DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-12 are pending in this Application. In an Amendment filed on 06/24/2026, claims 1-12 were amended and claim 13 was added as a new claim. Therefore, claims 1-13 are pending in this Application.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on page 7, with respect to claims interpretation under 35 USC § 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the interpretations to the claims under 35 USC § 112(f) have been withdrawn. The new amendments precludes and/or overcomes the interpretations of the claimed subject matter under 35 USC 112(f).
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on page 7, with respect to rejections to claim 5 under 35 USC § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims under 35 USC § 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument/remarks, on page 8-9, with respect to rejections to claims 1-12 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and 103(a) have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. Therefore, rejections to the claims have been withdrawn based on the amendments. However, However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, see the new rejections below.
On page 8, with respect to claims 1, 20 and 12, the Applicant argues that:
“The Examiner asserts that the power supply unit 203 in Shigeki/Kinomura corresponds to the claimed external power supply… the power supply unit 203 in Kinomura is a wall charger or the like installed in a home or office. Paragraphs 22 and 53 of this reference simply describe charging the vehicles with electricity. Accordingly, there is no description of "power balancing of the external power supply. That is, Kinomura does not perform power balancing of the external power grid because this reference only discloses charging vehicles with electricity. It does not operate to leverage vehicles to help balance the grid. Kinomura thus does not disclose the features of claim 1. Claims 10 and 11 are amended similarly and are likewise not disclosed by Kinomura for at least the same reasons ". These arguments are respectfully persuasive.
In response to the previous arguments, Kinomura clearly teaches an external grid including at least one power generation source (cables and an AC power generation source 202; see Kinomura [0027] and [0031]). The Examiner agrees that Kinomura does not explicitly teach the external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network. The term “to determine a power balancing plan of each of the resources” is interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) in light of a disclosure as “charging plan” to charge vehicles. Claim 1 does not explicitly teach or describes in the claims what the “performing power balancing of the external power grid” does. Claim 1 simply determines a schedule of charging resources. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, a new reference that teaches power balancing including the charging/discharging of vehicles batteries is provided below.
On page 9, the Applicant further argues that:
“Claim 1 recites "a plurality of resources configured to be electrically connected to an external power grid, the external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network" and "perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing the resources ... " Tsuchiya does not disclose these features because it merely discloses EV charging techniques”.
In response to the previous arguments, Tsuchiya clearly teaches a system and method for balancing power of a grid (see Fig. 10 grid 93 and power generation sources; also, see [0088], 0086, [0103] “…92 power plants”). Tsuchiya clearly teaches that a plurality of resources including EV vehicles are controlled by generating charging/discharging plan and controlling the charging/discharging to satisfy a demand response event (see 0013, 0088-0094 leveling/balancing power peaks). While Tsuchiya seems to teach a grid with power plants in fig. 10, another reference is used below to teach the well-known and conventional amended limitations including a grid connected to a plurality of power generation sources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeki et al (JP P2008298537A, as supported by the machine translation provided) view of Yamaguchi et al (US 20160028253).
As per claim 1, Shigeki teaches a management system (see Fig. 1 and see Abstract “To provide a device and system for vehicle capable of efficiently managing a plurality of hybrid vehicles…”) comprising:
a plurality of resources configured to be electrically connected to an external power grid (see Fig. 1a plurality of resources/vehicles 100N; also, see [0022], [0025]; also, see [0031 “The power supply unit 203 supplies the AC power source 202, the charging cables 218 and 219…”, the external power grid includes the AC source 202), the external power grid including a (see Fig. 2 the external power grid includes a least one generation power source 202 and transmission cables which is external to the vehicles power source/batteries; also, see [0031] “The power supply unit 203 supplies the AC power source 202…”); and
a management device configured to manage the resources (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 management 200; see [0029] “management device 200 receives data from a power supply unit 203 that supplies power to a plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N each equipped with a power storage device…”; also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”),
wherein the management device includes one or more processors configured to (see fig. 3 management device 200 comprises main control unit 208; also, see [0030]):
determine a power balancing plan of each of the resources (see Fig. 1 planning/scheduling unit 221; and see [0008] and [0022] “A scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result…”; also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”; [0053]) by using first information on a use schedule of each of the resources (see [0022], see [0044]-[0045] and [0053] “FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an example of the schedule information acquired in step S3. Referring to FIG. 6, the destination of driver D1 is R1 and the estimated arrival time is T1, and the destination of driver D2 is R2 and the estimated arrival time is T2. The destination of the driver D3 is R3, and the estimated arrival time is T3”, arrival time and destination are information on use schedule of the resources) and second information indicating a magnitude of an environmental load in a process of generating electric power to be supplied by the external power grid (see [0037-0038] “…in step S1, main control ECU 208 communicates with an external information source such as the Internet using external communication interface 223, and power information (per unit power). Cost or CO2 amount”; also, see
[0039] “…FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the power information acquired in step S1. Referring to FIG. 4, at time 6 to 8 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K1 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M1 (g). From 8:00 to 20:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K2 (yen), and the CO2 emission is M2 (g). At the time from 22:00 to 22:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K3 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M3 (g). From time 22 to 6 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K4 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M4 (g).”; also, see [0052] “…the optimal combination with which CO2 emission amount is reduced is determined.”; also, see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, …On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV
traveling)…A driving simulation is performed in consideration of such circumstances, and an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”), and
(see [0022] “scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result”; also, see [0053] “…In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state... a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient,… where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling);
While Shigeki teaches an ac power grid including a power generation source (see Fig. 2 202 ), and Shigeki teaches generating power plan/schedules for EVs considering CO2 generation during power generation or use and its costs, Shigeki does not explicitly teach the external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network, and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing the resources (in other words, Shigeki does not consider power difference in supply and demand as a parameter when scheduling power plan for the EVs ).
However, Yamaguchi teaches a system for managing energy comprising an external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network (see Fig. 1 renewable energy resources 2 and thermal power; also, see The renewable energy producing apparatus 2 is an apparatus such as a facility for power generation with sunlight, a hydroelectric power generation facility, and a wind power generation facility which produces electric power by using renewable energy such as sunlight, water power, and wind power…”; also, see [0027] “ The power-system monitor system 6 monitors and controls, for example, power generation amounts in thermal power generation and water power generation managed by an electric power company…”), and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing resources (see 0022 “a plurality of EVs may be managed”;) according to a power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan (see [0005] “the amount of power generated by the renewable energy cannot be controlled, and excess power (hereinafter referred to as an overload as required) may be produced in the power system. A possible approach to stabilizing the power system is to store the overload in a large-capacity mounted battery”; [0036] “The charge control apparatus 1 calculates a total prediction amount by adding the renewable energy prediction amount to the system load prediction amount. The total prediction amount is shown by a curved line with white triangles in FIG. 3 and approximately corresponds to the total power amount (KW) in the system. The charge control apparatus 1 determines whether or not the total prediction amount exceeds a threshold value (shown by a broken line in FIG. 3). Although the threshold value is 65% in the example, the aspects are not limited thereto. In the example of FIG. 3, the total prediction amount exceeds the threshold value from about 11 to about 15:30 and from about 17 to about 19:30. Since these time frames in which the threshold value is exceeded have a margin for power supply, the EV 9 is desirably charged in these time frames. The charge control apparatus 1 performs scheduling such that the EV 9 is charged in a time frame in which the threshold value is exceeded (hereinafter referred to as an overload time frame) wherever possible)”, thus, a changing plan is created to reduce”; also, see [0078-[0079] “The charge of the EV is concentrated in the overload time frame to allow stabilization of the system without mounting an expensive large-capacity mounted battery).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include an external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network, and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing resources according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan as taught by Yamaguchi and as taught by Shigeki in order reduce costs by using a plurality of power generation sources including renewable sources (see [0023]) and to maintain a stability of power energy supply and demand without mounting an expensive large capacity battery which increases costs (see Yamaguchi [0005] and [0078-0079] “The charge of the EV is concentrated in the overload time frame to allow stabilization of the system without mounting an expensive large-capacity mounted battery”) by reducing the peak power generation by scheduling the charging plans of the resources/EVs during the peaks of power generation (see [0078-0079]).
As per claim 10, Shigeki teaches a management device configured to manage a plurality of resources configured to be electrically connected to an external power grid, the management device (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 management 200; see [0029] “management device 200 receives data from a power supply unit 203 that supplies power to a plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N each equipped with a power storage device…”; also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”) comprising:
one or more processors configured to (see fig. 3 management device 200 comprises main control unit 208; also, see [0030]):
determine a power balancing plan of each of the resources (see Fig. 1 planning/scheduling unit 221; and see [0008] and [0022]; also, see [0030], [0053]) by using first information on a use schedule of each of the resources (see [0022], [0044-0045], [0053]; see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein) and second information indicating a magnitude of an environmental load in a process of generating electric power to be supplied by the external power grid (see [0037-0039], [0052-0053]); and
(see [0022] and [0053]. also, claim 1 above the same rationale and citations applies herein), the external power grid including a (see Fig. 2 the external power grid includes a least one generation power source 202 and transmission cables which is external to the vehicles power source/batteries; also, see [0031] “The power supply unit 203 supplies the AC power source 202…”);
While Shigeki teaches an ac power grid including a power generation source (see Fig. 2 202 ), and Shigeki teaches generating power plan/schedules for EVs considering CO2 generation during power generation or use and its costs, Shigeki does not explicitly teach the external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network, and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing the resources (in other words, Shigeki does not consider power difference in supply and demand as a parameter when scheduling power plan for the EVs ).
However, Yamaguchi teaches a system for managing energy comprising an external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network (see Fig. 1 renewable energy resources 2 and thermal power; also, see The renewable energy producing apparatus 2 is an apparatus such as a facility for power generation with sunlight, a hydroelectric power generation facility, and a wind power generation facility which produces electric power by using renewable energy such as sunlight, water power, and wind power…”; also, see [0027] “ he power-system monitor system 6 monitors and controls, for example, power generation amounts in thermal power generation and water power generation managed by an electric power company…”), and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing resources (see 0022 “a plurality of EVs may be managed”) according to a power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan (see [0005], [0036], [0078-[0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include an external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network, and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing resources according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan as taught by Yamaguchi and as taught by Shigeki in order reduce costs by using a plurality of power generation sources including renewable sources (see [0023]) and to maintain a stability of power energy supply and demand without mounting an expensive large capacity battery which increases costs (see [0005] and [0078-0079] “The charge of the EV is concentrated in the overload time frame to allow stabilization of the system without mounting an expensive large-capacity mounted battery”) by reducing the peak power generation by scheduling the charging plans of the resources/EVs during the peaks of power generation (see [0078-0079]).
As per claim 12, Shigeki-Yamaguchi teaches a power balancing method using the management device according to claim 10 (see claim 10 above),
wherein the power balancing method includes:
determining, by the management device, the power balancing plan of each of the resources by using the first information on the use schedule of each of the resources and the second information indicating the magnitude of the environmental load in the process of generating the electric power to be supplied by the external power grid (see Shigeki [0022], [0044-0045], [0053]; see [0037-0039], [0052-0053]; also, see claim 1 above the same rationale and citations applies herein ); and
operating, by each of the resources, according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan in the power balancing of the external power grid (see Shigeki [0022]; also, see claim 10 above the same rationale applies herein).
As per claim 13, Shigeki-Yamaguchi teaches the management system according to claim 1, Yamaguchi further teaches wherein: the power balancing includes at least one from among supply and demand balancing, power supply stabilization, load following, or frequency balancing (see [0078] “1) The charge of the EV is concentrated in the overload time frame to allow stabilization of the system without mounting an expensive large-capacity mounted battery”, thus, supply and demand balancing, power supply stabilization, load following, or frequency balancing are achieved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include teaches a step of the power balancing includes at least one from among supply and demand balancing, power supply stabilization, load following, or frequency balancing as taught by Yamaguchi in order reduce costs by using a plurality of power generation sources including renewable sources (see [0023]) and to maintain a stability of power energy supply and demand without mounting an expensive large capacity battery which increases costs (see [0005] and [0078-0079] “The charge of the EV is concentrated in the overload time frame to allow stabilization of the system without mounting an expensive large-capacity mounted battery”) by reducing the peak power generation by scheduling the charging plans of the resources/EVs during the peaks of power generation (see [0078-0079]).
Claim(s) 2-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeki et al (JP P2008298537A, as supported by the machine translation provided) in view of Yamaguchi et al (US 20160028253) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of TSUCHIYA (JP2021061712A as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 2, Shigeki-Yamaguchi teaches the management system according to claim 1, Shigeki further teaches wherein: the resources include a plurality of vehicles (see [0022] “…a vehicle management device 200 installed in a home or office
includes a power supply unit 203 that supplies power to a plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N each equipped with a power storage device);
each of the vehicles includes a power storage device and a charge control device configured to execute charge control on the power storage device (see [0022] and [0025]; also, see [0028] “Main control unit 314 monitors a state of charge (SOC) of main battery 302 and detects connector connection by connector connection detection unit 320. When the charging plug 206 is connected to the connector 324 and the state of charge SOC is lower than a predetermined value, the main control unit 314 causes the switch 322 to transition from the open state to the connected state and operates the charging AC / DC conversion unit 310. The
main battery 302 is charged”, thus, 214 is a charge control device);
the power balancing plan is a charge plan of the power storage device (see [0022] “…A scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result.”; also, see [0053]);
the charge control device of the vehicle is configured to set (see 0028 “Main control unit 314 monitors a state of charge (SOC)… the main control unit 314 causes the switch 322 to transition from the
open state to the connected state and operates the charging AC / DC conversion unit 310”; also, see [0053] “..In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, but it is preferable that the fuel is sufficiently loaded… where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because
the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling)…”, thus, different target of SOC are set based on the information); and
the first information indicates t (see [0028] and [0053] a state of charge is set and also is defined as a first information to generate the schedule).
While Shigeki teaches the schedule of the drivers is input and read by the system and which includes information (0045) such as estimated arrival time, Shigeki does not explicitly teach the charge control device of the vehicle is configured to set a scheduled use start time of the vehicle and the first information indicates the scheduled use start time set in the charge control device.
However, TSUCHIYA teaches a system for creating a charging schedule for a vehicle comprising a charge control device of the vehicle is configured to set a scheduled use start time of the vehicle and the first information indicates the scheduled use start time set in the charge control device (see the abstract and see [0056] “FIG. 6 is a time chart showing an example of the second charging schedule. With reference to FIG. 6, the second charging schedule is set when the charging information from the vehicle 1 includes information that specifies the departure time of the user. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the user designated time (scheduled departure time in this example) is time t21 after the end time tB in the midnight zone”; also, see [0057] “…Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination as taught above to include a charge control device of the vehicle is configured to set a scheduled use start time of the vehicle and the first information indicates the scheduled use start time set in the charge control device as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”).
As per claim 3, Shigeki-Yamaguchi-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 2, wherein:
Shigeki further teaches the second information indicates, for each time slot, an amount of carbon dioxide emitted in the process of generating the electric power to be supplied by the external power grid (see [0039] “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the power information acquired in step S1. Referring to FIG. 4, at time 6 to 8 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K1 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M1 (g). From 8:00 to 20:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K2 (yen), and the CO2 emission is M2 (g). At the time from 22:00 to 22:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K3 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M3 (g). From time 22 to 6 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K4 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M4 (g)”, thus, CO2 amounts for different/each time slots are acquired); and
the one or more processors are configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy
a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the (see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, but it is preferable that the fuel is sufficiently loaded. On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling)”), and a condition that a total value of the amounts of carbon dioxide emitted in the process of generating the electric power to be used in the charge plan of each of the vehicles is equal to or smaller than a predetermined target level (see 0051] and [0052] “For example, a driving simulation is performed on the total combination of the driving route plan of each of the drivers D1, D2, D3..., The vehicles 100A to 100N, and the charging amount (not charging / full charging / half charging), and the total cost. Or the optimal combination with which CO2 emission amount is reduced is determined”; also, see [0038 and [0053] “…an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”).
While Shigeki teach or suggests a use/usage start time and SOC target at the time of usage, Shigeki does not explicitly teach a set scheduled use start time (as stated in claim 2), and the charge plan satisfy the conditions at the scheduled use start time.
However, TSUCHIYA further teaches the system comprising setting a scheduled use start time (see Fig. 6 and see [0056]), one or more processors are configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the scheduled use start time (see the abstract and see [0015] “…a server configured to be able to create a charging schedule for external charging…” and see [0024] and see [0043] “…The charge amount information includes information such as the capacity (unit: Wh) of the battery 12 (see FIG. 2) of the vehicle 1 and the SOC (State Of Charge)...”; and see [0056] “FIG. 6 is a time chart showing an example of the second charging schedule. With reference to FIG. 6, the second charging schedule is set when the charging information from the vehicle 1 includes information that specifies the departure time of the user. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the user designated time (scheduled departure time in this example) is time t21 after the end time tB in the midnight zone”; also, see [0057] “…Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0087] “below. The server 2B controls the amount of electric power exchanged with each consumer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination to include setting the scheduled use start time, and the one or more processors are configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the scheduled use start time as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”).
As per claim 4, Shigeki-Yamaguchi-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 3, Shigeki does not explicitly teach further comprising a request device configured to request the management device to perform the power balancing of the external power grid, wherein:
the external power grid is a power system configured to supply electric power to a predetermined area; a charging location of each of the vehicles in the predetermined area is registered in the management device; the management device is configured to receive, from the request device, the second information and a request signal indicating details of the power balancing for each time slot; the management device is configured to receive the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge set in the charge control device from the vehicle or a mobile terminal carried by a user of the vehicle; and the one or more processors are configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to achieve a state in which a total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles increases during a time slot in which the request signal requests an increase in power demand, and a state in which the total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles decreases during a time slot in which the request signal requests a decrease in the power demand.
However, TSUCHIYA further teaches the system further comprising a request device configured to request the management device to perform the power balancing of the external power supply (see the request device in the BRI is exemplified as server or computer that belongs to the electrical company; also, see TSUCHIYA teaches in [0056] the planning/power balancing; also, see [0065] “The request for creating the charging schedule may be transmitted from the mobile terminal 3 to the server 2…”, thus the mobile device is a request device; also, TSUCHIYA teaches in [0088] “ The electric power company E0, the plurality of upper aggregators E1, and the plurality of lower aggregators E2 can change the electric power demand pattern by adjusting the electric power supply and demand balance by a method called demand response (DR).”; also, see [0089] “More specifically, the server 91 transmits a signal requesting participation in DR (DR participation request) to each higher-level aggregator E1. In the example shown in FIG. 10, when the server 1B receives the DR participation request, the server 1B obtains the power amount that can be adjusted according to the DR (DR possible amount) and transmits the power amount to the server 91…”; also, see Fig. 10 and 11 the scheduling unit server 2B generates the schedule based on a demand signal DR from server 91, see [0092]-[0093] “…the server 2B included in the upper aggregator E1 to the lower aggregator E2 is sent a lower DR signal requesting the suppression of the power demand. It is also possible to send. This is because the server 2B can level out the power peak by suppressing the power demand associated with the external charging of the vehicle 1 by postponing the
execution of the external charging….”; also, see [0065]), wherein: the external power supply is a power system configured to supply electric power to a predetermined area (see Fig. 10 and see [0086] “…The charging stand 4 is connected to the power system of the electric power company E0 via the smart meter 94….”; also, see [0103]), a charging location of each of the vehicles in the predetermined area is registered in the management device (see [0065], [0084 and [0087]), the management device is configured to receive, from the request device, the second information and a request signal indicating details of the power balancing for each time slot (see Fig. 11 and see [0109]; also, see [0065] and [0092] “When the DR calculation unit 25 receives the second DR execution instruction from the communication unit 21, the DR calculation unit 25 allocates the DR amount to each vehicle 1 capable of DR among the vehicles 1 in the jurisdiction, and creates a DR signal for each vehicle 1. To do. The created DR signal is transmitted to each vehicle 1. This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period/slot”), the management device is configured to receive the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge set in the charge control device from the vehicle or a mobile terminal carried by a user of the vehicle (see [0056] start time and [0057] SOC; also, see [0065]), and the one or more processors are configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to achieve a state in which a total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles increases during a time slot in which the request signal requests an increase in power demand (see [0092-0093] “…This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period….), and a state in which the total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles decreases during a time slot in which the request signal requests a decrease in the power demand (see [0092] “When the DR calculation unit 25 receives the second DR execution instruction from the communication unit 21, the DR calculation unit 25 allocates the DR amount to each vehicle 1 capable of DR among the vehicles 1 in the jurisdiction, and creates a DR signal for each vehicle 1. To do. The created DR signal is transmitted to each vehicle 1. This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period”; also, see [0093] the plan balancing includes the control charge of resources to help the grid system balance power by helping in a demand response signal to increase or decrease the power charge or consumption).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination as taught above to include a request device configured to request the management device to perform the power balancing of the external power supply, wherein: the external power supply is a power system configured to supply electric power to a predetermined area; a charging location of each of the vehicles in the predetermined area is registered in the management device; the management device is configured to receive, from the request device, the second information and a request signal indicating details of the power balancing for each time slot; the management device is configured to receive the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge set in the charge control device from the vehicle or a mobile terminal carried by a user of the vehicle; and the one or more processor are configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to achieve a state in which a total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles increases during a time slot in which the request signal requests an increase in power demand, and a state in which the total charge energy of the power storage devices of the vehicles decreases during a time slot in which the request signal requests a decrease in the power demand as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088]).
As per claim 5, Shigeki-Yamaguchi-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 4, Shigeki does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5.
However, Shigeki-TSUCHIYA further teaches the system comprising wherein: the one or more processors are configured to, in response to a request from the request device, modify the charge plan of some of the vehicles (see Fig. 12 when the DR is received, the system modifies a schedule with respect to the DR, see steps S61, S65-67, and see [0096], and [0097] “…When the charging information includes the user-designated time information (YES in S65), the server 2B creates a second charging schedule (S66). Specifically, the server 2B creates a second charging schedule so that the external charging is completed by the time specified by the user, and preferably as much power as possible is charged in the middle of the night. In creating the second charging schedule, the server 2B considers the down DR signal. That is, if the power peak generation time shifts to midnight, the server 2B creates a second charging schedule so that external charging is started after the power peak ends in order to level the power peak. To do”), and the one or more processors are configured to cause the vehicles with the charge plan unmodified to operate according to the charge plan, (see Fig. 12 and Fig. 7 see [0097]-[0098]; also, see [0099] and see [0087] the vehicles is charged according to the charge schedule/plan), and cause the vehicles with the charge plan to operate according to the modified charge plan (see Fig. 12 and Fig. 7 see [0097]-[0098]; also, see [0099] and see [0087] the vehicles is charged according to the charge schedule/plan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination as taught above to include the one or more processors are configured to, in response to a request from the request device, modify the charge plan of some of the vehicles, and the one or more processors are configured to cause the vehicles with the charge plan unmodified to operate according to the charge plan, and cause the vehicles with the charge plan to operate according to the modified charge plan as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088] and [0100]).
As per claim 6, Shigeki-Yamaguchi-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 2, Shigeki further teaches wherein: the second information indicates, for each time slot, an amount of carbon dioxide emitted in the process of generating the electric power to be supplied by the external power grid (see [0039] “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the power information acquired in step S1. Referring to FIG. 4, at time 6 to 8 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K1 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M1 (g). From 8:00 to 20:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K2 (yen), and the CO2 emission is M2 (g). At the time from 22:00 to 22:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K3 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M3 (g). From time 22 to 6 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K4 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M4 (g)”, thus, CO2 amounts for different/each time slots are acquired);
and the one or more processors are configured to
determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, but it is preferable that the fuel is sufficiently loaded. On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling)”), and
to minimize a total value of the amounts of carbon dioxide emitted in the process of generating the electric power to be used in the charge plan of each of the vehicles (see 0051] and [0052] “For example, a driving simulation is performed on the total combination of the driving route plan of each of the drivers D1, D2, D3..., The vehicles 100A to 100N, and the charging amount (not charging / full charging / half charging), and the total cost. Or the optimal combination with which CO2 emission amount is reduced is determined”; also, see [0038 and [0053] “…an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”).
While Shigeki teach or suggests a use start time and SOC target at the time of usage, Shigeki does not explicitly teach a set scheduled use start time (s stated in claim 2 above), and the charge plan satisfy the conditions at the scheduled use start time.
TSUCHIYA further teaches the system comprising setting a scheduled use start time (see Fig. 6 and see [0056]), the one or more processors are configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the scheduled use start time (see the abstract and see [0043] “…The charge amount information includes information such as the capacity (unit: Wh) of the battery 12 (see FIG. 2) of the vehicle 1 and the SOC (State Of Charge)...”; and see [0056] “FIG. 6 is a time chart showing an example of the second charging schedule. With reference to FIG. 6, the second charging schedule is set when the charging information from the vehicle 1 includes information that specifies the departure time of the user. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the user designated time (scheduled departure time in this example) is time t21 after the end time tB in the midnight zone”; also, see [0057] “…Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0087] “below. The server 2B controls the amount of electric power exchanged with each consumer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination as taught above to include setting a scheduled use start time, and the one or more processors are configured to determine the charge plan of each of the vehicles to satisfy a condition that a state of charge of the power storage device in each of the vehicles is equal to or higher than the target state of charge at the scheduled use start time as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”).
As per claim 7, Shigeki-Yamaguchi-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 2, Shigeki does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 7.
However, TSUCHIYA further teaches the system further comprising wherein: the charge control device is configured to set a charge mode in response to an input from a user among a plurality of types of charge mode (see Fig. 7 steps S32 the user input and acceptance for a first charge mode; also, see Fig. 12 S61 No and Steps S62); the plurality of types of charge mode includes a first charge mode (the BRI interpretation of a first mode is a user entered start time and/or no demand response DR participation; TSUCHIYA teaches a first mode wherein a user specifies a start time for the resource, see Fig. 12 steps S61 No , S62, S63, S64, and S68-S70); the one or more processors are configured not to execute charge control for the power balancing of the external power grid on the vehicle for which the first charge mode is set in the charge control device (see Fig. 7 step S33-S13; in this embodiments, a demand response signal is not performed thus, demand power balancing (decrease or increase) is not performed; also, see Fig. 12 step S61 No, S62-S70), and the one or more processors configured to select a control target from among the vehicles for which a charge mode other than the first charge mode is set in the charge control device (see Fig. 7 steps S32, S34, a user does not accept a calculated schedule and select a recalculation of the schedule, this represents a second mode; also, see Fig. 12 a demand response signal is received and a charge plan/schedule is created with respect to the DR signal and see S61, S5, S66, and S67; the participation in demand response schedule balancing is considered a second mode/other charge mode; also, see [0099]; see Fig. 12 and Fig. 7 see [0097]-[0098]; also, see [0099] and see [0087] the vehicles is charged according to the charge schedule/plan), and cause the selected control target to execute the charge control for the power balancing of the external power grid by transmitting a control command according to the charge plan or a modified charge plan to the control target (see Fig. 12 and see S68 and S70, and see [0099]; and [0096-0097] “Specifically, the server 2B creates a second charging schedule so that the external charging is completed by the time specified by the user, and preferably as much power as possible is charged in the middle of the night. In creating the second charging schedule, the server 2B considers the down DR signal. That is, if the power peak generation time shifts to midnight, the server 2B creates a second charging schedule so that external charging is started after the power peak ends in order to level the power peak.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination as taught above to include wherein: the charge control device is configured to set a charge mode in response to an input from a user among a plurality of types of charge mode, the plurality of types of charge mode includes a first charge mode, the one or more processors are configured not to execute charge control for the power balancing of the external power supply on the vehicle for which the first charge mode is set in the charge control device; and the one or more processors are configured to select a control target from among the vehicles for which a charge mode other than the first charge mode is set in the charge control device, and cause the selected control target to execute the charge control for the power balancing of the external power grid by transmitting a control command according to the charge plan or a modified charge plan to the control target as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088]).
As per claim 8, Shigeki-Yamaguchi-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 7, w
Shigeki further teaches the plurality of types of charge mode further includes a second charge mode and (see [0022], [0052] and [0053] the vehicles are charged to 20% first charge mode, and to 100% second charge mode according to second information);
Shigeki further teaches the one or more processors are configured to, for the vehicle for which the second charge mode is set in the charge control device, determine the charge plan of the vehicle by using the second information and the(see [0037-0038] “…in step S1, main control ECU 208 communicates with an external information source such as the Internet using external communication interface 223, and power information (per unit power). Cost or CO2 amount”; also, see [0039] “…FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the power information acquired in step S1. Referring to FIG. 4, at time 6 to 8 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K1 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M1 (g). From 8:00 to 20:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K2 (yen), and the CO2 emission is M2 (g). At the time from 22:00 to 22:00, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K3 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M3 (g). From time 22 to 6 o'clock, the power cost per kilowatt hour is K4 (yen), and the CO2 emission amount is M4 (g).”; also, see [0052] “…the optimal combination with which CO2 emission amount is reduced is determined.”; also, see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, …On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling)…A driving simulation is performed in consideration of such circumstances, and an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”);
Shigeki further teaches the charge plan is determined based on the second information (see claim 1 above)
Shigeki does not explicitly teach wherein:
the one or more processors are configured to execute movement prediction on each of the vehicles,
the plurality of modes includes a third charge mode, and
the one or more processors are configured to execute movement prediction on each of the vehicles is configured to, for the vehicle for which the third charge mode is set in the charge control device, set the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge in the charge control device by using a result of the movement prediction, and determine the charge plan of the vehicle by using the set scheduled use start time, the set target state of charge.
However, TSUCHIYA further teaches the system further comprising the one or processors are configured to execute movement prediction on each of the vehicles (see [0011], [0045], [0049], and [0053] “FIG. 5 is a time chart showing an example of the first charging schedule. With reference to FIG. 5, in the first charging schedule, the charging information from the vehicle 1 does not include information for specifying the user's own departure time, and the server 2 sets the user's departure time from the past learning results. Set when estimating. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the estimated departure time of the user is the time t12 after external charging in the midnight zone”, an estimated or predicted unit predicts/estimates the start time of usage), the plurality of modes includes a third charge mode (see Fig. 4 a charging mode wherein the start time t12 is estimated/predicted; also, see Fig 12 and step S67 includes a third charge mode comprising predicted start time; also, see [0059]), and the one or processors are configured to, for the vehicle for which the third charge mode is set in the charge control device (see Fig. 4 and 5 [0053]), set the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge in the charge control device by using a result of the movement prediction (see Fig. 7 Step S34 and Fig. 12; also, see Fig. 4 and 5 [0053]) “With reference to FIG. 5, in the first charging schedule, the charging information from the vehicle 1 does not include information for specifying the user's own departure time, and the server 2 sets the user's departure time from the past learning results. Set when estimating. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the estimated departure time of the user is the time t12 after external charging in the midnight zone”; also, see [0069-0070] “Thereafter, as the midnight time period arrives at time tA, the external charging starts and the external charging is performed until battery 12 is fully charged (the state where SOC=100%”), and determine the charge plan of the vehicle by using the set scheduled use start time, the set target state of charge, (see Fig. 7 Step S33-34 and see Fig. 12; also, see Fig. 4 and 5 [0053]) “With reference to FIG. 5, in the first charging schedule, the charging information from the vehicle 1 does not include information for specifying the user's own departure time, and the server 2 sets the user's departure time from the past learning results. Set when estimating. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the estimated departure time of the user is the time t12 after external charging in the midnight zone”; also, see [0069] and Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination as taught above to include wherein: the one or processors are configured to execute movement prediction on each of the vehicles, the plurality of modes includes a third charge mode, and the one or more processors are configured to, for the vehicle for which the third charge mode is set in the charge control device, set the scheduled use start time and the target state of charge in the charge control device by using a result of the movement prediction, and determine the charge plan of the vehicle by using the set scheduled use start time, the set target state of charge, and the second information as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced even when a user does not specify a start time of use (see [0053] and see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088]).
Shigeki teaches determining a change based on second information such as an environmental load (see [00370039] and [0052-0053], also, see claim 1 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s combination as taught above to include determine the charge plan of the vehicle for which the third mode is set as taught by TSUCHIYA by using the set scheduled use start time, the set target state of charge, as taught by TSUCHIYA and the second information as taught Shigeki in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle for a third charge mode taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create a schedule for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see TSUCHIYA [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging accordingly (see [0088]).
As per claim 9, Shigeki-Yamaguchi-TSUCHIYA teaches the management system according to claim 2, Shigeki further teaches wherein: the one or more processors are configured to select a control target from among the vehicles (see [0053] “In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state. For example, if the destination is a place where the vehicle arrives at a high speed, it is only necessary to perform a hybrid drive that operates the engine, so the battery need not be fully charged. In this case, a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient, but it is preferable that the fuel is sufficiently loaded. On the other hand, if the vehicle arrives through an urban area where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling). In this case, it is not necessary to mount a large amount of fuel, and there are cases where energy efficiency is better when the weight of the fuel is smaller. A driving simulation is performed in consideration of such circumstances, and an optimal combination that reduces the total cost or the CO2 emission amount is determined”), and set the charge plan or a modified charge plan in the charge control device of the selected control target (see 0022 and [0053]) and the charge control device is configured to execute the charge control on the power storage device according to the set charge plan (see 0022 “…A scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result”).
As per claim 11, Shigeki teaches management device configured to manage a plurality of resources configured to be electrically connected to an external power grid (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 management 200; see [0029] “management device 200 receives data from a power supply unit 203 that supplies power to a plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N each equipped with a power storage device…”; also, see [0030] “also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”; also, see [0031] “The power supply unit 203 supplies the AC power source 202, the charging cables 218 and 219…”, the external power grid includes the AC source 202), the management device comprising:
one or more processors configured to (see fig. 3 management device 200 comprises main control unit 208; also, see [0030]):
determine, for each time slot, see Fig. 1 planning/scheduling unit 221; and see [0008] and [0022] “A scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result…”; also, see [0030] “The main control ECU 208 operates as the scheduling unit 221 and the power supply control unit 222 described with reference to FIG…”; [0053]) by using first information on a use schedule of each of the resources ((see [0022], see [0044]-[0045] and [0053]; also, see claim above for extended rationale) and second information indicating a magnitude of an environmental load in a process of generating electric power to be supplied by the external power grid (see [0037-0039] and [0052-[0053] ); and
transmit (see [0055]);
(see [0022] “scheduling unit 221 that performs scheduling of vehicles, and a power supply control unit 222 that supplies power to the plurality of vehicles 100A to 100N via the power supply unit 203 based on the scheduling result”; also, see [0053] “…In step S7, charging is performed so that each vehicle is in an optimal charging state... a state of charge SOC of about 20% is sufficient,… where traffic is likely to be congested, it is more efficient to fully charge the battery because the vehicle is mainly driven as an electric vehicle that does not operate the engine (EV traveling), the external power grid including a (see Fig. 2 the external power grid includes a least one generation power source 202 and transmission cables which is external to the vehicles power source/batteries; also, see [0031] “The power supply unit 203 supplies the AC power source 202…”);.
Shigeki does not explicitly teach determine a total electric energy to be balanced for the external power grid by the resources by generating charge plans, and transmit the total electric energy for the each time slot that has been determined (the total electric energy to be balanced refers to a total demand response amount that needs to be balanced (increased or decreased DR) by controlling charging plans that satisfy the DR amount), and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing the resources based on the total electric energy, the external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network.
However, Yamaguchi teaches a system for managing energy comprising an external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network (see Fig. 1 renewable energy resources 2 and thermal power; also, see The renewable energy producing apparatus 2 is an apparatus such as a facility for power generation with sunlight, a hydroelectric power generation facility, and a wind power generation facility which produces electric power by using renewable energy such as sunlight, water power, and wind power…”; also, see [0027] “ The power-system monitor system 6 monitors and controls, for example, power generation amounts in thermal power generation and water power generation managed by an electric power company…”), and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing resources (see 0022 “a plurality of EVs may be managed”;) according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan (see [0005] “the amount of power generated by the renewable energy cannot be controlled, and excess power (hereinafter referred to as an overload as required) may be produced in the power system. A possible approach to stabilizing the power system is to store the overload in a large-capacity mounted battery”; [0036] “The charge control apparatus 1 calculates a total prediction amount by adding the renewable energy prediction amount to the system load prediction amount. The total prediction amount is shown by a curved line with white triangles in FIG. 3 and approximately corresponds to the total power amount (KW) in the system. The charge control apparatus 1 determines whether or not the total prediction amount exceeds a threshold value (shown by a broken line in FIG. 3). Although the threshold value is 65% in the example, the aspects are not limited thereto. In the example of FIG. 3, the total prediction amount exceeds the threshold value from about 11 to about 15:30 and from about 17 to about 19:30. Since these time frames in which the threshold value is exceeded have a margin for power supply, the EV 9 is desirably charged in these time frames. The charge control apparatus 1 performs scheduling such that the EV 9 is charged in a time frame in which the threshold value is exceeded (hereinafter referred to as an overload time frame) wherever possible)”, thus, a changing plan is created to reduce”; also, see [0078-[0079] “The charge of the EV is concentrated in the overload time frame to allow stabilization of the system without mounting an expensive large-capacity mounted battery).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include an external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network, and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing resources according to the power balancing plan or a modified power balancing plan as taught by Yamaguchi in order reduce costs by using a plurality of power generation sources including renewable sources (see [0023] and to maintain a stability of power energy supply and demand without mounting an expensive large capacity battery which increases costs (see [0005] and [0078-0079] “The charge of the EV is concentrated in the overload time frame to allow stabilization of the system without mounting an expensive large-capacity mounted battery”) by reducing the peak power generation by scheduling the charging plans of the resources/EVs during the peaks of power generation (see [0078-0079]).
However, TSUCHIYA a system for balancing energy in an electrical network comprising further comprising determine, for each time slot, a total electric energy to be balanced for the external power supply by the resources by generating charge plans (TSUCHIYA teaches in [0088] “The electric power company E0, the plurality of upper aggregators E1, and the plurality of lower aggregators E2 can change the electric power demand pattern by adjusting the electric power supply and demand balance by a method called demand response (DR).”; also, see [0089] “More specifically, the server 91 transmits a signal requesting participation in DR (DR participation request) to each higher-level aggregator E1. In the example shown in FIG. 10, when the server 1B receives the DR participation request, the server 1B obtains the power amount that can be adjusted according to the DR (DR possible amount) and transmits the power amount to the server 91…”; also, see Fig. 10 and 11 the scheduling unit server 2B generates the schedule based on a demand signal DR from server 91, see [0090] “…the server 1B determines the amount of power to be adjusted by the lower aggregator E2 based on the DR capacity received from each of the servers 2A to 2B included in the lower aggregator E2, and DR….”; also, see [0092]-[0093] “the DR calculation unit 25
allocates the DR amount to each vehicle 1 capable of DR among the vehicles 1
in the jurisdiction, and creates a DR signal for each vehicle 1. To do. The
created DR signal is transmitted to each vehicle 1. This DR signal includes a
DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up
DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each
vehicle 1, and a DR period…. during the time zone when the power peak occurs (for example, the time zone before and after dinner), the server 2B included in the upper aggregator E1 to the lower aggregator E2 is sent a lower DR signal requesting the suppression of the power demand. It is also possible to send. This is because the server 2B can level out the power peak by suppressing the power demand associated with the external charging of the vehicle 1 by postponing the
execution of the external charging….”; also, see [0065]; see Fig. 11 and see [0109]; also, see [0065] and [0092] “When the DR calculation unit 25 receives the second DR execution instruction from the communication unit 21, the DR calculation unit 25 allocates the DR amount to each vehicle 1 capable of DR among the vehicles 1 in the jurisdiction, and creates a DR signal for each vehicle 1. To do. The created DR signal is transmitted to each vehicle 1. This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period/slot”, thus, a total electric energy to be balanced is determined per period/slot (DR period) and sent to the lower server so that charge plans are generated per each resource to help in the DR balancing; see [0092-0093] “…This DR signal includes a DR (lower DR) requesting suppression of electric power demand or a DR (up DR) requesting an increase in electric power demand, a DR amount for each vehicle 1, and a DR period…”; also, see Fig. 1 DR amount is received; also, see [0096]-[0097]), and transmit the total electric energy for the each time slot that has been determined (see Fig. 12 step S61 and see [0091], [0092], [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Shigeki’s invention to include determine a total electric energy to be balanced for the external power supply by the resources by generating charge plans, and transmit the total electric energy for the each time slot that has been determined as taught by TSUCHIYA in order to create schedules for charging a vehicle wherein energy cost is reduced (see [0057] “…The vehicle 1 stands by with the charging cable 5 connected without external charging until midnight arrives. Then, when the midnight zone arrives, external charging is started (time tA), and external charging is performed until the battery 12 is fully charged”; also, see [0059] “…As a result, the electricity charge can be reduced as compared with the case of charging in a time zone other than the time when the electricity charge is cheap (other than the midnight zone). However, it is not essential that the charging time zone in the second charging schedule is a time zone (midnight) when the electricity rate is low”) and also to help the grid maintain a power stability by balancing the energy in the system by controlling the resources consumption or charging according to the determined total electric energy to be balanced (see [0088], [0091], [0092], [0093], and see [0096]-[0099]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuchiya et al (US 20210056459) teaches a power management system generating charging/discharging for resources/vehicles, the charging plans are generated to stabilize the total amount of power in the system (see 0010, 0076).
Amari et al (US 20190061552) teaches a power management system generating charging/discharging for resources/vehicles, the charging plans are generated to maintain supply and demand balance, frequency stabilization (see 0004, 0043) or a grid connected to a plurality of generation sources (see Fig. 1).
Tsuchiya et al (US 20210376402) teaches a power management system generating charging/discharging for resources/vehicles, the charging plans are generated to stabilize the total amount of power in the system (see fig. 6 and see 0004), wherein some vehicles are selected and some are disregarded as participants (see S15 Fig. 5), wherein in a group of resources are treated as a VPP (see 0068).
Yano et al (US 20140253037 A1) a management device to generate charge balance plans for resources including vehicles and perform power balancing of the external power grid, by managing the resources based on the total electric energy, the external power grid including a plurality of power generation sources connected via a network (0067, 0136).
Yang et al (“A comprehensive review on electric vehicles integrated in virtual
power plants”) teaches different algorithms/methods to generate EV charge schedules to contribute to power stability, frequency control, and cost reduction in a power grid system (see page 2 and see Fig. 6 and table 2), wherein several constraints are considered to generate the plans including carbon emissions, SOC of the batteries, ( page 6) .
Niloofar Pourghaderi et al (“Energy Scheduling of a Technical Virtual Power Plant in Presence of Electric Vehicles”) teaches a grid connected to a plurality of sources and generating balance charge plans for controllable resources such as batteries of vehicles (see Abstract), wherein the charge plans are determined for day ahead and considering the total power generated and total load needed and total energy that can be adjusted using the EV batteries (see page 1194) while satisfying a total power balance of energy at each period in the grid (see page 1195).
Thus, as suggested in the references above, VPPs including the use of electrical vehicles and other dispatchable resources are widely used and studied for the purpose of providing balancing in the power grid (generation and demand balance), for frequency control for sudden drops/peaks, reserve spinning, cost reduction, etc. Power dispatch or load dispatch refers to power managements where generation and/or loads are controlled to maintain balance or stability in a power network, wherein it is inherently understood that a difference between generation and demand causes imbalance and frequency drop in the system.
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117