DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendment/Remarks received on 30 December 2025. Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-12, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 3, 4, and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 5-17, and 19 remain pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 6, filed 30 December 2025, with respect to objected claims 1, 5-7, 9-11, 16, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments 30 December 2025. The objections of 1, 5-7, 9-11, 16, and 19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 6-11, filed 30 December 2025, with respect to rejected claims 1-2, 5-17, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect the Applicant’s argument,
With regard to the Examiner's combination of Boaz and Holt, it is respectfully noted that the Examiner has made a correspondence between Holt's collectors 116 and the presently claimed main sensor. However, the presently claimed main sensor is configured to acquire measurement data, whereas Holt's collectors 116 are not capable of capturing any data. In Holt, an electricity meter transmits data to collectors 116. These collectors 116 provide for the processing of the data and for transmission of the data to a host server. In addition, the collectors 116 may be used as repeaters. As such, even in combination with Boaz, there is no first data link for the transmission of measurement data. Thus, with regard to each rejection built on the combination of Boaz and Holt, it is not believed that the claimed requirement of a first data link configured to transmit measurement data is met. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraph 3).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0280308 A1 teaches:
System 110 further comprises collectors 116. In one embodiment, collectors 116 are also meters operable to detect and record usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. In addition, collectors 116 are operable to send data to and receive data from meters 114. Thus, like the meters 114, the collectors 116 may comprise both circuitry for measuring the consumption of a service or commodity and for generating data reflecting the consumption and circuitry for transmitting and receiving data. In one embodiment, collector 116 and meters 114 communicate with and amongst one another using any one of several wireless techniques such as, for example, frequency hopping spread spectrum (FHSS) and direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS). (pg. 2, par. [0025])
A collector 116 and the meters 114 with which it communicates define a subnet/LAN 120 of system 110. As used herein, meters 114 and collectors 116 may be referred to as “nodes” in the subnet 120. In each subnet/LAN 120, each meter transmits data related to consumption of the commodity being metered at the meter's location. The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206. The data collection server 206 stores the data for analysis and preparation of bills, for example. The data collection server 206 may be a specially programmed general purpose computing system and may communicate with collectors 116 via a network 112. The network 112 may comprise any form of network, including a wireless network or a fixed-wire network, such as a local area network (LAN), a wide area network, the Internet, an intranet, a telephone network, such as the public switched telephone network (PSTN), a Frequency Hopping Spread Spectrum (FHSS) radio network, a mesh network, a Wi-Fi (802.11) network, a Wi-Max (802.16) network, a land line (POTS) network, or any combination of the above.
In summary, Holt’s teaching of “collectors 116 are also meters operable to detect and record usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas” and “A collector 116 and the meters 114 with which it communicates define a subnet/LAN 120 of system 110.” meets the claimed limitations of “a main sensor” and “… the main sensor is coupled to the at least one additional sensor via a first data link …”. Hence, the Applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive.
In regards to the Applicant’s argument,
In addition to the above, it is respectfully noted that originally-filed claim 4 recited "wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and/or a data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language," whereas newly-amended independent claim 1 recites "wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language." None of Boaz, Holt, Gilgenbach, Amundsen, Lakich, Langenberg, Klicpera or Poojary teach or suggest the use of both an S0 pulse interface and also data transmission by M-Bus and/or Smart Message Language. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraph 4 - pg. 10, paragraph 1)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner emphasizes that all anticipated components and limitations
of pending claims are present in the prior art as supported below. In addition, the Examiner notes the limitation of “wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language” in claim 1, and similarly in claim 19, was newly presented in the Amendment After Non-Final received on 30 December 2026 by the Office, and has been addressed as set forth in the Office Action below.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments,
Thus, neither Boaz, Holt, Gilgenbach, Amundsen, Lakich, Langenberg, Klicpera nor Poojary provide for: "... wherein the main sensor is coupled to the at least one additional sensor via a first data link and is configured to receive the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor via the first data link ... wherein the first data link is configured to transmit the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor by means of pulse sequences ... wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language", as recited by newly-amended independent claim 1. (see Remarks, pg. 10, paragraph 2)
Similarly, neither Boaz, Holt, Gilgenbach, Amundsen, Lakich, Langenberg, Klicpera nor Poojary provide for: "... the main sensor receiving measurement data from the at least one additional sensor, wherein the main sensor is coupled to the at least one additional sensor via a first data link, the measurement data from the at least one additional sensor being received through the first data link ... wherein the first data link is configured to transmit the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor by means of pulse sequences ... wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language", as recited by newly-amended independent claim 19. (pg. 10, paragraph 3)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner refers to the above response, pg. 2, paragraph 4 - pg. 4, paragraph 5 of this Office action, and the arguments herein as addressed.
Claims 1 and 19 stand objected to and claims 1-2, 5-17, and 19 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the grammatical issue of “and” at the end of line 3 and the missing conjunction of “and” at the end of line 4. Suggested claim language: delete “and” at the end of line 3 and add the conjunction “and” at the end of line 4.
Claim 19 includes the punctuation issue “… the main sensor, comprising …” in line 2. Suggested claim language: “… the main sensor comprising …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 19 includes the antecedent issue “measurement data” in line 6. The limitation of “the main sensor and the at least one additional sensor each acquiring measurement data” in lines 3-4 (claim 19) provides antecedent support for “receiving measurement data from the at least one additional sensor …” in lines 5-6 (claim 19). Suggested claim language: “receiving the measurement data”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 19 incudes redundant claim language “the main sensor transmitting its own measurement data to a data evaluation unit, the main sensor being coupled to the data evaluation unit via a second data link, the measurement data of the main sensor and the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor being transmitted to the data evaluation unit via the second data link,” in lines 9-13. Suggested claim language: “the main sensor being coupled to the data evaluation unit via a second data link, the measurement data of the main sensor and the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor being transmitted to the data evaluation unit via the second data link,”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10-12, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2005/0270173 A1 (hereinafter Boaz) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0280308 A1 (hereinafter Holt) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2003/0179714 A1 (hereinafter Gilgenbach) and WIPO Publication No. WO 0189185 A1 (hereinafter Klement).
As per claim 1, Boaz substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Boaz teaches the limitations of a monitoring system (Fig. 1, element 30; i.e. an automated meter reading system) for monitoring a system (pg. 6, par. [0048]; i.e. “ As illustrated in FIGS. 1-11, embodiments of the present invention incorporate an automated meter reading network system 30 that advantageously provides for both automated data acquisition and energy management.”), said monitoring system (Fig. 1, element 30; i.e. the automated meter reading system) comprising:
a main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. multifunction meter data collectors); and
at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. utility meters) separate from the main sensor (pgs. 6-7, par. [0048] and [0049]; i.e. [0048]: “The meter data collectors 41 can be located at a customer location, such as, for example, mounted to a residence or other building structure 40, and can each be connected to all utility meters at the customer's location.” and [0049]: “… an automated meter reading network system 30 includes a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40. … A plurality of multifunction meter data controllers or collectors 41 are each preferably positioned adjacent one or more of the utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, and are in communication with the respective utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, through the respective utility usage sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, to collect the utility usage data from each of the plurality of sensors 73, 75, 77, 79.”);
a data evaluation unit (Fig. 1, element 61 of Fig. 1, element 60; i.e. a host computer of a utility control center) separate from the main sensor and the at least one additional sensor (pg. 7, par. [0054]; i.e. “… the system 30 also includes a host computer 61 preferably positioned at a utility control center 60, remote from and in communication with the plurality of meter data collectors 41 through at least a subset of the plurality of meter data collectors 41, to receive the utility usage data for the plurality of meter data collectors 41.”),
wherein the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors) and the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) are each configured to acquire measurement data (pg. 3, par. [0019], pg. 6, par. [0049], pg. 7, par. [0051]; i.e. [0019] : “For example, if equipped with the analog input module, each meter data collector can monitor air-conditioning performance points, such as pressure and temperature”, [0049]: “… a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40. Each of the utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, is preferably interfaced with and positioned adjacent one or more usage sensors, e.g., sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, which sense utility usage data from the respective utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78.”, [0051]: “… the multifunction meter data collector 41 includes a power module 42, a controller 43, a telemetry module 44, a memory module 45, a multiple input connection block 46 including a digital and analog inputs, and a housing 47 preferably meeting NEMA standards to enclose the multifunction collector 41. An analog input module 49 allows for monitoring of, for example, air-conditioning performance points such as pressure and temperature, providing municipalities the ability to create additional revenue sources.”),
wherein the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors) is coupled to the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) and is configured to receive the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor (pgs. 6-7, par. [0049] and [0051]; i.e. [0049]: “… an automated meter reading network system 30 includes a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40. … A plurality of multifunction meter data controllers or collectors 41 are each preferably positioned adjacent one or more of the utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, and are in communication with the respective utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, through the respective utility usage sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, to collect the utility usage data from each of the plurality of sensors 73, 75, 77, 79.” and [0051]: “ Each meter data collector 41 preferably includes provisions for an RS-232/RS-485 module or suitable substitute which can be used to connect the meter data collector 41 to a high function meter with an RS-232/RS-485 port or any other device that can be controlled via RS 232/RS-485 or a suitable substitute.”),
wherein the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors) is coupled to the data evaluation unit (Fig. 1, element 61 of Fig. 1, element 60; i.e. the host computer of the utility control center) via a second data link (Fig. 1, element 80; i.e. a fiber optic or other network infrastructure) and is configured to transmit the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor to the data evaluation unit via the second data link (pg. 7, par. [0054]; i.e. “… the system 30 also includes a host computer 61 preferably positioned at a utility control center 60, remote from and in communication with the plurality of meter data collectors 41 through at least a subset of the plurality of meter data collectors 41, to receive the utility usage data for the plurality of meter data collectors 41. The host computer 61 has a memory 63 including or otherwise interfaced with a database 65 to store and process the utility usage data. The system 30 can also include one or more remote centers or substations 50 strategically located throughout the mesh communications network 32 and which can include a field host data collector 51 or alternatively field host data collector 51', for gathering and/or processing the usage reading data. The field host data collectors 51, 51', can be strategically positioned throughout a utility's coverage area and connected preferably to a fiber optic or other network infrastructure 80 to thereby establish communications between the host computer 61 and all available meter data collectors 41. The field host data collectors 51, 51' can request and store the utility usage data and can pass the instructions from the host computer 61 to the meter data collectors 41.”),
transmit the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor by means of pulse sequences (pg. 7, par. [0052]; i.e. “The sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, generally known to those skilled in the art, are connected to the ports in the connection block 46 and can be tailored to the specific type of utility meter 72, 74, 76, 78, to be read. … Another type of sensor, known as a "pulse-type" metering device, generates a voltage pulse at intervals that accurately reflect the energy or utility usage of the respective utility.”).
Not explicitly taught are a process monitoring system for monitoring an industrial process;
the main sensor is coupled to the at least one additional sensor via a first data link;
the main sensor is configured to transmit its own measurement data and the measurement data of the least one additional sensor to the data evaluation unit;
the first data link is configured to transmit measurement data; and
wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language.
However Holt, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0022] and [0023]), teaches the missing limitations of a main sensor (Fig. 1, element 116; i.e. collectors) is coupled to an at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 114; i.e. a plurality of meters) via a first data link (pg. 2, par. [0024]-[0026] and Fig 1, element 120; i.e. a subnet/LAN and [0024]: “System 110 comprises a plurality of meters 114, which are operable to sense and record consumption or usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. Meters 114 may be located at customer premises such as, for example, a home or place of business. Meters 114 comprise circuitry for measuring the consumption of the service or commodity being consumed at their respective locations and for generating data reflecting the consumption, as well as other data related thereto.”, [0025]: “System 110 further comprises collectors 116. In one embodiment, collectors 116 are also meters operable to detect and record usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. In addition, collectors 116 are operable to send data to and receive data from meters 114. Thus, like the meters 114, the collectors 116 may comprise both circuitry for measuring the consumption of a service or commodity and for generating data reflecting the consumption and circuitry for transmitting and receiving data.”, and [0026]: “A collector 116 and the meters 114 with which it communicates define a subnet/LAN 120 of system 110. As used herein, meters 114 and collectors 116 may be referred to as “nodes” in the subnet 120. In each subnet/LAN 120, each meter transmits data related to consumption of the commodity being metered at the meter's location. The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206.”);
the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 116; i.e. the collectors) is configured to transmit its own measurement data and measurement data of the at least one additional sensor to a data unit (pgs. 1, par. [0023] and pg. 2, par. [0025] and [0026]; i.e. [0023]: “The collectors receive and compile metering data from a plurality of meter devices via wireless communications.”, [0025]: “System 110 further comprises collectors 116. In one embodiment, collectors 116 are also meters operable to detect and record usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. In addition, collectors 116 are operable to send data to and receive data from meters 114.”, and [0026]: “The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206.”); and
the first data link (Fig 1, element 120; i.e. the subnet/LAN) is configured to transmit measurement data (pg. 2, par. [0026]; i.e. “A collector 116 and the meters 114 with which it communicates define a subnet/LAN 120 of system 110. As used herein, meters 114 and collectors 116 may be referred to as “nodes” in the subnet 120. In each subnet/LAN 120, each meter transmits data related to consumption of the commodity being metered at the meter's location. The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206.”) for the purpose of data communication for data storage and analysis (pgs. 1-2, par. [0023] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz to include the addition of the limitation of a main sensor is coupled to an at least one additional sensor via a first data link; the main sensor is configured to transmit its own measurement data and measurement data of the at least one additional sensor to a data unit; and the first data link is configured to transmit measurement data to quickly communicate information to all meters (Holt: pg. 4, par. [0044]).
Boaz in view of Holt does not expressly teach a process monitoring system for monitoring an industrial process; and
wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language.
However Gilgenbach, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 2-3, par. [0018]), teaches the missing limitation of a process monitoring system for monitoring an industrial process (pg. 2, par. [0018]; i.e. “The system 10 includes commodity meters 12 connected to or otherwise associated with one or more buildings or properties 14 such as homes, businesses, and industrial plants. The meters 12 can be any device capable of measuring a commodity (i.e., any economic good) being consumed, such as electricity, water, gas, steam, telephone service, oil, gasoline, and the like.”) for the purpose of remote data communication between meters, collection devices, and servers (pg. 3, par. [0021] and [0023]), remote meter control (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 3, par. [0024), and tamper protection (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 2, par. [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt to include the addition of the limitation of a process monitoring system for monitoring an industrial process to advantageously detect theft quickly to prevent further loss of a commodity (Gilgenbach: pg. 2, par. [0010]).
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach does not expressly teach wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language.
However Klement, in an analogous art of data acquisition (abstract and pg. 1, paragraph 2), teaches the missing limitations of a data link comprises an S0 pulse interface (pg. 3, paragraph 9 – pg. 4, paragraph 1 and Fig. 2, element 17; i.e. a corresponding S0 interface) and data transmission by means of M-Bus (pg. 5, paragraph 7; i.e. “The M-bus is preferably provided for the communication between the supply meters 11, 12, 13 and the data acquisition device 14.”) for the purpose of providing an arrangement for remote reading of consumption meters (pg. 1, paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach to include the addition of the limitations of a data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus to advantageously enable automatic processing of disparate time-dependent data to allow end consumers to switch suppliers and tariffs more quickly (Klement: pg. 1, paragraphs 4 and 7).
As per claim 2, Boaz teaches the second data link (Fig. 1, element 80; i.e. the fiber optic or other network infrastructure) comprise a hardware interface at the main sensor (pg. 7, par. [0051] and Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. “Each meter data collector 41 preferably includes provisions for an RS-232/RS-485 module or suitable substitute which can be used to connect the meter data collector 41 to a high function meter with an RS-232/RS-485 port or any other device that can be controlled via RS 232/RS-485 or a suitable substitute.”).
Boaz does not expressly teach the first data link and the second data link comprise different hardware interfaces at the main sensor.
However Holt, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0022] and [0023]), teaches the missing limitation the first data link (Fig. 1, element 120; i.e. the subnet/LAN) and a second data link (Fig. 1, element 112; i.e. a network) comprise different hardware interfaces (Fig. 3, element 306 and 308; i.e. wireless LAN communications circuitry and a network interface) at the main sensor (pg. 3, par. [0034] and Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the collectors and [0034]: “The collector 116 further comprises wireless LAN communications circuitry 306 for communicating wirelessly with the meters 114 in a subnet/LAN and a network interface 308 for communication over the network 112.”) for the purpose of data communication for data storage and analysis (pgs. 1-2, par. [0023] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz to include the addition of the limitation of the first data link and a second data link comprise different hardware interfaces at the main sensor to quickly communicate information to all meters (Holt: pg. 4, par. [0044]).
As per claim 10, Boaz teaches the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors), the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters), and the data evaluation unit (Fig. 1, element 61 of Fig. 1, element 60; i.e. the host computer of the utility control center) are arranged spatially separately from one another (pgs. 6-7, par. [0048], [0049], [0052] and Figs. 1 and 9).
As per claim 11, Boaz teaches the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collector) and the data evaluation unit (Fig. 1, element 61 of Fig. 1, element 60; i.e. the host computer of the utility control center) are arranged spatially separately from one another and are each integrated in separate housings (pgs. 6-7, par. [0048], [0049], [0052] and Figs. 1 and 9); and
the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) and the data evaluation unit (Fig. 1, element 61 of Fig. 1, element 60; i.e. the host computer of the utility control center) are arranged spatially separately from one another and are each integrated in separate housings (pgs. 6-7, par. [0048], [0049], [0052] and Figs. 1 and 9).
Boaz does not expressly the main sensor, the at least one additional sensor, and the data evaluation unit are arranged spatially separately from one another and are each integrated in separate housings.
However Holt, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0022] and [0023]), teaches the missing limitation of the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 116; i.e. the collectors), the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 114; i.e. the plurality of meters), and a data evaluation unit (Fig. 1, element 206, i.e. data collection server) are arranged spatially separately from one another and are each integrated in separate housings (pg. 2, par. [0023]-[0026] and Fig. 1) for the purpose of data communication for data storage and analysis (pgs. 1-2, par. [0023] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz to include the addition of the limitation of the main sensor, the at least one additional sensor, and a data evaluation unit are arranged spatially separately from one another and are each integrated in separate housings to quickly communicate information to all meters (Holt: pg. 4, par. [0044]).
As per claim 12, Boaz teaches the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors) and the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) are configured to acquire mutually different physical variables as measurement data (pg. 3, par. [0019], pg. 6, par. [0049], pg. 7, par. [0051]; i.e. [0019] : “For example, if equipped with the analog input module, each meter data collector can monitor air-conditioning performance points, such as pressure and temperature”, [0049]: “… a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40. Each of the utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, is preferably interfaced with and positioned adjacent one or more usage sensors, e.g., sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, which sense utility usage data from the respective utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78.”, [0051]: “… the multifunction meter data collector 41 includes a power module 42, a controller 43, a telemetry module 44, a memory module 45, a multiple input connection block 46 including a digital and analog inputs, and a housing 47 preferably meeting NEMA standards to enclose the multifunction collector 41. An analog input module 49 allows for monitoring of, for example, air-conditioning performance points such as pressure and temperature, providing municipalities the ability to create additional revenue sources.”).
As per claim 16, Boaz teaches the at least one additional sensor Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) is an electricity meter or a water meter (pgs. 6-7, par. [0049]; i.e. [0049]: “… an automated meter reading network system 30 includes a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40.
As per claim 19, Boaz substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Boaz teaches the limitations of a method for monitoring a system (pg. 6, par. [0048]; i.e. “ As illustrated in FIGS. 1-11, embodiments of the present invention incorporate an automated meter reading network system 30 that advantageously provides for both automated data acquisition and energy management.”) using a main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. multifunction meter data collectors) and at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. utility meters) separate from the main sensor (pgs. 6-7, par. [0048] and [0049]; i.e. [0048]: “The meter data collectors 41 can be located at a customer location, such as, for example, mounted to a residence or other building structure 40, and can each be connected to all utility meters at the customer's location.” and [0049]: “… an automated meter reading network system 30 includes a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40. … A plurality of multifunction meter data controllers or collectors 41 are each preferably positioned adjacent one or more of the utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, and are in communication with the respective utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, through the respective utility usage sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, to collect the utility usage data from each of the plurality of sensors 73, 75, 77, 79.”), comprising:
the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors) and the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) each acquiring measurement data (pg. 3, par. [0019], pg. 6, par. [0049], pg. 7, par. [0051]; i.e. [0019] : “For example, if equipped with the analog input module, each meter data collector can monitor air-conditioning performance points, such as pressure and temperature”, [0049]: “… a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40. Each of the utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, is preferably interfaced with and positioned adjacent one or more usage sensors, e.g., sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, which sense utility usage data from the respective utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78.”, [0051]: “… the multifunction meter data collector 41 includes a power module 42, a controller 43, a telemetry module 44, a memory module 45, a multiple input connection block 46 including a digital and analog inputs, and a housing 47 preferably meeting NEMA standards to enclose the multifunction collector 41. An analog input module 49 allows for monitoring of, for example, air-conditioning performance points such as pressure and temperature, providing municipalities the ability to create additional revenue sources.”),
the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors) receiving measurement data from the at least one additional sensor, wherein the main sensor is coupled to the at least one additional sensor (pgs. 6-7, par. [0049] and [0051] and Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters; i.e. [0049]: “… an automated meter reading network system 30 includes a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40. … A plurality of multifunction meter data controllers or collectors 41 are each preferably positioned adjacent one or more of the utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, and are in communication with the respective utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, through the respective utility usage sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, to collect the utility usage data from each of the plurality of sensors 73, 75, 77, 79.” and [0051]: “ Each meter data collector 41 preferably includes provisions for an RS-232/RS-485 module or suitable substitute which can be used to connect the meter data collector 41 to a high function meter with an RS-232/RS-485 port or any other device that can be controlled via RS 232/RS-485 or a suitable substitute.”),
the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors) being coupled to the data evaluation unit (Fig. 1, element 61 of Fig. 1, element 60; i.e. the host computer of the utility control center) via a second data link (Fig. 1, element 80; i.e. a fiber optic or other network infrastructure), the measurement data of the at least additional one sensor being transmitted to the data evaluation unit via the second data link (pg. 7, par. [0054]; i.e. “… the system 30 also includes a host computer 61 preferably positioned at a utility control center 60, remote from and in communication with the plurality of meter data collectors 41 through at least a subset of the plurality of meter data collectors 41, to receive the utility usage data for the plurality of meter data collectors 41. The host computer 61 has a memory 63 including or otherwise interfaced with a database 65 to store and process the utility usage data. The system 30 can also include one or more remote centers or substations 50 strategically located throughout the mesh communications network 32 and which can include a field host data collector 51 or alternatively field host data collector 51', for gathering and/or processing the usage reading data. The field host data collectors 51, 51', can be strategically positioned throughout a utility's coverage area and connected preferably to a fiber optic or other network infrastructure 80 to thereby establish communications between the host computer 61 and all available meter data collectors 41. The field host data collectors 51, 51' can request and store the utility usage data and can pass the instructions from the host computer 61 to the meter data collectors 41.”),
transmit measurement data of the at least one additional sensor by means of pulse sequences (pg. 7, par. [0052]; i.e. “The sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, generally known to those skilled in the art, are connected to the ports in the connection block 46 and can be tailored to the specific type of utility meter 72, 74, 76, 78, to be read. … Another type of sensor, known as a "pulse-type" metering device, generates a voltage pulse at intervals that accurately reflect the energy or utility usage of the respective utility.”).
Not explicitly taught are monitoring an industrial process;
the main sensor is coupled to the at least one additional sensor via a first data link, the measurement data from the at least one additional sensor being received through the first data link;
the main sensor transmitting its own measurement data to a data evaluation unit, the measurement data of the main sensor and the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor being transmitting to the data evaluation unit; and
wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language.
However Holt, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0022] and [0023]), teaches the missing limitations of a main sensor (Fig. 1, element 116; i.e. collectors) is coupled to an at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 114; i.e. a plurality of meters) via a first data link (Fig 1, element 120; i.e. a subnet/LAN), measurement data from the at least one additional sensor being received through the first data link (pg. 2, par. [0024]-[0026] and Fig 1, element 120; i.e. the subnet/LAN and [0024]: “System 110 comprises a plurality of meters 114, which are operable to sense and record consumption or usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. Meters 114 may be located at customer premises such as, for example, a home or place of business. Meters 114 comprise circuitry for measuring the consumption of the service or commodity being consumed at their respective locations and for generating data reflecting the consumption, as well as other data related thereto.”, [0025]: “System 110 further comprises collectors 116. In one embodiment, collectors 116 are also meters operable to detect and record usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. In addition, collectors 116 are operable to send data to and receive data from meters 114. Thus, like the meters 114, the collectors 116 may comprise both circuitry for measuring the consumption of a service or commodity and for generating data reflecting the consumption and circuitry for transmitting and receiving data.”, and [0026]: “A collector 116 and the meters 114 with which it communicates define a subnet/LAN 120 of system 110. As used herein, meters 114 and collectors 116 may be referred to as “nodes” in the subnet 120. In each subnet/LAN 120, each meter transmits data related to consumption of the commodity being metered at the meter's location. The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206.”);
the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 116; i.e. the collectors) transmitting its own measurement data to a data unit (pg. 2, par. [0025] and [0026]; i.e. [0025]: “System 110 further comprises collectors 116. In one embodiment, collectors 116 are also meters operable to detect and record usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. In addition, collectors 116 are operable to send data to and receive data from meters 114.”, and [0026]: “The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206.”); and
the measurement data of the main sensor and the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor being transmitting to the data unit (pgs. 1, par. [0023] and pg. 2, par. [0025] and [0026]; i.e. [0023]: “The collectors receive and compile metering data from a plurality of meter devices via wireless communications.”, [0025]: “System 110 further comprises collectors 116. In one embodiment, collectors 116 are also meters operable to detect and record usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. In addition, collectors 116 are operable to send data to and receive data from meters 114.”, and [0026]: “The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206.”) for the purpose of data communication for data storage and analysis (pgs. 1-2, par. [0023] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz to include the addition of the limitations of a main sensor is coupled to an at least one additional sensor via a first data link, measurement data from the at least one additional sensor being received through the first data link; the main sensor transmitting its own measurement data to a data unit; and the measurement data of the main sensor and the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor being transmitting to the data unit to quickly communicate information to all meters (Holt: pg. 4, par. [0044]).
Boaz in view of Holt does not expressly monitoring an industrial process; and
wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language.
However Gilgenbach, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 2-3, par. [0018]), teaches the missing limitation of monitoring an industrial process (pg. 2, par. [0018]; i.e. “The system 10 includes commodity meters 12 connected to or otherwise associated with one or more buildings or properties 14 such as homes, businesses, and industrial plants. The meters 12 can be any device capable of measuring a commodity (i.e., any economic good) being consumed, such as electricity, water, gas, steam, telephone service, oil, gasoline, and the like.”) for the purpose of remote data communication between meters, collection devices, and servers (pg. 3, par. [0021] and [0023]), remote meter control (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 3, par. [0024), and tamper protection (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 2, par. [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt to include the addition of the limitation of monitoring an industrial process to advantageously detect theft quickly to prevent further loss of a commodity (Gilgenbach: pg. 2, par. [0010]).
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach does not expressly teach wherein the first data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus and/or by means of Smart Message Language.
However Klement, in an analogous art of data acquisition (abstract and pg. 1, paragraph 2), teaches the missing limitations of a data link comprises an S0 pulse interface (pg. 3, paragraph 9 – pg. 4, paragraph 1 and Fig. 2, element 17; i.e. a corresponding S0 interface) and data transmission by means of M-Bus (pg. 5, paragraph 7; i.e. “The M-bus is preferably provided for the communication between the supply meters 11, 12, 13 and the data acquisition device 14.”) for the purpose of providing an arrangement for remote reading of consumption meters (pg. 1, paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach to include the addition of the limitations of a data link comprises an S0 pulse interface and data transmission by means of M-Bus to advantageously enable automatic processing of disparate time-dependent data to allow end consumers to switch suppliers and tariffs more quickly (Klement: pg. 1, paragraphs 4 and 7).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach, Klement, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0094248 A1 (hereinafter Lakich).
As per claim 5, Boaz does not expressly teach the first data link comprises a gateway to which the at least one additional sensor is connected, wherein the main sensor is configured to receive and/or retrieve the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor from the gateway.
However Holt, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0022] and [0023]), teaches the missing limitation of the first data link (Fig 1, element 120; i.e. the subnet/LAN) comprises a network to which the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 114; i.e. the plurality of meters) is connected, wherein the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 116; i.e. the collectors) is configured to receive and/or retrieve the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor (pg. 2, par. [0026]; i.e. “A collector 116 and the meters 114 with which it communicates define a subnet/LAN 120 of system 110. As used herein, meters 114 and collectors 116 may be referred to as “nodes” in the subnet 120. In each subnet/LAN 120, each meter transmits data related to consumption of the commodity being metered at the meter's location. The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz to include the addition of the limitation of the first data link comprises a network to which the at least one additional sensor is connected, wherein the main sensor is configured to receive and/or retrieve the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor to quickly communicate information to all meters (Holt: pg. 4, par. [0044]).
Boaz in view of Holt does not expressly teach a gateway.
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach does not expressly teach a gateway.
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement does not expressly teach a gateway.
However Lakich, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 3-4, par. [0036]), teaches the missing limitation of a gateway (pg. 5, par. [0053]; i.e. “… full two-way messaging to every device. For example, the respectively represented meter devices may be variously configured to provide differing communications capabilities. In exemplary configurations, one or more of GPRS, Ethernet, and RF LAN communications modules may be provided. GPRS will allow meters to be IP addressable over a public backhaul and provide more bandwidth than the meter will likely ever require, but may incur ongoing subscription costs. Ethernet connectivity can be used to bridge to third party technologies, including WiFi, WiMax, in-home gateways, and BPL (Broadband over Power Lines), without integrating any of these technologies directly into the metering device, but with the tradeoff of requiring external wiring and a two part solution..”) for the purpose of two-way data communication (pg. 5, par. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement to include the addition of the limitation of a gateway to advantageously enhance and/or increase load control capabilities resulting in improved meter functioning and greater economy vis-a-vis load control for individual metrology components (Lakich: pg. 2, par. [0020] and [0026]-[0028]).
As per claim 6, Boaz teaches the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) is configured to transmit its measurement data by means of pulse sequences (pgs. 6-7, [0049] and [0052]; i.e. [0049]: “… an automated meter reading network system 30 includes a plurality of utility meters, e.g., electric 72, water 74, gas 76, steam 78, and/or other usage, generally distributed either at a very large customer site or throughout a plurality of smaller customer sites 40. … A plurality of multifunction meter data controllers or collectors 41 are each preferably positioned adjacent one or more of the utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, and are in communication with the respective utility meters 72, 74, 76, 78, through the respective utility usage sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, to collect the utility usage data from each of the plurality of sensors 73, 75, 77, 79.” and [0052]: “The sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, generally known to those skilled in the art, are connected to the ports in the connection block 46 and can be tailored to the specific type of utility meter 72, 74, 76, 78, to be read. … Another type of sensor, known as a "pulse-type" metering device, generates a voltage pulse at intervals that accurately reflect the energy or utility usage of the respective utility.”).
Boaz does not expressly teach the at least one additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway, wherein the gateway and the main sensor are connected to one another by means of a first data link designed as an Ethernet connection.
Boaz in view of Holt does not expressly teach the at least one additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway, wherein the gateway and the main sensor are connected to one another by means of a first data link designed as an Ethernet connection.
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach does not expressly teach the at least one additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway, wherein the gateway and the main sensor are connected to one another by means of a first data link designed as an Ethernet connection.
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement does not expressly teach does not expressly teach the at least one additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway, wherein the gateway and the main sensor are connected to one another by means of a first data link designed as an Ethernet connection.
However Lakich, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 3-4, par. [0036]), teaches the missing limitation of an at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 130, 132, 140, 142, 150, 152, 154, 156, 160, 162, 164, 166; i.e. meters) is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway, wherein the gateway and a main sensor (Fig .1, element 110 and 120) are connected to one another by means of a first data link designed as an Ethernet connection (pg. 5, par. [0053]; i.e. “… full two-way messaging to every device. For example, the respectively represented meter devices may be variously configured to provide differing communications capabilities. In exemplary configurations, one or more of GPRS, Ethernet, and RF LAN communications modules may be provided. GPRS will allow meters to be IP addressable over a public backhaul and provide more bandwidth than the meter will likely ever require, but may incur ongoing subscription costs. Ethernet connectivity can be used to bridge to third party technologies, including WiFi, WiMax, in-home gateways, and BPL (Broadband over Power Lines), without integrating any of these technologies directly into the metering device, but with the tradeoff of requiring external wiring and a two part solution..”) for the purpose of two-way data communication (pg. 5, par. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement to include the addition of the limitation of an at least one additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway, wherein the gateway and a main sensor are connected to one another by means of a first data link designed as an Ethernet connection to advantageously enhance and/or increase load control capabilities resulting in improved meter functioning and greater economy vis-a-vis load control for individual metrology components (Lakich: pg. 2, par. [0020] and [0026]-[0028]).
As per claim 7, Boaz teaches the additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) is configured to transmit its measurement data by means of pulse sequences (pg. 7, par. [0052]; i.e. “The sensors 73, 75, 77, 79, generally known to those skilled in the art, are connected to the ports in the connection block 46 and can be tailored to the specific type of utility meter 72, 74, 76, 78, to be read. … Another type of sensor, known as a "pulse-type" metering device, generates a voltage pulse at intervals that accurately reflect the energy or utility usage of the respective utility.”).
Boaz does not expressly teach the additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway by means of an S0 pulse interface.
Boaz in view of Holt does not expressly teach the additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway by means of an S0 pulse interface.
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach does not expressly teach the additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway by means of an S0 pulse interface.
However Klement, in an analogous art of data acquisition (abstract and pg. 1, paragraph 2), teaches the missing limitation of a sensor (Fig. 2, element 11, i.e. a consumption meter) is configured to transmit its measurement data by means of an S0 pulse interface (pg. 3, paragraph 9 – pg. 4, paragraph 1 and Fig. 2, element 17; i.e. a corresponding S0 interface) for the purpose of providing an arrangement for remote reading of consumption meters (pg. 1, paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach to include the addition of the limitation of an additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data by means of an S0 pulse interface to advantageously enable automatic processing of disparate time-dependent data to allow end consumers to switch suppliers and tariffs more quickly (Klement: pg. 1, paragraphs 4 and 7).
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement does not expressly teach the additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway.
However Lakich, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 3-4, par. [0036]), teaches the missing limitation of the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 130, 132, 140, 142, 150, 152, 154, 156, 160, 162, 164, 166; i.e. the meters) is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway (pg. 5, par. [0053]; i.e. “… full two-way messaging to every device. For example, the respectively represented meter devices may be variously configured to provide differing communications capabilities. In exemplary configurations, one or more of GPRS, Ethernet, and RF LAN communications modules may be provided. GPRS will allow meters to be IP addressable over a public backhaul and provide more bandwidth than the meter will likely ever require, but may incur ongoing subscription costs. Ethernet connectivity can be used to bridge to third party technologies, including WiFi, WiMax, in-home gateways, and BPL (Broadband over Power Lines), without integrating any of these technologies directly into the metering device, but with the tradeoff of requiring external wiring and a two part solution..”) for the purpose of two-way data communication (pg. 5, par. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement to include the addition of the limitation of the at least one additional sensor is configured to transmit its measurement data to the gateway to advantageously enhance and/or increase load control capabilities resulting in improved meter functioning and greater economy vis-a-vis load control for individual metrology components (Lakich: pg. 2, par. [0020] and [0026]-[0028]).
As per claim 8, Boaz in view of Holt does not expressly teach the second data link is an Ethernet connection.
However Gilgenbach, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 2-3, par. [0018]), teaches the missing limitation of a second data link is an Ethernet connection (pg. 2, par. [0020]; i.e. “The data collection devices 15 are preferably configured to communicate with a server or with a remote computer. Communication with the server or remote computer can be via any conventional telecommunication medium, such as by an Ethernet connection as shown in FIG. 1, by a coaxial cable connection, or in by any other telecommunications lines or wireless transmissions …”) for the purpose of remote data communication between meters, collection devices, and servers (pg. 3, par. [0021] and [0023]), remote meter control (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 3, par. [0024), and tamper protection (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 2, par. [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt to include the addition of the limitation of a second data link is an Ethernet connection to advantageously detect theft quickly to prevent further loss of a commodity (Gilgenbach: pg. 2, par. [0010]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach, Klement, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0009788 A1 (hereinafter Langenberg).
As per claim 9, Boaz teaches the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 41; i.e. the multifunction meter data collectors) transmits the measurement data of the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 72, 74, 76, and 78; i.e. the utility meters) to the data evaluation unit (pg. 7, par. [0054] and Fig. 1, element 61 of Fig. 1, element 60; i.e. “… the system 30 also includes a host computer 61 preferably positioned at a utility control center 60, remote from and in communication with the plurality of meter data collectors 41 through at least a subset of the plurality of meter data collectors 41, to receive the utility usage data for the plurality of meter data collectors 41. The host computer 61 has a memory 63 including or otherwise interfaced with a database 65 to store and process the utility usage data. The system 30 can also include one or more remote centers or substations 50 strategically located throughout the mesh communications network 32 and which can include a field host data collector 51 or alternatively field host data collector 51', for gathering and/or processing the usage reading data. The field host data collectors 51, 51', can be strategically positioned throughout a utility's coverage area and connected preferably to a fiber optic or other network infrastructure 80 to thereby establish communications between the host computer 61 and all available meter data collectors 41. The field host data collectors 51, 51' can request and store the utility usage data and can pass the instructions from the host computer 61 to the meter data collectors 41.”).
Boaz does not expressly teach the main sensor has a computing device that is configured to execute a web server, wherein the computing device is additionally configured to transmit the measurement data of the main sensor and the at least one additional sensor to the data evaluation unit.
However Holt, in an analogous art of monitoring and gathering data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0022] and [0023]), teaches the missing limitation of the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 116; i.e. the collectors) transmits the measurement data of the main sensor (Fig. 1, element 116; i.e. the collectors) and the at least one additional sensor (Fig. 1, element 114; i.e. the plurality of meters) to the data unit (pgs. 1, par. [0023] and pg. 2, par. [0025] and [0026]; i.e. [0023]: “The collectors receive and compile metering data from a plurality of meter devices via wireless communications.”, [0025]: “System 110 further comprises collectors 116. In one embodiment, collectors 116 are also meters operable to detect and record usage of a service or commodity such as, for example, electricity, water, or gas. In addition, collectors 116 are operable to send data to and receive data from meters 114.”, and [0026]: “The collector 116 receives the data transmitted by each meter 114, effectively “collecting” it, and then periodically transmits the data from all of the meters in the subnet/LAN 120 to a data collection server 206.”) for the purpose of data communication for data storage and analysis (pgs. 1-2, par. [0023] and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz to include the addition of the limitation of the main sensor transmits the measurement data of the main sensor and the at least one additional sensor to the data unit to quickly communicate information to all meters (Holt: pg. 4, par. [0044]).
Boaz in view of Holt does not expressly teach the main sensor has a computing device that is configured to execute a web server, wherein the computing device is additionally configured to transmit the measurement data of the main sensor and the at least one additional sensor to the data evaluation unit.
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach does not expressly teach the main sensor has a computing device that is configured to execute a web server, wherein the computing device is additionally configured to transmit the measurement data of the main sensor and the at least one additional sensor to the data evaluation unit.
Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement does not expressly teach the main sensor has a computing device that is configured to execute a web server, wherein the computing device is additionally configured to transmit the measurement data of the main sensor and the at least one additional sensor to the data evaluation unit.
However Langenberg, in an analogous art of gathering and monitoring data (pg. 1, par. [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of a main sensor (Fig. 4, element M; i.e. a meter with an integrated a web server) has a computing device (Fig. 4, element 10, i.e. a microcontroller of the web server of the meter) that is configured to execute a web server (pg. 1, par. [0003], pg. 2, par. [0028] and [0032] and Fig. 4, element S; i.e. [0003]: “… electric meters of the type installed at homes and businesses to monitor electricity usage at the site; and, more particularly, to a web server installed in an electric meter and used, in addition to providing information concerning electricity usage to an electrical utility, to provide information to the home owner or business owner concerning current energy consumption, energy consumption over a period of time (i.e., a billing cycle), current costs for levels of energy usage, programming of energy usage by appliances at the home or business, comparison shopping for different energy providers, and other information helpful to the home or business owner in understanding his energy costs and how better to control them while using the energy supplied as efficiently and economically as possible”, [0028]: “Device D can be at least one of a plurality of devices including, but not limited to, a personal computer (PC) including a laptop computer, a television (TV), any of a variety of smart phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), portable media players such as an i Pod.RTM., a game console, or an entertainment center.” and [0032]: “Microcontroller 10 incorporates all the hardware and software required to function as a web server.”), wherein the computing device (Fig. 4, element 10) is additionally configured to transmit measurement data of the main sensor (Fig. 4, element M; i.e. the meter with an integrated the web server) and an at least one additional sensor (i.e. other meters) to an data evaluation unit (pg. 3, par. [0049] and Fig. 4, element D; i.e. customer device and [0049]: “… web server S can be installed in one of the meters and, using a separate interface, communicates with one or more of these other meters. In such an installation, all the data and information from the other meters can be collected by the one meter and then provided to the user (i.e., the customer. This allows all the relevant usage data for all the metered utilities to be displayed to the customer on a web page provided by the first meter.”) for the purpose of controlling energy costs (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement to include the addition of the limitation of a main sensor has a computing device that is configured to execute a web server, wherein the computing device is additionally configured to transmit measurement data of the main sensor and an at least one additional sensor to an data evaluation unit to advantageously allow a user to better control devices while using supplied energy in a more efficient and economical manner (Langenberg: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach, Klement and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0163177 A1 (hereinafter Klicpera).
As per claim 13, Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement does not expressly teach the main sensor is a flow sensor.
However Klicpera, in an analogous art of monitoring data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitation of a sensor is a flow sensor (pg. 14, par. [0155] and [0158] and pg. 15, par. [0172]; i.e. [0172]: “Thermal mass flow meters—Thermal mass flow meters generally use one or more heated elements to measure the mass flow of gas. … Thermal mass flow meters are used for compressed air, nitrogen, helium, argon, oxygen, natural gas. In fact, most gases can be measured as long as they are fairly clean and non-corrosive.”) for the purpose of measure a mass flow of gas (pg. 15, par. [0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement to include the addition of the limitation of a sensor is a flow sensor to easily monitor a utility usage on a real time basis and provide alerts for any potential adverse conditions (Klicpera: pg. 1, par. [0011] and [0012]).
As per claim 14, Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement does not expressly teach the flow sensor is a thermal flow meter.
However Klicpera, in an analogous art of monitoring data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitation of the flow sensor is a thermal flow meter (pg. 14, par. [0155] and [0158] and pg. 15, par. [0172]; i.e. [0172]: “Thermal mass flow meters—Thermal mass flow meters generally use one or more heated elements to measure the mass flow of gas. … Thermal mass flow meters are used for compressed air, nitrogen, helium, argon, oxygen, natural gas. In fact, most gases can be measured as long as they are fairly clean and non-corrosive.”) for the purpose of measure a mass flow of gas (pg. 15, par. [0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement to include the addition of the limitation of the flow sensor is a thermal flow meter to easily monitor a utility usage on a real time basis and provide alerts for any potential adverse conditions (Klicpera: pg. 1, par. [0011] and [0012]).
As per claim 15, Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement does not expressly teach the flow sensor is for compressed air.
However Klicpera, in an analogous art of monitoring data (pgs. 1-2, par. [0014]), teaches the missing limitation of the flow sensor is for compressed air (pg. 14, par. [0155] and [0158] and pg. 15, par. [0172]; i.e. [0172]: “Thermal mass flow meters—Thermal mass flow meters generally use one or more heated elements to measure the mass flow of gas. … Thermal mass flow meters are used for compressed air, nitrogen, helium, argon, oxygen, natural gas. In fact, most gases can be measured as long as they are fairly clean and non-corrosive.”) for the purpose of measure a mass flow of gas (pg. 15, par. [0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement to include the addition of the limitation of the flow sensor is for compressed air to easily monitor a utility usage on a real time basis and provide alerts for any potential adverse conditions (Klicpera: pg. 1, par. [0011] and [0012]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach, Klement and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0230681 A1 (hereinafter Poojary).
As per claim 17, Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement does not expressly teach the data evaluation unit is formed by an edge computer or a cloud computer.
However Poojary, in an analogous art of monitoring data (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of a data evaluation unit (Fig. 7, element 714; i.e. cloud servers) is formed by an edge computer or a cloud computer (pg. 10, par. [0132]; i.e. “The data collected from each of the apartments may be transmitted through long range (LORA) wireless system (710) to a cloud (712). The water usage data from each of the apartment of the building is thus saved in the cloud, which may then be accessed by cloud servers (714). Analytics may be performed on the data retrieved from the cloud (712) by the cloud servers (714).”) for the purpose of managing for all meters of a facility (pg. 10, par. [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Boaz in view of Holt in further view of Gilgenbach and Klement to include the addition of the limitation of a data evaluation unit is formed by an edge computer or a cloud computer to advantageously to reduce damage to a facility and aid a user in conserving water (Poojary: pg. 1, par. [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to sensor and monitoring systems/methods.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0179424 A1 discloses a sensor for measuring at least one measurement variable, a sensor network which has several sensors, and a method for operating the sensor network.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0271576 A1 discloses an energy management system that measures, analyzes, communicates, and controls energy usage of a facility.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0284741 A1 discloses a system, method and apparatus for data collection in an industrial production environment.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0215791 A1 discloses a system, method and apparatus for configuring a node in a sensor network.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0219892 A1 discloses a control device for machine control and sensor data evaluation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117