DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1–9 and 17–20 are pending for examination in the response (election) filed on 02/02/2026. Claims 10–16 have been WITHDRAWN.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 08/03/2023 (in the filings). These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Optimize Workload Scheduling Using Weighted Compute Graph.”
Examiner’s Remarks
5. Examiner refers to and explicitly cites particular pages, sections, figures, paragraphs or columns and lines in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims to the extent practicable to streamline prosecution.
Although the cited portions of the references are representative of the best teachings in the art and are applied to meet the specific limitations of the claims, other uncited but related teachings of the references may be equally applicable as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses to the rejections, the Applicant fully considers not only the cited portions of the references, but also the references in their entirety, as potentially teaching, suggesting or rendering obvious all or one or more aspects of the claimed invention.
Abbreviations
6. Where appropriate, the following abbreviations will be used when referencing Applicant’s submissions and specific teachings of the reference(s):
i. figure / figures: Fig. / Figs.
ii. column / columns: Col. / Cols.
iii. page / pages: p. / pp.
References Cited
7. (A) Yang, US 2019/0220321 A1.
(B) Govindaraju et al, US 2020/0186445 A1 (“Govindaraju”).
(C) Malkin et al., US 2013/0283211 A1 (“Malkin”)
(D) Bellubbi et al., US 2023/0102089 A1 (“Bellubbi”).
(E) Cheruvu et al., 2021/0117578 A1 (“Cheruvu”).
(F) Roozbeh et al., US 2022/0100667 A1 (“Roozbeh”).
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.
9. Claims 1, 5, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Yang in view of (B) Govindaraju.
See “References Cited” section, above, for full citations of references.
10. Regarding claim 1, (A) Yang teaches/suggests the invention substantially as claimed, including:
“A computing system for optimizing compute tasks, the computing system comprising:
one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to”
(Fig. 12 and ¶ 148: computer programs or program code executing on programmable systems comprising at least one processor, a storage system (including volatile and non-volatile memory and/or storage elements));
“determine a set of weighted parameters for a given hardware topology”
(¶ 45: generates task dependency and device connectivity graphs 222, 219 from the expanded workload and network topology graphs 221, 218;
¶ 46: the task dependency graph 222 is generated by incorporating WEIGHTS onto the vertices and edges of the expanded workload graph 221 to represent resource requirements and network requirements, respectively. In some embodiments, for example, the weights on the vertices may represent processing resource requirements for the respective tasks, while the weights on the edges may represent network bandwidth requirements for the dependencies among the tasks);
“based on the set of weighted parameters, determine an optimal distribution of (i) runnables of a compute graph on the given hardware topology, …”
(¶ 48: The E2E hardware recommender 208 then uses the task dependency and device connectivity graphs 222, 219 to derive the optimal hardware for deploying the workload. In particular, since the task dependency and device connectivity graphs 222,219 are both directed acyclic graphs (DAGs), DAG path selection and scheduling techniques can be leveraged to derive the optimal hardware choices from those graphs 222, 219;
¶ 53: The resulting hardware recommendations 226 are then used to automatically provision the appropriate resources 227 for deploying the workload on the network topology per the user’s 202 requirements);
“configure a scheduling program on the given hardware topology … in accordance with the optimal distribution”
(¶ 52: based on the schedule 224 generated by the scheduling algorithm 223, the E2E hardware recommender 208 then extracts 225 a list of recommended hardware 226 from the network topology graph in the schedule 224;
¶ 53: resource provisioning may involve the selection, deployment, configuration, and/or runtime management of the requisite resources for the workload, including hardware resources;
¶ 24: The computing infrastructure 110 may include a collection of computing resources that provides an end-to-end (E2E) environment for executing workloads).
Yang do not teach “determine an optimal distribution of … (ii) data positioning in memory components of the given hardware topology for executing the runnables” and “configure a scheduling program on the given hardware topology to execute the compute graph” (although Yang highly suggests implementing this feature in paragraph 53 and 24).
(B) Govindaraju, in the context of Yang’s invention, however teaches or suggests implementing:
“determine an optimal distribution of … (ii) data positioning in memory components of the given hardware topology for executing the runnables”
(¶ 95: The mapping involves satisfying all of the specifications, constraints, and dependencies contained in the two-dimensional matrix and, in certain implementations, optimizing the mapping to achieve lowest possible cost;
¶ 96: allows the automated application subsystem to carry out the cost analysis needed to determine whether or not to collocate CPU/memory computational resources with data-storage resources in a single cloud-computing facility …
These dependencies provide, to the automated application subsystem, a basis for determining an expected data-transfer rate between the application instances and the data-storage device so that the automated application subsystem can determine an optimal location for the data-storage device. It may be optimal to collocate the data-storage device with the application instances in one of the locations);
“configure a scheduling program on the given hardware topology to execute the compute graph”
(¶ 58: core services provided by the VI management server include host configuration, virtual-machine configuration, virtual-machine provisioning, generation of virtual data-center alarms and events, ongoing event logging and statistics collection, a task scheduler, and a resource-management module;
¶ 105: blueprint-driven automated-application-installation subsystems of workflow-based cloud-management facilities can now automate many of the virtual-machine acquisition, management, and scheduling operations needed to support execution of the distributed application).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (B) Govindaraju with those of (A) Yang to deploy (place), schedule and automatically execute workloads based on locations and requirements and data storage access. The motivation or advantage to do so is to optimize deployment of workloads based on data access (resource) cost objectives and performance constraints and to automate the execution of deployed workloads on the recommended hardware/network topology
(see Yang, ¶ 54: ILP model can be used to determine an optimal schedule that satisfies a specified objective ( e.g., minimizing bandwidth utilization, minimizing hardware costs, maximizing performance), while also adhering to various constraints ( e.g., workload resource requirements, device and network resource capacities, mapping constraints).
11. Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches or suggests:
“wherein the set of weighted parameters for the given hardware topology comprises a plurality of: latency, bandwidth, memory, power usage, computing power, unit of compute, hardware age, hardware wearing, thermal cooling, or compute values of individual components of the given hardware topology”
(¶ 46: the task dependency graph 222 is generated by incorporating WEIGHTS onto the vertices and edges of the expanded workload graph 221 to represent resource requirements and network requirements, respectively. In some embodiments, for example, the weights on the vertices may represent processing resource requirements for the respective tasks, while the weights on the edges may represent network bandwidth requirements for the dependencies among the tasks).
12. Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches or suggests:
“wherein the computing system is included in the given hardware topology”
(¶ 23: service provider 106 may include any entity that provides automated hardware recommendations and/or resource provisioning for workloads that are deployed on the computing infrastructure 110;
¶ 24: The computing infrastructure 110 may include a collection of computing resources that provides an end-to-end (E2E) environment for executing workloads;
Fig. 2 and ¶ 33: service provider 206 may include any entity that owns and/or operates some or all of the E2E computing infrastructure (e.g., a cloud service provider (CSP) such as Amazon, Google, or Microsoft). Moreover, the service provider 206 may also provide automated hardware recommendations and/or resource provisioning for workloads).
13. Regarding claim 17, it is the corresponding computer program product claim reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the system of claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1 above.
B.
14. Claims 2 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Yang in view of (B) Govindaraju, as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of (C) Malkin.
15. Regarding claim 2, Yang and Govindaraju do not teach “wherein determining the optimal distribution comprises executing a traveling salesman algorithm using the set of weighted parameters and a set of requirements of the runnables.”
(C) Malkin, in the context of Yang and Govindaraju’s teachings, however teaches or suggests implementing:
“determining the optimal distribution comprises executing a traveling salesman algorithm using the set of weighted parameters and a set of requirements of the runnables”
(¶ 29: The “Traveling salesman” algorithm refers to a process applied to a given a weighted graph. That algorithm outputs a path to visit all the vertices in the graph with the least amount of cost;
¶ 36: the database server device running the travelling salesman algorithm is configured to operate an itinerary generation program that implements methods to access each of the specified to-do lists, packing lists, and constraints, and calculate an itinerary list of to-do's and required resources. In one embodiment, at 57, based on one or more stored to-do lists 100, there is automatically attempted to calculate ( or update) the itinerary which accomplishes the target task, as well as many of the other to-do's from the list as is possible);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (C) Malkin with those of Yang and Govindaraju to incorporate a traveling salesman algorithm in generating an optimal schedule for the workload. The motivation or advantage to do so is to provide a scheduling graph (execution path) with the least amount of cost (e.g. hardware, resource utilization, latencies, etc.).
16. Regarding claim 18, it is the corresponding computer program product claim reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the system of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 2 above.
C.
17. Claims 3–4 and 19–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Yang in view of (B) Govindaraju and (C) Malkin, as applied to claims 2 and 18 above, and further in view of (D) Bellubbi.
18. Regarding claim 3, Yang, Govindaraju, and Malkin do not teach “reevaluate the optimal distribution of the runnables on the given hardware topology by performing at least one of (i) determining an updated set of weighted parameters for the given hardware topology, or (ii) determining an updated set of requirements of the runnables; and based on reevaluating the optimal distribution, determine an updated optimal distribution of the runnables on the given hardware topology.”
(D) Bellubbi, in the context of Yang, Govindaraju and Malkin’s teachings, however teaches or suggests implementing:
“reevaluate the optimal distribution of the runnables on the given hardware topology by performing at least one of (i) determining an updated set of weighted parameters for the given hardware topology, or (ii) determining an updated set of requirements of the runnables”
(¶ 54: gathering and storing information related to runs of the execution schedule. In these or other embodiments, the task management may include performing an analysis of the gathered information. The analysis may include determining one or more performance metrics or characteristics associated with implementation of the execution schedule:
¶ 157: one or more schedule quality assurance (QA) tools may be used to help ensure that the schedules satisfy corresponding requirements. In some embodiments, the QA tools may include one or more tools that are configured to assess and/or modify the schedules 204. For example, in some embodiments, the QA tools may include one or more of a schedule verification engine configured to verify that one or more of the schedules 204 comply with corresponding constraints;
¶ 314: the actual runnable execution times may be compared against corresponding calculated worst case execution times (WCET) to determine an accuracy level of one or more of the WCETs. Additionally or alternatively, the execution time distributions may be used to determine whether certain runnables are disproportionately using resources or time. In these or other embodiments, the execution time distributions may indicate whether certain compute engines are being overutilized or underutilized;
¶ 317: analyze the schedule 604. For example, an analysis of runnable execution times may indicate that certain runnable execution times are significantly shorter than the allocated time in the schedule 604 for such runnables. Additionally or alternatively, the analysis of runnable execution times may indicate that other runnable execution times are longer than the allocated time in many instances (e.g., in a threshold percentage of the time) … analysis may indicate that the schedule 604 may overutilize or underutilize certain compute engines);
“based on reevaluating the optimal distribution, determine an updated optimal distribution of the runnables on the given hardware topology”
(¶ 54: the task management may include performing one or more operations that may adjust the execution schedule based on the analysis;
¶ 318: the runtime information may indicate which runnables may be contending on resources and interfering with each other. In these or other embodiments, the modification operations may include mutually excluding the scheduling of such runnables;
¶ 203: one or more branch characteristics may include runnable placement. For example, in some embodiments, certain runnables (e.g., critical path runnables) may have a higher scheduling prioritization than other runnables).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (D) Bellubbi with those of Yang, Govindaraju, and Malkin to modify/update execution schedules based on monitored resource utilization, performance and/or execution constraints. The motivation or advantage to do so is to provide scheduling quality assurance (QA) so as to meet corresponding (quality or user) requirements.
19. Regarding claim 4, Yang and Bellubbi teach or suggest:
“reconfigure the scheduling program to execute the compute graph in accordance with the updated optimal distribution”
(Yang, ¶ 52: based on the schedule 224 generated by the scheduling algorithm 223, the E2E hardware recommender 208 then extracts 225 a list of recommended hardware 226 from the network topology graph in the schedule 224;
¶ 53: resource provisioning may involve the selection, deployment, configuration, and/or runtime management of the requisite resources for the workload, including hardware resources;
¶ 24: The computing infrastructure 110 may include a collection of computing resources that provides an end-to-end (E2E) environment for executing workloads;
Bellubbi, ¶ 54: performing one or more operations that may adjust the execution schedule based on the analysis;
¶ 156: The finalized schedules 204 that may be generated using the instruction set 226 may be obtained and executed by the corresponding runtime system).
20. Regarding claims 19–20, they are the corresponding computer program product claims reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the system of claims 3–4. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 3–4 above.
D.
21. Claims 6–7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Yang in view of (B) Govindaraju, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (E) Cheruvu.
22. Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches or suggests “wherein the given hardware topology corresponds to a multiple system-on-chip (mSoC)”
(¶ 157: All or part of any hardware element disclosed herein may readily be provided in a system-on-a-chip (SoC), including a central processing unit (CPU) package. An SoC represents an integrated circuit (IC) that integrates components of a computer or other electronic system into a single chip. The SoC may contain digital, analog, mixed-signal, and radio frequency functions, all of which may be provided on a single chip substrate. Other embodiments may include a multi-chip-module (MCM), with a plurality of chips located within a single electronic package and configured to interact closely with each other;
¶ 147: All or part of any component of FIG. 12 may be implemented as a separate or stand-alone component or chip, or may be integrated with other components or chips such as a system-on-a-chip (SoC)).
Yang and Govindaraju do not teach “a multiple system-on-chip (mSoC) comprising a central chiplet and a set of workload processing chiplets.”
(E) Cheruvu, in the context of Yang and Govindaraju’s teachings, however teaches or suggests implementing:
“a multiple system-on-chip (mSoC) comprising a central chiplet and a set of workload processing chiplets”
(¶ 51: SoCs, multi-chip packages (MCPs), etc.;
¶ 53: examples are described in the context of example SoCs formed of a plurality of chiplets. As used herein, a chiplet is a modular integrated circuit block that has been designed to perform certain function(s) and work with other chiplets to form a larger chip or circuit;
Fig. 5 and ¶ 80: FIG. 5 is an example multi-chiplet SoC 500 including a plurality of chiplets 510-560 configured to perform various functions for the SoC 500. For example, as shown in the example of FIG. 5, the set of chiplets 510-570 can include a chip manager 510, a test chiplet 520, a communication subsystem 530, an autonomous drive controller subsystem 540, one or more processor cores 550-560, a shared cache 570;
¶ 81: The example chip manager 510 provides primary control for primary-secondary interactions with the other chiplets 520-570).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (E) Cheruvu with those of Yang and Govindaraju to use a multi-chiplet SoCs for deploying and executing workloads. The motivation or advantage to do so is to improve the efficiency of workload execution while reducing power consumption/costs.
23. Regarding claim 7, Yang, Govindaraju, and Cheruvu, in combination, teach or suggest:
“wherein the central chiplet includes (i) a shared memory accessible by the set of workload processing chiplets, and (ii) the scheduling program to schedule the runnables of the compute graph for execution by the workload processing chiplets in accordance with the optimal distribution”
(Yang, (¶ 52: based on the schedule 224 generated by the scheduling algorithm 223, the E2E hardware recommender 208 then extracts 225 a list of recommended hardware 226 from the network topology graph in the schedule 224;
¶ 53: resource provisioning may involve the selection, deployment, configuration, and/or runtime management of the requisite resources for the workload, including hardware resources;
¶ 24: The computing infrastructure 110 may include a collection of computing resources that provides an end-to-end (E2E) environment for executing workloads;
¶ 144: A shared cache (not shown) may be included in either processor or outside of both processors, yet connected with the processors via P-P interconnect, such that either or both processors’ local cache information may be stored in the shared cache if a processor is placed into a low power mode;
Govindaraju, ¶ 58: core services provided by the VI management server include host configuration, virtual-machine configuration, virtual-machine provisioning, generation of virtual data-center alarms and events, ongoing event logging and statistics collection, a task scheduler, and a resource-management module;
¶ 105: blueprint-driven automated-application-installation subsystems of workflow-based cloud-management facilities can now automate many of the virtual-machine acquisition, management, and scheduling operations needed to support execution of the distributed application;
Cheruvu, Fig. 5 and ¶ 80: FIG. 5 is an example multi-chiplet SoC 500 including a plurality of chiplets 510-560 configured to perform various functions for the SoC 500. For example, as shown in the example of FIG. 5, the set of chiplets 510-570 can include a chip manager 510, a test chiplet 520, a communication subsystem 530, an autonomous drive controller subsystem 540, one or more processor cores 550-560, a shared cache 570;
¶ 81: The example chip manager 510 provides primary control for primary-secondary interactions with the other chiplets 520-570).
E.
24. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Yang in view of (B) Govindaraju and (E) Cheruvu, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of (F) Roozbeh.
25. Regarding claim 8, Yang, Govindaraju, and Cheruvu do not teach “wherein the shared memory stores data required for executing the runnables and has a hierarchy including a set of caches accessible over a network, and wherein the caches and the network are associated with intrinsic latencies.”
(F) Roozbeh however teaches or suggests:
“wherein the shared memory stores data required for executing the runnables and has a hierarchy including a set of caches accessible over a network, and wherein the caches and the network are associated with intrinsic latencies”
(Fig. 1 and ¶ 31: a memory hierarchy as previously described. In this example, the system has a three layered cache structure comprising Layer 1 and Layer 2 caches which are private to the individual cores, i.e., not shared with the other cores of the processor, hence Core-1 is connected to the L1 cache and the L2 cache of the structure L1/2-1, Core-2 is connected to the L1 cache and L2 cache of L1/2-2, etc., up to Core-m, thus being connected to the L1 cache and the L2 cache of L1/2-m. Further illustrated is the slicing of a shared cache layer, in this example being the L3 cache of the cache structure, and may also be denoted the Last Level Cache (LLC) …. The slices of the cache are accessible to all the cores via an interconnect (e.g., ring bus or mesh);
¶ 32: Below the layered cache structure is what is generally called the main memory, comprising a comparatively large volume of volatile memory, herein after referred to as the memory. The memory hierarchy in this example ends with the secondary memory, which in general may comprise one or more Hard Disc Drives (HDDs) and/or Solid-State Drives (SSDs), and thus being a non-volatile memory type. FIG. 1 further indicates a relative latency for accessing data and instruction of the different levels in the memory hierarchy;
See ¶¶ 2–3: In modem processors, the cache is also implemented in a hierarchical manner, e.g., a Layer one cache (L1), a Layer two cache (L2), and a Layer 3 cache (L3) also known as the Last Level Cache (LLC). The L1 and L2 cache are private to each core while the LLC is in often shared among all PU cores).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (F) Roozbeh with those of Yang, Govindaraju, and Cheruvu to use a memory hierarchy including a shared cache to store workload instructions and data. The motivation or advantage to do so is to improve the efficiency of workload data access, sharing, and storage.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN C WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195
March 5, 2026