18229DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1–2, 4–8, and 10–12 are under examination.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the prior art rejections of record; an updated search has been conducted.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the claim and Specification objections and 112 rejections of record, which are withdrawn.
The amendment 5/6/2026 recites that “all” fuel tubes of the assembly of cylinders of equal diameter. This corresponds to Applicant’s species shown in Figure 7.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Applicant has narrowed the invention to the species shown in Figure 7, as explained above. However, this figure does not show the relationship between the fuel tubes and the control rods. Because the fuel tubes and the control rods are both recited in claim, 1 they must be shown as a single embodiment of the invention or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
This becomes more of an issue for claim 2, which explicitly recites that some adjacent interior fuel tubes are adjacent to control rods, and others are not adjacent to control rods. This is clearly not shown in Figure 7. It is entirely unclear where the control rods are adjacent to some fuel tubes and where they are not.
Similarly, claims 5-6 specify the relative arrangement between “all of the control rod channels” and a geometric grid. Where are the control rod channels relative to the equal diameter but differently pitched fuel tubes of Figure 7?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–2, 4–8, and 10–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the fuel tubes having channels receiving nuclear fuel of vertically oriented control rod passageways.” It is assumed this limitation was written in error. Fuel tubes receive fuel, not control rods.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–2, 4–8, and 10–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robbins (US 4,255,236).
Regarding claim 1, Robbins discloses a nuclear reactor comprising: a fuel assembly (20, final fuel assembly configuration, Fig. 7) having: vertically oriented and horizontally spaced fuel tubes (22) providing water passage therebetween, the fuel tubes including outermost fuel tubes (radially outermost fuel rods 22) and interior fuel tubes (fuel rods 22 radially interior to the outermost rods) being fuel tubes other than the outermost fuel tubes, the fuel tubes having channels receiving nuclear fuel; vertically oriented control rod passageways (24) separating groups of the fuel tubes, the control rod passageways having channels receiving control rods (24); a pressure vessel (“pwr fuel assembly example,” Fig. 7) surrounding the fuel assembly (in pressurized water reactors, all the fuel assemblies are within a pressure vessel); a control rod mechanism communicating through the pressure vessel to move control rods into and out of the control rod passageways (all PWR [pressurized water reactor] control rods necessarily have CDRMs [control rod drive mechanisms]); and wherein the fuel tubes further include adjacent fuel tubes not separated by control rod passageways (as shown in Fig. 7, there are adjacent fuel tubes 22 that are not separated by control rods 24) and wherein the pitch of some adjacent interior fuel tubes is different from the pitch of some other adjacent interior fuel tubes (as shown in Figure 7, some adjacent interior fuel rods 22 that are diagonal from each other have a larger pitch and some other adjacent interior fuel rods 22 that are horizontally side-by-side); and wherein all fuel tubes (22) of the fuel assembly (20) are cylinders of equal diameter (as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the some adjacent interior fuel tubes (interior 22, 22) are adjacent to control rod passageways (24) and the some other adjacent interior fuel tubes (other interior 22, 22) are not adjacent to control rod passageways (34) (as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the nuclear reactor is a pressurized water reactor (“pwr fuel assembly example,” Fig. 7) maintaining circulating water through the water passage and further providing a water circulation system for maintaining a water pressure and temperature preventing a boiling of cooling water (this is how all PWRs operate).
Regarding claim 5, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein all of the control rod channels (24) are positioned at intersections of a regular geometric grid having equal spacing in perpendicular directions (as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the regular geometric grid provides 17 intersections along each of the perpendicular directions (in Fig. 7, there are at least 17 perpendicular intersections; note that Fig. 7 is only 1/4 of an assembly).
Regarding claim 7, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein a subset of the fuel tubes have a triangular packing of fuel tubes providing three adjacent fuel tubes with equal pitch along non-perpendicular axes: in Fig. 7, the following fuel tubes 22 fulfill this limitation: the fuel tube directly above the label for control rod 24, the fuel tube in the upper left diagonal direction from 24, and the fuel tube directly to the left of 24.
Regarding claim 8, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein a number of fuel tubes is greater than 300 (PWRs have tens of thousands of fuel rods).
Regarding claim 10, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the fuel tubes (22) have a diameter of greater than 6 mm (table 4 Fuel Rod O.D. is 0.422 inches which is 10.7 mm).
Regarding claim 11, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the fuel tubes (22) are cylinders (see Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robbins in view of AAPA (Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art, Figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Robbins anticipates all the elements of the parent claim. The Figure 7 cited above for claim 1 is a pressurized water reactor. However, Robbins also teaches all the limitations of claim 1 for a boiling water reactor, as shown in the bottom figure of Figure 6, except for the control rod location. The primary difference between a PWR and a BWR, as is known in the art, is the location and design of the control rods.
AAPA (Figure 6) teaches a boiling water reactor fuel assembly (40) maintaining circulating water through the water passage (including 44, 44) and further providing a water circulation system for maintaining a water pressure and temperature permitting heating of cooling water and wherein the fuel assembly (40) provides water circulation through a center of the fuel assembly (44, 44) only within a volume surrounding and in contact with fuel tubes (16). The skilled artisan would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have utilized the water rod 44 design of AAPA for water circulation for Robbins if they wanted a BWR instead of a PWR. These are different types of light water reactors, and the choice between them is merely a design choice made by the skilled artisan.
Conclusion
Please be aware that, as of October 1, 2025, the PTO has implemented a policy of one interview per round of examination. Additional interviews require managerial approval.
LILY CRABTREE GARNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3646
/LILY C GARNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646