DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-12, 15, and 17-19 have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-12, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US 2023/0328689 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0026316 A1), and further in view of Martin et al. (US 2019/0261309 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ozturk discloses a method for paging (abstract), comprising: monitoring, by a relay terminal (e.g. Relay UE 404), a network paging message according to a Paging Frame (PF) and/or a Paging Occasion (PO) corresponding to a remote terminal (remote UE 402) (paragraph [0099]; [0102]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; and so on, illustrating monitoring a received paging massage); and sending, by the relay terminal, a monitored network paging message to the remote terminal (paragraph [0099]; [0102]; [0110]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; [0147]-[0148]; [0157]; [0168]; [0173]; and so on, explaining Relay UE sends the monitored paging message to Remote UE), wherein before monitoring the network paging message, receiving, by the relay terminal, a System Information Block 1 (SIB 1)(paragraph [0083]; [0085]; [0098]-[0099]); receiving, by the relay terminal, a UE_ID of the remote terminal and a DRX cycle from the remote terminal (paragraph [0094]; [0096]-[0097]; and so on); and determining, by the relay terminal, the PF and/or the PO corresponding to the remote terminal according to the UE_ID of the remote terminal, the DRX cycle (paragraph [0099]-[0106]; [0108]-[0110]; [0112]-[0117]; [0119]-[0125]; [0128]-[0134]; [0137]-[0142]; [0144]-[0148]; and so on).
Ozturk doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC), the determining of the PF and/or the PO further according to a relevant configuration in the SIB1, and wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal.
Chen teaches wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC) (paragraph [0012]-[0018]), the determining of the PF and/or the PO further according to a relevant configuration in the SIB1 (paragraph [0009]; [0018]).
Martin teaches wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal (paragraph [0067]-[0068]; [0061]; [0046]-[0047]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC), and the determining of the PF and/or the PO further according to a relevant configuration in the SIB1, and wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal as taught by Chen and Martin into Ozturk in order to improve quality and throughput of the communication, and rate of communication.
Regarding claim 11, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding terminal device, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Ozturk discloses before monitoring the network paging message, further comprising: receiving, by the relay terminal, a system message (paragraph [0098]-[0099]); and sending, by the relay terminal, the system message to the remote terminal (paragraph [0102]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; [0148]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Ozturk discloses wherein an identity of the remote terminal comprises 5G-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) (paragraph [0095]-[0099]; [0101]-[0102]; [0105]-[0107]; [0110]; [0115]-[0117]; [0119]; [0122]-[0125]; [0128]; [0137]; [0144]; [0156]; [0165]; [0167]; [0170]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Ozturk discloses a method for paging (abstract), comprising: sending, by a remote terminal, a Paging Frame (PF) and/or a Paging Occasion (PO) corresponding to the remote terminal to a relay terminal, or sending, by the remote terminal, information for determining the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal to the relay terminal (paragraph [0102]; [0112]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; and etc.); and receiving, by the remote terminal, from the relay terminal, a network paging message monitored according to the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal (paragraph [0099]; [0102]; [0110]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; [0147]-[0148]; [0157]; [0168]; [0173]; and so on), wherein sending, by the remote terminal, the information for determining the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal to the relay terminal comprises: sending, by the remote terminal, an UE ID of the remote terminal and a DRX cycle to the relay terminal (paragraph [0094]; [0096]-[0097]; and so on), wherein the UE ID of the remote terminal, the DRX cycle received by the relay terminal are used by the relay terminal for determining the PF and/or PO corresponding to the remote terminal (paragraph [0099]-[0106]; [0108]-[0110]; [0112]-[0117]; [0119]-[0125]; [0128]-[0134]; [0137]-[0142]; [0144]-[0148]; and so on).
Ozturk doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC), a reception of relevant configuration in a SIB 1 for determining of the PF and/or the PO, and wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal.
Chen teaches wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC) (paragraph [0012]-[0018]), a reception of relevant configuration in a SIB 1 for determining of the PF and/or the PO (paragraph [0009]; [0018]).
Martin teaches wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal (paragraph [0067]-[0068]; [0061]; [0046]-[0047]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the DRX cycle is configured by Radio Resource Control (RRC), and a reception of relevant configuration in a SIB 1 for determining of the PF and/or the PO, and wherein sending, by the relay terminal, the monitored network paging message to the remote terminal comprising: in a case that all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal comprises at least one network paging message belonging to other terminal devices, sending, by the relay terminal, a part of the all network paging messages monitored by the relay terminal to the remote terminal, wherein the part of the all monitored network paging message monitored by the relay terminal comprises a network paging message corresponding to the UE_ID of the remote terminal as taught by Chen and Martin to Ozturk in order to in order to improve quality and throughput of the communication, and rate of communication.
Regarding claim 17, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 7. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 7 in order to define the corresponding terminal device, and the rejection to claim 7 is applied hereto
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Ozturk discloses before sending, by the remote terminal, the PF and/or the PO corresponding to the remote terminal to the relay terminal, further comprising: receiving, by the remote terminal, a system message from the relay terminal (paragraph [0102]; [0117]; [0124]; [0134]; [0148]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Ozturk discloses wherein an identity of the remote terminal comprises 5G-System Architecture Evolution-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) or Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) (paragraph [0095]-[0099]; [0101]-[0102]; [0105]-[0107]; [0110]; [0115]-[0117]; [0119]; [0122]-[0125]; [0128]; [0137]; [0144]; [0156]; [0165]; [0167]; [0170]; and etc.).
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461