DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a planning unit and management unit in claims 1 and 10;
a modification unit in claim 5;
a prediction unit in claim 8;
a determination unit and transmission unit in claim 11;
In the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure each of the planning unit and management unit in claim 1; a modification unit in claim 5; a prediction unit in claim 8; and determination unit and transmission unit, in claim 11, will be interpreted as computer/software implemented functions implemented in a processor 11 (see disclosure [0050] “Each of the servers 200, 500, 700 is, for example, a computer including a human-machine interface (HMI) and a communication interface (I/F). Each computer includes a processor and a storage device. The processor may be a central processing unit (CPU)…”; Also, see [0078] “In the present embodiment, the server 200 functions as a "planning unit", a "management unit", a "prediction unit", a "determination unit", a "transmission unit", and a "modification unit" according to the present disclosure. In the present embodiment, the processor 201 executes a program stored in the storage device 202 to implement the above units. However, the present disclosure is not limited to this, and the above units may be implemented by hardware (electronic circuit) of the server 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the vehicle with the charge plan unmodified” in line 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation or the term “" the vehicle with the charge plan unmodified” in the claim.
Claim 5 recites “the management device further includes a modification unit configured to, in response to a request from the request device, modify the charge plan of each of the vehicles determined by the planning unit; and the management unit is configured to cause the vehicle with the charge plan unmodified to operate according to the charge plan determined by the planning unit, and cause the vehicle with the charge plan modified by the modification unit to operate according to the modified charge plan”. Claim recites that each of the charge plan of each vehicles is modified. However, claim 5 recites that the management perform charge control of modified and unmodified vehicles. This is contradictory and confusing and makes the claim indefinite. For purposes of interpretation and in light of the disclosure, claim 5 will be interpreted as:
5…wherein: the management device further includes a modification unit configured to, in response to a request from the request device, modify the charge plan of some of the vehicles determined by the planning unit; and the management unit is configured to cause the vehicle with the charge plan unmodified to operate according to the charge plan determined by the planning unit, and cause the vehicle with the charge plan modified by the modification unit to operate according to the modified charge plan”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigeki et al (JP P2008298537A, as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 1, Shigeki teaches a management system (see Fig. 1 and see Abstract “To provide a device and system for vehicle capable of efficiently managing a plurality of hybrid vehicles…”) comprising:
a plurality of resources configured to be electrically connected to an external power supply (see Fig. 1a plurality of resources/vehicles 100N; also, see [0022], [0025]; also, see [0031 “The power supply unit 203 supplies the AC power source 202, the charging cables 218 and 219…”); and
a management device configured to manage the resources (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 management 200; see [0029] “management device 200 receives data from a power supply unit 203 that supplies power to a plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N each equipped with a power storage device…”; also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”),
wherein the management device includes a planning unit configured to determine a power balancing plan of each of the resources (see Fig. 1 planning/scheduling unit 221; and see [0008] and [0022] “A scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result…”; also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”; [0053]) by using first information on a use schedule of each of the resources (see [0022], see [0044]-[0045] and [0053] “FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an example of the schedule information acquired in step S3. Referring to FIG. 6, the destination of driver D1 is R1 and the estimated arrival time is T1, and the destination of driver D2 is R2 and the estimated arrival time is T2. The
destination of the driver D3 is R3, and the estimated arrival time is T3”, arrival time and destination are information on use schedule of the resources) and second information indicating a magnitude of an environmental load in a process of generating electric power to be supplied by the external power supply (see [0037-0038] “…in step S1, main control ECU 208 communicates with an external information source such as the Internet using external communication interface 223, and power information (per unit power). Cost or CO2 amount”; also, see
[0039] “…FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the power information acquired in step S1. Referring to FIG. 4, at time 6 to 8 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K1 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M1 (g). From 8:00 to 20:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K2 (yen), and the CO2 emission is M2 (g). At the time from 22:00 to 22:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K3 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M3 (g). From time 22 to 6 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K4 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M4 (g).”; also, see [0052] “…the optimal combination with which CO2 emission amount is reduced is determined.”; also, see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully
charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, …On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV
traveling)…A driving simulation is performed in consideration of such circumstances, and an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”), and
a management unit configured to manage the resources to cause each of the resources to operate according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan in power balancing of the external power supply (see [0022] “scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result”; also, see [0053] “…In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state... a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient,… where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling).
As per claim 10, Shigeki a management device configured to manage a plurality of resources configured to be electrically connected to an external power supply, the management device (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 management 200; see [0029]; also, claim 1 the management device is included therein, thus, same rationale and citations applies herein) comprising:
a planning unit configured to determine a power balancing plan of each of the resources (see Fig. 1 planning/scheduling unit 221; and see [0008] and [0022]; also, see [0030], [0053]) by using first information on a use schedule of each of the resources (see [0022], [0044-0045], [0053]) and second information indicating a magnitude of an environmental load in a process of generating electric power to be supplied by the external power supply (see [0037-0039], [0052-0053]);
and a management unit configured to manage the resources to cause each of the resources to operate according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan in power balancing of the external power supply (see [0022] and [0053]. also, claim 1 above the same rationale and citations applies herein).
As per claim 12, Shigeki teaches a power balancing method using the management device according to claim 10 (see claim 10 above),
wherein the power balancing method includes:
determining, by the management device, the power balancing plan of each of the resources by using the first information on the use schedule of each of the resources and the second information indicating the magnitude of the environmental load in the process of generating the electric power to be supplied by the external power supply (see [0022], [0044-0045], [0053]; see [0037-0039], [0052-0053]; also, see claim 1 above the same rationale and citations applies herein );
and operating, by each of the resources, according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan in the power balancing of the external power supply (see [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeki et al (JP P2008298537A, as supported by the machine translation provided) view of TSUCHIYA (JP2021061712A as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 2, Shigeki teaches the management system according to claim 1, Shigeki further teaches wherein: the resources include a plurality of vehicles (see [0022] “…a vehicle management device 200 installed in a home or office
includes a power supply unit 203 that supplies power to a plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N each equipped with a power storage device);
each of the vehicles includes a power storage device and a charge control device configured to execute charge control on the power storage device (see [0022] and [0025]; also, see [0028] “Main control unit 314 monitors a state of charge (SOC) of main battery 302 and detects connector connection by connector connection detection unit 320. When the charging plug 206 is connected to the connector 324 and the state of charge SOC is lower than a predetermined value, the main control unit 314 causes the switch 322 to transition from the open state to the connected state and operates the charging AC / DC conversion unit 310. The
main battery 302 is charged”, thus, 214 is a charge control device);
the power balancing plan is a charge plan of the power storage device (see [0022] “…A scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result.”; also, see [0053]);
the charge control device of the vehicle is configured to set (see 0028 “Main control unit 314 monitors a state of charge (SOC)… the main control unit 314 causes the switch 322 to transition from the
open state to the connected state and operates the charging AC / DC conversion unit 310”; also, see [0053] “..In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, but it is preferable that the fuel is sufficiently loaded… where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because
the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling)…”, thus, different target of SOC are set based on the information); and
the first information indicates t (see [0028] and [0053] a state of charge is set and also is defined as a first information to generate the schedule).
While Shigeki teaches the schedule of the drivers is input and read by the system and which includes information (0045) such as estimated arrival time, Shigeki dos not explicitly teach the charge control device of the vehicle is configured to set a scheduled use start time of the vehicle and the first information indicates the scheduled use start time set in the charge control device.
However, TSUCHIYA teaches a system for creating a charging schedule for a vehicle comprising a charge control device of the vehicle is configured to set a scheduled use start time of the vehicle and the first information indicates the scheduled use start time set in the charge control device (see the abstract and see [0056] “FIG. 6 is a time chart showing an example of the second charging schedule. With reference to FIG. 6, the second charging schedule is set when the charging information from the vehicle 1 includes information that specifies the departure time of the user. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the user designated time (scheduled departure time in this example) is time t21 after the end time tB in the midnight zone”; also, see [0057] “…Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include a charge control device of the vehicle is configured to set a scheduled use start time of the vehicle and the first information indicates the scheduled use start time set in the charge control device as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”).
As per claim 3, Shigeki- TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 2, wherein:
Shigeki further teaches the second information indicates, for each time slot, an amount of carbon dioxide emitted in the process of generating the electric power to be supplied by the external power supply (see [0039] “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the power information acquired in step S1. Referring to FIG. 4, at time 6 to 8 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K1 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M1 (g). From 8:00 to 20:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K2 (yen), and the CO2 emission is M2 (g). At the time from 22:00 to 22:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K3 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M3 (g). From time 22 to 6 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K4 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M4 (g)”, thus, CO2 amounts for different/each time slots are acquired); and
the planning unit is configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy
a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the (see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, but it is preferable that the fuel is sufficiently loaded. On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling)”), and a condition that a total value of the amounts of carbon dioxide emitted in the process of generating the electric power to be used in the charge plan of each of the vehicles is equal to or smaller than a predetermined target level (see 0051] and [0052] “For example, a driving simulation is performed on the total combination of the driving route plan of each of the drivers D1, D2, D3..., The vehicles 100A to 100N, and the charging amount (not charging / full charging / half charging), and the total cost. Or the optimal combination with which CO2 emission amount is reduced is determined”; also, see [0038 and [0053] “…an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”).
While Shigeki teach or suggests a use/usage start time and SOC target at the time of usage, Shigeki does not explicitly teach a set scheduled use start time (as stated in claim 2), and the charge plan satisfy the conditions at the scheduled use start time.
However, TSUCHIYA further teaches the system comprising setting a scheduled use start time (see Fig. 6 and see [0056]), the planning unit is configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the scheduled use start time (see the abstract and see [0043] “…The charge amount information includes information such as the capacity (unit: Wh) of the battery 12 (see FIG. 2) of the vehicle 1 and the SOC (State Of Charge)...”; and see [0056] “FIG. 6 is a time chart showing an example of the second charging schedule. With reference to FIG. 6, the second charging schedule is set when the charging information from the vehicle 1 includes information that specifies the departure time of the user. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the user designated time (scheduled departure time in this example) is time t21 after the end time tB in the midnight zone”; also, see [0057] “…Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0087] “below. The server 2B controls the amount of electric power exchanged with each consumer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include setting a scheduled use start time, and the planning unit is configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the scheduled use start time as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”).
As per claim 4, Shigeki- TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 3, Shigeki does not explicitly teach further comprising a request device configured to request the management device to perform the power balancing of the external power supply, wherein: the external power supply is a power system configured to supply electric power to a predetermined area; a charging location of each of the vehicles in the predetermined area is registered in the management device; the management device is configured to receive, from the request device, the second information and a request signal indicating details of the power balancing for each time slot; the management device is configured to receive the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge set in the charge control device from the vehicle or a mobile terminal carried by a user of the vehicle; and the planning unit is configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to achieve a state in which a total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles increases during a time slot in which the request signal requests an increase in power demand, and a state in which the total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles decreases during a time slot in which the request signal requests a decrease in the power demand.
However, TSUCHIYA further teaches the system further comprising a request device configured to request the management device to perform the power balancing of the external power supply (see the request device in the BRI is exemplified as server or computer that belongs to the electrical company; also, see TSUCHIYA teaches in [0056] the planning/power balancing; also, see [0065] “The request for creating the charging schedule may be transmitted from the mobile terminal 3 to the server 2…”, thus the mobile device is a request device; also, TSUCHIYA teaches in [0088] “ The electric power company E0, the plurality of upper aggregators E1, and the plurality of lower aggregators E2 can change the electric power demand pattern by adjusting the electric power supply and demand balance by a method called demand response (DR).”; also, see [0089] “More specifically, the server 91 transmits a signal requesting participation in DR (DR participation request) to each higher-level aggregator E1. In the example shown in FIG. 10, when the server 1B receives the DR participation request, the server 1B obtains the power amount that can be adjusted according to the DR (DR possible amount) and transmits the power amount to the server 91…”; also, see Fig. 10 and 11 the scheduling unit server 2B generates the schedule based on a demand signal DR from server 91, see [0092]-[0093] “…the server 2B included in the upper
aggregator E1 to the lower aggregator E2 is sent a lower DR signal requesting
the suppression of the power demand. It is also possible to send. This is because
the server 2B can level out the power peak by suppressing the power demand
associated with the external charging of the vehicle 1 by postponing the
execution of the external charging….”; also, see [0065]), wherein: the external power supply is a power system configured to supply electric power to a predetermined area (see Fig. 10 and see [0086] “…The charging stand 4 is connected to the power system of the electric power company E0 via the smart meter 94….”; also, see [0103]), a charging location of each of the vehicles in the predetermined area is registered in the management device (see [0065], [0084 and [0087]), the management device is configured to receive, from the request device, the second information and a request signal indicating details of the power balancing for each time slot (see Fig. 11 and see [0109]; also, see [0065] and [0092] “When the DR calculation unit 25 receives the second DR execution instruction from the communication unit 21, the DR calculation unit 25 allocates the DR amount to each vehicle 1 capable of DR among the vehicles 1 in the jurisdiction, and creates a DR signal for each vehicle 1. To do. The created DR signal is transmitted to each vehicle 1. This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period/slot”.); the management device is configured to receive the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge set in the charge control device from the vehicle or a mobile terminal carried by a user of the vehicle (see [0056] start time and [0057] SOC; also, see [0065]); and the planning unit is configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to achieve a state in which a total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles increases during a time slot in which the request signal requests an increase in power demand (see [0092-0093] “…This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period….), and a state in which the total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles decreases during a time slot in which the request signal requests a decrease in the power demand (see [0092] “When the DR calculation unit 25 receives the second DR execution instruction from the communication unit 21, the DR calculation unit 25 allocates the DR amount to each vehicle 1 capable of DR among the vehicles 1 in the jurisdiction, and creates a DR signal for each vehicle 1. To do. The created DR signal is transmitted to each vehicle 1. This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period”; also, see [0093] the plan balancing includes the control charge of resources to help the grid system balance power by helping in a demand response signal to increase or decrease the power charge or consumption).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include a request device configured to request the management device to perform the power balancing of the external power supply, wherein: the external power supply is a power system configured to supply electric power to a predetermined area; a charging location of each of the vehicles in the predetermined area is registered in the management device; the management device is configured to receive, from the request device, the second information and a request signal indicating details of the power balancing for each time slot; the management device is configured to receive the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge set in the charge control device from the vehicle or a mobile terminal carried by a user of the vehicle; and the planning unit is configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to achieve a state in which a total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles increases during a time slot in which the request signal requests an increase in power demand, and a state in which the total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles decreases during a time slot in which the request signal requests a decrease in the power demand as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088]).
As per claim 5, Shigeki-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 4, Shigeki does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5.
However, Shigeki-TSUCHIYA further teaches the system comprising wherein: the management device further includes a modification unit configured to, in response to a request from the request device, modify the charge plan of each of the vehicles determined by the planning unit (see Fig. 12 when the DR is received, the system modifies a schedule with respect to the DR, see steps S61, S65-67, and see [0096], and [0097] “…When the charging information includes the user-designated time information (YES in S65), the server 2B creates a second charging schedule (S66). Specifically, the server 2B creates a second charging schedule so that the external charging is completed by the time specified by the user, and preferably as much power as possible is charged in the middle of the night. In creating the second charging schedule, the server 2B considers the down DR signal. That is, if the power peak generation time shifts to midnight, the server 2B creates a second charging schedule so that external charging is started after the power peak ends in order to level the power peak. To do”), and the management unit is configured to cause the vehicle with the charge plan unmodified to operate according to the charge plan determined by the planning unit (see Fig. 12 and Fig. 7 see [0097]-[0098]; also, see [0099] and see [0087] the vehicles is charged according to the charge schedule/plan), and cause the vehicle with the charge plan modified by the modification unit to operate according to the modified charge plan (see Fig. 12 and Fig. 7 see [0097]-[0098]; also, see [0099] and see [0087] the vehicles is charged according to the charge schedule/plan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include wherein: the management device further includes a modification unit configured to, in response to a request from the request device, modify the charge plan of each of the vehicles determined by the planning unit, and the management unit is configured to cause the vehicle with the charge plan unmodified to operate according to the charge plan determined by the planning unit, and cause the vehicle with the charge plan modified by the modification unit to operate according to the modified charge plan as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088] and [0100]).
As per claim 6, Shigeki- TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 2, Shigeki further teaches wherein: the second information indicates, for each time slot, an amount of carbon dioxide emitted in the process of generating the electric power to be supplied by the external power supply (see [0039] “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the power information acquired in step S1. Referring to FIG. 4, at time 6 to 8 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K1 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M1 (g). From 8:00 to 20:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K2 (yen), and the CO2 emission is M2 (g). At the time from 22:00 to 22:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K3 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M3 (g). From time 22 to 6 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K4 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M4 (g)”, thus, CO2 amounts for different/each time slots are acquired);
and the planning unit is configured to
determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, but it is preferable that the fuel is sufficiently loaded. On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling)”), and
to minimize a total value of the amounts of carbon dioxide emitted in the process of generating the electric power to be used in the charge plan of each of the vehicles (see 0051] and [0052] “For example, a driving simulation is performed on the total combination of the driving route plan of each of the drivers D1, D2, D3..., The vehicles 100A to 100N, and the charging amount (not charging / full charging / half charging), and the total cost. Or the optimal combination with which CO2 emission amount is reduced is determined”; also, see [0038 and [0053] “…an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”).
While Shigeki teach or suggests a use start time and SOC target at the time of usage, Shigeki does not explicitly tech a set scheduled use start time (s stated in claim 2 above), and the charge plan satisfy the conditions at the scheduled use start time.
TSUCHIYA further teaches the system comprising setting a scheduled use start time (see Fig. 6 and see [0056]), the planning unit is configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the scheduled use start time (see the abstract and see [0043] “…The charge amount information includes information such as the capacity (unit: Wh) of the battery 12 (see FIG. 2) of the vehicle 1 and the SOC (State Of Charge)...”; and see [0056] “FIG. 6 is a time chart showing an example of the second charging schedule. With reference to FIG. 6, the second charging schedule is set when the charging information from the vehicle 1 includes information that specifies the departure time of the user. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the user designated time (scheduled departure time in this example) is time t21 after the end time tB in the midnight zone”; also, see [0057] “…Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0087] “below. The server 2B controls the amount of electric power exchanged with each consumer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include setting a scheduled use start time, and the planning unit is configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the scheduled use start time as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”).
As per claim 7, Shigeki-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 2, Shigeki dos not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 7.
However, TSUCHIYA further teaches the system further comprising wherein: the charge control device is configured to set a charge mode in response to an input from a user among a plurality of types of charge mode (see Fig. 7 steps S32 the user input and acceptance for a first charge mode; also, see Fig. 12 S61 No and Steps S62); the plurality of types of charge mode includes a first charge mode (the BRI interpretation of a first mode is a user entered start time and/or no demand response DR participation; TSUCHIYA teaches a first mode wherein a user specifies a start time for the resource, see Fig. 12 steps S61 No , S62, S63, S64, and S68-S70); the management unit is configured not to execute charge control for the power balancing of the external power supply on the vehicle for which the first charge mode is set in the charge control device (see Fig. 7 step S33-S13; in this embodiments, a demand response signal is not performed thus, demand power balancing (decrease or increase) is not performed; also, see Fig. 12 step S61 No, S62-S70); and the management unit is configured to select a control target from among the vehicles for which a charge mode other than the first charge mode is set in the charge control device (see Fig. 7 steps S32, S34, a user does not accept a calculated schedule and select a recalculation of the schedule, this represents a second mode; also, see Fig. 12 a demand response signal is received and a charge plan/schedule is created with respect to the DR signal and see S61, S5, S66, and S67; the participation in demand response schedule balancing is considered a second mode/other charge mode; also, see [0099]; see Fig. 12 and Fig. 7 see [0097]-[0098]; also, see [0099] and see [0087] the vehicles is charged according to the charge schedule/plan), and cause the selected control target to execute the charge control for the power balancing of the external power supply by transmitting a control command according to the charge plan or a modified charge plan to the control target (see Fig. 12 and see S68 and S70, and see [0099]; and [0096-0097] “Specifically, the server 2B creates a second charging schedule so that the external charging is completed by the time specified by the user, and preferably as much power as possible is charged in the middle of the night. In creating the second charging schedule, the server 2B considers the down DR signal. That is, if the power peak generation time shifts to midnight, the server 2B creates a second charging schedule so that external charging is started after the power peak ends in order to level the power peak.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include wherein: the charge control device is configured to set a charge mode in response to an input from a user among a plurality of types of charge mode, the plurality of types of charge mode includes a first charge mode, the management unit is configured not to execute charge control for the power balancing of the external power supply on the vehicle for which the first charge mode is set in the charge control device; and the management unit is configured to select a control target from among the vehicles for which a charge mode other than the first charge mode is set in the charge control device, and cause the selected control target to execute the charge control for the power balancing of the external power supply by transmitting a control command according to the charge plan or a modified charge plan to the control target as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088]).
As per claim 8, Shigeki-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 7, w
Shigeki further teaches the plurality of types of charge mode further includes a second charge mode and (see [0022], [0052] and [0053] the vehicles are charged to 20% first charge mode, and to 100% second charge mode according to second information);
Shigeki further teaches the planning unit is configured to, for the vehicle for which the second charge mode is set in the charge control device, determine the charge plan of the vehicle by using the second information and the(see [0037-0038] “…in step S1, main control ECU 208 communicates with an external information source such as the Internet using external communication interface 223, and power information (per unit power). Cost or CO2 amount”; also, see
[0039] “…FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the power information acquired in step S1. Referring to FIG. 4, at time 6 to 8 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K1 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M1 (g). From 8:00 to 20:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K2 (yen), and the CO2 emission is M2 (g). At the time from 22:00 to 22:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K3 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M3 (g). From time 22 to 6 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K4 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M4 (g).”; also, see [0052] “…the optimal combination with which CO2 emission amount is reduced is determined.”; also, see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully
charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, …On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV
traveling)…A driving simulation is performed in consideration of such circumstances, and an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”);
Shigeki further teaches the chare plan is determined based on the second information (see claim 1 above)
Shigeki does not explicitly teach wherein: the management device further includes a prediction unit configured to execute movement prediction on each of the vehicles, the plurality of modes includes a third charge mode, and the planning unit is configured to, for the vehicle for which the third charge mode is set in the charge control device, set the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge in the charge control device by using a result of the movement prediction, and determine the charge plan of the vehicle by using the set scheduled use start time, the set target state of charge.
However, TSUCHIYA teaches the system further comprising the management device further includes a prediction unit configured to execute movement prediction on each of the vehicles (see [0011], [0045], [0049], and [0053] “FIG. 5 is a time chart showing an example of the first charging schedule. With reference to FIG. 5, in the first charging schedule, the charging information from the vehicle 1 does not include information for specifying the user's own departure time, and the server 2 sets the user's departure time from the past learning results. Set when estimating. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the estimated departure time of the user is the time t12 after external charging in the midnight zone”, an estimated or predicted unit predicts/estimates the start time of usage), the plurality of modes includes a third charge mode (see Fig. 4 a charging mode wherein the start time t12 is estimated/predicted; also, see Fig 12 and step S67 includes a third charge mode comprising predicted start time; also, see [0059]), and the planning unit is configured to, for the vehicle for which the third charge mode is set in the charge control device (see Fig. 4 and 5 [0053]), set the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge in the charge control device by using a result of the movement prediction (see Fig. 7 Step S34 and Fig. 12; also, see Fig. 4 and 5 [0053]) “With reference to FIG. 5, in the first charging schedule, the charging information from the vehicle 1 does not include information for specifying the user's own departure time, and the server 2 sets the user's departure time from the past learning results. Set when estimating. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the estimated departure time of the user is the time t12 after external charging in the midnight zone”; also, see [0069-0070] “Thereafter, as the midnight time period arrives at time tA, the external charging starts and the external charging is performed until battery 12 is fully charged (the state where SOC=100%”), and determine the charge plan of the vehicle by using the set scheduled use start time, the set target state of charge, (see Fig. 7 Step S33-34 and see Fig. 12; also, see Fig. 4 and 5 [0053]) “With reference to FIG. 5, in the first charging schedule, the charging information from the vehicle 1 does not include information for specifying the user's own departure time, and the server 2 sets the user's departure time from the past learning results. Set when estimating. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the estimated departure time of the user is the time t12 after external charging in the midnight zone”; also, see [0069] and Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include wherein: the management device further includes a prediction unit configured to execute movement prediction on each of the vehicles, the plurality of modes includes a third charge mode, and the planning unit is configured to, for the vehicle for which the third charge mode is set in the charge control device, set the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge in the charge control device by using a result of the movement prediction, and determine the charge plan of the vehicle by using the set scheduled use start time, the set target state of charge, and the second information as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced even when a user does not specify a start time of use (see [0053] and see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088]).
Shigeki teaches determining a change based on second information such as an environmental load (see [00370039] and [0052-0053], also, see claim 1 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination as taught above to include determine the charge plan of the vehicle for which the third mode is set as taught by TSUCHIYA by using the set scheduled use start time, the set target state of charge, as taught by TSUCHIYA and the second information as taught Shigeki in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle for a third charge mode taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088]).
As per claim 9, Shigeki-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 2, wherein: the management unit is configured to select a control target from among the vehicles (see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, but it is preferable that
the fuel is sufficiently loaded. On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling). In this case, it is not necessary to mount a large amount of fuel, and there are cases where energy efficiency is better when the weight of the fuel is smaller. A driving simulation is performed in consideration of such circumstances, and an optimal combination that reduces
the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”), and set the charge plan or a modified charge plan in the charge control device of the selected control target (see 0022 and [0053]) and the charge control device is configured to execute the charge control on the power storage device according to the set charge plan (see 0022 “…A scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result”).
As per claim 11, Shigeki teaches management device configured to manage a plurality of resources configured to be electrically connected to an external power supply (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 management 200; see [0029] “management device 200 receives data from a power supply unit 203 that supplies power to a plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N each equipped with a power storage device…”; also, see [0030] “also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”), the management device comprising:
a determination unit configured to determine, for each time slot, see Fig. 1 planning/scheduling unit 221; and see [0008] and [0022] “A scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result…”; also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”; [0053]) by using first information on a use schedule of each of the resources ((see [0022], see [0044]-[0045] and [0053]; also, see claim above for extended rationale) and second information indicating a magnitude of an environmental load in a process of generating electric power to be supplied by the external power supply (see [0037-0039] and [0052-[0053] );
and a transmission unit configured to transmit (see [0055]).
Shigeki does not explicitly teach determine a total electric energy to be balanced for the external power supply by the resources by generating charge plans, and transmit the total electric energy for the each time slot that has been determined (the total electric energy to be balanced refers to a total demand response amount that needs to be balanced (increased or decreased DR) by controlling charging plans that satisfy the DR amount).
However, TSUCHIYA a system for balancing energy in an electrical network comrosiing further comprising determine a total electric energy to be balanced for the external power supply by the resources by generating charge plans (TSUCHIYA teaches in [0088] “ The electric power company E0, the plurality of upper aggregators E1, and the plurality of lower aggregators E2 can change the electric power demand pattern by adjusting the electric power supply and demand balance by a method called demand response (DR).”; also, see [0089] “More specifically, the server 91 transmits a signal requesting participation in DR (DR participation request) to each higher-level aggregator E1. In the example shown in FIG. 10, when the server 1B receives the DR participation request, the server 1B obtains the power amount that can be adjusted according to the DR (DR possible amount) and transmits the power amount to the server 91…”; also, see Fig. 10 and 11 the scheduling unit server 2B generates the schedule based on a demand signal DR from server 91, see [0092]-[0093] “…the server 2B included in the upper aggregator E1 to the lower aggregator E2 is sent a lower DR signal requesting the suppression of the power demand. It is also possible to send. This is because the server 2B can level out the power peak by suppressing the power demand associated with the external charging of the vehicle 1 by postponing the
execution of the external charging….”; also, see [0065]; see Fig. 11 and see [0109]; also, see [0065] and [0092] “When the DR calculation unit 25 receives the second DR execution instruction from the communication unit 21, the DR calculation unit 25 allocates the DR amount to each vehicle 1 capable of DR among the vehicles 1 in the jurisdiction, and creates a DR signal for each vehicle 1. To do. The created DR signal is transmitted to each vehicle 1. This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period/slot”, thus, a total electric energy to be balanced is determined per period/slot (DR period) and sent to the lower server so that charge plans are generated per each resource to help in the DR balancing; see [0092-0093] “…This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period…”; also, see Fig. 1 DR amount is received; also, see [0096]-[0097]), and transmit the total electric energy for the each time slot that has been determined (see Fig. 12 step S61 and see [0091], [0092], [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include determine a total electric energy to be balanced for the external power supply by the resources by generating charge plans, and transmit the total electric energy for the each time slot that has been determined as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create schedules for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging according to the determined total electric energy to be balanced (see [0088], [0091], [0092], [0093], and see [0096]-[0099]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grunkemeyer et al (US 20220144121) teaches system a management device configured to manage the resources (see [0006] and [0050] “A planning server of the system for generating and implementing an electrical device charging or operation powering schedule may obtain vehicle state-of-charge, desired state-of-charge, whether the car is plugged in, odometer readings, and an estimate of the time remaining to charge, and other operational parameters from the vehicle”), wherein the management device includes a planning unit configured to determine a power balancing plan of each of the resources by using first information on a use schedule of each of the resources (0050 target SOC and time remaining to charge) and second information indicating a magnitude of an environmental load in a process of generating electric power to be supplied by the external power supply (0002 co2), and
a management unit configured to manage the resources to cause each of the resources to operate according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan in power balancing of the external power supply (see 0032; also, see claim 1 in page 10).
Noda et al (US 20150019035) teaches a system for generating charge plans for resources/batteries (see 0004, 0007), wherein the charge plans are generated based on first information (see Fig. 3 0041 SOC; 0044 user determined start time of the demand of energy; also, see 0045, 0063) and second information including environmental load (see [00007, 0037-0038, 0045).
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117