DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because at least one of the cited prior arts in the previous office action discloses the argued limitation(s).
On pages 10-13 of the remarks, first, the Applicant argues, “Ozturk fails to disclose, ‘determining, by the relay terminal, the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal according to the UE_ID of the remote terminal’”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because it is clear that Ozturk discloses the determination of PF/PO from the remote terminal not only according S-TMSI but also according to I-RNTI (e.g. paragraph [0096]-[0102]).
As per the Applicant’s argument that the cited prior arts (Ozturk, Chen, and Martin) fail to disclose the amended claim limitation, ‘the UE ID of the remote terminal is equal to a remainder of an identity of the remote terminal divided by 1024, wherein the identity of the remote terminal comprises 5th-Generation-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI)’, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Chen teaches the above amended limitation. Chen clearly describes that the UE_ID of the remote UE: is equal to remainder of 5G-S-TMSI or I-RNTI divided by 1024 (5G-S-TMSi or I-RNTI mod 1024) (please see paragraph [0012] and tables 2-5).
Additionally, the Applicant argues that Martin is silent about on paging occasion corresponding one remote UE, paging message belong to other UEs would monitor by the relay. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Martin explains that the relay UE can monitor the paging occasions associated with the remote UE, where the UE-ID (e.g. IMSI mod 1024, or temporary ID) of the remote UE is provided to the relay. As per that the UE-ID is associated to 5G-S-IMSI, as illustrated above, Chen teaches it. Furthermore, Martin describes the relay terminal monitors other paging occasions or messages belonging to other remote UEs. In fact, Martin further illustrates sending only relevant paging messages to respective UEs (such as message specific remote UE IDs to the respective UEs) or part or all of the messages to all the remote UEs. Then, Martin analyzing or explaining the pros and cons of sending to paging messages based on their specific IDs to respective remote UEs or part or all of messages to all of the UEs (e.g. please read paragraph [0067]-[0068]). Therefore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the above argument is also not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 17-18, and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US 2023/0328689 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0026316 A1), and further in view of Martin et al. (US 2019/0261309 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 21, Ozturk discloses a method for paging (abstract), comprising: monitoring, by a relay terminal (e.g. Relay UE 404), a network paging message according to a Paging Frame (PF) and/or a Paging Occasion (PO) corresponding to a remote terminal (remote UE 402) (paragraph [0099]; [0102]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; and so on, illustrating monitoring a received paging massage); and sending, by the relay terminal, a monitored network paging message to the remote terminal (paragraph [0099]; [0102]; [0110]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; [0147]-[0148]; [0157]; [0168]; [0173]; and so on, explaining Relay UE sends the monitored paging message to Remote UE), wherein before monitoring the network paging message, receiving, by the relay terminal, a System Information Block 1 (SIB 1)(paragraph [0083]; [0085]; [0098]-[0099]); receiving, by the relay terminal, a UE_ID of the remote terminal and a DRX cycle from the remote terminal (paragraph [0094]; [0096]-[0097]; and so on); and determining, by the relay terminal, the PF and/or the PO corresponding to the remote terminal according to the UE_ID of the remote terminal, the DRX cycle (paragraph [0099]-[0106]; [0108]-[0110]; [0112]-[0117]; [0119]-[0125]; [0128]-[0134]; [0137]-[0142]; [0144]-[0148]; and so on).
Ozturk doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC), the UE ID of the remote terminal is equal to a remainder of an identity of the remote terminal divided by 1024, wherein the identity of the remote terminal comprises 5th-Generation-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI), the determining of the PF and/or the PO further according to a relevant configuration in the SIB1, and wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal.
Chen teaches wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC) (paragraph [0012]-[0018]), the determining of the PF and/or the PO further according to a relevant configuration in the SIB1 (paragraph [0009]; [0018]), the UE ID of the remote terminal is equal to a remainder of an identity of the remote terminal divided by 1024, wherein the identity of the remote terminal comprises 5th-Generation-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) (please see paragraph [0012] and tables 2-5).
Martin teaches wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal (paragraph [0067]-[0068]; [0061]; [0046]-[0047]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC), the UE ID of the remote terminal is equal to a remainder of an identity of the remote terminal divided by 1024, wherein the identity of the remote terminal comprises 5th-Generation-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI), and the determining of the PF and/or the PO further according to a relevant configuration in the SIB1, and wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal as taught by Chen and Martin into Ozturk in order to improve quality and throughput of the communication, and rate of communication.
Regarding claim 11 and 27, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claims 1 and 21. The claims are mere reformulation of claims 1 and 21 in order to define the corresponding terminal device, and the rejection to claims 1 and 21 are applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Ozturk discloses before monitoring the network paging message, further comprising: receiving, by the relay terminal, a system message (paragraph [0098]-[0099]); and sending, by the relay terminal, the system message to the remote terminal (paragraph [0102]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; [0148]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 7 and 24, Ozturk discloses a method for paging (abstract), comprising: sending, by a remote terminal, a Paging Frame (PF) and/or a Paging Occasion (PO) corresponding to the remote terminal to a relay terminal, or sending, by the remote terminal, information for determining the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal to the relay terminal (paragraph [0102]; [0112]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; and etc.); and receiving, by the remote terminal, from the relay terminal, a network paging message monitored according to the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal (paragraph [0099]; [0102]; [0110]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; [0147]-[0148]; [0157]; [0168]; [0173]; and so on), wherein sending, by the remote terminal, the information for determining the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal to the relay terminal comprises: sending, by the remote terminal, an UE ID of the remote terminal and a DRX cycle to the relay terminal (paragraph [0094]; [0096]-[0097]; and so on), wherein the UE ID of the remote terminal, the DRX cycle received by the relay terminal are used by the relay terminal for determining the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal (paragraph [0099]-[0106]; [0108]-[0110]; [0112]-[0117]; [0119]-[0125]; [0128]-[0134]; [0137]-[0142]; [0144]-[0148]; and so on).
Ozturk doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC), the UE ID of the remote terminal is equal to a remainder of an identity of the remote terminal divided by 1024, wherein the identity of the remote terminal comprises 5th-Generation-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI), a reception of relevant configuration in a SIB 1 for determining of the PF and/or the PO, and wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal.
Chen teaches wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC) (paragraph [0012]-[0018]), a reception of relevant configuration in a SIB 1 for determining of the PF and/or the PO (paragraph [0009]; [0018]), the UE ID of the remote terminal is equal to a remainder of an identity of the remote terminal divided by 1024, wherein the identity of the remote terminal comprises 5th-Generation-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) (please see paragraph [0012] and tables 2-5).
Martin teaches wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal (paragraph [0067]-[0068]; [0061]; [0046]-[0047]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC), the UE ID of the remote terminal is equal to a remainder of an identity of the remote terminal divided by 1024, wherein the identity of the remote terminal comprises 5th-Generation-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI), and a reception of relevant configuration in a SIB 1 for determining of the PF and/or the PO, and wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal as taught by Chen and Martin to Ozturk in order to in order to improve quality and throughput of the communication, and rate of communication.
Regarding claim 17 and 30, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 7 and 24. The claims mere reformulation of claim 7 and 24 in order to define the corresponding terminal device, and the rejection to claims 7 and 24 applied hereto
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Ozturk discloses before sending, by the remote terminal, the PF and/or the PO corresponding to the remote terminal to the relay terminal, further comprising: receiving, by the remote terminal, a system message from the relay terminal (paragraph [0102]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; [0148]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 22, 25, 28, and 31, Ozturk discloses wherein the network paging messages comprise Radio Access Network (RAN) paging messages or Core Network (CN) paging messages (e.g. abstract; paragraph [0005]-[0024]; and so on).
Regarding claim 23, 26, 29, and 32, as applied above, Ozturk discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the remote terminal, identity of the remote terminal to the relay terminal. However, Ozturk does not disclose the sending is a part or all of the identity of the remote terminal to the relay terminal, wherein the identity of the remote terminal is used for filtering the network paging messages.
Martin teaches the sending is a part or all of the identity of the remote terminal to the relay terminal, wherein the identity of the remote terminal is used for filtering the network paging messages (e.g. paragraph [0066]-[0068]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the sending is a part or all of the identity of the remote terminal to the relay terminal, wherein the identity of the remote terminal is used for filtering the network paging messages as taught by Martin to Ozturk in order to in order to improve rate of communication and reduce power utilization.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461