DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the Applicant arguments/remarks made in an amendment received on February 24, 2026. Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-22 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1-5, 12, and 14-16, the previously applied prior art references disclose all claim limitations (see the new 35 USC § 103 rejections below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dacosta et. al (US Publication 2019/0015140), hereinafter “Dacosta” in view of Chiu et al. (EP 2085039A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dacosta further comprising second and third screws (350,360,370,380, Figure 1) and a bone plate (300, Figure 1) including at least first, second, and third receiving structures respectively sized to receive the first, second, and third screws [paragraph 0061], the first screw including a fully threaded shaft (all screws are fully threaded, see Figure 2).
Dacosta fails to disclose at least a first screw comprising a superelastic material, the first screw having a length sufficient to span a tibia and a fibula at a syndesmosis joint.
Chiu discloses at least a first screw (10, Figure 2) comprising a superelastic material [paragraph 0051], the first screw having a length sufficient to span a tibia and a fibula at a syndesmosis joint [paragraphs 0016-0017 and 0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was modify the system of Dacosta wherein the first screw comprises a superelastic material as taught by Chiu in order to provide a relatively natural range of movement to joints.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Dacosta’s system further comprising a cannulated drill bit (not shown, [paragraph 0079] of Chiu) and a guide wire (150, Figure 2 of Chiu).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Dacosta’s system fails to disclose further comprising a drill bit (270, Figure 2 of Chiu).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Dacosta’s system discloses wherein the first screw comprises nitinol [paragraph 0051 of Chiu].
Regarding claim 5, the modified Dacosta’s system discloses wherein the first screw is solid (see Figure 2 of Dacosta).
Claims 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dacosta et. al (US Publication 2019/0015140), hereinafter “Dacosta” in view of Chiu et al. (EP 2085039A1).
Regarding claim 12, Dacosta discloses a Lisfranc targeting guide (200, Figure 2), a cannulated drill bit (not shown, [paragraph 0079]), and a guide wire (150, Figure 2) [paragraph 0061].
Dacosta fails to disclose at least a first screw comprising a superelastic material, the first screw having a length sufficient to span a tibia and a fibula at a syndesmosis joint.
Chiu discloses at least a first screw (10, Figure 2) comprising a superelastic material [paragraph 0051], the first screw having a length sufficient to span a tibia and a fibula at a syndesmosis joint [paragraphs 0016-0017 and 0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was modify the system of Dacosta wherein at least one screw comprises a superelastic material as taught by Chiu in order to provide a relatively natural range of movement to joints.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Dacosta’s system fails to disclose further comprising a drill bit (270, Figure 2 of Chiu).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Dacosta’s system discloses wherein the at least one screw comprises nitinol [paragraph 0051 of Chiu].
Regarding claim 16, the modified Dacosta’s system discloses wherein the at least one screw includes a fully threaded shaft (Figure 2 depict fully threaded screws, see Figure 2 of Dacosta).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Diana Jones/Examiner, Art Unit 3775
/KEVIN T TRUONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3775