DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to application amendments filed 10-2-2025.
2. Claims 1 - 17 are pending. Claims 1 - 13 have been amended. Claims 14 - 17 are new. Claims 1, 12, 13 are independent. This application was filed on 8-3-2023.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered, however upon further consideration of the prior art and the claimed limitation, they were not persuasive.
A. The Claim Objections for Claims 3 and 6 have been removed due to claim amendments.
B. The 112f analysis for Claims 3 and 6 has been removed due to claim amendments.
C. Applicant argues on page 11 of Remarks: ... Johansson does not set forth the claimed "authenticate a target person by performing biometric authentication using at least one of face information, iris information, fingerprint information, and vein information acquired from any of a second terminal and a capturing apparatus".
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Johansson discloses authentication of a target person utilizing biometric authentication techniques using facial information. (see Johansson col 12, lines 24-76: an authentication object may include a username and a hash of a password. Credentials 502 of an authentication object 500 may also include biometric credentials 506. Example biometric credentials include, but are not limited to, instances of information encoding one or more fingerprints, one or more retinal scans, deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), a human voice, an image of a face, typing cadence and others. Biometric credentials 506 generally may comprise information suitable for use in a biometric authentication system. The information may, for example, be an optical and/or capacitance scan of one or more fingerprints or information obtained by processing a scan of one or more fingerprints. Similarly, an image of a face (image target person captured) or information obtained from processing an image of a face may be used.; (selected: face information)
D. Applicant argues on page 11 of Remarks: ... (i) "authenticate a target person by performing biometric authentication using at least one of face information, iris information, fingerprint information, and vein information" much less that such information is (ii) "acquired from any of a second terminal and a capturing apparatus", ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. (see Johansson col 12, lines 24-76: an authentication object may include a username and a hash of a password. Credentials 502 of an authentication object 500 may also include biometric credentials 506. Example biometric credentials include, but are not limited to, instances of information encoding one or more fingerprints, one or more retinal scans, deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), a human voice, an image of a face, typing cadence and others. Biometric credentials 506 generally may comprise information suitable for use in a biometric authentication system. The information may, for example, be an optical and/or capacitance scan of one or more fingerprints or information obtained by processing a scan of one or more fingerprints. Similarly, an image of a face (image target person captured) or information obtained from processing an image of a face may be used.; (selected: face information)
E. Applicant argues on page 12 of Remarks: ... Johansson overall does not set forth to "determine whether a permission is present and whether any of information transmission to and information reception from a first terminal is permitted" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Johansson discloses the transmission of information and the receipt of information between network-connected node when authentication has successfully completed. (see Johansson col 23: network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information.; (successful authentication enables information transmission to and information retrieval))
Johansson discloses proof of successful authentication being transmitted to the user after successful authentication. (see Johansson col 18, lines 57-61: The identity provider 606 may, upon successful verification of the authentication object, provide cryptographically verifiable proof of successful authentication to the user device for use in proving successful authentication with the service provider 604.; (successful authentication enables information transmission to and information retrieval))
F. Applicant argues on page 12 of Remarks: ... transmitting or receiving "when the biometric authentication has succeeded and the permission is determined to be present" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Johansson discloses the transmission of information and the receipt of information between network-connected node when authentication has successfully completed. (see Johansson col 23: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information.; (successful authentication enables information transmission to and information retrieval))
G. Applicant argues on pages 12-13 of Remarks: ... Johansson does not set forth the "information transmitted to the first terminal" and "information received from the first terminal" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Johansson discloses the transmission of information and the receipt of information between network-connected node when authentication has successfully completed. (see Johansson col 23: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information.; (successful authentication enables information transmission to and information retrieval))
H. Applicant argues on page 13 of Remarks: ... "at least a part of the outbound information transmitted to the first terminal is related to the target person, and at least a part of the inbound information received from the first terminal includes information from the different person and to the target person" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Johansson discloses the transmission of information and the receipt of information between network-connected node when authentication has successfully completed. (see Johansson col 23: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information.; (successful authentication enables information transmission to and information retrieval))
And, Johansson discloses communication of information between a different person and target person. (see Johansson col 38, lines 16-23: a child may log into an operating system of that computer system and/or into an instance of the authentication object manager using the child's credentials. As a result of the child having logged in, the authentication object manager may provide authentication objects available to that child, including one or more authentication objects created for delegation of access by a parent.; (child, a relative of a parent)
I. Applicant argues on page 13 of Remarks: ... dependent claims 2 and 4-9, it is requested that the rejection be withdrawn at least by those claims' dependencies.
Responses to arguments against the independent claims also answer arguments against the associated dependent claims.
J. Applicant argues on page 13 of Remarks: ... independent claims 12 and 13, it is requested that the rejection be withdrawn for at least reasons similar to those noted above for claim 1 insomuch as these claims recite similar features.
Independent claims 12, 13 have similar limitations as independent claim 1. Responses to arguments against independent claim 1 also answer arguments against independent claims 12, 13.
K. Applicant argues on page 13 of Remarks: ... Claim 3, Claim 10, Claim 11: it is requested that the rejections be withdrawn at least by those claims' dependencies ... .
Responses to arguments against the independent claims also answer arguments against the associated dependent claims.
L. Applicant argues on page 14 of Remarks: ... New Claims.
The new claims are addressed in the current Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 4 - 9, 12 - 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johansson et al. (US Patent No. 9,652,604).
Regarding Claims 1, 12, 13, Johansson discloses a communication apparatus and a communication method and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
a) at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (see Johansson col 23, lines 56-66: provide a computer-readable storage medium for storing the basic programming and data constructs that may provide the functionality of at least one embodiment of the present disclosure. The applications (programs, code modules (i.e., programming modules), instructions) that, when executed by one or more processors, may provide the functionality of one or more embodiments of the present disclosure, may be stored in the storage subsystem 906. These application modules or instructions may be executed by the one or more processors 902.) to:
b) authenticate a target person (see Johansson col 9, lines 12-39: access to authentication objects managed by the authentication object manager 208 requires the presentation of credentials such as a username and password for the authentication object manager 208. FIG. 2, accordingly, shows an illustrative example of an interface 218 that allows for the input of credentials for providing access to functionality of the authentication object manager 208.; the interface 218 may be part of a login screen of an operating system where successful authentication (i.e., presentation of valid credentials) is a requirement for access not only to the authentication object manager, but to other applications.) by performing biometric authentication using at least one of face information, iris information, fingerprint information and vein information acquired from any of a second terminal and a capturing apparatus. (see Johansson col 12, lines 24-76: an authentication object may include a username and a hash of a password. Credentials 502 of an authentication object 500 may also include biometric credentials 506. Example biometric credentials include, but are not limited to, instances of information encoding one or more fingerprints, one or more retinal scans, deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), a human voice, an image of a face, typing cadence and others. Biometric credentials 506 generally may comprise information suitable for use in a biometric authentication system. The information may, for example, be an optical and/or capacitance scan of one or more fingerprints or information obtained by processing a scan of one or more fingerprints. Similarly, an image of a face (image target person captured) or information obtained from processing an image of a face may be used.; (selected: face information) and
c) determine whether a permission is present and whether any of information transmission to and information reception from a first terminal is permitted; (see Johansson col 18, lines 57-61: The identity provider 606 may, upon successful verification of the authentication object, provide cryptographically verifiable proof of successful authentication to the user device for use in proving successful authentication with the service provider 604.; (successful authentication enables information transmission to and information retrieval))
d) transmit outbound information to and receive inbound information from the first terminal when the biometric authentication has succeeded (see Johansson col 23: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information.; (successful authentication enables information transmission to and information retrieval)) and the permission is determined to be present, the first terminal is associated with the target person and is operated by a different person from the target person (see Johansson col 37, line 48 - col 38, line 2: a parent (different person), for example, may use the authentication object manager 1900 to create authentication objects that are usable to meter which activities are playable by which children (target person) and for how long through the use of authentication objects. Users may also be able to be specifiable through, for instance, input of an account username for one or more games.; A share button 1916 in the delegation component 1910 enables a user to provide an authentication object created for the purpose of delegation to a delegatee, that is, a person for whom access is to be delegated, such as a child (target person) of a parent (different person) operating the authentication object manager.; col 23, lines 4-16: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900.), wherein
e) at least a part of the outbound information transmitted to the first terminal is related to the target person, (see Johansson col 38, lines 20-23: As a result of the child having logged in, the authentication object manager may provide authentication objects available to that child, including one or more authentication objects created for delegation of access by a parent.; (authentication information related to target person (child))) and
f) at least a part of the inbound information received from the first terminal includes information from the different person and to the target person. (see Johansson col 38, lines 20-23: As a result of the child having logged in, the authentication object manager may provide authentication objects available to that child, including one or more authentication objects created for delegation of access by a parent.; (authentication information related to different person (parent)))
Furthermore, for Claim 12, Johansson discloses wherein at least one computer. (see Johansson col 17: The identity provider 606 may be a computer system comprising a collection of computing devices collectively configured to manage authentication for a set of service providers including the service provider 604.)
Furthermore, for Claim 13, Johansson discloses wherein a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to perform operations. (see Johansson col 23: The storage subsystem 906 may provide a computer-readable storage medium for storing the basic programming and data constructs that may provide the functionality of at least one embodiment of the present disclosure. The applications (programs, code modules (i.e., programming modules), instructions) that, when executed by one or more processors, may provide the functionality of one or more embodiments of the present disclosure,)
Regarding Claim 2, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
a) the first terminal is operated by a relative of the target person, and the different person from the target person is the relative of the target person, and
b) transmit, to the first terminal, permission request information indicating a request to the relative to give the permission to the target person; (see Johansson col 38, lines 16-23: a child may log into an operating system of that computer system and/or into an instance of the authentication object manager using the child's credentials. As a result of the child having logged in, the authentication object manager may provide authentication objects available to that child, including one or more authentication objects created for delegation of access by a parent.; (child, a relative of a parent)) and
c) receive reply information for the permission request information from the first terminal. (see Johansson col 23, lines 4-16: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information. The network interface subsystem 916 may also facilitate the receipt and/or transmission of data on other networks, such as an organizations intranet and/or other networks described below.)
Regarding Claim 4, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
a) the first terminal is operated by a relative of the target person, and the different person from the target person is the relative of the target person, (see Johansson col 38, lines 16-23: a child may log into an operating system of that computer system and/or into an instance of the authentication object manager using the child's credentials. As a result of the child having logged in, the authentication object manager may provide authentication objects available to that child, including one or more authentication objects created for delegation of access by a parent.; (child, a relative of a parent)) and
b) the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to transmit, to the first terminal, a first image in which the target person is captured. (see Johansson col 12, lines 24-76: an authentication object may include a username and a hash of a password. Credentials 502 of an authentication object 500 may also include biometric credentials 506. Example biometric credentials include, but are not limited to, instances of information encoding one or more fingerprints, one or more retinal scans, deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), a human voice, an image of a face (captured image), typing cadence and others. Biometric credentials 506 generally may comprise information suitable for use in a biometric authentication system. The information may, for example, be an optical and/or capacitance scan of one or more fingerprints or information obtained by processing a scan of one or more fingerprints. Similarly, an image of a face (image target person captured) or information obtained from processing an image of a face may be used.)
Regarding Claim 5, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to acquire the first image from the capturing apparatus, wherein the capturing apparatus captures the target person. (see Johansson col 12, lines 24-76: an authentication object may include a username and a hash of a password. Credentials 502 of an authentication object 500 may also include biometric credentials 506. Example biometric credentials include, but are not limited to, instances of information encoding one or more fingerprints, one or more retinal scans, deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), a human voice, an image of a face (capture image), typing cadence and others. Biometric credentials 506 generally may comprise information suitable for use in a biometric authentication system. The information may, for example, be an optical and/or capacitance scan of one or more fingerprints or information obtained by processing a scan of one or more fingerprints. Similarly, an image of a face or information obtained from processing an image of a face may be used. (image of face, capturing apparatus))
Regarding Claim 6, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine whether information reception to and information transmission from the first terminal is enabled based on a predetermined input from an assistance. (see Johansson col 23, lines 4-16: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information. The network interface subsystem 916 may also facilitate the receipt and/or transmission of data on other networks, such as an organizations intranet and/or other networks described below.; (network communication between system components, first terminal))
Regarding Claim 7, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to transmit the outbound information to the first terminal at timing that is preset for the target person. (Johansson col 42, lines 19-39: The user may be authenticated 2204 in various ways in accordance with various embodiments. For example, the user may authenticate with an authentication object, such as described above, or in other ways, such as by providing a username and password. As an example, the user may be authenticated as part of launching an application, such as the Kids Fun Central application described above in connection with FIG. 21. Further, while FIG. 22 shows authentication of the user occurring after receiving 2202 one or more authentication objects, authentication may be performed at other times (scheduled times) such as before receipt 2202 of some or all authentication objects or before receiving one or more authentication objects but before receiving one or more other authentication objects. Generally, unless otherwise clear from context, operations described herein and illustrated in a particular order may be performed in different orders in accordance with various embodiments.)
Regarding Claim 8, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
a) the first terminal is operated by a relative of a resident in a facility, (see Johansson col 38, lines 16-23: a child may log into an operating system of that computer system and/or into an instance of the authentication object manager using the child's credentials. As a result of the child having logged in, the authentication object manager may provide authentication objects available to that child, including one or more authentication objects created for delegation of access by a parent.) and
the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
b) receive, from the first terminal, reply information needed to be notified to the resident after the biometric authentication has succeeded; (see Johansson col 18, lines 57-61: The identity provider 606 may, upon successful verification of the authentication object, provide cryptographically verifiable proof of successful authentication to the user device for use in proving successful authentication with the service provider 604.) and
c) perform processing for prohibiting a person other than the resident from recognizing the reply information. (see Johansson col 18, lines 23-29: if the authentication response indicates that authentication was not successful, or if the service provider 604 does not receive an authentication response, the service provider 604 may continue to restrict access to services for which authentication is required,)
Regarding Claim 9, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to output decision support information useful for making a decision whether or not to comply with the request indicated by the permission request information. (see Johansson col 17, line 57 - col 18, line 8: The authentication object 608 may be provided, for example, as a result of user input provided to the user device 602 by a user of the user device 602. The user may, for example, utilize a graphical user interface or other interface such as described above to select the authentication object. Instead of verifying the authentication object 608 itself, the service provider 604 may transmit the authentication object 608 or information derived therefrom to the identity provider 606. The identity provider 606 may process the authentication object 608, such as by cryptographically verifying the authentication object 608 and determining whether credentials and/or other information provided in the authentication object 608 are valid or otherwise satisfy one or more conditions for authentication.; (additional support information obtained to authenticate))
Regarding Claim 14, Johansson discloses the communication method according to claim 12, wherein the communication method further comprises:
a) the first terminal is operated by a relative of the target person, and the different person from the target person is the relative of the target person, and
b) transmitting, to the first terminal, permission request information indicating a request to the relative to give the permission to the target person; (see Johansson col 38, lines 16-23: a child may log into an operating system of that computer system and/or into an instance of the authentication object manager using the child's credentials. As a result of the child having logged in, the authentication object manager may provide authentication objects available to that child, including one or more authentication objects created for delegation of access by a parent.; (child, a relative of a parent)) and
c) receiving reply information for the permission request information from the first terminal. (see Johansson col 23, lines 4-16: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information. The network interface subsystem 916 may also facilitate the receipt and/or transmission of data on other networks, such as an organizations intranet and/or other networks described below.)
Regarding Claim 16, Johansson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the program further causes the computer to execute:
a) the first terminal is operated by a relative of the target person, and the different person from the target person is the relative of the target person, and
b) transmitting, to the first terminal, permission request information indicating a request to the relative to give the permission to the target person; (see Johansson col 38, lines 16-23: a child may log into an operating system of that computer system and/or into an instance of the authentication object manager using the child's credentials. As a result of the child having logged in, the authentication object manager may provide authentication objects available to that child, including one or more authentication objects created for delegation of access by a parent.; (child, a relative of a parent)) and
c) receiving reply information for the permission request information from the first terminal. (see Johansson col 23, lines 4-16: The network interface subsystem 916 may provide an interface to other device systems and networks. The network interface subsystem 916 may serve as an interface for receiving data from and transmitting data to other systems from the device system 900. For example, the network interface subsystem 916 may enable transmission of authentication objects and other information, such as electronic requests to access a system (e.g., receive a webpage) and may enable receipt of responses to the requests, such as webpages or other information. The network interface subsystem 916 may also facilitate the receipt and/or transmission of data on other networks, such as an organizations intranet and/or other networks described below.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 3, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Kulakowski et al. (US PGPUB No. 20080235108).
Regarding Claim 3, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
a) the permission is permission to purchase any of a product and a service. (see Johansson col 7, lines 4-20: A first authentication object may, for instance, be usable for general authentication. A second authentication object may be usable to complete a commercial transaction (e.g., purchase of one or more items offered for consumption in an electronic marketplace).; (selected: product))
Johansson does not specifically disclose for b) generates recommendation information using information about the product or the service and based on reply information, causing a terminal to advance purchase processing of the product and the service.
However, Kulakowski discloses:
b) generates recommendation information for the target person by using information about the any of the product and the service (see Kulakowski paragraph [0111]: Such "purchase recommendation" is an initial indicator that the subject product is either available, or available and authenticated (partial or fully). Such "purchase recommendation" results from one or more steps of an authentication process being performed in the electronic device, or when electronic device cannot perform such processing the "purchase recommendation" processing can be performed by a computer server, network device or appliance, or web service, or web application, or another application or service.), and based on the reply information indicating the permission, cause a second terminal to access a commerce site via a URL to advance purchase processing of the any of the product and the service. (see Kulakowski paragraph [0117]: The PAS customer then requests a listing of retailers or service providers offering the product for sale or service meeting their specific pre-defined characteristics and then selects a retailer or service provider from which to purchase the product or service from.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johansson for b) generates recommendation information using information about the product or the service and based on reply information, causing a terminal to advance purchase processing of the product and the service as taught by Kulakowski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kulakowski for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the processing of additional information in the completion of authentication transactions. (see Kulakowski paragraph [0111])
Regarding Claim 15, Johansson discloses the communication method according to claim 14, wherein the permission is permission to purchase any of a product and a service, and the communication method further comprises:
Johansson does not specifically disclose for a) generates recommendation information using information about the product or the service, and for b) based on reply information, causing a terminal to advance purchase processing of the product and the service.
However, Kulakowski discloses:
a) generating recommendation information for the target person by using information about the any of the product and the service; (see Kulakowski paragraph [0111]: Such "purchase recommendation" is an initial indicator that the subject product is either available, or available and authenticated (partial or fully). Such "purchase recommendation" results from one or more steps of an authentication process being performed in the electronic device, or when electronic device cannot perform such processing the "purchase recommendation" processing can be performed by a computer server, network device or appliance, or web service, or web application, or another application or service.) and
b) based on the reply information indicating the permission, causing a second terminal to access a commerce site via a URL to advance purchase processing of the any of the product and the service. (see Kulakowski paragraph [0117]: The PAS customer then requests a listing of retailers or service providers offering the product for sale or service meeting their specific pre-defined characteristics and then selects a retailer or service provider from which to purchase the product or service from.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johansson for b) generates recommendation information using information about the product or the service as taught by Kulakowski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kulakowski for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the processing of additional information in the completion of authentication transactions. (see Kulakowski paragraph [0111])
Regarding Claim 17, Johansson discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the program further causes the computer to execute:
a) the permission is permission to purchase any of a product and a service, (see Johansson col 7, lines 4-20: A first authentication object may, for instance, be usable for general authentication. A second authentication object may be usable to complete a commercial transaction (e.g., purchase of one or more items offered for consumption in an electronic marketplace).; (selected: product))
Johansson does not specifically disclose for b) generates recommendation information using information about the product or the service, and for c) based on reply information, causing a terminal to advance purchase processing of the product and the service.
However, Kulakowski discloses:
b) generating recommendation information for the target person by using information about the any of the product and the service; (see Kulakowski paragraph [0111]: Such "purchase recommendation" is an initial indicator that the subject product is either available, or available and authenticated (partial or fully). Such "purchase recommendation" results from one or more steps of an authentication process being performed in the electronic device, or when electronic device cannot perform such processing the "purchase recommendation" processing can be performed by a computer server, network device or appliance, or web service, or web application, or another application or service.) and
c) based on the reply information indicating the permission, causing a second terminal to access a commerce site via a URL to advance purchase processing of the any of the product and the service. (see Kulakowski paragraph [0117]: The PAS customer then requests a listing of retailers or service providers offering the product for sale or service meeting their specific pre-defined characteristics and then selects a retailer or service provider from which to purchase the product or service from.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johansson for b) generates recommendation information using information about the product or the service, and for c) based on reply information, causing a terminal to advance purchase processing of the product and the service as taught by Kulakowski. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kulakowski for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables the processing of additional information in the completion of authentication transactions. (see Kulakowski paragraph [0111])
8. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Li et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200257785).
Regarding Claim 10, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 9.
Johansson does not specifically disclose decision support information generated by a machine learning model which has learned trends from information transmitted and received in the past.
However, Li discloses wherein the decision support information indicates a degree of attention generated by a machine learning model which has learned trends of the permission request information transmitted and received in the past. (see Li paragraph [0052]: provide user authentication by identifying primary biometric features from the biometric features stored in the mobile device and comparing a biometric feature input by the user with the primary biometric features. For example, the primary biometric feature may be a fingerprint, an iris, voice or face of the user. The primary biometric feature cannot be added, updated or removed by a user manually. Instead, the primary biometric feature may be identified by a machine learning algorithm based on the user's history activities associated with biometric features of the user.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johansson for decision support information generated by a machine learning model which has learned trends from information transmitted and received in the past as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Li for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of information including history information to perform authentication operations. (see Li paragraph [0052])
9. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson in view of Anderson (US PGPUB No. 20160050204).
Regarding Claim 11, Johansson discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1.
Johansson does not specifically disclose change a criterion for the authentication based on at least one of a time and frequency at which the authentication processing was performed.
However, Anderson discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to change a criterion for the biometric authentication based on at least one of a time and frequency at which the authentication processing was performed for the target person using a machine learning model trained on historical authentication data. (see Anderson paragraph [0098]: an apparatus that may include a memory to store authentication information for authenticating to a device group and to store a wearable device identifier for an unauthenticated device; a communications interface to transmit a probe signal over a local communication path and receive a reply message responsive to the probe signal; and a device authentication module to monitor the reply message, and schedule transmission of the authentication information over the local communication path when the reply message comprises the device identifier and a proximity indicator that identifies a local origin of the reply message.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Johansson for change a criterion for the authentication based on at least one of a time and frequency at which the authentication processing was performed as taught by Anderson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Anderson for the benefits achieved from the flexibility of a system that utilizes multiple parameters such as time and frequency to perform authentication operations. (see Johansson paragraph [0098])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CJ/
January 12, 2026
/KHOI V LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436