DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/229,358 filed on 2 August 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I invention in the reply filed on 9 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 4-9 and 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“The essential inquiry pertaining to this requirement is whether the claims set out and circumscribe a particular subject matter with a reasonable degree of clarity and particularity. ‘As the statutory language of “particular[ity]” and “distinct[ness]” indicates, claims are required to be cast in clear—as opposed to ambiguous, vague, indefinite—terms. It is the claims that notify the public of what is within the protections of the patent, and what is not.’” MPEP 2173.02(II) (quoting In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1313, 110 USPQ2d 1785, 1788 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Regarding claim 12: Claim 12 states, in relevant part, “the second blue host.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13, 20, and 22, which depend from claim 12, are rejected under § 112(b) for at least the same reasons as claim 12.
Regarding claim 13: Claim 13 states, in relevant part, “the second blue host.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 20: Claim 20 states, in relevant part, “the second blue host . . . .” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims, or present a sufficient showing that the claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0059767 (filed Aug. 2, 2021) (hereinafter “Kang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0199929 (published June 23, 2022) (hereinafter “Park 1”), and further in view of Japanese Patent Publication No. JP2009093982A (published Apr. 30, 2009) (hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kang discloses: An organic light emitting diode comprising:
a first electrode (FIG. 3, first electrode 110, [0116]);
a second electrode facing the first electrode (FIG. 3, second electrode 150 facing the first electrode 110, [0116]); and
an emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and second electrode (FIG. 3, interlayer 130, [0061]), and
including at least one emitting material layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the emission layer 132-1 includes first and second emission layers 132a-1/132b-1, [0126]).
Kang does not specifically disclose wherein the emissive layer includes a red emitting material layer and a blue emitting material layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Park 1 discloses a light emitting diode (FIG. 7, light emitting diode display device 500, [0148]) including a first electrode (FIG. 7, first electrode 510, [0150]);
a second electrode facing the first electrode (FIG. 7, second electrode 570 facing the first electrode 510, [0150]); and an emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and second electrode (FIG. 7, depicting an “emissive layer” comprising a plurality of light emitting material layers, e.g., R-EML1 528 and B-EML1 524, [0151]), and including at least one emitting material layer, wherein the at least one emitting material layer includes: a red emitting material layer (FIG. 7, e.g., R-EML1 528); and a blue emitting material layer (FIG. 7, e.g., B-EML1 524). Regarding the configuration of the light emitting material layers, in [0059], Park 1 states: “At this time, since each stack ST1, ST2, and ST3 is configured to include one or two emitting material layers, it is easy to control a charge balance, which is advantageous in a manufacturing process.” Park 1 further states in [0060]: “Further, the red emitting material layer 168 and the second blue emitting material layer 164 adjacent to each other are configured to include the phosphorescence dopant, and it is possible to increase the luminous efficiency compared to the configuration including the fluorescence dopant.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Kang by substituting the configuration of the red and blue light emitting material layers of Park 1 in order to improve charge balance control and luminous efficiency. See Park 1 [0059]-[0060].
Kang in view of Park 1 does not specifically disclose a first a first blue emitting material layer disposed between the red emitting material layer and the second electrode, and including a first blue host; and a second blue emitting material layer disposed between the first blue emitting material layer and the second electrode, and including a second blue host, and wherein the first blue host has a hole mobility faster than a hole mobility of the second blue host.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamamoto discloses a display device (FIG. 1, organic electroluminescence device 1, Translation at 1) comprising a first blue emitting material layer disposed between a first light emitting material layer and a second electrode and including a first blue host (FIG. 1, depicting first blue light emitting layer 6B1 between a light emitting layer 6G and electrode 8 and comprising a hole transporting host material), and a second blue emitting material layer disposed between the first blue emitting material layer and the second electrode and including a second blue host (FIG. 1, depicting second blue light emitting layer 6B2 disposed between first blue light emitting layer 6B1 and electrode 8 and comprising an electron transporting host material), wherein the first blue host has a hole mobility faster than a hole mobility of the second blue host (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first blue light emitting layer 6B1 comprises a hole transporting host material wherein hole mobility is greater than electron mobility and the second blue light emitting layer 6B2 comprises an electron transporting host material wherein electron mobility is greater than hole mobility, Translation at 2). Regarding the configuration of the blue light emitting layers, Yamamoto discloses: “According to this configuration, the flow of electrons from the cathode to the anode and the flow of holes from the anode to the cathode can be controlled, and the balance of red, blue, and green is improved.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Kang and Park 1 by substituting the blue light emitting layer configuration of Yamamoto in order to further improve the desired flow of electrons and holes and balance the emission of colors of light. See Translation at 2.
Regarding claim 2, Kang in view of Park 1 and Yamamoto further discloses wherein the first blue host has an electron mobility slower than an electron mobility of the second blue host (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first blue light emitting layer 6B1 comprises a hole transporting host material wherein hole mobility is greater than electron mobility and the second blue light emitting layer 6B2 comprises an electron transporting host material wherein electron mobility is greater than hole mobility, Translation at 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kang in view of Park 1 and Yamamoto further discloses wherein the second blue host has a highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) energy level lower than a HOMO energy level of the first blue host (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the HOMO energy level of the first blue light emitting layer is higher than the HOMO energy level of the second blue light emitting layer, Translation at 4).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto does not specifically disclose wherein the second blue host is selected from the group consisting of 9,10-di(naphthalen-2-yl)anthracene, 2-methyl-9,10-bis(naphthalen-2- yl)anthracene, 2-tert-Butyl-9,10-di(naphthen-2-yl)anthracene, 9,10-di(naphthalen-2-yl)-2- phenylanthracene, 9-phenyl-10-(p-tolyl)anthracene, 9-(1-naphthyl)-10-(p-tolyl)anthracene, 9-(2- naphthyl)-10-(p-tolyl)anthracene, 2-(3-(10-phenylanthracen-9-yl)-phenyl)dibenzo[b,d]furan, 2- (4-(10-phenylanthracen-9-yl)phenyl)dibenzo[b,d]furan and combinations thereof.
In [0249], however Kang discloses wherein a host material may include, e.g., 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (ADN).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known host such as one including 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (ADN), as disclosed by Kang in [0249], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (ADN) over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 11, Kang in view of Park 1 and Yamamoto further discloses wherein the emissive layer (FIG. 3, interlayer 130) includes:
a first emitting part disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (FIG. 3, depicting wherein there are m emitting units 130, wherein m is equal to, e.g., 4, including a first emitting unit 130-1 between the first electrode 110 and the second electrode 150, [0118]);
a second emitting part disposed between the first emitting part and the second electrode (FIG. 3, depicting wherein there are m emitting units 130, wherein m is equal to, e.g., 4, including a second emitting unit 130-2 between the first emitting unit 130-1 and the second electrode 150, [0118]);
a third emitting part disposed between the second emitting part and the second electrode (FIG. 3, depicting wherein there are m emitting units 130, wherein m is equal to, e.g., 4, including a third emitting unit 130-3 (130-m-1) between the second emitting unit 130-2 and the second electrode 150, [0118]);
a fourth emitting part disposed between the third emitting part and the second electrode (FIG. 3, depicting wherein there are m emitting units 130, wherein m is equal to, e.g., 4, including a fourth emitting unit 130-4 (130-m) between the third emitting unit 130-3 (130-m-1) and the second electrode 150, [0118]);
a first charge generation layer disposed between the first emitting part and the second emitting part (FIG. 3, depicting wherein there are m-1 charge generation layers 134, wherein m is equal to, e.g., 4, including a first charge generation layer 134-1 between the first emitting unit 130-1 and the second emitting unit 130-2, [0119]);
a second charge generation layer disposed between the second emitting part and the third emitting part (FIG. 3, depicting wherein there are m-1 charge generation layers 134, wherein m is equal to, e.g., 4, including a second charge generation layer 134-2 (134-m-2) between the second emitting unit 130-2 and the third emitting unit 130-3 (130-m-1), [0119]); and
a third charge generation layer disposed between the third emitting part and the fourth emitting part (FIG. 3, depicting wherein there are m-1 charge generation layers 134, wherein m is equal to, e.g., 4, including a third charge generation layer 134-3 (134-m-1) between the third emitting unit 130-3 (130-m-1) and the fourth emitting unit 130-4 (130-m), [0119]), and
wherein one of the first to fourth emitting parts includes the at least one emitting material layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the emission layer 132-1 includes first and second emission layers 132a-1/132b-1, and, as modified by Park 1 and Yamamoto, would include the red light emitting layer R-EML1 528, first blue light emitting layer 6B1, and second blue light emitting layer 6B2).
Regarding claim 21, Kang in view of Park 1 and Yamamoto further discloses n organic light emitting device comprising: a substrate (FIG. 7, substrate 100, [0380]); and the organic light emitting diode of claim 1 over the substrate (FIGS. 3/7, light emitting device 30 including interlayer 130, [0116]).
Claims 12, 13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0016588 (filed Mar. 25, 2022) (hereinafter “Park 2”) in view of Park 1 and Yamamoto.
Regarding independent claim 12, Park 2 discloses: An organic light emitting diode comprising:
a first electrode (FIG. 6C, first electrode EL1, [0083]);
a second electrode facing the first electrode (FIG. 6C, second electrode EL2, [0083]); and
an emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (FIG. 6C, depicting an “emissive layer” comprising a plurality of light emitting stacks, [0083]),
wherein the emissive layer includes:
a first emitting part disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (FIG. 6C, stack ST1 between the first electrode EL1 and second electrode EL2, [0083]);
a second emitting part disposed between the first emitting part and the second electrode (FIG. 6C, stack ST2 between the stack ST1 and second electrode EL2, [0083]);
a third emitting part disposed between the second emitting part and the second electrode (FIG. 6C, stack ST3 between the stack ST2 and second electrode EL2, [0083]);
a fourth emitting part disposed between the third emitting part and the second electrode (FIG. 6C, stack ST4 between the stack ST3 and second electrode EL2, [0083]);
a first charge generation layer disposed between the first emitting part and the second emitting part (FIG. 6C, charge generation layer CGL1 between stack ST1 and stack ST2, [0083]);
a second charge generation layer disposed between the second emitting part and the third emitting part (FIG. 6C, charge generation layer CGL2 between stack ST2 and stack ST3, [0083]); and
a third charge generation layer disposed between the third emitting part and the fourth emitting part (FIG. 6C, charge generation layer CGL3 between stack ST3 and stack ST4, [0083]),
wherein the first emitting part includes a blue emitting material layer (FIG. 6C, light emitting layer BEML1, [0125]), wherein the second emitting part includes a third blue emitting material layer (FIG. 6C, light emitting layer BEML2, [0125]), the fourth emitting part includes a fourth blue emitting material layer (FIG. 6C, light emitting layer BEML4, [0125]), and the third emitting part includes a green emitting material layer (FIG. 6C, e.g., light emitting layer GEML3-1, [0125]).
Park 2 does not specifically disclose wherein the first emitting part includes a red emitting material layer and a blue emitting material layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Park 1 discloses a light emitting diode (FIG. 7, light emitting diode display device 500, [0148]) including a first electrode (FIG. 7, first electrode 510, [0150]); a second electrode facing the first electrode (FIG. 7, second electrode 570 facing the first electrode 510, [0150]); and an emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and second electrode (FIG. 7, depicting an “emissive layer” comprising a plurality of light emitting material layers, e.g., R-EML1 528 and B-EML1 524, [0151]), and including at least one emitting material layer, wherein the at least one emitting material layer includes: a red emitting material layer (FIG. 7, e.g., R-EML1 528); and a blue emitting material layer (FIG. 7, e.g., B-EML1 524). Regarding the configuration of the light emitting material layers, in [0059], Park 1 states: “At this time, since each stack ST1, ST2, and ST3 is configured to include one or two emitting material layers, it is easy to control a charge balance, which is advantageous in a manufacturing process.” Park 1 further states in [0060]: “Further, the red emitting material layer 168 and the second blue emitting material layer 164 adjacent to each other are configured to include the phosphorescence dopant, and it is possible to increase the luminous efficiency compared to the configuration including the fluorescence dopant.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Kang by substituting the configuration of the red and blue light emitting material layers of Park in order to improve charge balance control and luminous efficiency. See Park 1 [0059]-[0060].
Park 1 in view of Park 2 does not specifically disclose a first blue emitting material layer disposed between the red emitting material layer and the first charge generation layer and including a first blue host; and a second blue emitting material layer disposed between the first blue emitting material layer and the first charge generation layer, and wherein the first blue host has a hole mobility faster than a hole mobility of the second blue host.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamamoto discloses a display device (FIG. 1, organic electroluminescence device 1, Translation at 1) comprising a first blue emitting material layer disposed between a first light emitting material layer and a second electrode and including a first blue host (FIG. 1, depicting first blue light emitting layer 6B1 between a light emitting layer 6G and electrode 8 and comprising a hole transporting host material), and a second blue emitting material layer disposed between the first blue emitting material layer and the second electrode and including a second blue host (FIG. 1, depicting second blue light emitting layer 6B2 disposed between first blue light emitting layer 6B1 and electrode 8 and comprising an electron transporting host material), wherein the first blue host has a hole mobility faster than a hole mobility of the second blue host (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first blue light emitting layer 6B1 comprises a hole transporting host material wherein hole mobility is greater than electron mobility and the second blue light emitting layer 6B2 comprises an electron transporting host material wherein electron mobility is greater than hole mobility, Translation at 2). Regarding the configuration of the blue light emitting layers, Yamamoto discloses: “According to this configuration, the flow of electrons from the cathode to the anode and the flow of holes from the anode to the cathode can be controlled, and the balance of red, blue, and green is improved.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Park 1 and Park 2 by substituting the blue light emitting layer configuration of Yamamoto in order to further improve the desired flow of electrons and holes and balance the emission of colors of light. See Translation at 2.
Moreover, substitution of the blue light emitting layer configuration would result in a configuration wherein a first blue emitting material layer is disposed between the red emitting material layer and the first charge generation layer (Park 1 FIG. 6C; Park 2 FIG. 7; Yamamoto FIG. 1; depicting wherein the first blue light emitting layer 6B1 would be disposed between the R-EML1 528 and the first charge generation layer CGL1) and a second blue emitting material layer disposed between the first blue emitting material layer and the first charge generation layer (Park 1 FIG. 6C; Park 2 FIG. 7; Yamamoto FIG. 1; depicting wherein the second blue light emitting layer 6B2 would be disposed between the first blue light emitting layer 6B1 and the first charge generation layer CGL1).
Park 2 does not specifically disclose wherein the first emitting part includes a red emitting material layer and a blue emitting material layer, wherein the second emitting part includes a third blue emitting material layer, the fourth emitting part includes a fourth blue emitting material layer, and the third emitting part includes a green emitting material layer.
Regarding claim 13, Park 1 in view of Park 2 and Yamamoto further discloses wherein the first blue host has an electron mobility slower than an electron mobility of the second blue host (FIG. 1, depicting wherein the first blue light emitting layer 6B1 comprises a hole transporting host material wherein hole mobility is greater than electron mobility and the second blue light emitting layer 6B2 comprises an electron transporting host material wherein electron mobility is greater than hole mobility, Translation at 2).
Regarding claim 22, Park 1 in view of Park 2 and Yamamoto further discloses an organic light emitting device comprising: a substrate (FIG. 4B, base substrate, [0066]); and the organic light emitting diode of claim 12 over the substrate (FIG. 6C, display module DM-1 including light emitting device ED, which may be light emitting device ED-2, [0070]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park 2 in view of Park 1 and Yamamoto, and further in view of Kang.
Park 2 in view of Park 1 and Yamamoto does not specifically disclose wherein the second blue host is selected from the group consisting of 9,10-di(naphthalen-2-yl)anthracene, 2-methyl-9,10-bis(naphthalen-2- yl)anthracene, 2-tert-Butyl-9,10-di(naphthen-2-yl)anthracene, 9,10-di(naphthalen-2-yl)-2- phenylanthracene, 9-phenyl-10-(p-tolyl)anthracene, 9-(1-naphthyl)-10-(p-tolyl)anthracene, 9-(2- 57naphthyl)-10-(p-tolyl)anthracene, 2-(3-(10-phenylanthracen-9-yl)-phenyl)dibenzo[b,d]furan, 2- (4-(10-phenylanthracen-9-yl)phenyl)dibenzo[b,d]furan and combinations thereof.
In [0249], however Kang discloses wherein a host material may include, e.g., 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (ADN).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known host such as one including 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (ADN), as disclosed by Kang in [0249], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose 9,10-di(2-naphthyl)anthracene (ADN) over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20250089442 (filed Nov. 29, 2022).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813