DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (US 20210116964; “Moon” hereinafter), in view of Zhu (US 20230217603; “Zhu” hereinafter), and further in view of Burke et al (US 20220061166; “Burke” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Moon teaches: an electronic device (300) comprising:
a first housing (310, fig. 4a); a second housing (320, fig. 4a);
a hinge device (364, fig. 4a) connecting the first housing and the second housing to be foldable relative to each other (¶[0069]-[0070]); and
a flexible display (400, fig. 4a) supported by the first housing and the second housing (¶[0069]), wherein the flexible display comprises:
a window layer (410, fig. 8a);
a display panel laminated under the window layer (430, fig. 8a);
a bending part (432, fig. 8a) bent from the display panel to a rear surface of the flexible display at a first edge (unnumbered, annotated as 401, in annotated fig. 8a below) of the flexible display; the bending part comprising an inner surface facing the first edge and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface (see annotated fig. 8a below);
wherein a first space (annotated as ‘FS’ in annotated fig. 8a below) and a second space (annotated as ‘SS’ in annotated fig. 8a below) do not overlap each other in a view of the flexible display from above.
wherein a portion of the first space is defined by and between the inner surface of the bending part and at least a portion of the first edge of the flexible display (see annotated fig. 8a above), the portion of the first edge extending from a front surface (see annotated fig. 8a below) of the display panel to the rear surface (see annotated fig. 8a above) of the flexible display.
Moon does not explicitly teach:
a first filling member in the first space within the electronic device, such as to surround at least a part of the first edge together with the bending part,
wherein the first filling member is not within the second space between the window layer and the display panel,
wherein the first filling member covers at least a portion of the inner surface and at least a portion of the outer surface of the bending part.
However, Zhu teaches:
a first filling member (700, comprised of PU foam, CR foam, XPE foam, and the like ¶[0055])) and 600, fig. 3), in a first space (space occupied by 700 and 600) within an electronic device (300), such as to surround at least a part of a first edge (as disclosed in fig. 3) together with a bending part (320, fig. 3),
wherein the first filling member is not within a second space (space occupied by 500, fig. 3) between a window layer (400) and a display panel (200 and 300, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a first filling member in a first space within the electronic device, such as to surround at least a part of the first edge together with the bending part, and not within a second space between the window layer and the display panel, in order to provide a more stable support effect on an internal structure of the bending part, and therefore, the bending part may not be easily damaged due to deformation (¶[0055]).
Moon in view of Shu does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first filling member covers at least a portion of the inner surface and at least a portion of the outer surface of the bending part.
However, Burke teaches:
A display (816, fig. 8A) comprising a bending part (811 and 814, fig. 8a) bent from the display panel to a rear surface of the flexible display at a first edge (unnumbered, see annotated fig. 8a below) of the flexible display; wherein a first filling member (821 and 823, fig. 8a, ¶[0073]-¶[0079]; note Burke expressly teaches the materials may be the same material therefore analogous to applicant’s single material on two sides of the curved portion) covers at least a portion of an inner surface and at least a portion of an outer surface of the bending part (see annotated fig. 8a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Moon’s electronic device as modified by Zhu, with Burke’s teaching, so that the first filling member covers at least a portion of the inner surface and at least a portion of the outer surface of the bending part, in order to reinforce or bolster the bending part of the display panel, against external forces or stresses (¶[0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Zhu further teaches: wherein the first filling member comprises a molding solution that is cured (“700 may be made of a foam material such as PU foam, CR foam, XPE foam, and the like”, ¶[0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Moon further teaches:
wherein the flexible display further comprises:
a polymer layer (440, fig. 8a) under the display panel (430); and a support plate (450, fig. 8a) under the polymer layer.
Regarding claim 7, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Moon further teaches:
further comprising an adhesive member (P1, fig. 8a) blocking the second space (see annotated figs. 8a above).
Moon in view of Zhu does not explicitly teach:
the adhesive member between at least a part of the window layer and the bending part at the first edge and blocking the second space.
However, Moon teaches:
an adhesive member (P2, P3, fig. 8a) between at least a part of the window layer (410, fig. 8a) and the bending part (432, fig. 8a) at a first edge (see annotated figs. 8a above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an adhesive member between at least a part of the window layer and the bending part at the first edge and blocking the second space, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component (MPEP 2144.04). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Moon further teaches: wherein the window layer comprises a first layer of a polymer material (411, fig. 8a, ¶[0088]) and a second layer of a glass material (412, fig. 8a, ¶[0088]),
wherein the second layer is between the first layer and the bending part (fig. 8a).,
and
wherein the electronic device (300) further comprises an adhesive member (P1, fig. 8a).
Moon in view of Zhu does not explicitly teach:
wherein the electronic device further comprises an adhesive member between at least a part of the first layer and the bending part at the first edge and blocking the second space.
However, Moon further teaches:
an adhesive member (P2, P3, fig. 8a) between at least a part of the window layer (410, fig. 8a) and the bending part (432, fig. 8a) at a first edge (see annotated figs. 8a above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an adhesive member between at least a part of the window layer and the bending part at the first edge and blocking the second space, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component (MPEP 2144.04). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
further comprising a second filling member within a second space.
However, Zhu further teaches:
further comprising a second filling member (500, fig. 3) within a second space (the space occupied by 500, fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second filling member within a second space, in order to provide a better effect of cushioning and protection effect, and a degree of deformation and depression of the window layer may be reduced. Therefore, the extrusion force of the window layer to the flexible display panel is reduced, thereby reducing circuit breakage on the flexible display panel (¶[0028], ¶[0063]).
Regarding claim 11, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 10, and Zhu further teaches: wherein the second filling member comprises a cured molding solution (¶[0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Moon further teaches: wherein the first housing (310) comprises:
a first lateral member (annotated as ‘113’ in annotated fig. 4a below) that forms at least a part of a side surface of the electronic device (300, fig. 4a); and
a first support member (annotated as ‘1131’ in annotated fig. 4a below) that extends from the first lateral member,
wherein the second housing (320) comprises:
a second lateral member (annotated as ‘123’ in annotated fig. 4a below) that forms at least another part of the side surface of the electronic device (300, fig. 4a); and
a second support member (annotated as ‘123’ in annotated fig. 4a below) that extends from the second lateral member, and wherein the flexible display is supported by the first support member and the second support member (as understood upon examination of fig. 4a; “ the flexible display 400 may be disposed to receive support of at least a partial area of the first housing 310, the hinge module 364, and the second housing 320”, ¶[0069]).
Regarding claim 14, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 13, and Moon further teaches: wherein the first filling member is within a space between the second lateral member and the second support member (as disclosed upon examination of annotated fig. 4a above, fig. 8a, and ¶[0069]).
Regarding claim 15, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a size or a shape of the first filling member is defined by a space between the second lateral member and the second support member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a size or a shape of the first filling member is defined by a space between the second lateral member and the second support member, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component (MPEP 2144.04). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The modification would allow support for the filling member to exert a cushioning effect to internal components of the electronic device.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (US 20210116964; “Moon” hereinafter), in view of Zhu (US 20230217603; “Zhu” hereinafter), Burke et al (US 20220061166; “Burke” hereinafter), and further in view of Zhu (US 20220208028; “Zhu028” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose: wherein the first edge faces in a first direction towards the bending part, and
wherein, at the first edge an edge of the polymer layer that faces in the first direction extends further in the first direction than an edge of the display panel that faces in the first direction.
However, Zhu028 teaches:
a first edge (edges of 141, 142, and 143, fig. 1) faces in a first direction towards a bending part (as disclosed in annotated fig. 1 below), and
wherein, at the first edge an edge of the polymer layer (141, fig. 1, ¶[0065]) that faces in the first direction is further in the first direction than an edge of the display panel that faces in the first direction (as disclosed in annotated fig. 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an edge of the polymer layer that faces in the first direction is further in the first direction than an edge of the display panel that faces in the first direction as taught by Zhu028, in to the electronic device of Moon as modified by Zhu and Burke, in order to disperse stress, and therefore, the bending region would not deform extremely easily, which prevents broken wires and improves production rate (¶[0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke teaches the limitations of claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose: wherein the first edge faces in a first direction towards the bending part, and
wherein, at the first edge, an edge of the support plate that faces in the first direction extends further in the first direction than an edge of the polymer layer that faces in the first direction.
However, Zhu028 teaches:
A first edge (edges of 141, 142, and 143, fig. 1) faces in a first direction towards the bending part (as disclosed in annotated fig. 1 above), and
wherein, at the first edge, an edge of a support plate (143, fig. 1) that faces in a first direction is further in the first direction than an edge of the polymer layer (141, fig. 1) that faces in the first direction (as disclosed in annotated fig. 1 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an edge of the support plate that faces in the first direction is further in the first direction than an edge of the polymer layer that faces in the first direction as taught by Zhu028, in to the electronic device of Moon as modified by Zhu and Burke, in order to disperse stress, and therefore, the bending region would not deform extremely easily, which prevents broken wires and improves production rate (¶[0036]).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (US 20210116964; “Moon” hereinafter), in view of Zhu (US 20230217603; “Zhu” hereinafter), and further in view of Burke et al (US 20220061166; “Burke” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 16, Moon teaches: an electronic device comprising:
a first housing (310, fig. 4a);
a second housing (320, fig. 4a);
a hinge device (364, fig. 4a) connecting the first housing and the second housing to be foldable relative to each other (¶[0069]-[0070]);
and
a flexible display (400, fig. 4a) supported by the first housing and the second housing (¶[0069]),
wherein the flexible display comprises:
a window layer (410, fig. 8a);
a display panel (430) laminated under the window layer (fig. 8a);
a bending part (432, fig. 8a) bent from the display panel to a rear surface of the flexible display at a first edge (unnumbered, annotated as 401, in annotated fig. 8a below) of the flexible display, the bending part comprising an inner surface facing the first edge and an outer surface opposite to the inner surface (see annotated fig. 8a below);
A first space (annotated as ‘FS’ in annotated fig. 8a below), and a second space (annotated as ‘SS’ in annotated fig. 8a below).
wherein the first space (annotated as ‘FS’ in annotated fig. 8a below) and the second space (annotated as ‘SS’ in annotated fig. 8a below) do not overlap each other in a front-rear direction of the flexible display from above.
wherein a portion of the first space is defined by and between the inner surface of the bending part and at least a portion of the first edge of the flexible display (see annotated fig. 8a above), the portion of the first edge extending from a front surface (see annotated fig. 8a below) of the display panel to the rear surface (see annotated fig. 8a above) of the flexible display.
Moon does not explicitly teach:
a first filling member in a first space, within the electronic device, such as to surround at least a part of the first edge together with the bending part; and
a second filling member in a second space, between the window layer and the display panel, and formed of a material that is softer than a material of the first filling member,
wherein the first filling member covers at least a portion of the inner surface and at least a portion of the outer surface of the bending part.
However, Zhu teaches:
a first filling member (700, comprised of PU foam, CR foam, XPE foam, and the like ¶[0055] and 600, fig. 3), in a first space (space occupied by 700 and 600) within an electronic device (300), such as to surround at least a part of a first edge (as disclosed in fig. 3) together with a bending part (320, fig. 3); and
a second filling member (500, fig. 3) in a second space (space occupied by 500), between a window layer (400, figs. 1-3) and a display panel (200 and 300, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a first filling member in a first space within the electronic device, such as to surround at least a part of the first edge together with the bending part, and a second filling member in a second space, between the window layer and the display panel, in order to provide a more stable support effect on an internal structure of the bending part, and therefore, the bending part may not be easily damaged due to deformation (¶[0055]), and a better effect of cushioning and protection effect, and a degree of deformation and depression of the window layer may be reduced. Therefore, the extrusion force of the window layer to the flexible display panel is reduced, thereby reducing circuit breakage on the flexible display panel (¶[0028], ¶[0063]).
Moon in view of Zhu does not explicitly teach:
the second filling member formed of a material that is softer than a material of the first filling member, and
wherein the first filling member covers at least a portion of the inner surface and at least a portion of the outer surface of the bending part.
However, Burke teaches:
A display (816, fig. 8A) comprising a bending part (811 and 814, fig. 8a) bent from the display panel to a rear surface of the flexible display at a first edge (unnumbered, see annotated fig. 8a below) of the flexible display; wherein a first filling member (821 and 823, fig. 8a, ¶[0073]-¶[0079]; note Burke expressly teaches the materials may be the same material therefore analogous to applicant’s single material on two sides of the curved portion) covers at least a portion of an inner surface and at least a portion of an outer surface of the bending part (see annotated fig. 8a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Moon’s electronic device as modified by Zhu, with Burke’s teaching, so that the first filling member covers at least a portion of the inner surface and at least a portion of the outer surface of the bending part, in order to reinforce or bolster the bending part of the display panel, against external forces or stresses (¶[0073]).
Moon in view of Zhu and Burke does not explicitly teach:
the second filling member formed of a material that is softer than a material of the first filling member.
However, Burke further teaches:
a second filling member (823, figs. 8a-8b) in a second space (see annotated fig. 8a) formed of a material that is softer than a material of the first filling member (a modulus of the second filling member 823 (¶[0079]) is smaller than a modulus of a first filling member 821, figs. 8a-8b, ¶[0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the second filling member formed of a material that is softer than a material of the first filling member of Moon in view of Zhu and Burke, as taught by Burke, in order for the second filling member not transmit load to the display assembly, and act as shock absorber, while being hard enough avoid decreasing display reliability (¶[0079]).
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (US 20210116964; “Moon” hereinafter), in view of Zhu (US 20230217603; “Zhu” hereinafter), and Burke et al (US 20220061166; “Burke” hereinafter), and further in view of Zhu (US 20220208028; “Zhu028” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Moon in view of Zhu and Burke, teaches the limitations of claim 16, and Moon further teaches: wherein the flexible display further comprises at least two layers (440, and 450, fig. 8a) that are under the display panel (430),
wherein the first edge (annotated as ‘401’ in annotated fig. 8a below) faces in a first direction towards the bending part (432, fig. 8a).
Moon in view of Zhu and Burke does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least two layers comprises a first layer and a second layer under the first layer, and
wherein an edge of the second layer, that faces in the first direction, is farther in the first direction than an edge of the first layer that faces in the first direction.
However, Zhu028 discloses:
at least two layers that are under a display panel (11, fig. 1) comprises a first layer (141, fig. 1) and a second layer under the first layer (142 or 143, fig. 1), and
wherein an edge of the second layer (edges 142 or 143, fig. 1), that faces in the first direction, is farther in the first direction than an edge of the first layer (edge of 141, fig. 1) that faces in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the at least two layers comprising a first layer and a second layer under the first layer, and wherein an edge of the second layer, that faces in the first direction, is farther in the first direction than an edge of the first layer that faces in the first direction, as taught by Zhu028, in order to disperse stress, and therefore, the bending region would not deform extremely easily, which prevents broken wires and improves production rate (¶[0036]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument:
“For example, with reference, Fig. 8A of Moon, reproduced below with annotation, a portion of an alleged first space defined by and between the inner surface of the alleged bending part (432) and at least a portion of the alleged first edge of the alleged flexible display (400) (the portion extending from a front surface of the alleged display panel (430) to the rear surface of the alleged flexible display (400)), includes area 4401, and area 4401 overlaps with the alleged second space in a front-rear direction of the alleged flexible display”.
Examiner’s Response:
As disclosed in the previous and current office action, the mapping of the first space and second space complies with the non-overlapping requirement as seen below in annotated figure 8A. Furthermore, upon a full review of Moon’s disclosure, the remaining limitation of amended claims 1 and 16 are also taught by Moon, Zhu, and Burke.
Conclusion
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841