Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gronau et al (US 2005/0083782).
As to claim 16, Gronau et al. disclose an agitator frame comprising:
A support subframe comprises a drive bar extended vertically; a crossbar coupled to the drive bar extended horizontally
Agitator members coupled to the support subframe, wherein the agitator members comprising first flexible portion at both ends of to the crossbar forming a loop, a second flexible portion to form a flexible side link (annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gronau et al (US 2005/0083782).
As to claim 18, Gronau et al. disclose agitator members, but fail to teach a loop. However, since Granau et al disclose the curved agitator configuration, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have it either curved or looped. Such modification is with the design expediency.
As to claim 20, Gronau et al. fail to teach the slant member, but instead disclose a straight member as shown in the annotated figure. However, such modification of either slant or straight would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since it is within the design expediency.
As to claim 21, Gronau fails to explicitly disclose the flexible material is more flexible than the drive bar and crossbar. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the drive bar and cross bar to have a stronger material, since it is the base of the tool and need to be sturdy to support the other structures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendment and argument do not overcome the prior art of record, since the components as claimed were still rejected based on the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant argues that Gronau et al. fail to teach the flexible loop. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in applicant’s invention in figure 5, the agitator loop starts at one end and ended at the other end, NOT forming a loop. Similarly, Gronau et al. has an agitator member that starts at one end and stops at the other end. A loop is defined to be one end touching the other end to form a circle. In this instance, the agitator member of applicant’s invention is not a loop, and therefore, the examiner is interpreting it to be a bent agitator member instead of the circle, 360 degrees, loop.
However, the examiner would like to provide suggestions for applicant to amend the agitator 1st end member connecting at the far end of the crossbar bar and the 2nd end member to connect at the distal end to form a loop with the crossbar. At least this claim language is consistent with figure 5 of applicant’s invention and would overcome the Gronau et al. reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763