DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Each of claims 1-39 falls within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP § 2106.03. For example, each of claims 1-26 fall within category of machine, i.e., a “concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices.” Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348–49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650, 657 (1863)) and each of claims 27-39 fall within category of process.
Regarding claims 1-26
Step 2A – Prong 1
Exemplary claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea of determine a drift condition of the air contactor.
The abstract idea is set forth or described by the following italicized limitations:
1. An air contactor comprising:
an airflow generator to generate an airflow;
a liquid distribution system operable to distribute liquid that is contacted by the airflow;
a sensor configured to detect an air variable of the airflow;
a controller operably connected to the liquid distribution system and the sensor, the controller configured to:
determine an operating variable of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system; and
determine a drift condition of the air contactor based at least in part upon the air variable of the airflow and the operating variable of the at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system.
The italicized limitations above represent a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment). Therefore, the italicized limitations fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
For example, the limitation “determine an operating variable [..];determine a drift condition [..] ” are a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper), see 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
Limitations are considered together as a single abstract idea for further analysis. (discussing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593 (2010))
Step 2A – Prong 2
Claims 1 does not include additional elements (when considered individually, as an ordered combination, and/or within the claim as a whole) that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The 1st additional element is “a sensor configured to detect an air variable of the airflow;” to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a generic sensor with memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g).
The 2nd additional element is “An air contactor comprising: an airflow generator to generate an airflow; a liquid distribution system operable to distribute liquid that is contacted by the airflow;”. This element amounts to mere use of a generic heat exchanger system, which is well understood routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and this element individually does not provide a practical application. In view of the above, the “additional element” individually or combine does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. see MPEP 2106.05(d).
The 3rd additional element is “a controller operably connected to the liquid distribution system and the sensor, the controller configured to:”. This element amounts to mere use of a generic computer component, which is well understood routine and conventional (see background of current discloser and IDS and PTO 892) and this element individually does not provide a practical application. In view of the above, the “additional element” individually or combine does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. see MPEP
In view of the above the “additional element” individually or a combination does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea. See, MPEP §§2106.05(a).
Step 2B
Claims1 does not include additional elements, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Fore examples, “an airflow generator; a liquid distribution system, controller and a sensor” are generic structure of heat exchanger system , which is well understood, routine and convention (see background of current discloser, IDS and PTO892) and MPEP 2106.05(d)).
The reasons for reaching this conclusion are substantially the same as the reasons given above in § Step 2A – Prong 2. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(g) and MPEP §§2106.05(II).
Dependent Claims 2-26
Dependent claims 2-26 fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 18 (set forth above) and are rejected accordingly. Particularly, claims 2-26 recite limitations that represent (in addition to the limitations already noted above) either the abstract idea or an additional element that is merely extra-solution activity, mere use of instructions and/or generic computer component(s) as a tool to implement the abstract idea, and/or merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
For examples,
2. the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition of the air contactor; and
determine the abnormal drift condition in response to: the air variable being sufficiently different than an expected air variable; and/or the operating variable being sufficiently different than an expected operating variable (a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
3. the drift condition includes a drift rate of the air contactor (a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
4. the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition of the air contactor;
determine a drift rate of the air contactor; and determine the abnormal drift condition in response to the drift rate of the air contactor being an abnormal drift rate (a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
5 . includes an abnormal change in the drift of the air contactor (a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
6. the air variable comprises an upstream air variable and a downstream air variable; wherein the sensor comprises: an upstream sensor configured to detect the upstream air variable of the airflow upstream of the airflow contacting the liquid; and a downstream sensor configured to detect the downstream air variable of the airflow downstream of the airflow contacting the liquid(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
7. the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition; and to determine the drift condition based at least in part upon the downstream air variable being abnormal relative to the upstream air variable(a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
8. the air variable comprises a first air variable associated with a first operating condition of the air contactor and a second air variable associated with a second operating condition of the air contactor; wherein the operating variable comprises a first operating variable associated with the first operating condition and a second operating variable associated with the second operating condition; wherein the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition (to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)); and
determine the abnormal drift condition of the air contactor in response to: the second air variable changing abnormally from the first air variable; and/or the second operating variable changing abnormally from the first operating variable(a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
9. the airflow generator comprises a fan assembly; wherein the first operating condition comprises the controller being configured to operate the fan assembly at a first speed and control the liquid distribution system to distribute liquid; and wherein the second operating condition comprises the controller being configured to operate the fan assembly at a different, second speed and control the liquid distribution system to distribute liquid (field of use(insignificant extra-solution activity), and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g) ).
10. the drift condition is an abnormal drift condition; and determine the abnormal drift condition based at least in part upon a comparison of the air variable and the operating variable to a dataset of variables corresponding to normal drift conditions(a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
11. the operating variable includes a variable of the liquid(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering); and determine the drift condition based at least in part upon the air variable and the variable of the liquid(a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
12. determine the drift condition using a machine learning algorithm to process the air variable and the operating variable(a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
13. the operating variable of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system comprises a first variable of the airflow generator and a second variable of the liquid distribution system(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering (only add insignificant extra-solution activity)).
14. the airflow generator includes a fan assembly operable to generate the airflow(generic structure of air healing system, which is well understood, routine and conventional); and wherein the operating variable comprises a fan assembly operating variable(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering).
15. the air sensor comprises a particulate matter sensor; and wherein the air variable comprises a particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
16. the particulate matter sensor comprises: a first particulate matter sensor configured to detect particles of a first size; and a second particulate matter sensor configured to detect particles of a smaller, second size; and wherein the particulate variable comprises: a first particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow having the first size; and a second particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow having the second size(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
17. the sensor comprises a particulate matter sensor, a relative humidity sensor, and a temperature sensor; and wherein the air variable comprises a particulate matter variable, a relative humidity variable, and an air temperature variable(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
18. the airflow generator comprises a fan assembly; wherein the operating variable of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system includes :a fan speed of the fan assembly; and an operating condition of the liquid distribution system (generic structure of heat exchanger system , which is well understood, routine and convention (see background of current discloser, IDS and PTO892) and MPEP 2106.05(d)).
19. the operating variable of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system includes: an operating condition of the liquid distribution system; and a variable of the liquid(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
20. the sensor comprises: a passageway to receive a portion of the airflow; and
a particulate sensor to detect a particulate variable of the portion of the airflow(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
21. the sensor comprises: a passageway to receive a portion of the airflow; an airflow sensor to detect the air variable of the portion of the airflow in the passageway; and a heater, cooler, or both in the passageway upstream of the airflow sensor(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
22. adjust operation of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system in response to the determination of the drift condition (a mental step (i.e., a process that can be performed by can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper or a mental judgment).
23. a pad, fill, and/or an indirect heat exchanger; and wherein the liquid distribution system is operable to distribute the liquid onto the pad, fill and/or indirect heat exchanger(generic structure of heat exchanger system , which is well understood, routine and convention (see background of current discloser, IDS and PTO892) and MPEP 2106.05(d)).
24. the liquid is an air pollutant capture solution(generic structure(field of use) of heat exchanger system , which is well understood, routine and convention (see background of current discloser, IDS and PTO892) and MPEP 2106.05(d)).
25. the air contactor is a hyperbolic cooling tower; wherein the airflow generator is a shell of the hyperbolic cooling tower(generic structure of heat exchanger system (field of use) , which is well understood, routine and convention (see background of current discloser, IDS and PTO892) and MPEP 2106.05(d)); and
wherein the operating variable is an operating variable of the liquid distribution system(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
26. the operating variable of at least one of the air generator and the liquid distribution system comprises a plurality of variables of the liquid distribution system, the plurality of variables including: a first variable indicative of whether a pump of the liquid distribution system is operating; and a second variable indicative of a conductivity of the liquid(to be performed, at least in-part, by use of a memory and to be performed, at least in-part, these additional elements appear to only add insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., field of use and/or data gathering) and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular field. Therefore, this element individually or as a whole does not provide a practical application. see MPEP §§ 2106.05(g)).
Claims 27-39
Claims 27-39 contains language similar to claims 1-26 as discussed in the preceding paragraphs, and for reasons similar to those discussed above, claims 27-39 and are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101(abstract idea).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, 13-14, 18-19, 22-23, 26-29,32-33, 35 and 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tamaki et al. (US 2023/0069910).
Regarding Claims 1 and 27. Tamaki teaches an air contactor comprising(fig. 1):
an airflow generator to generate an airflow(302: fig. 1; 63: fig.2);
a liquid distribution system operable to distribute liquid that is contacted by the airflow(401: fig. 1);
a sensor configured to detect an air variable of the airflow(254: fig. 2);
a controller operably connected to the liquid distribution system and the sensor(313: fig.1; fig. 3),
the controller configured to: determine an operating variable of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system(s2: fig.9; [0074]); and
determine a drift condition of the air contactor based at least in part upon the air variable of the airflow and the operating variable of the at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system (airflow volume changing means to change the airflow volume (considered to be drift) of the air passing through the utilization heat exchanger 5 based on the calculated airflow-related control values: s3: fig.9; [0075]).
.
Regarding Claim 2. Tamaki further teaches the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition of the air contactor (s4: fig. 9); and
wherein the controller is configured to determine the abnormal drift condition in response to: the air variable being sufficiently different than an expected air variable(No: fig. 9); and/or the operating variable being sufficiently different than an expected operating variable ( no: fig. 9)..
Regarding Claim 3. Tamaki further teaches the drift condition includes a drift rate of the air contactor (rated power consumption:[0069]).
Regarding Claim 4. Tamaki further teaches the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition of the air contactor ([0069]);
wherein the controller is configured to determine a drift rate of the air contactor ([0069]); and
wherein the controller is configured to determine the abnormal drift condition in response to the drift rate of the air contactor being an abnormal drift rate ([0069]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 29. Tamaki further teaches the drift condition includes an abnormal change in the drift of the air contactor (S24: fig. 10).
Regarding Claims 8 and 32. Tamaki further teaches the air variable comprises a first air variable associated with a first operating condition of the air contactor and a second air variable associated with a second operating condition of the air contactor(fig. 9; S2: fig.10 );
wherein the operating variable comprises a first operating variable associated with the first operating condition and a second operating variable associated with the second operating condition(S2: fig. 8);
wherein the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition(S4: fig. 9); and
wherein the controller is configured to determine the abnormal drift condition of the air contactor in response to: the second air variable changing ; [0084]-[0076]abnormally from the first air variable; and/or the second operating variable changing abnormally from the first operating variable(S4: fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 9. Tamaki further teaches the airflow generator comprises a fan assembly(63: fig.2);
wherein the first operating condition comprises the controller being configured to operate the fan assembly at a first speed and control the liquid distribution system to distribute liquid(Path 4A, 302A,6A, 7A: fig. 1); and
wherein the second operating condition comprises the controller being configured to operate the fan assembly at a different, second speed and control the liquid distribution system to distribute liquid (Path 4B, 302B,6A, 7B: fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10. Tamaki further teaches the drift condition is an abnormal drift condition (NO: fig. 10); and
wherein the controller is configured to determine the abnormal drift condition based at least in part upon a comparison of the air variable and the operating variable to a dataset of variables corresponding to normal drift conditions (S21-S24: fig.10).
Regarding Claim 11. Tamaki further teaches the operating variable includes a variable of the liquid (outlet water temperature :fig.6 ); and
wherein the controller is configured to determine the drift condition based at least in part upon the air variable and the variable of the liquid (when the flow volumes of the RA fan 51 and the SA fan 63 are increased, the electric two-way valve 6 is closed so as to reduce the flow rate of the water passing through the utilization heat exchanger 5 of the utilization unit 302: [0063]).
Regarding Claims 13 and 35. Tamaki further teaches the operating variable of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system comprises a first variable of the airflow generator and a second variable of the liquid distribution system(fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 14. Tamaki further teaches the airflow generator includes a fan assembly operable to generate the airflow (63: fig. 2); and
wherein the operating variable comprises a fan assembly operating variable (254: fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18. Tamaki further teaches the airflow generator comprises a fan assembly (63: fig. 2);
wherein the operating variable of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system includes(401, 302(63): fig. 1-2): a fan speed of the fan assembly (s22: fig.10); and
an operating condition of the liquid distribution system(s22:fig. 10; fig.6).
Regarding Claim 19. Tamaki further teaches the operating variable of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system includes:
an operating condition of the liquid distribution system(fig.4); and
a variable of the liquid(power consumption: fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 22. Tamaki further teaches the controller is configured to adjust operation of at least one of the airflow generator and the liquid distribution system in response to the determination of the drift condition (controller 52 controls the drift rate to the required value by reducing the fan speed and the signal from the drift sensor 40; paragraph [0071])..
Regarding Claims 23 and 39. Tamaki further teaches comprising a pad, fill, and/or an indirect heat exchanger (5: fig. 1); and
wherein the liquid distribution system is operable to distribute the liquid onto the pad, fill and/or indirect heat exchanger (5: fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 26. Tamaki further teaches the operating variable of at least one of the air generator and the liquid distribution system comprises a plurality of variables of the liquid distribution system, the plurality of variables including(fig. 4):
a first variable indicative of whether a pump of the liquid distribution system is operating(power consumption: fig.6); and
a second variable indicative of a conductivity of the liquid(outlet water temperature: fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 28. Tamaki further teaches the airflow generator comprises a fan assembly, the method further comprising(63:fig. 2):
operating the fan assembly to generate the airflow from an air inlet (56: fig2 )to an air outlet of the air contactor(65: fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 33. Tamaki further teaches the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition(S4: fig. 8); and
wherein determining the abnormal drift condition includes comparing the air variable and the operating variable to a dataset of variables corresponding to normal drift conditions(fig. 8; s5: fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 38. Tamaki further teaches detecting the air variable of the airflow comprises: operating a fan of the sensor to direct a portion of the airflow through a passageway of the sensor(254: fig/.2);
heating, cooling, or both heating and cooling the at least a portion of the airflow([0066]); and
detecting the airflow variable of the portion of the airflow(increases the airflow :[0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki in view of Bessler (US 5,415,008)
Regarding calims 6 and 30. Tamaki silent about the air variable comprises an upstream air variable and a downstream air variable;
wherein the sensor comprises:
an upstream sensor configured to detect the upstream air variable of the airflow upstream of the airflow contacting the liquid; and
a downstream sensor configured to detect the downstream air variable of the airflow downstream of the airflow contacting the liquid.
However, Bessler teaches the air variable comprises an upstream air variable and a downstream air variable(col. 5, l.31-col. 6, l.4);
wherein the sensor comprises (28, 30: fig.3):
an upstream sensor configured to detect the upstream air variable of the airflow upstream of the airflow contacting the liquid (28: fig. 3; ol. 5, l.31-col. 6, l.4); and
a downstream sensor configured to detect the downstream air variable of the airflow downstream of the airflow contacting the liquid(30: fig. 3; col. 5, l.31-col. 6, l.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the air variable comprises an upstream air variable and a downstream air variable; wherein the sensor comprises: an upstream sensor configured to detect the upstream air variable of the airflow upstream of the airflow contacting the liquid; and a downstream sensor configured to detect the downstream air variable of the airflow downstream of the airflow contacting the liquid, as taught by Bessler, so as to controller receives input from the suction line temperature sensing device as a basis for controlling the duty cycle..
Regarding claims 7 and 31. Bessler further teaches the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition (monitoring difference between the liquid line temperatures: col. 5, l.31-col. 6, l.4); and
wherein the controller is configured to determine the drift condition based at least in part upon the downstream air variable being abnormal relative to the upstream air variable(adjusting: col. 5, l.31-col. 6, l.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the drift condition includes an abnormal drift condition; and wherein the controller is configured to determine the drift condition based at least in part upon the downstream air variable being abnormal relative to the upstream air variable, as taught by Bessler, so as to controller receives input from the suction line temperature sensing device as a basis for controlling the duty cycle..
Claim(s) 12 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki in view of Fujita et al. (US 2022/0205661).
Regarding Claims 12 and 34. Tamaki silent about the controller is configured to determine the drift condition using a machine learning algorithm to process the air variable and the operating variable.
However, Fujita teaches the controller is configured to determine the drift condition using a machine learning algorithm to process the air variable and the operating variable (figs. 18 and 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the controller is configured to determine the drift condition using a machine learning algorithm to process the air variable and the operating variable, as taught by Fujita, so as to movement of heat amount in the air-conditioning system is optimized.
Claim(s) 15-17,20-21 and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki in view of Pham et al. (US 20210041119).
Regarding Claims 15 and 36. Tamaki silent about the air sensor comprises a particulate matter sensor; and
wherein the air variable comprises a particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow.
However, Pham teaches the air sensor comprises a particulate matter sensor([0063]); and
wherein the air variable comprises a particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow([0066], [0068]; fig.16, [0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the air sensor comprises a particulate matter sensor; and wherein the air variable comprises a particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow, as taught by Pham, so as to monitoring service allows the customer to remotely monitor real-time data within the building, outside of the building, and/or control components of the system such as setting temperature and relative humidity setpoints and other IAQ setpoints, enabling or disabling heating, cooling, ventilation and air purification.
Regarding Claim 16. Pham further teaches the particulate matter sensor comprises:
a first particulate matter sensor configured to detect particles of a first size([0026]); and
a second particulate matter sensor configured to detect particles of a smaller, second size([0029]); and
wherein the particulate variable comprises: a first particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow having the first size ([0026], [0066], [0198], [0206]); and
a second particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow having the second size([0029], [0066], [0198], [0206]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the particulate matter sensor comprises: a first particulate matter sensor configured to detect particles of a first size; and a second particulate matter sensor configured to detect particles of a smaller, second size; and wherein the particulate variable comprises: a first particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow having the first size; and a second particulate variable indicative of particulate matter in the airflow having the second size, as taught by Pham, so as to monitoring service allows the customer to remotely monitor real-time data within the building, outside of the building, and/or control components of the system such as setting temperature and relative humidity setpoints and other IAQ setpoints, enabling or disabling heating, cooling, ventilation and air purification.
Regarding Claims 17 and 37 . Tamaki silent about the sensor comprises, a relative humidity sensor, and a temperature sensor ; and
wherein the air variable comprises, a relative humidity variable, and an air temperature variable.
However, Pham teaches the sensor comprises, a relative humidity sensor, and a temperature sensor([0094]) ; and
wherein the air variable comprises, a relative humidity variable, and an air temperature variable ([0094])and
a particulate matter sensor and a particulate matter variable([0063], [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the sensor comprises, a relative humidity sensor, and a temperature sensor ; and wherein the air variable comprises, a relative humidity variable, and an air temperature variable., as taught by Pham, so as to monitoring service allows the customer to remotely monitor real-time data within the building, outside of the building, and/or control components of the system such as setting temperature and relative humidity setpoints and other IAQ setpoints, enabling or disabling heating, cooling, ventilation and air purification.
Regarding Claim 20. Tamaki silent about the sensor comprises:
a passageway to receive a portion of the airflow; and
a particulate sensor to detect a particulate variable of the portion of the airflow.
However, Pham teaches the sensor comprises([0098]):
a passageway to receive a portion of the airflow(return air-supply air: fig. 1); and
a particulate sensor to detect a particulate variable of the portion of the airflow(104: fig. 1; [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the sensor comprises: a passageway to receive a portion of the airflow; and a particulate sensor to detect a particulate variable of the portion of the airflow, as taught by Pham, so as to monitoring service allows the customer to remotely monitor real-time data within the building, outside of the building, and/or control components of the system such as setting temperature and relative humidity setpoints and other IAQ setpoints, enabling or disabling heating, cooling, ventilation and air purification.
Regarding Claim 21. Tamaki silent the sensor comprises:
a passageway to receive a portion of the airflow;
an airflow sensor to detect the air variable of the portion of the airflow in the passageway; and
a heater, cooler, or both in the passageway upstream of the airflow sensor.
However, Pham teaches the sensor comprises([0098]):
a passageway to receive a portion of the airflow(return air-supply air: fig. 1);
an airflow sensor to detect the air variable of the portion of the airflow in the passageway([0197]-[0198]); and
a heater, cooler, or both in the passageway upstream of the airflow sensor(104, 106, 108, 124, 146, 144: fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the sensor comprises: a passageway to receive a portion of the airflow; an airflow sensor to detect the air variable of the portion of the airflow in the passageway; and a heater, cooler, or both in the passageway upstream of the airflow sensor, as taught by Pham, so as to monitoring service allows the customer to remotely monitor real-time data within the building, outside of the building, and/or control components of the system such as setting temperature and relative humidity setpoints and other IAQ setpoints, enabling or disabling heating, cooling, ventilation and air purification.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki in view of Sewell at al. (US 5,531,800)
Regarding Claim 24. Tamaki silent about the liquid is an air pollutant capture solution.
However, Sewell teaches the liquid is an air pollutant capture solution(col. 7, l. 17-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the liquid is an air pollutant capture solution, as taught by Sewell, so as to automatic control characteristics of the liquid spray purification system substantially reduce the amount of inspection and maintenance time.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki in view of Yazici et al. (US 20030214055).
Regarding Claim 25. Tamaki further teaches wherein the operating variable is an operating variable of the liquid distribution system(fig. 6)
Tamaki silent about the air contactor is a hyperbolic cooling tower;
wherein the airflow generator is a shell of the hyperbolic cooling tower.
However, Yazici teaches the air contactor is a hyperbolic cooling tower([0003]);
wherein the airflow generator is a shell of the hyperbolic cooling tower([0003]-[0005]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the invention of Tamaki, the air contactor is a hyperbolic cooling tower; wherein the airflow generator is a shell of the hyperbolic cooling tower, as taught by Yazici, so as to the air is introduced into the tower from below while in a crossflow type, air is introduced through openings in the sides of the tower.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) US 11959680 B2 ; b) US 20140262134 ; c) US 2021/0356221 ;d) US 20120003722 .
Contact Information
/MOHAMMAD K ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857