DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Examiner Comments
Examiner attempted to contact attorneys of record via phone on 02/26/2026 to discuss ADS requirements and appropriately claiming priority in this instant application. Examiner was unable to connect with attorneys as the provided phone number was not active. Therefore, examiner is unable to identify the appropriate priority of the instant application and will proceed with the effective filing date of the instant application to be 08/04/2023.
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 16/888713, filed 05/30/2020, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
This application makes reference to or appears to claim subject matter disclosed in Application No. 16/888713, filed 05/30/2020. If applicant desires to claim the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c) or 386(c), the instant application must contain, or be amended to contain, a specific reference to the prior-filed application in compliance with 37 CFR 1.78. If the application was filed before September 16, 2012, the specific reference must be included in the first sentence(s) of the specification following the title or in an application data sheet (ADS) in compliance with pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.76; if the application was filed on or after September 16, 2012, the specific reference must be included in an ADS in compliance with 37 CFR 1.76. For benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c), the reference must include the relationship (i.e., continuation, divisional, or continuation-in-part) of the applications.
If the instant application is a utility or plant application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111(a), the specific reference must be submitted during the pendency of the application and within the later of four months from the actual filing date of the application or sixteen months from the filing date of the prior application. If the application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371, the specific reference must be submitted during the pendency of the application and within the later of four months from the date on which the national stage commenced under 35 U.S.C. 371(b) or (f), four months from the date of the initial submission under 35 U.S.C. 371 to enter the national stage, or sixteen months from the filing date of the prior application. See 37 CFR 1.78(a)(4) for benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78(d)(3) for benefit claims under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c). This time period is not extendable and a failure to submit the reference required by 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and/or 120, where applicable, within this time period is considered a waiver of any benefit of such prior application(s) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), and 386(c). A benefit claim filed after the required time period may be accepted if it is accompanied by a grantable petition to accept an unintentionally delayed benefit claim under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) (see 37 CFR 1.78(c)) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) (see 37 CFR 1.78(e)). The petition must be accompanied by (1) the reference required by 35 U.S.C. 120 or 119(e) and by 37 CFR 1.78 to the prior application (unless previously submitted), (2) the applicable petition fee under 37 CFR 1.17(m)(1) or (2), and (3) a statement that the entire delay between the date the benefit claim was due under 37 CFR 1.78 and the date the claim was filed was unintentional. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application. The Director may require additional information where there is a question whether the delay was unintentional. The petition should be addressed to: Mail Stop Petition, Commissioner for Patents, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450.
If the reference to the prior application was previously submitted within the time period set forth in 37 CFR 1.78 but was not included in the location in the application required by the rule (e.g., if the reference was submitted in an oath or declaration or the application transmittal letter), and the information concerning the benefit claim was recognized by the Office as shown by its inclusion on the first filing receipt, the petition under 37 CFR 1.78 and the petition fee under 37 CFR 1.17(m)(1) or (2) are not required. Applicant is still required to submit the reference in compliance with 37 CFR 1.78 by filing an ADS in compliance with 37 CFR 1.76 with the reference (or, if the application was filed before September 16, 2012, by filing either an amendment to the first sentence(s) of the specification or an ADS in compliance with pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.76). See MPEP § 211.02.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 capitalizes “Placing” in element a and “Additionally” in element b when they should be lowercase. Examiner suggests rephrasing to “placing” in element a and “additionally” in element b. Additionally, claim 1 line 2 recites “element iii” without a period of its Roman numeral. Examiner suggests rewriting to “element iii.” to maintain consistency with other uses of Roman numerals within the claims. Additionally, claim 1 line 8 recites “gas-filled tube”. Examiner suggests rewriting to “gas-filled glass tube” to maintain clarity and consistency. Additionally, claim 1 line 14 recites “energetic current and field”. Examiner suggests rewriting to “the energetic current and the energetic field” to make reference to the previously introduced elements. Additionally, claim 1 line 14 recites a period at the end of line 14. Examiner suggests removing this period.
Claim 2 line 8 recites “or tube”. Examiner suggests rewriting to “or gas-filled glass tube” to maintain clarity and consistency.
Claims 11 and 16 recites “said energetic current and field”. Examiner suggests rewriting to “the energetic current and the energetic field” to make reference to the previously introduced elements and to be consistent with other mentions of the energetic current and energetic field.
Claims 14-15 and 19-20 recite “an apparatus as in” when the claims they depend from are method claims. Examiner suggests rephrasing “an apparatus as in” to “the method of”. Claims 14 and 19 also recite “said current”. Examiner suggests rephrasing to “said accelerated modulated energetic current” to maintain consistency with the language in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the metal-lined enclosure" in claim 1, line 2 and “the energetic field” in claim 1, line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests rewriting so that step a introduces the apparatus first. This could be rewritten so step a reads “providing an apparatus comprising” and then listing sub-steps i-v, step b would then be rewritten as the two lines of step a, and a new step c would be written as the two lines of step b. This could also be rewritten in a manner similar to the one suggested by the examiner, but examiner suggests general reordering the steps so that “patient” is introduced into the claim after the apparatus has been claimed. The phrase “the energetic field, of an apparatus” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the energetic field is separate from the apparatus or is part of the apparatus, which is yet to be introduced in the claim.
Claims 11 and 16 recite “to optimally promote energetic healing”, which renders the claims indefinite. It is unclear what position is optimal or how the position itself creates optimal energetic healing. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of “optimally” are. It is also unclear what constitutes “energetic healing”. It is unclear what this term means in the scope of this application, what the metes and bounds are, and how exactly this is achieve by the apparatus and patient position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinnick (US 20210370061 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shinnick teaches a method to promote healing comprising: a. Placing a patient into the metal-lined enclosure of element iii, and exposing said patient to the energetic field (claim 9), of an apparatus comprising: i. a first enclosure containing electrical components further comprising at least a transformer and coil bathed in dielectric oil (claim 9), ii. a gas-filled glass tube through which an accelerated modulated energetic current is induced at a first end by the action of the electrical components of element i thereby inducing an energetic field that is, at least in part, available at a second end of the gas-filled tube (claim 9), iii. a second metal-lined enclosure sufficiently large to contain said patient and, optionally, a therapist/practitioner (claim 9), iv. an opening in said second enclosure through which said second end of said gas-filled glass tube passes into said second enclosure (claim 9), and, v. optional seating/support components to position said patient with respect to energetic current and field (claim 9); b. Additionally employing at least some physical therapy technique in association with step a. (Claim 9, element iii teaches a therapist; One skilled in the art would reasonably expect that a therapist would employ a physical therapy technique).
Regarding claim 2, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches a substantially circular concave baffle positioned between the second end of said gas-filled glass tube and the patient to disperse the accelerated modulated energetic current exiting from said second end of said gas-filled glass tube oriented such that the second end of said gas-filled glass tube points into said concavity and that said baffle is further covered with a tightly woven fabric (claim 9, element vi), and, vii. a plastic sheet infiltrated with nano-particles positioned between said baffle and said patient in order to prevent arcing between said baffle or tube and said patient (claim 1, element vii).
Regarding claim 3, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches wherein: said some physical therapy technique comprises acupuncture (paragraph 0024 “in ways that are similar to those promoted by practitioners of healing arts such as acupuncture, medical acupuncture, deep needling, Qigong, and the like”; claim 9 discloses that a practitioner can be present and paragraph 0024 teaches that the practitioner can promote acupuncture).
Regarding claim 4, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches wherein: said some physical therapy technique comprises Qi Gong or other physical motion practice (paragraph 0024 “in ways that are similar to those promoted by practitioners of healing arts such as acupuncture, medical acupuncture, deep needling, Qigong, and the like”; claim 9 discloses that a practitioner can be present and paragraph 0024 teaches that the practitioner can promote Qigong).
Regarding claim 5, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches wherein: said some physical therapy technique comprises acupressure or other physical massage technique (paragraph 0024 “in ways that are similar to those promoted by practitioners of healing arts such as acupuncture, medical acupuncture, deep needling, Qigong, and the like”; claim 9 discloses that a practitioner can be present and paragraph 0024 teaches that the practitioner can promote acupuncture which can be a physical massage technique).
Regarding claim 6, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches wherein: said at least some physical therapy technique of step b. is practiced at least in part simultaneously with at least some portion of said exposure of step a (claim 9 element iii teaches the therapist/practitioner being in the enclosure with the subject; One skilled in the art would reasonably expect that when the therapist is the enclosure, they are performing therapy while the subject is also in the enclosure to be exposed to the energetic current).
Regarding claim 7, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 2.
Shinnick further teaches wherein: said some physical therapy technique comprises acupuncture (paragraph 0024 “in ways that are similar to those promoted by practitioners of healing arts such as acupuncture, medical acupuncture, deep needling, Qigong, and the like”; claim 9 discloses that a practitioner can be present and paragraph 0024 teaches that the practitioner can promote acupuncture).
Regarding claim 8, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 2.
Shinnick further teaches wherein: said some physical therapy technique comprises Qi Gong or other physical motion practice (paragraph 0024 “in ways that are similar to those promoted by practitioners of healing arts such as acupuncture, medical acupuncture, deep needling, Qigong, and the like”; claim 9 discloses that a practitioner can be present and paragraph 0024 teaches that the practitioner can promote Qigong).
Regarding claim 9, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 2.
Shinnick further teaches wherein: said some physical therapy technique comprises acupressure or other physical massage technique (paragraph 0024 “in ways that are similar to those promoted by practitioners of healing arts such as acupuncture, medical acupuncture, deep needling, Qigong, and the like”; claim 9 discloses that a practitioner can be present and paragraph 0024 teaches that the practitioner can promote acupuncture which can be a physical massage technique).
Regarding claim 10, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 2.
Shinnick further teaches wherein: said at least some physical therapy technique of step b. is practiced at least in part simultaneously with at least some portion of said exposure of step a (claim 9 element iii teaches the therapist/practitioner being in the enclosure with the subject; One skilled in the art would reasonably expect that when the therapist is the enclosure, they are performing therapy while the subject is also in the enclosure to be exposed to the energetic current).
Regarding claim 11, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches that said patient is positioned with respect to said energetic current and field to optimally promote energetic healing (claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches that the patient is instructed/guided by said therapist/practitioner in mental and/or emotional practices including, but not limited to, counseling, meditation and visualization (claim 11).
Regarding claim 13, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches that the atmosphere within said second metal-lined enclosure is maintained at a temperature of substantially 90 degrees F and a humidity of substantially 85% (claim 9, element b).
Regarding claim 14, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 1.
Shinnick further teaches wherein said current of element a. ii. Spins (paragraph 0021 “Transformers and coils immersed in a dialectric oil in a separate enclosure, which is outside the patient enclosure, accelerate and spin an energetic current”).
Regarding claim 15, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 14.
Shinnick further teaches wherein said spin is toroidal (paragraph 0056 “the triple-converging shockwaves of a toroidal-spin soliton spins into a linear gas tube and then into a non-linear dome; paragraph 0056 discusses the experiment that the invention uses as a scientific basis for their functionality, and the experiment discusses toroidal spin).
Regarding claim 16, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 2.
Shinnick further teaches that said patient is positioned with respect to said energetic current and field to optimally promote energetic healing (claim 10).
Regarding claim 17, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 2.
Shinnick further teaches that the patient is instructed/guided by said therapist/practitioner in mental and/or emotional practices including, but not limited to, counseling, meditation and visualization (claim 11).
Regarding claim 18, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 2.
Shinnick further teaches that the atmosphere within said second metal-lined enclosure is maintained at a temperature of substantially 90 degrees F and a humidity of substantially 85% (claim 9, element b).
Regarding claim 19, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 2.
Shinnick further teaches wherein said current of element a. ii. Spins (paragraph 0021 “Transformers and coils immersed in a dialectric oil in a separate enclosure, which is outside the patient enclosure, accelerate and spin an energetic current”).
Regarding claim 20, Shinnick teaches the method of claim 19.
Shinnick further teaches wherein said spin is toroidal (paragraph 0056 “the triple-converging shockwaves of a toroidal-spin soliton spins into a linear gas tube and then into a non-linear dome; paragraph 0056 discusses the experiment that the invention uses as a scientific basis for their functionality, and the experiment discusses toroidal spin).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,894 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated and/or made obvious by the cited patent.
Regarding claim 1, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 13; One skilled in the art would reasonably expect when the therapist is present in the enclosure, they would employ a physical therapy technique).
Regarding claim 2, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 13, elements vi and vii).
Regarding claim 3, US 11771894 B2 does not specifically teach wherein the physical therapy technique comprises acupuncture. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of US 11771894 B2 to include acupuncture. The therapist taught in claim 1 would be obviously expected to perform acupuncture as this is a common therapy technique.
Regarding claim 4, US 11771894 B2 does not specifically teach wherein the physical therapy technique comprises Qi Gong or other physical motion practice. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of US 11771894 B2 to include Qi Gong or other physical motion practice. The therapist taught in claim 1 would be obviously expected to perform Qi Gong or other physical motion practice as these are common therapy techniques practiced by a therapist.
Regarding claim 5, US 11771894 B2 does not specifically teach wherein the physical therapy technique comprises acupressure or other physical massage technique. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of US 11771894 B2 to include acupressure or other physical massage technique. The therapist taught in claim 1 would be obviously expected to perform acupressure or other physical massage technique as these are common therapy techniques practiced by a therapist.
Regarding claim 6, US 11771894 B2 does not specifically teach wherein the physical therapy technique of step b. is practiced simultaneously with at least some portion of said exposure of step a. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of US 11771894 B2 so that physical therapy is practiced simultaneously with the exposure. The therapist taught in claim 1 is enclosed with the patient in the enclosure and it would be obviously expected to perform physical therapy simultaneously with the energetic therapy while both the therapist and patient are in the enclosure.
Regarding claim 7, US 11771894 B2 does not specifically teach wherein the physical therapy technique comprises acupuncture. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of US 11771894 B2 to include acupuncture. The therapist taught in claim 1 would be obviously expected to perform acupuncture as this is a common therapy technique.
Regarding claim 8, US 11771894 B2 does not specifically teach wherein the physical therapy technique comprises Qi Gong or other physical motion practice. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of US 11771894 B2 to include Qi Gong or other physical motion practice. The therapist taught in claim 1 would be obviously expected to perform Qi Gong or other physical motion practice as these are common therapy techniques practiced by a therapist.
Regarding claim 9, US 11771894 B2 does not specifically teach wherein the physical therapy technique comprises acupressure or other physical massage technique. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of US 11771894 B2 to include acupressure or other physical massage technique. The therapist taught in claim 1 would be obviously expected to perform acupressure or other physical massage technique as these are common therapy techniques practiced by a therapist.
Regarding claim 10, US 11771894 B2 does not specifically teach wherein the physical therapy technique of step b. is practiced simultaneously with at least some portion of said exposure of step a. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of US 11771894 B2 so that physical therapy is practiced simultaneously with the exposure. The therapist taught in claim 1 is enclosed with the patient in the enclosure and it would be obviously expected to perform physical therapy simultaneously with the energetic therapy while both the therapist and patient are in the enclosure.
Regarding claim 11, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 17).
Regarding claim 12, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 18).
Regarding claim 13, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 16).
Regarding claim 14, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 19).
Regarding claim 15, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 20).
Regarding claim 16, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 17).
Regarding claim 17, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 18).
Regarding claim 18, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 16).
Regarding claim 19, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 19).
Regarding claim 20, US 11771894 B2 discloses the claimed invention (claim 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The closest prior art of record is Lauer (US 20140343642 A1) which teaches a Faraday cage to enclose a patient and an opening to emit electromagnetic waves to treat the patient. However, Lauer does not teach an enclosure with a transformer and coil bathed in dielectric oil and a glass tube to deliver energetic current to the cage that holds the patient. It would not have been obvious to modify Lauer to teach this enclosure given the teachings of Lauer.
Conclusion
/AKHIL A JAYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785