DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10, 12, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullaney (US Pub 2020/0253640) in view of Funk et al. (US Patent 7,406,775).
With respect to claim 1, Mullaney discloses an external fixation frame (see figure 2 below) comprising; first (fig 2, 20) and second support rings (fig 2, 30); one or more wires or bone pins (fig 2, 14) coupled to any of the first and second support rings; one or more struts (fig 2, 11) extending between the first and second support rings, and a reference body (fig 2, 24, the reference body directly contacting any of the one or more wires, bone pins and struts (fig 2, contacts the end of the struts),
With respect to claim 2, Mullaney discloses wherein the orientation of the external fixation frame is configured to be with respect to an adjacent bone (paragraph 50).
With respect to claim 3, Mullaney discloses wherein the external fixation frame is configured to be coupled to the bone (fig 2, 26).
With respect to claim 17, Mullaney discloses wherein the reference body includes an alignment opening (see fig 2 below) configure to align the external fixation frame with reference to an imaging device.
With respect to claim 1, Mullaney discloses the claimed invention with the reference bodies having various shapes and compositions but does not discloses the bodies including a plurality of markers, wherein the plurality of markers are arranged in a pattern to identify an orientation of the external fixation frame, a first set of the plurality of markers extending from a first side of the reference body such that a face of each of the first set of plurality of makers defines a first pattern along the first side, a second set of the plurality of markers extending from a second side of the reference body such that a face of each of the second set of the plurality of the markers defines a second pattern along the second side.
Funk discloses a body (fig 15, 900) having a plurality of markers (fig 15, 920, 935, 940, 945), wherein the plurality of markers are arranged in a pattern to identify an orientation of a device (col. 18, ll. 43), a first set of the plurality of markers (fig 15, 920s) extending from a first side of the reference body such that a face (fig 15) of each of the first set of plurality of makers defines a first pattern (fig 15) along the first side, a second set of the plurality of markers (fig 15, 935, 940, 945) extending from a second side (fig 15) of the reference body such that a face of each of the second set of the plurality of the markers defines a second pattern along the second side (fig 15) to effectively determine the orientation of the body with respect to the bone in a 2D image (col. 18, ll. 39-67).
With respect to claim 4, Funk discloses wherein the plurality of markers are radiopaque (col. 18, ll. 36).
With respect to claim 10, Funk discloses wherein the reference body defines a cuboid (fig 15).
With respect to claim 12, Funk discloses wherein the plurality of markers are cylindrical bodies (fig 15).
With respect to claim 14, Funk discloses wherein the first set of cylindrical bodies extend from a first face of the cuboid and the second set of cylindrical bodies extend from a second face of the cuboid (fig 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mullaney to include the bodies including a plurality of markers, wherein the plurality of markers are arranged in a pattern to identify an orientation of the external fixation frame, a first set of the plurality of markers extending from a first side of the reference body such that a face of each of the first set of plurality of makers defines a first pattern along the first side, a second set of the plurality of markers extending from a second side of the reference body such that a face of each of the second set of the plurality of the markers defines a second pattern along the second side in view of Funk in order to effectively determine the orientation of the body with respect to the bone in a 2D image.
With respect to claim 5, Mullaney in view of Funk discloses wherein an orientation of the external fixation frame with reference to the bone in an image is determined from the pattern (Funk (col. 18, ll. 39-67) discloses the position and scale of the device in the images)).
With respect to claim 9, Mullaney in view of Funk discloses wherein a scale of the external fixation frame with reference to the bone in an image is determined from the pattern (Mullaney (paragraph 50) and Funk (col. 18, ll. 39-67) discloses the position and scale of the device in the images).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullaney in view of Funk as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Messerli et al. (US Patent RE46,647).
With respect to claim 13, Mullaney in view of Funk discloses the claimed invention with the markers being a cylindrical body to be identified in an X-ray (Col. 18, II. 38-40 of Funk) and does not disclose that cylindrical body including threads.
Messerli discloses both cylindrical bodies (pins) and cylindrical bodies with threads (screws) (col. 3, II. 13) being used to be identified in an x-ray (Col. 3, II. 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cylindrical bodies (a pin) of Mullaney in view of Funk with the cylindrical bodies with threads (a screw) in view of Messerli because a cylindrical body and the a cylindrical body with threads are mere functional equivalents, and because such a substitution of one for the other would have achieved the same predicable result of being used to be identified in an x-ray.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10, 12-14 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/S.J.C/Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773