DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/229,507, “BATTERY PACK WITH SUPPORT TABS”, was filed with the USPTO on 8/2/2023.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 5/14/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 5/14/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-20 are canceled and claims 21-25 are newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “251b” as described in the specification (see [0035] PGpub (US20250046941A1); also see [0034] in specification filed on 8/2/2023). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“3318a” (see [0044] PGpub (US20250046941A1); also see [0043] in specification filed on 8/2/2023) appears to be a typo and intended to mean “318a”.
“the support ledges may have any other shape, such as circular, triangular, or the like” (see [0035] PGpub (US20250046941A1); also see [0034] in specification filed on 8/2/2023) should read “the mounting ledges may have any other shape, such as circular, triangular, or the like”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the plates” in line 4 of claim 1 should read “the plurality of plates”.
Regarding “for securing the battery back to a housing” in claim 10, “back” appears to be a typo and the recitation intended to mean “for securing the battery pack to a housing”.
“mounting ledge” in lines 3-4 in claim 10 should read “mounting ledges”.
“wherein each plate includes” in line 1 of claim 22 should read “wherein each plate of the plurality of plates includes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 is indefinite because recitation of “a first plate” is unclear whether it refers to the same first plate as in claim 21 or a different first plate. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “the first plate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 20140120391 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a battery pack (5, Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 1);
a plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1) coupled between adjacent battery cells (20 between two 30s, see Fig. 1) of the plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 1), wherein the plates (20s, Fig. 2) include a plate body (27, Fig. 2) and support ledges (22a, Figs 1 and 2; and 21a, Fig. 3) extending from the plate body (27, Fig. 2); and
a plurality of support tabs (11 and 12, Figs 1 and 2), wherein:
each support tab (11 or 12, Figs 1 and 2) of the plurality of support tabs is positioned between (11 is between 21a of first plate and 21a of 20; 12 is between 22a of first plate and 22a of 20, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: there is a 21a on 21 of each 20, see [0028]), and abuts against (21a couples 11a and 22a couples 12a, [0028] and Fig. 3; note: “abuts against” has been interpreted as “couples”), support ledges of (22a and 21a, Fig. 3) adjacent plates (20 and first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: 20 and first place are near each other and in close proximity) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1); and
each support tab (11 or 12, Figs 1 and 2) of the plurality of support tabs secures (each 20 inserted into 10 (between 11 and 12), see [0026] and Fig. 3) adjacent plates of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1) to each other; and
a busbar (61, Fig. 4) electrically coupling (61 couples to 32 via 62, Fig. 4; electrically connected see [0034]) the plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 4) together.
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches wherein:
a first plate (first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: first plate is a 20 and shares same structure of barrier 20) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1) includes a first support ledge (22a of first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: 22a protrudes from 21 of 20, [0028]);
a second plate (second plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: second plate is a 20 and shares same structure of barrier 20) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1) includes a second support ledge (22a of second plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: 22a protrudes from 21 of 20, [0028]); and
the first support ledge (22a of first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) and the second support ledge (22a of second plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) are offset (see the two 22a in Fig. 1 are offset vertically in the Z direction) from each other.
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches wherein a first support tab (12, Figs 1 and 2) of the plurality of support tabs (11 and 12, Figs 1 and 2) defines a first support area (first support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) that receives the first support ledge (22a of first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) and a second support area (second support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) that receives the second support ledge (22a of second plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches wherein:
the first support tab (12, Figs 1 and 2) includes a support tab body (12a, Figs 1 and 2), and a first support tab extension (first support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3 and Annotated Fig. 1-1) and a second support tab extension (second support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3 and Annotated Fig. 1-1) extending from opposite ends (first support tab extension extending from top end; second support tab extension extending from bottom end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) of the support tab body (12a, Figs 1 and 2); and
the first support tab extension (first support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) and the support tab body (12a, Figs 1 and 2) defines the first support area (first support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) and the second support tab extension (second support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) and the support tab body (12a, Figs 1 and 2) defines the second support area (second support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches wherein:
the first support tab extension (first support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) is offset (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) from the second support tab extension (second support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1); and
the first support area (first support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) is offset (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) from the second support area (second support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches wherein the first and second support tab extensions (first support tab extension and second support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) are coupled (22 couples to both first and second support tab extensions, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) to the plates (20, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches wherein:
a first plate (20, Fig. 2) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1) defines a first sidewall (25, Fig. 2) and a second sidewall (26, Fig. 2);
a first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Fig. 4) of the plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 4) is positioned between the first sidewall (25, Fig. 4) and second sidewall (26, Fig. 4); and
a first space (first space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) is defined between the first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Fig. 4) and the second sidewall (26, Fig. 4) and a second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) is defined between the first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Fig. 4) and the second sidewall (26, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches wherein:
a first battery cell (second 30 from left side, see Fig. 4) of the plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 1) is positioned between a first plate (20, Fig. 4) and a second plate (second plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1);
the first battery cell (second 30 from left side, see Fig. 4) is coupled (by 27a, Fig. 4) to the first plate (20, Fig. 4); and
the first battery cell (second 30 from left side, see Fig. 4) and the second plate (second plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) define a space (29a, fig. 4) therebetween.
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches a battery pack (5, Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 2), wherein:
each plate (20, Fig. 2) of the plurality of plates includes a plate body (27, Fig. 2) and mounting ledge (mounting ledges, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) extending from the plate body (27, Fig. 2);
the mounting ledges (mounting ledges, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) are configured for securing (31 and 32 of battery protrude out of 26 via 26d so that 30s inserted into 10, see [0026], [0033] and Figs 2 and 3) the battery back (5, Fig. 1) to a housing (10, Fig. 2);
a plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 1), wherein:
each plate (20, Fig. 1) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 2) is coupled between adjacent battery cells (30s, Fig. 1) of the plurality of battery cells (20 is sandwiched between two adjacent 30s, see Figs 1 and 4); and
each battery cell (30, Fig. 2) of the plurality of battery cells is secured (see Fig. 4) to one of the plate bodies (27, Fig. 2) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 2); and
a busbar (61, Fig. 4) electrically coupling (61 couples to 32 via 62, Fig. 4; electrically connected see [0034]) the plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 4) together.
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches wherein;
each plate (20, Fig. 1) of the plurality of plates includes a support ledge (22a, Figs 1 and 2) extending from the plate body (27, Fig. 2); and
the support ledges (22a, Figs 1 and 2) and the mounting ledges (mounting ledges, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) are transverse (22a and mounting ledges extend across each other, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) and coplanar (both coplanar with 27, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) with each other.
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches further comprising a plurality of support tabs (11 and 12, Figs 1 and 2); and
wherein each support tab (11 or 12, Figs 1 and 2) of the plurality of support tabs positioned between (11 is considered between 21a of first plate and 21a of 20 (21a is on 21 of 20, see [0028]); 12 is between 22a of first plate and 22a of 20, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) adjacent support ledges (21a of first plate and 21a of 20 / 22a of first plate and 22a of 20, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: 20 and first place are near each other and in close proximity).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches wherein:
each support tab (12, Figs 1 and 2; note: structures of 11, 11a, 21 and 21a are exactly mirrored with 12, 12a, 22 and 22a respectively, see Fig. 3, therefore 12 is shown as an example for mapping of “each support tab”) includes a support tab body (12a, Figs 1 and 2), and a first support tab extension (first support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3 and Annotated Fig. 1-1) and a second support tab extension (second support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3 and Annotated Fig. 1-1) extending from opposite ends (first support tab extension extending from top end; second support tab extension extending from bottom end, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) of the support tab body (12a, Figs 1 and 2); and
the first support tab extension (first support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) and the support tab body (12a, Figs 1 and 2) defines a first support area (first support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) that receives a first support ledge (22a of first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) of the support ledges and the second support tab extension (second support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) and the support tab body (12a, Figs 1 and 2) defines a second support area (second support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) that receives a second support ledge (22a of second plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) of the support ledges.
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches wherein:
the first (22a of first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) and second support ledges (22a of second plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) are offset (see the two 22a in Fig. 1 are offset vertically in the Z direction) from each other;
the first (first support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) and second support tab extensions (second support tab extension, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) are offset (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) from each other; and
the first (first support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) and second support areas (second support area, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) are offset (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20140120391 A1) in view of Rosenberger et al. (US 20220352588 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Park does not teach wherein the first and second support tab extensions are welded to the plates.
Rosenberger et al. teaches wherein the first and second support tab extensions (302/304 of 110, Fig. 3) are welded (end tabs of 110 are welded to 104 and 106 when 110 inserted into 108, see [0033]) to the plates (104/106, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between first and second support tab extensions and the side panels of barriers taught by Park to be welded as taught by Rosenberger et al. to secure the center plate to the end plates (see Rosenberger et al. [0033]).
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20140120391 A1) in view of Yoon et al. (US 20080199765 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches a battery pack (5, Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 1);
a plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1) coupled between adjacent battery cells (20 between two 30s, see Fig. 1) of the plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 1), wherein:
each plate (20, Fig. 1) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1) includes a plate body (27, Fig. 2) and first support ledges (a few 22a, see Fig. 1) extending from a first side (22, Fig. 1) of the plate body (27, Fig. 2);
a first plate (81/71, Fig. 1) includes a first plate body (body of 81 and 71 facing 30 in the X direction, see Fig. 1) and a first sidewall (first sidewall, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) extending from the first plate body (body of 81 and 71 facing 30 in the X direction, see Fig. 1); and
the first sidewall (first sidewall, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) is lateral (first sidewall lateral to 22 in the X direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the first side (22, Fig. 1);
a first support tab (12, Figs 1 and 2), wherein:
the first support tab (12, Figs 1 and 2) is positioned between (12 is between 22a of first plate and 22a of 20, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1), and abuts against (22a couples 12a, [0028] and Fig. 3; note: “abuts against” has been interpreted as “couples”), the first support ledges (22a, Fig. 1) of adjacent plates (20 and first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: 20 and first place are near each other and in close proximity) of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1); and
the first support tab (12, Figs 1 and 2) secures (each 20 inserted into 10 (between 11 and 12), see [0026] and Fig. 3) adjacent plates of the plurality of plates (20s, Fig. 1) to each other; and
a busbar (61, Fig. 4) electrically coupling (61 couples to 32 via 62, Fig. 4; electrically connected see [0034]) the plurality of battery cells (30s, Fig. 4) together.
Park does not teach a battery management unit is coupled to the first sidewall; and
a busbar electrically coupling the plurality of battery cells and the battery management unit together.
Yoon et al. teaches a battery management unit (500, Fig. 9) is coupled to the first sidewall (400, Fig. 9); and
a busbar (300, Figs 4 and 6) electrically coupling (310 electrically connects unit cells, [0065]; 500 electrically connects to 342 via 510, [0075] and Figs 5 and 6) the plurality of battery cells (200 and 201, Fig. 3) and the battery management unit together (500, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Park by adding the battery management system and the bus bars taught by Yoon et al. to have a battery management system (BMS) for detecting voltage and/or temperature of the unit cells using the bus bar for direct connecting the unit cells to the BMS with a compact battery structure and the stable durable electrical connection between the unit cells (see Yoon et al. [0013]).
Regarding claim 22, Park in view of Yoon et al. teaches wherein each plate (20, Park Fig. 3) includes a second support ledge (21a, Park Fig. 3) extending from a second side (21, Park Fig. 3) of the plate body (27, Park Fig. 2) opposite the first side (22, Park Fig. 3), and the battery pack (5, Park Fig. 1) further comprises a second support tab (11, Park Figs 1 and 2), wherein:
the second support tab (11, Park Figs 1 and 2) is positioned between (11 is between 21a of first plate and 21a of 20, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: there is a 21a on 21 of each 20, see Park [0028]), and abuts against (21a couples 11a, Park [0028] and Fig. 3; note: “abuts against” has been interpreted as “couples”), second support ledges (21a, Park Fig. 3) of adjacent plates (20 and first plate, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1; note: 20 and first place are near each other and in close proximity, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) of the plurality of plates (20s, Park Fig. 1); and
the second support tab (11, Park Figs 1 and 2) secures (each 20 inserted into 10 (between 11 and 12), see Park [0026] and Fig. 3) adjacent plates of the plurality of plates (20s, Park Fig. 1) to each other.
Regarding claim 23, Park in view of Yoon et al. teaches wherein the first support ledges (22a, Park Fig. 3) and the second support ledges (21a, Park Fig. 3) are offset from each other (see Park Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, Park in view of Yoon et al. teaches wherein:
the first plate (81/71, Park Fig. 1) defines a third sidewall (third sidewall, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1) and a fourth sidewall (fourth sidewall, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1),
a first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Park Fig. 4) of the plurality of battery cells (30s, Park Fig. 4) is positioned between the third sidewall (third sidewall, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1) and the fourth sidewall (fourth sidewall, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1); and
a first space (first space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1) is defined between the first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Park Fig. 4) and the third sidewall (third sidewall, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1) , and a second space (second space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1) is defined between the first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Park Fig. 4) and the fourth sidewall (fourth sidewall, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1).
Regarding claim 25, Park in view of Yoon et al. teaches wherein:
a first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Park Fig. 4) of the plurality of battery cells (30s, Park Fig. 4) is positioned between a first plate (81/71, Park Fig. 4) and a second plate (20, Park Fig. 4) of the plurality of plates (20s, Park Fig. 1);
the first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Park Fig. 4) is coupled (via 71a, Park Fig. 4) to the first plate (81/71, Park Fig. 4); and
the first battery cell (first 30 from left side, see Park Fig. 4) and the second plate (20, Park Fig. 4) define a space (space, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4-1) therebetween.
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723