DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stowe (Pub. No.: US 2020/0360180 A1) and in view of Ajaelo (Pub. No.: US 2018/0193190 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stowe discloses (fig. 1-) an ophthalmic applicator device (fluid delivery device 10) for treating an eye of a user (¶ 0003), comprising:
A housing (applicator 15);
A reservoir (cartridge 20), supported by the housing (¶ 0050), for containing a liquid for treating the eye (¶ 0052);
A nozzle (37) supported by the housing (¶ 0051, ¶ 0053) and operatively connected to the reservoir (¶ 0053, fig. 3) and being configured to direct a non-gravitationally directed dose of the liquid (¶ 0049); and
A proximity sensor (350, 355) (¶ 0071).
Stowe fails to disclose that the proximity sensor is configured to identify the eye, left or right, to which the applicator is applying the liquid to the eye of the user.
Ajaelo teaches (fig. 2) an ophthalmic applicator (electronic drop device 100, ¶ 0115) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising a proximity sensor (accelerometer 114) configured to detect the eye, left or right, to which the applicator is applying the liquid to the eye of the user (¶ 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximity sensor of Stowe such that it is configured to identify the eye, left or right, to which the applicator is applying the liquid to the eye of the user, as taught by Ajaelo, in order to distinguish between administration of the liquid to the right eye or the left eye (Ajaelo, ¶ 0103) such that accidental overdose of the liquid is prevented (Ajaelo, ¶ 0012). .
Regarding claim 2, Stowe discloses wherein the proximity sensor is configured to sense the presence of the user’s nose positioned laterally of the housing when the applicator is positioned to treat the eye (¶ 0077).
Regarding claim 3, Stowe in view of Ajaelo fail to explicitly disclose wherein the proximity sensor is configured to associate the applicator being used to treat left eye in response to detecting the user’s nose, and to associate the applicator being used to treat the right eye in response to not detecting the user’s nose.
However, Stowe discloses that the proximity sensor is configured to sense the presence of the user’s nose (¶ 0077). Stowe further discloses two proximity sensors (350, 355). Thus, in use, when the applicator is used to treat the left eye, the right proximity sensor (355) will be adjacent the user’s nose and when the applicator is used to treat the right eye, the right proximity sensor (355) will not be adjacent the user’s nose and will be adjacent the user’s ear (fig. 17).
Ajaelo teaches (fig. 2) wherein the proximity sensor is configured to associate the applicator being used to treat the left eye or right eye in response to detecting the user’s eye socket (¶ 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the applicator of Stowe in view of Ajaelo such that the proximity sensor is configured to associate the applicator being used to treat the left eye or right eye, as taught by Ajaelo, such that the proximity sensor is configured to associate the applicator being used to treat left eye in response to detecting the user’s nose, and to associate the applicator being used to treat the right eye in response to not detecting the user’s nose using the proximity sensor (355) of Stowe, as the recognition of facial features is suitable for distinguishing between the right and left eye (Ajaelo, ¶ 0103).
Regarding claim 4, Stowe in view of Ajaelo fail to explicitly disclose wherein the proximity sensor is configured to associate the applicator being used to treat right eye in response to detecting the user’s nose, and to associate the applicator being used to treat the left eye in response to not detecting the user’s nose.
However, Stowe discloses that the proximity sensor is configured to sense the presence of the user’s nose (¶ 0077). Stowe further discloses two proximity sensors (350, 355). Thus, in use, when the applicator is used to treat the right eye, the left proximity sensor (350) will be adjacent the user’s nose and when the applicator is used to treat the left eye, the left proximity sensor (350) will not be adjacent the user’s nose and will be adjacent the user’s ear (fig. 17).
Ajaelo teaches (fig. 2) wherein the proximity sensor is configured to associate the applicator being used to treat the left eye or right eye in response to detecting the user’s eye socket (¶ 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the applicator of Stowe in view of Ajaelo such that the proximity sensor is configured to associate the applicator being used to treat the left eye or right eye, as taught by Ajaelo, such that the proximity sensor is configured to associate the applicator being used to treat right eye in response to detecting the user’s nose, and to associate the applicator being used to treat the left eye in response to not detecting the user’s nose using the proximity sensor (355) of Stowe, as the recognition of facial features is suitable for distinguishing between the right and left eye (Ajaelo, ¶ 0103).
Regarding claim 5, Stowe discloses wherein the proximity sensor is configured to sense the presence of facial structure (¶ 0070) laterally of the housing in a direction generally perpendicular to a nozzle axis of the nozzle (¶ 0071, fig. 17).
Regarding claim 6, Stowe discloses where the proximity sensor comprises a miniature surface mounted infrared optical proximity sensor with a built in LED and photodetector (¶ 0071).
Regarding claim 7, Stowe discloses wherein two different proximity sensors (350, 355) pointing in opposite lateral directions (fig. 17, ¶ 0071), wherein the applicator can determine whether the applicator is held sufficiently close to the user’s face to warrant dosage of the liquid to the eye (¶ 0070-¶ 0071).
Stowe in view of Ajaelo fail to disclose that the two different proximity sensors are used for sensing the presence or absence of a user’s nose from either side, wherein the applicator can thereby determine which eye is being treated.
However, Stowe discloses that the proximity sensor is configured to sense the presence of the user’s nose and ear (¶ 0077). Thus, in use, when the applicator is used to treat the right eye, the left proximity sensor (350) will be adjacent the user’s nose and detects the presence of a user’s nose and the right proximity sensor (355) will not be adjacent the user’s nose and detects the presence of the user’s ear, thus the absence of the user’s nose; and when the applicator is used to treat the left eye, the right proximity sensor (355) will be adjacent the user’s nose and detects the presence of a user’s nose and the left proximity sensor (350) will not be adjacent the user’s nose and detects the presence of the user’s ear, thus the absence of the user’s nose (fig. 17).
Ajaelo teaches (fig. 2) wherein the proximity sensor is used for sensing the eye socket (¶ 0103), wherein the applicator can thereby determine which eye is being treated (¶ 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the applicator of Stowe in view of Ajaelo such that it can thereby determine which eye is being treated, as taught by Ajaelo, such the two different proximity sensors are used for sensing the presence or absence of a user’s nose form either side, as the recognition of facial features is suitable for distinguishing between the right and left eye (Ajaelo, ¶ 0103).
Regarding claim 9, Stowe discloses a controller (290).
Stowe in view of Ajaelo fail to disclose that the controller is configured to control the proximity sensor and the application of treatment in response to which eye, left or right, is detected.
Ajaelo teaches (fig. 2) a controller (microcontroller 108) configured to control the proximity sensor and the application of treatment in response to which eye, left or right, is detected (¶ 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Stowe in view of Ajaelo such that it is configured to control the proximity sensor and the application of treatment in response to which eye, left or right, is detected, as taught by Ajaelo, in order to control administration of the liquid to the right eye or the left eye (Ajaelo, ¶ 0103) such that accidental overdose of the liquid is prevented (Ajaelo, ¶ 0012).
Regarding claim 10, Stowe in view of Ajaelo disclose wherein the controller is configured to compile a treatment log for the treatments applied to the user’s eyes and can thus determine if one or both eyes were treated properly (Ajaelo ¶ 0017, ¶ 0099).
Regarding claim 11, Stowe discloses (fig. 6) a displacement valve (valve 70) and an actuator (wall 55) configured to actuate the displacement valve (¶ 0055), wherein the displacement valve is configured to, when actuated, force the liquid through the nozzle (¶ 0055), and wherein the controller is configured to control actuation of the actuator in response to a user input (¶ 0080, ¶ 0090-¶ 0091).
Regarding claim 12, Stowe discloses wherein the reservoir comprises a removable reservoir cartridge (¶ 0050).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Stowe discloses the proximity sensor comprising an LED and a photodetector (¶ 0071), however, Stowe fails to disclose the LEDs configured to determine which eye is being treated.
Ajaelo discloses the proximity sensor comprising an accelerometer.
Brue (Pub. No.: US 2015/0359667 A1) discloses an applicator comprising a proximity sensor configured to identify the eye, left or right, to which the applicator is applying the liquid to the eye of the user (¶ 0027). However, Brue fails to disclose the proximity sensor comprising an LED and photodetector.
The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest the claim limitation: wherein the proximity sensor is configured to determine which eye is being treated in response to which of the left-side and right-side LEDs generates the higher magnitude detected signal at the photodetector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kraft (Pub. No.: US 2014/0228783 A1) discloses n ophthalmic applicator configured to identify which eye the applicator is applying the liquid to.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781