FINAL DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1-30-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the call resumption alert module which sends an alert to the user device to assist the user in re-engaging with the phone call after the phone call has been placed on hold by the peer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that the prior art of Engelke does not teach or disclose the feature of sending an alert to assist the user in re-engaging with the phone call after the phone call has been placed on hold by the peer. The feature ‘after the phone call has been placed on hold by the peer’ is not disclosed in claims 1-20. Further, the prior art of Engelke discloses:
‘…wherein the CTS system is configured to provide a call resumption alert module (i.e. call terminating feature) (col. 21, line 45 – col. 22, line 6) to the user
such that the call resumption alert module sends an alert to the user device
(i.e. Engelke discloses: ‘…Another option may be for the relay server to go ahead and dial the relay user’s call back number and allow the user to either log in to the relay service via the user’s browser and answer the call or let the user’s telephone voicemail take a message…’ which reads on the claimed feature ‘the call resumption alert module sends an alert to the user device…’; col. 21, lines 56-60)
to assist the user in re-engaging with the phone call (col. 21, line 45 – col. 22, line 45)…’.
In conclusion, the prior art teaches the claimed invention in claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 disclose the claimed limitations: ‘…wherein the CTS system is configured to provide a call resumption alert module to the user such that the call resumption alert module sends an alert to the user device to assist the user in re-engaging with the phone call’. It is not clear from the newly added limitations: how the CTS system provides a call resumption alert module to the user in order for said module to alert the user device to assist the user in re-engaging with the phone call after the phone call has been placed on hold by the peer. It is not clear in claims 1 and 10 what said module is and how it is provided to the user in order to alert the user device.
Claims 2-9 depend on claim 1 and claims 11-20 depend on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 8,416,925 by Engelke et al, hereinafter Engelke.
Regarding claim 1, Engelke discloses
a captioned telephone service (“CTS”) system (Figures: 5, 6, 19, 20, 21), comprising:
a CTS server (Fig. 5, 54; i.e. relay server) for providing a transcription service (Fig. 5, 56; i.e. relay service) to a user (i.e. a first party or caller or relay user) during a phone call between the user and a peer (i.e. a second party or emergency service provider) (Figures: 5, 6, 19, 20, 21) (col. 12, lines 19-58; col. 20, lines 30-50);
a user device (i.e. standard computer or cell phone), which is constructed to be connected to the CTS server for the phone call between the user device and a peer device (col. 12, line 26 - col. 13, line 39);
a user application (i.e. browser web page) installed on the user device (col. 22, lines 7-23),
wherein the CTS server is connected to a call agent or an automatic speech recognition engine (col. 11, lines 13-24 and lines 31-36) for the phone call to provide the transcription service,
wherein the CTS system is configured to provide a call resumption alert module (i.e. call terminating feature) (col. 21, line 45 – col. 22, line 6) to the user such that the call resumption alert module sends an alert to the user device
(i.e. Engelke discloses: ‘…Another option may be for the relay server to go ahead and dial the relay user’s call back number and allow the user to either log in to the relay service via the user’s browser and answer the call or let the user’s telephone voicemail take a message…’ which reads on the claimed feature ‘the call resumption alert module sends an alert to the user device…’; col. 21, lines 56-60)
to assist the user in re-engaging with the phone call (col. 21, lines 39-44 and lines 56-59; col. 22, lines 46-53),
wherein the user application is configured for the user to enable or disable the call resumption alert module (col. 21, line 45 – col. 22, line 45).
to assist the user in re-engaging with the phone call (col. 21, line 45 – col. 22, line 45)…’.
Regarding claim 10, Engelke discloses
a captioned telephone service (“CTS”) system (Figures: 5, 6, 19, 20, 21), comprising:
a CTS server (Fig. 5, 54; i.e. relay server) for providing a transcription service (Fig. 5, 56; i.e. relay service) to a user (i.e. a first party or caller or relay user) during a phone call between the user and a peer (i.e. a second party or emergency service provider) (Figures: 5, 6, 19, 20, 21) (col. 12, lines 19-58; col. 20, lines 30-50);
a user device (i.e. standard computer or cell phone), which is constructed to be connected to the CTS server for the phone call between the user device and a peer device (col. 12, line 26 - col. 13, line 39);
a user application (i.e. browser web page) installed on the user device (col. 22, lines 7-23),
wherein the CTS server is connected to a call agent or an automatic speech recognition engine (col. 11, lines 13-24 and lines 31-36) for the phone call to provide the transcription service,
wherein the CTS system is configured to provide a call resumption alert module (i.e. call terminating feature) (col. 21, line 45 – col. 22, line 6) to the user such that the call resumption alert module sends an alert to the user device
(i.e. Engelke discloses: ‘…Another option may be for the relay server to go ahead and dial the relay user’s call back number and allow the user to either log in to the relay service via the user’s browser and answer the call or let the user’s telephone voicemail take a message…’ which reads on the claimed feature ‘the call resumption alert module sends an alert to the user device…’; col. 21, lines 56-60)
to assist the user in re-engaging with the phone call (col. 21, lines 39-44 and lines 56-59; col. 22, lines 46-53),
wherein the user application is configured for the user to enable or disable the call resumption alert module (col. 21, line 45 – col. 22, line 23),
wherein the call resumption alert module comprises:
a call resumption checking module for checking whether the phone call resumed from the peer device (col. 21, lines 6-18; col. 21, line 51 – col. 22, line 6; col. 22, lines 46-61); and
an alert module for generating the alert upon receiving a call resumption message from the call resumption checking module (col. 21, lines 6-18; col. 21, line 51 – col. 22, line 6; col. 22, lines 46-61).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, wherein Engelke discloses the alert includes beeping from the user device, flashing of the user device's display or light, vibration of the user device, or haptic feedback from the user device (col. 21, lines 39-44 and lines 56-59; col. 22, lines 46-53).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Engelke discloses the call resumption alert module is configured to send the alert to a connected device (i.e. user’s telephone) which is connected to the user device, and wherein the call resumption alert module is configured to send the alert to the user device, the connected device, or both (col. 21, lines 39-44 and lines 56-60; col. 22, lines 46-53).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, wherein Engelke discloses the call resumption alert module is configured to detect a Dual Tone Multi-Frequency (DTMF) signal originating from the peer device, and if the DTMF Signal is detected, the call resumption alert module is configured to send the alert to the user device (col. 21, lines 6-18; col. 21, line 51 – col. 22, line 6; col. 22, lines 46-61).
Regarding claim 11, the CTS system of claim 10, wherein Engelke discloses the call resumption checking module sends the call resumption message to the alert module when the user application receives any text which is transcribed from a voice of the peer device (col. 21, line 56 – col. 22, line 45).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Form.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300 (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or call:
(571) 272-2600 (for customer service assistance)
/LISA HASHEM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692