This Office Action is in response to Applicant Amendment and Arguments filed on 1/21/2026.
Claim(s) 1 -2 and 4-16 are pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
With regards to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-16 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, arguments have been fully considered, but are deemed moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are a “setting process unit configured to…” as recited in claim 12.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the setting process unit the specification states in para [0051] “The operation control unit 21 has a control device such as a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The CPU is a processor that performs various types of arithmetic processes. The ROM is a non-volatile storage unit that preliminarily stores a control program, such as a BIOS, an OS, or the like, that causes the CPU to perform various types of arithmetic processes. The RAM is a volatile or non-volatile storage unit that stores various types of information, and is used as a transient storage memory of various processes performed by the CPU. Then, the operation control unit 21 causes the CPU to perform various control programs, which are preliminarily stored in the ROM or the storage unit 22, thereby to control the operation terminal 20.” and para [0052] “As shown in FIG. 1, the operation control unit 21 includes various process units such as a setting process unit 211, a reception process unit 212, an acquisition process unit 213, a generation process unit 214, and an output process unit 215. Further, the operation control unit 21 causes the CPU to perform the various processes, which accord to the control programs, thereby to function as the various process units. Further, a part or all of the process units may include an electronic circuit. Note that the control program may be a program that causes a plurality of processors to function as the process units.” Thus the setting process unit will be interpreted as a processor and memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
It does not appear there is any written description of “acquiring, from a plurality of communication devices, position information of respective positions of the plurality of communication devices, each of which is installed by a user at an arbitrary position on the connecting road”. While it is described in the specification that there are communication devices that signal the bounds of the running area, it is not described that a user installs the communication devices in an arbitrary position, or that a user installs the communication devices at all.
Claims 2-11 and 14-16 do not cure the deficiencies of claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “arbitrary position” in claim 1, 12, 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “arbitrary position” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is subjective what and arbitrary position might be. In fact the placing in positions that defines the bounds of the running area in itself might be considered as not arbitrary.
Claims 2-11 and 14-16 are rejected on the same basis.
Claims 2, 5, 6, and 9 recites the limitation "a user". However “a user” is already recited in claim 1. Thus it is unclear if “a user” of claims 2, 5, 6, and 9 is the same user or a different user than that of claim 1 which claims 2, 5, 6, and 9 all depend on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamatani et al. ( US 20220400597 A1, hereinafter known as Tamatani) in view of Sasakura (Machine translation of JP 2022032805 A) and Abramson (US 20200201328 A1).
Tamatani in view of Sasakura was cited in a previous office action.
Regarding claim 1, Tamatani teaches A setting method that performs operations comprising:
setting an inter-area route that causes a work vehicle to automatically run on a connecting road that connects a plurality of work areas;
{Para [0110] “The route creation unit 105 is capable of creating, in addition to the travel route L1 in the agricultural field described above, the road travel route L2 for traveling on a road between agricultural fields. Creation of the road travel route L2, which is performed by the route creation unit 105, will be described. For example, in some cases, the tractor 1 is caused to move from one agricultural field to another agricultural field by automatic operation. FIG. 11A is a diagram illustrating how the tractor 1 moves by automatic operation from an agricultural field FA to an agricultural field FB. As illustrated in FIG. 11A, to cause the tractor 1 to move from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB by automatic operation, the route creation unit 105 creates the road travel route L2 (planned road travel route) from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB. Specifically, when the operator or the like performs a predetermined operation on the display unit 50, the controller 60 displays a setting screen M3 for setting the road travel route L2. The setting screen M3 has a field portion FL that displays the map MP1 having the plurality of agricultural field maps MP2 (including the agricultural field maps MP2 of the agricultural field FA, the agricultural field FB, etc.).”
}
setting, as an automatic run permission area in which automatic running of the work vehicle is permitted, a predetermined range including the plurality of work areas and the connecting road for entering each of the plurality of work areas, and
{Para [0111] “In response to the operator or the like operating the display unit 50, the route creation unit 105 creates, on the map MP1 displayed in the field portion FL, the road travel route L2 from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB. In the map MP1, the agricultural fields FA to FI and non-agricultural-field regions are each associated with position information (latitude and longitude). The route storage unit 106 stores the road travel route L2. When the route creation unit 105 creates the road travel route L2, the map registration unit 101 sets a region including the road travel route L2 as a road RD, and stores a road map MP3 including the position information of the road travel route L2 and the road RD in the map storage unit 102. Examples of the road RD include an automobile road, a forest road, and a farm road. The map storage unit 102 stores the road map MP3 (including the road travel route L2 and the road RD) in addition to the agricultural field maps MP2 and data indicating the outlines of the agricultural fields (data for representing the predetermined agricultural fields). Further, the map registration unit 101 causes the map storage unit 102 to store an aggregate map SMP, which is obtained by aggregation of the agricultural field maps MP2 and the road map MP3. As described above, when the road travel route L2 is created, the automatic travel control unit 61 performs control of straight-line automatic operation so that the tractor 1 travels along the road travel route L2.”
Para [0112] “In the first preferred embodiment described above, the road travel route L2 is created in response to the operator or the like operating the display unit 50. Alternatively, in response to the operator or the like selecting the agricultural field FA as a departure place and the agricultural field FB as a destination place on the setting screen M3, the controller 60 may automatically set the road travel route L2.”
}
Controlling steering of the work vehicle such that the work vehicle automatically runs along the inter-area route within the automatic run permission area.
{Para [0111] “In response to the operator or the like operating the display unit 50, the route creation unit 105 creates, on the map MP1 displayed in the field portion FL, the road travel route L2 from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB. In the map MP1, the agricultural fields FA to FI and non-agricultural-field regions are each associated with position information (latitude and longitude). The route storage unit 106 stores the road travel route L2. When the route creation unit 105 creates the road travel route L2, the map registration unit 101 sets a region including the road travel route L2 as a road RD, and stores a road map MP3 including the position information of the road travel route L2 and the road RD in the map storage unit 102. Examples of the road RD include an automobile road, a forest road, and a farm road. The map storage unit 102 stores the road map MP3 (including the road travel route L2 and the road RD) in addition to the agricultural field maps MP2 and data indicating the outlines of the agricultural fields (data for representing the predetermined agricultural fields). Further, the map registration unit 101 causes the map storage unit 102 to store an aggregate map SMP, which is obtained by aggregation of the agricultural field maps MP2 and the road map MP3. As described above, when the road travel route L2 is created, the automatic travel control unit 61 performs control of straight-line automatic operation so that the tractor 1 travels along the road travel route L2.”
Para [0065] “As illustrated in FIG. 3, during automatic travel of the tractor 1, when the deviation of the vehicle-body position from the travel route L1 is less than a threshold value, the automatic travel control unit 61 maintains the rotation angle of the steering shaft (rotation shaft) 11b. When the deviation of the vehicle-body position from the travel route L1 is greater than or equal to the threshold value and the tractor 1 is to the left of the travel route L1, the automatic travel control unit 61 causes the steering shaft 11b to rotate so that the tractor 1 is steered to the right. When the deviation of the vehicle-body position from the travel route L1 is greater than or equal to the threshold value and the tractor 1 is to the right of the travel route L1, the automatic travel control unit 61 causes the steering shaft 11b to rotate so that the tractor 1 is steered to the left.”
}
Tamatani does not teach, prohibiting automatic running of the work vehicle outside the automatic run permission area;
However, Sasakura teaches prohibiting automatic running of the work vehicle outside the automatic run permission area;
{Para [0049] “Further, in the automatic work control mode 35, when the tractor 10 is automatically working in the field 9, the tractor 10 deviates from the planned route from the position information of the tractor 10 and is surrounded by the shape of the field 9 (enclosed by the outer peripheral storage point Pa). When it detects a movement that is likely to deviate from the shape), the tractor 10 is suspended. This prevents the tractor 10 from deviating from the shape of the field 9. The tractor 10 at the time of being temporarily stopped is then returned to the shape of the field 9 by automatically moving backward or steering so as to be returned to the planned route.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamatani to incorporate the teachings of Sasakura to stop the vehicle when it is going to leave the run area because it improves safety. Having the vehicle stay within the run area can help prevent collisions with persons/vehicles outside the area who were not expecting a deviation.
Tamatani in view of Sasakura does not teach, acquiring, from a plurality of communication devices, position information of respective positions of the plurality of communication devices, each of which is installed by a user at an arbitrary position on the connecting road
the predetermined range being a range surrounded by a plurality of positions corresponding to the acquired position information
However, Abramson acquiring, from a plurality of communication devices, position information of respective positions of the plurality of communication devices, each of which is installed by a user at an arbitrary position on the connecting road
the predetermined range being a range surrounded by a plurality of positions corresponding to the acquired position information
{Para [0105-0107] “In further embodiments, the method can include determining that the physical element is located within the work area 74 based on a location of the mobile outdoor power equipment machine relative to the work area 74, and the proximity of the physical element to the mobile outdoor power equipment machine 20. In some embodiments, the work area 74 is defined by a boundary wire arranged around the perimeter of the work area 74, and movement of the mobile outdoor power equipment machine 20 is controlled utilizing a demarcation, or other localization or navigation system. The wire separates the work area 74, lying within the perimeter defined by the wire, from a non-work area, which lies outside of the perimeter defined by the wire.
Data associated with the position and/or orientation of the mobile outdoor power equipment machine 20 is provided by the localization system, and can be utilized to estimate the distance from mobile outdoor power equipment machine 20 to the wire. The distance from the mobile outdoor power equipment machine 20 to the physical element can be determined employing methods such those utilized in the proximity determination at act 420. Taking into consideration the distance to the boundary wire, and the proximity of the physical presence, a determination of whether the physical presence is within the work area 74 is made.
In other embodiments, a localization system associated with the mobile outdoor power equipment machine 20 includes a virtual perimeter or geofence, utilizing for example, global positioning (GPS), or radio frequency identification (RFID), to define the geographic boundary of the work area 74. A determination of whether the physical presence is within the work area 74 can be made based on data associated with the position of the mobile outdoor power equipment machine 20 within the virtual boundary, together with the proximity of the physical presence, and the relative angle of its position to the mobile outdoor power equipment machine 20.”
Tamatani already teaches the automatic run area is a road.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamatani in view of Sasakura to incorporate the teachings of Abramson to have markers placed to define the running area because it allows a user to physically view the work area while setting a boundary potentially allowing for more accurate placement of a boundary.
Additionally Nickel (US 11591020 B1) discuss in column 9 “The infrastructure provides advantages over computer vision and GPS. The RFID environment is better suited than GPS for detecting lateral lane position of fast-moving vehicles. It is better suited than computer vision for detecting lateral lane position in inclement weather and other conditions (e.g., snow, sand, smoke, thick fog, white out conditions) that obscure lane lines and other road details. Thus, the infrastructure creates much greater safety for autonomous vehicles in both normal and difficult conditions.”
Regarding claim 2, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches The setting method according to claim 1.
Tamatani further teaches wherein a range selected by a user in map information is set as the automatic run permission area.
{Fig. 11A and Para [0112] “In the first preferred embodiment described above, the road travel route L2 is created in response to the operator or the like operating the display unit 50. Alternatively, in response to the operator or the like selecting the agricultural field FA as a departure place and the agricultural field FB as a destination place on the setting screen M3, the controller 60 may automatically set the road travel route L2.”
Where a setting screen is shown in fig. 11A
}
Regarding claim 5, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches The setting method according to claim 1.
Tamatani further teaches wherein in an operation terminal of a user, each of the automatic run permission area and the inter-area route is identifiably displayed in map information.
{Fig. 11A and Para [0110] “The route creation unit 105 is capable of creating, in addition to the travel route L1 in the agricultural field described above, the road travel route L2 for traveling on a road between agricultural fields. Creation of the road travel route L2, which is performed by the route creation unit 105, will be described. For example, in some cases, the tractor 1 is caused to move from one agricultural field to another agricultural field by automatic operation. FIG. 11A is a diagram illustrating how the tractor 1 moves by automatic operation from an agricultural field FA to an agricultural field FB. As illustrated in FIG. 11A, to cause the tractor 1 to move from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB by automatic operation, the route creation unit 105 creates the road travel route L2 (planned road travel route) from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB. Specifically, when the operator or the like performs a predetermined operation on the display unit 50, the controller 60 displays a setting screen M3 for setting the road travel route L2. The setting screen M3 has a field portion FL that displays the map MP1 having the plurality of agricultural field maps MP2 (including the agricultural field maps MP2 of the agricultural field FA, the agricultural field FB, etc.).”
}
Regarding claim 6, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches The setting method according to claim 1.
Tamatani further teaches wherein, in an operation terminal of a user, among a plurality of inter-area routes which are preset, the inter-area route positioned in the automatic run permission area is settably displayed.
{Fig. 11A and Para [0110] “The route creation unit 105 is capable of creating, in addition to the travel route L1 in the agricultural field described above, the road travel route L2 for traveling on a road between agricultural fields. Creation of the road travel route L2, which is performed by the route creation unit 105, will be described. For example, in some cases, the tractor 1 is caused to move from one agricultural field to another agricultural field by automatic operation. FIG. 11A is a diagram illustrating how the tractor 1 moves by automatic operation from an agricultural field FA to an agricultural field FB. As illustrated in FIG. 11A, to cause the tractor 1 to move from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB by automatic operation, the route creation unit 105 creates the road travel route L2 (planned road travel route) from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB. Specifically, when the operator or the like performs a predetermined operation on the display unit 50, the controller 60 displays a setting screen M3 for setting the road travel route L2. The setting screen M3 has a field portion FL that displays the map MP1 having the plurality of agricultural field maps MP2 (including the agricultural field maps MP2 of the agricultural field FA, the agricultural field FB, etc.).”
As seen in fig. 11A multiple routes are possible but one is selected.
}
Regarding claim 7, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches An automatic run method that, in the automatic run permission area set by the setting method according to claim 1.
Tamatani further teaches causes the work vehicle to automatically run following the inter-area route.
{Rejection of claim 1 discuss the area setting taught by Tamatani. Additionally Tamatani discloses Para [0064] “The controller 60 includes an automatic travel control unit 61 that controls automatic travel of the tractor 1. The automatic travel control unit 61 is implemented by the electric and electronic circuits of the controller 60 and a program stored in the CPU or the like, for example. Upon start of automatic travel, the automatic travel control unit 61 controls the control valve 22 of the steering device 11 such that the traveling vehicle 3 travels along a travel route L1 (planned travel route) in an agricultural field or a road travel route L2 (planned road travel route) between agricultural fields described below. Upon start of automatic travel, furthermore, the automatic travel control unit 61 automatically changes the gear position of the transmission 5, the rotational speed of the prime mover 4, and the like to control the vehicle speed (or velocity) of the tractor 1. That is, the automatic travel control unit 61 is capable of performing control of straight-line automatic operation. In the control of straight-line automatic operation, for example, the steering device 11, the transmission 5, and the prime mover 4 are controlled such that the tractor 1 (the traveling vehicle 3) moves along the travel route L1 or the road travel route L2, which is set in advance.”
}
Regarding Claim 8, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches The automatic run method according to claim 7.
Sasakura teaches wherein when the work vehicle reaches a boundary of the automatic run permission area, the method causes the work vehicle to stop the automatic run.
{Para [0049] “Further, in the automatic work control mode 35, when the tractor 10 is automatically working in the field 9, the tractor 10 deviates from the planned route from the position information of the tractor 10 and is surrounded by the shape of the field 9 (enclosed by the outer peripheral storage point Pa). When it detects a movement that is likely to deviate from the shape), the tractor 10 is suspended. This prevents the tractor 10 from deviating from the shape of the field 9. The tractor 10 at the time of being temporarily stopped is then returned to the shape of the field 9 by automatically moving backward or steering so as to be returned to the planned route.”
}
Regarding claim 12, it recites A setting system having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Additionally Tamatani teaches A setting process unit configured to….
{ Para [0071] “The tractor 1 includes a travel support device 100. The travel support device 100 is a device that supports travel of a working vehicle such as a tractor. In the first preferred embodiment, examples of the travel support device 100 include portable terminals (or mobile terminals) such as a tablet, a smartphone, and a personal digital assistant (PDA), and fixed-type terminals (or fixed terminals) such as fixed computers, for example, a personal computer and a server. The travel support device 100 may be either a device attachable to or detachable from the tractor 1 or a device fixed to the tractor 1. In one example, the travel support device 100 is a tablet (or a mobile terminal) installed near the operator's seat 10.”
}
Regarding claim 13, it recites A setting program having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Additionally Tamatani teaches A setting program storing processor executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations…
{Para [0071] “The tractor 1 includes a travel support device 100. The travel support device 100 is a device that supports travel of a working vehicle such as a tractor. In the first preferred embodiment, examples of the travel support device 100 include portable terminals (or mobile terminals) such as a tablet, a smartphone, and a personal digital assistant (PDA), and fixed-type terminals (or fixed terminals) such as fixed computers, for example, a personal computer and a server. The travel support device 100 may be either a device attachable to or detachable from the tractor 1 or a device fixed to the tractor 1. In one example, the travel support device 100 is a tablet (or a mobile terminal) installed near the operator's seat 10.”
Para [0110] “The route creation unit 105 is capable of creating, in addition to the travel route L1 in the agricultural field described above, the road travel route L2 for traveling on a road between agricultural fields. Creation of the road travel route L2, which is performed by the route creation unit 105, will be described. For example, in some cases, the tractor 1 is caused to move from one agricultural field to another agricultural field by automatic operation. FIG. 11A is a diagram illustrating how the tractor 1 moves by automatic operation from an agricultural field FA to an agricultural field FB. As illustrated in FIG. 11A, to cause the tractor 1 to move from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB by automatic operation, the route creation unit 105 creates the road travel route L2 (planned road travel route) from the agricultural field FA to the agricultural field FB. Specifically, when the operator or the like performs a predetermined operation on the display unit 50, the controller 60 displays a setting screen M3 for setting the road travel route L2. The setting screen M3 has a field portion FL that displays the map MP1 having the plurality of agricultural field maps MP2 (including the agricultural field maps MP2 of the agricultural field FA, the agricultural field FB, etc.).”
}
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamatani et al. (US 20220400597 A1, hereinafter known as Tamatani) in view of Sasakura (Machine translation of JP 2022032805 A), Abramson (US 20200201328 A1), and Selevan et al. (US 20210237777 A1, hereinafter known as Selevan).
Selevan was cited in a previous office action.
Regarding Claim 4, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches The setting method according to claim 1.
Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson does not teach, wherein the communication devices are each provided with a display unit that displays information to prohibit an entry into the automatic run permission area.
However, Selevan teaches wherein the communication devices are each provided with a display unit that displays information to prohibit an entry into the automatic run permission area.
{Fig. 7 and Para [0077-0080] “A series of electronic displays 322 programmed to show illuminated arrows directing traffic to move to the left, with attached housings 300 equipped with the node circuit board 100 as described above; and A reflective traffic barrel 324 having a flashing warning light 326 mounted thereon with a housing 300 equipped with the gateway circuit board 200 attached thereto.
In the example of FIG. 7, an operator of the oncoming vehicle may, at minimum, perceive visible light being cast trough the traffic cones 304, or a barrel 324, and from the illuminated signs 300 and may visualize other aspects of the various signs and objects as they come within view. However, beyond such direct line-of-sight visualization by a vehicle operator, the various devices shown in FIG. 7 may provide additional information to vehicles V which are equipped with GPS (GNSS), infrared sensors, cameras, autopilot and/or autonomous control capabilities. For example, vehicles or vehicle occupants who have GPS navigation system(s) or access to internet-based GPS information may receive information from the work zone shown in FIG. 7 before coming within visualization distance of the work zone. The work zone devices, 100 and 200, may communicate directly with the vehicle V via radio communication to deliver their data, or multiple devices 100 can transmit their Ground Truth data (location, temperature, humidity, orientation to gravity, etc.) to the gateway 200 mounted atop barrel 324 in enclosure 300. Gateway 200 will then transmit the collection of data provided by all devices 100 (and sensors in 200 as well) to Cloud 1. This may occur by cellular communication or, as noted above, by direct fiber-optic connection if such connection is available.
Processing and re-transmission of these data in Cloud 1 will be followed, in real time, by transmission to the internet and to Cloud 2. From Cloud 2 specific data, such as location, asset type (barrel, barricade, concrete barrier, sign, message board) will be delivered via cellular connectivity to the vehicle for on-board processing (autonomous vehicles) and display on the user interface in the dashboard of the vehicle V. In such fiber-optic connected embodiments, nodes 10a and 300/100 will continue to communicate with gateway 300/200 but the gateway 300/200 may use the fiber optic network, rather than cellular connectivity) to connect to Cloud 1.”
Both arrows and a warning light can be considered a display unit that displays information to prohibit an entry. The system also has wireless communication circuitry as discussed above.
Tamatani already teaches an area being the automatic run area.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson to incorporate the teachings of Selevan to have displayed prohibiting entry into a work area because improves safety (para [0006] “The increasing commonality of vehicles equipped with GPS navigation systems, automated driver warning/assist systems and autopilot or autonomous driving systems has given rise to a need for new devices and methods for promoting work zone safety by signaling or otherwise providing notice to oncoming vehicles of work zone locations and/or other hazards. Guiding vehicles, pedestrians, bicycles, or other moving objects through congested or dangerous areas requires easily identifiable cues. These cues may be in the form of signage (yield, stop, speed limit, arrows, for example) or delineators (traffic cones, barrels, vertical panels and the like”)
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamatani et al. ( US 20220400597 A1, hereinafter known as Tamatani) in view of Sasakura (Machine translation of JP 2022032805 A), Abramson (US 20200201328 A1), and Selevan et al. (US 20210237777 A1, hereinafter known as Selevan).
Regarding Claim 9, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches The automatic run method according to claim 7
Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson does not teach, wherein the method, when having detected an intruder that enters the automatic run permission area, causes information, which indicates the intruder, to be reported at the work vehicle and a user's operation terminal which are in the automatic run permission area.
However, Selevan teaches wherein the method, when having detected an intruder that enters the automatic run permission area, causes information, which indicates the intruder, to be reported at the work vehicle and a user's operation terminal which are in the automatic run permission area.
{Para [0050] “With the IoT sensor, including accelerometer or other tilt sensor, the internally illuminated delineator can act as a warning bringing notification to workers of a vehicle intrusion into the work zone or pedestrian area. Should a vehicle enter a sector where pedestrians are working or congregating and the delineators are positioned where they must be struck to enter this area, an accelerometer would register the impact and send a radio signal or sound signal or light signal to warn workers or pedestrians that a vehicle has entered a protected area. As the sensor would be located on the circuit board of the light synchronizing network device, it is permanently installed in the cone or barrel or delineator and does not represent an “add on”. Hence, it is always part of the standard deployment of standard delineators, unlike dedicated intrusion systems. This represents an advance in the technology that lowers the cost and eases deployment of this safety system.”
Tamatani already teaches the automatic run area and a terminal on the vehicle (para [0071]) Selevan teaches alerting workers in the area by radio signal (implied to be wifi or some other radio signal that can be received by a personal device.)
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson to incorporate the teachings of Selevan to send an alert when there is an intruder because it improves safety (an alert can allow avoid being hit).
Claim(s) 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamatani et al. ( US 20220400597 A1, hereinafter known as Tamatani) in view of Sasakura (Machine translation of JP 2022032805 A), Abramson (US 20200201328 A1), and Yamamura et al. (US 20210064045 A1, hereinafter known as Yamamura).
Yamamura was cited in a previous office action.
Regarding Claim 10, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches The automatic run method according to claim 7
Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson does not teach, wherein the method, when having detected an intruder that enters the automatic run permission area, controls the automatic run of the work vehicle in the automatic run permission area based on at least any of a position and work content of the work vehicle.
However, Yamamura teaches wherein the method, when having detected an intruder that enters the automatic run permission area, controls the automatic run of the work vehicle in the automatic run permission area based on at least any of a position and work content of the work vehicle.
{Para [0061] “The control unit 41 performs processing of setting the snow removal work region 54 for setting the boundary of the snow removal work region 54 by setting a virtual wire linearly connecting the marker 56 and the marker 56 to each other by acquiring photographed images of the poles 55 for work photographed by the camera 37 of the autonomous snow removing machine 1 and detecting the markers 56 of the poles 55 for work.”
Para [0070] “The self-traveling operation control performed by the control unit 41 includes control for detecting obstacles such as people and the houses 52 existing ahead of the autonomous snow removing machine 1 and causing the autonomous snow removing machine 1 to travel so as to avoid the obstacles when it is detected that the obstacles exist on the basis of image analysis in accordance with the photographed image obtained by the camera 37 or object detection performed the radar system 38.”
Para [0102-0103] “When it is determined that a person exists within the predetermined range ahead of the autonomous snow removing machine 1 (ST17: NO) and when it is determined that an obstacle exists (ST18: NO), the control unit 41 performs operation so as to avoid the person or the obstacle by controlling the traveling apparatuses 11 (ST23).
After the avoidance, the control unit 41 moves the shooter 33 so as to correspond to the snow collecting region 57 on the basis of the current location of the autonomous snow removing machine 1 (ST25).”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson to incorporate the teachings of Yamamura to control the automatic run based on the presence of a person because it improves safety by decreasing the chances of an accident with the person.
Regarding Claim 11, Tamatani teaches The automatic run method according to claim 7
Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson does not teach, wherein the method, when having detected an intruder that enters the automatic run permission area, changes the inter-area route set for the work vehicle.
However, Yamamura teaches wherein the method, when having detected an intruder that enters the automatic run permission area, changes the inter-area route set for the work vehicle.
{Para [0061] “The control unit 41 performs processing of setting the snow removal work region 54 for setting the boundary of the snow removal work region 54 by setting a virtual wire linearly connecting the marker 56 and the marker 56 to each other by acquiring photographed images of the poles 55 for work photographed by the camera 37 of the autonomous snow removing machine 1 and detecting the markers 56 of the poles 55 for work.”
Para [0070] “The self-traveling operation control performed by the control unit 41 includes control for detecting obstacles such as people and the houses 52 existing ahead of the autonomous snow removing machine 1 and causing the autonomous snow removing machine 1 to travel so as to avoid the obstacles when it is detected that the obstacles exist on the basis of image analysis in accordance with the photographed image obtained by the camera 37 or object detection performed the radar system 38.”
Para [0102-0103] “When it is determined that a person exists within the predetermined range ahead of the autonomous snow removing machine 1 (ST17: NO) and when it is determined that an obstacle exists (ST18: NO), the control unit 41 performs operation so as to avoid the person or the obstacle by controlling the traveling apparatuses 11 (ST23).
After the avoidance, the control unit 41 moves the shooter 33 so as to correspond to the snow collecting region 57 on the basis of the current location of the autonomous snow removing machine 1 (ST25).”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson to incorporate the teachings of Yamamura to change the route based on the presence of a person because it improves safety by decreasing the chances of an accident with the person.
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamatani et al. ( US 20220400597 A1, hereinafter known as Tamatani) in view of Sasakura (Machine translation of JP 2022032805 A), Abramson (US 20200201328 A1), and Gabrecht et al. (US 11281226 B2, hereinafter known as Gabrecht).
Gabrecht was previously cited as prior art made of record and not relied upon
Regarding Claim 14, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson teaches The automatic run method according to claim 1.
Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson does not teach, the plurality of work areas include a first work area, a second work area, and a third work area, the work vehicle runs from the first work area to the second work area along the inter-area route, and the operations comprise setting a second inter-area route that causes the work vehicle to automatically run on the connecting road between the second work area and the third work area.
However, Gabrecht teaches the plurality of work areas include a first work area, a second work area, and a third work area, the work vehicle runs from the first work area to the second work area along the inter-area route, and the operations comprise setting a second inter-area route that causes the work vehicle to automatically run on the connecting road between the second work area and the third work area.
{Column 4-5 “The transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths can alternatively be input via an interface, in particular a touchscreen. The transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths can hereby also be determined as a function of actually existing spatial conditions and obstacles. It is furthermore possible to determine the transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths in a particularly user-friendly manner by inputting the transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths via the interface.”
Column 5 “the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas can hereby also be determined as a function of actually existing spatial conditions and obstacles. It is furthermore possible for the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas to be input via an interface, in particular a touchscreen. By inputting the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas via the interface, this is carried out in a particularly user-friendly manner.”
Column 9 “FIG. 1 shows a schematic drawing of an embodiment of the method according to the invention for determining a route 1 for a floor cleaning machine in a total area 2. The method according to the invention is provided for a floor cleaning machine comprising a cleaning element that can be activated for engagement with a floor surface. In a preferred embodiment, the total area 2 comprises a building with a plurality of rooms. FIG. 1 further shows a transport path 3 and six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ as well as start/end areas 5 and additional start/end areas 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″. FIG. 1 also shows a work area 7 and five additional work areas 7′, 7″, T′″, 7″″, 7′″″ as well as a work path 9 and five additional work paths 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″. In the design example described here, the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ partially extend between the rooms, and a portion of the start/end areas 5, 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″ is respectively provided in one room. Lastly, the work paths 9, 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″ extend along floor surfaces to be cleaned, in the case of the design example respectively in one room. FIG. 2 shows a flow chart of an embodiment of the method according to the invention, in which a first step 101 and a second step 102 and an optional third step 103 (dashed) are depicted.
In the first step 101, the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ are determined (see FIG. 1). In the design example described here this is achieved by teaching, by a user traveling the respective transport path 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ with the floor cleaning machine, whereby the spatial coordinates for the transport path 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ are recorded by the floor cleaning machine. Alternatively, it is also possible to determine the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ by inputting the spatial coordinates into an interface of the floor cleaning machine, for example, whereby the spatial coordinates again define different points along the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″. The total area 2 hereby comprises the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″. The transport path 3 extends between a first and a second start/end area 5. Each of the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ respectively extends between a first additional and a second additional start/end area 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″. The transport path 3 and each one of the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ is respectively disposed such that, when traveling the route 1, the floor cleaning machine can move toward a floor surface to be cleaned in a room or away from a floor surface to be cleaned.”
Column 13 “The individual components of the route 1 shown in FIG. 1, i.e. the transport path 3, the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″, the work path 9 and the additional work paths 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″, can be stored temporarily, for example in the interface or in the floor cleaning machine, and then used for determining different complex routes. A further route can be specified, for example, that comprises the transport path 3 and the work path 9. This route can be determined such that first the transport path 3, then the work path 9, and subsequently the transport path 3 is traveled by the floor cleaning machine. By combining the route and the further route to one total route, for example, a higher cleaning requirement can be addressed in the work area 7 compared to the additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″ because, in the case of such a total route, the work area 7 is cleaned twice as often as the additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″.
It is, for example, also provided that the operator determines or specifies at least one subset consisting of work area 7 and additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″ for the floor cleaning machine and, for the determined or specified work areas 7, 7′, 7″, T′″, 7″″, 7′″″, the floor cleaning machine autonomously determines the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ and start/end areas 5, 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″ with respective corresponding supply devices or intermediate charging points, in particular charging stations or service stations, such as water change stations and/or sweepings disposal stations, for example, necessary for cleaning the work areas 7, 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″.”
Where it is implied that up to all 6 work areas can be selected.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson to incorporate the teachings of Gabrecht because it improves time and cost efficiency Column 1 “When determining a route for a floor cleaning machine, it is desirable for an operator to determine the route depending on the position and arrangement of the work area to be cleaned or the work areas to be cleaned, such that the work area or work areas can be approached and cleaned as time-efficiently and cost-effectively as possible by the floor cleaning machine.”
Regarding Claim 15, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson and Gabrecht teaches The automatic run method according to claim 14.
Gabrecht teaches comprising: controlling the work vehicle to perform work in the second work area subsequent to running along the inter-area route,and controlling the steering of the work vehicle such that the work vehicle runs from the second work area to the third work area along the second inter-area route in response to completion of performing the work in the second work area.
{Column 4-5 “The transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths can alternatively be input via an interface, in particular a touchscreen. The transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths can hereby also be determined as a function of actually existing spatial conditions and obstacles. It is furthermore possible to determine the transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths in a particularly user-friendly manner by inputting the transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths via the interface.”
Column 5 “the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas can hereby also be determined as a function of actually existing spatial conditions and obstacles. It is furthermore possible for the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas to be input via an interface, in particular a touchscreen. By inputting the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas via the interface, this is carried out in a particularly user-friendly manner.”
Column 9 “FIG. 1 shows a schematic drawing of an embodiment of the method according to the invention for determining a route 1 for a floor cleaning machine in a total area 2. The method according to the invention is provided for a floor cleaning machine comprising a cleaning element that can be activated for engagement with a floor surface. In a preferred embodiment, the total area 2 comprises a building with a plurality of rooms. FIG. 1 further shows a transport path 3 and six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ as well as start/end areas 5 and additional start/end areas 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″. FIG. 1 also shows a work area 7 and five additional work areas 7′, 7″, T′″, 7″″, 7′″″ as well as a work path 9 and five additional work paths 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″. In the design example described here, the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ partially extend between the rooms, and a portion of the start/end areas 5, 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″ is respectively provided in one room. Lastly, the work paths 9, 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″ extend along floor surfaces to be cleaned, in the case of the design example respectively in one room. FIG. 2 shows a flow chart of an embodiment of the method according to the invention, in which a first step 101 and a second step 102 and an optional third step 103 (dashed) are depicted.
In the first step 101, the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ are determined (see FIG. 1). In the design example described here this is achieved by teaching, by a user traveling the respective transport path 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ with the floor cleaning machine, whereby the spatial coordinates for the transport path 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ are recorded by the floor cleaning machine. Alternatively, it is also possible to determine the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ by inputting the spatial coordinates into an interface of the floor cleaning machine, for example, whereby the spatial coordinates again define different points along the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″. The total area 2 hereby comprises the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″. The transport path 3 extends between a first and a second start/end area 5. Each of the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ respectively extends between a first additional and a second additional start/end area 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″. The transport path 3 and each one of the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ is respectively disposed such that, when traveling the route 1, the floor cleaning machine can move toward a floor surface to be cleaned in a room or away from a floor surface to be cleaned.”
Column 13 “The individual components of the route 1 shown in FIG. 1, i.e. the transport path 3, the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″, the work path 9 and the additional work paths 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″, can be stored temporarily, for example in the interface or in the floor cleaning machine, and then used for determining different complex routes. A further route can be specified, for example, that comprises the transport path 3 and the work path 9. This route can be determined such that first the transport path 3, then the work path 9, and subsequently the transport path 3 is traveled by the floor cleaning machine. By combining the route and the further route to one total route, for example, a higher cleaning requirement can be addressed in the work area 7 compared to the additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″ because, in the case of such a total route, the work area 7 is cleaned twice as often as the additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″.
It is, for example, also provided that the operator determines or specifies at least one subset consisting of work area 7 and additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″ for the floor cleaning machine and, for the determined or specified work areas 7, 7′, 7″, T′″, 7″″, 7′″″, the floor cleaning machine autonomously determines the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ and start/end areas 5, 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″ with respective corresponding supply devices or intermediate charging points, in particular charging stations or service stations, such as water change stations and/or sweepings disposal stations, for example, necessary for cleaning the work areas 7, 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″.”
Where it is implied that up to all 6 work areas can be selected.
}
Regarding Claim 16, Tamatani in view of Sasakura and Abramson and Gabrecht teaches The automatic run method according to claim 14.
Gabrecht teaches comprising: controlling the work vehicle to perform work in the third work area subsequent to running along the second inter-area route.
{Column 4-5 “The transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths can alternatively be input via an interface, in particular a touchscreen. The transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths can hereby also be determined as a function of actually existing spatial conditions and obstacles. It is furthermore possible to determine the transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths in a particularly user-friendly manner by inputting the transport path and/or each one of the additional transport paths via the interface.”
Column 5 “the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas can hereby also be determined as a function of actually existing spatial conditions and obstacles. It is furthermore possible for the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas to be input via an interface, in particular a touchscreen. By inputting the work area and/or each one of the additional work areas via the interface, this is carried out in a particularly user-friendly manner.”
Column 9 “FIG. 1 shows a schematic drawing of an embodiment of the method according to the invention for determining a route 1 for a floor cleaning machine in a total area 2. The method according to the invention is provided for a floor cleaning machine comprising a cleaning element that can be activated for engagement with a floor surface. In a preferred embodiment, the total area 2 comprises a building with a plurality of rooms. FIG. 1 further shows a transport path 3 and six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ as well as start/end areas 5 and additional start/end areas 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″. FIG. 1 also shows a work area 7 and five additional work areas 7′, 7″, T′″, 7″″, 7′″″ as well as a work path 9 and five additional work paths 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″. In the design example described here, the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ partially extend between the rooms, and a portion of the start/end areas 5, 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″ is respectively provided in one room. Lastly, the work paths 9, 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″ extend along floor surfaces to be cleaned, in the case of the design example respectively in one room. FIG. 2 shows a flow chart of an embodiment of the method according to the invention, in which a first step 101 and a second step 102 and an optional third step 103 (dashed) are depicted.
In the first step 101, the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ are determined (see FIG. 1). In the design example described here this is achieved by teaching, by a user traveling the respective transport path 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ with the floor cleaning machine, whereby the spatial coordinates for the transport path 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ are recorded by the floor cleaning machine. Alternatively, it is also possible to determine the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ by inputting the spatial coordinates into an interface of the floor cleaning machine, for example, whereby the spatial coordinates again define different points along the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″. The total area 2 hereby comprises the transport path 3 and the six additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″. The transport path 3 extends between a first and a second start/end area 5. Each of the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ respectively extends between a first additional and a second additional start/end area 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″. The transport path 3 and each one of the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ is respectively disposed such that, when traveling the route 1, the floor cleaning machine can move toward a floor surface to be cleaned in a room or away from a floor surface to be cleaned.”
Column 13 “The individual components of the route 1 shown in FIG. 1, i.e. the transport path 3, the additional transport paths 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″, the work path 9 and the additional work paths 9′, 9″, 9′″, 9″″, 9′″″, can be stored temporarily, for example in the interface or in the floor cleaning machine, and then used for determining different complex routes. A further route can be specified, for example, that comprises the transport path 3 and the work path 9. This route can be determined such that first the transport path 3, then the work path 9, and subsequently the transport path 3 is traveled by the floor cleaning machine. By combining the route and the further route to one total route, for example, a higher cleaning requirement can be addressed in the work area 7 compared to the additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″ because, in the case of such a total route, the work area 7 is cleaned twice as often as the additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″.
It is, for example, also provided that the operator determines or specifies at least one subset consisting of work area 7 and additional work areas 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″ for the floor cleaning machine and, for the determined or specified work areas 7, 7′, 7″, T′″, 7″″, 7′″″, the floor cleaning machine autonomously determines the transport paths 3, 3′, 3″, 3′″, 3″″, 3′″″, 3″″″ and start/end areas 5, 5′, 5″, 5′″, 5″″, 5′″″, 5″″″ with respective corresponding supply devices or intermediate charging points, in particular charging stations or service stations, such as water change stations and/or sweepings disposal stations, for example, necessary for cleaning the work areas 7, 7′, 7″, 7′″, 7″″, 7′″″.”
Where it is implied that up to all 6 work areas can be selected.
}
Conclusion
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668