fixed to the respective uncoated parts of the current collectors protruding at opposite end faces of the wound electrode body (p. 2, lines 3–7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plates of JP’729 into the battery pack and secondary battery configuration of US’212 in order to achieve a mechanically robust and low-resistance battery assembly within a processor-controlled housing as recited in the claim. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0351212 A1 (US'212) in view of JP 2015-138729 A (JP'729), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0263376 A1 (US'376). As to Claim 8: US’212 discloses a secondary battery comprising: a wound electrode body (100) including a stack wound around a central axis (winding axis J), the stack including a positive electrode (cathode 10), a negative electrode (anode 20), and a separator (30), the positive electrode and the negative electrode being stacked with the separator interposed therebetween ([0058]–[0060]; [0015]–[0016]); an electrolytic solution ([0058]); wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector (11) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface, an inner periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12A), and an outer periphery side positive electrode active material layer (12B) ([0148]–[0153]); the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (21) including an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface, an inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A), and an outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) ([0154]–[0158]); in the wound electrode body, an innermost wind portion of the negative electrode (anode 20) is located on an inner side relative to an innermost wind portion of the positive electrode (cathode 10) ([0149]–[0153]); and the outer periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22B) has an inner periphery side edge located closer to the central axis (J) than an inner periphery side edge of the inner periphery side negative electrode active material layer (22A) ([0153]; [0158]). US’212 further discloses that the electrolytic solution includes lithium hexafluorophosphate ( LiPF ₆) as an electrolyte salt ([0141], [0142]) and teaches that the concentration of the electrolyte salt in the electrolytic solution is within a range of 0.3 mol/kg to 3.0 mol/kg ([0142]). However, US’212 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode current collector plate disposed to face a first end face, a negative electrode current collector plate disposed to face a second end face, and a battery can as configured in the parent claim. Furthermore, while US’212 discloses a broad concentration range (0.3 to 3.0 mol/kg), it does not explicitly recite the specific narrow range of 1.25 to 1.45 moles per kilogram. JP’729 teaches the missing structural limitations by disclosing a lithium-ion secondary battery including a battery case (300) that contains a wound electrode body (200) and the electrolytic solution (p. 2, lines 1–9; p. 2, lines 10–22). JP’729 further teaches current collector plates in the form of a positive electrode terminal (420) and a negative electrode terminal (440) that are fixed to respective uncoated parts (222, 242) of the current collectors protruding at opposite end faces of the wound electrode body (p. 2, lines 3–7). US’376 reinforces the electrolyte chemistry of the secondary battery by disclosing the use of lithium hexafluorophosphate ( LiPF ₆) as a primary supporting salt in a nonaqueous electrolyte solution and teaches that electrolyte salt concentrations within conventional operating ranges, including approximately 0.8 to 1.5 mol/L, are employed to provide appropriate ionic conductivity and battery reliability ([0068] –[ 0072]). US’212, JP’729, and US’376 are analogous arts because all are directed toward lithium-ion secondary batteries and address structural configuration, electrolyte composition, and manufacturing optimization of battery systems, including arrangements of active material layers, terminal structures, and electrolyte concentrations to enhance battery performance and stability (US’212 [0008] –[ 0009]; JP’729 p. 1, lines 1–10; US’376 [0002]–[0006]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery can and end-face collector plates of JP’729 into the secondary battery of US’212 in order to achieve a mechanically robust and low-resistance battery structure. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the concentration of the LiPF ₆ salt to a specific range, such as 1.25 to 1.45 moles per kilogram, because this range is entirely encompassed by the broad teaching of US’212 (0.3 to 3.0 mol/kg) and is consistent with the concentration levels typically employed in the art as taught by US’376; selecting a narrower range within a known broader range represents routine optimization of a result-effective variable to obtain a desired balance of ionic conductivity and electrochemical stability as recited in the claim. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 3538648 B2 discloses providing a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery in which life elongation by suppressing precipitation of dendrite can be aimed at. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JIMMY K VO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3242 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday, 8 am to 6 pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Tong Guo can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-3066 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT /JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 1723 /JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723