DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed December 10,2025. Claims 1-28 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 10-13, 20-22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy et al. (US 2021/0144558, “Parthasarath”) in view of Takada (US 2020/0329526).
Regarding claim 1, Parthasarathy teaches a method for performing network control in a wireless communications system, the wireless communications system comprising a first network device (e.g., FIG. 3, [00500] - AP 105-c, also referred to as AP1), a second network device (FIG. 3, STA 115-c, also STA1) and a third network device (FIG. 3, AP 105-d, also AP2), the method comprising:
{carrying a set of link information in a preamble of a first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication};
wherein the third network device is arranged to monitor wireless transmission in the wireless communications system ([0050] “Another AP (such as, the AP 105-d) may detect the OBSS transmission 305-a output by the AP 105-c.” [0055] “an ‘AP2’ (such as, the AP 105-b illustrated in FIG. 2) may receive or detect an OBSS packet 505 included in an OBSS transmission output by an ‘AP1’”) to obtain the set of link information from the first data transmission frame, and determine spatial reuse (SR) transmission availability of the third network device based on the set of link information ([0062] Accordingly, in some examples, the ‘AP2’ may determine timing information (such as, the duration D2 or a start time) associated with the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540 associated with the ‘AP2’. In determining the timing information, the ‘AP2’ may determine that the spatial reuse packet 540 is in a queue of the ‘AP2’. In some aspects, the ‘AP2’ may identify one or more fields in the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540 based on determining that the spatial reuse packet 540 is in the queue. In some examples, the ‘AP2’ may determine, based on the identified fields, one or more of a start period D1 associated with a beginning data symbol (such as, data OFDM symbol 550-a) of the data symbols (such as, data OFDM symbols 550-a and 550-b) of the spatial reuse packet 540 or a duration of the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540.” [0070] “At 430, the ‘AP2’ may communicate a spatial reuse transmission, for example, based on the aligning at 425”).
Parthasarathy does not teach carrying a set of link information in a preamble of a first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication;
Takada teaches carrying a set of link information in a preamble of a first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device (abstract, A “communication device that transmits or receives a radio frame including a preamble and a data field of a physical layer (PHY) is provided. The preamble includes an L-STF (Legacy Short Training Field), an L-LTF (Legacy Long Training Field), an L-SIG (Legacy Signal Field), an EHT-SIG (Extremely High Throughput Signal Field), an EHT-STF (EHT Short Training Field), and an EHT-LTF (EHT Long Training Field), and the EHT-SIG includes a subfield in which information on whether NOMA (Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access) is used in transmission of data included in the data field is set”), wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication ([0038] “The EHT-SIG-x can include one structured subfield for each data destination…. One Destination_y subfield may be formed by one OFDM symbol, or may be formed by a plurality of OFDM symbols. Each of one or more Destination_y subfields can include a field indicating the ID (identifier) of the destination STA, a field indicating the necessity of SIC (Successive Interference Cancellation), a field indicating the index of the MCS (Modulation and Coding Scheme) to be used, and a field indicating the transmission power.” [0042] “The TX power field indicates a ratio of power assigned to the STA (or STA group) corresponding to this Destination_y subfield to the transmission power of the data included in the data field”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature carrying a set of link information in a preamble of a first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication, as taught by Takada in Parthasarathy so that “the radio resource is effectively used, and the overall system throughput can be improved”.
Regarding claim 10, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first data transmission frame is a physical layer (PHY) protocol data unit (PPDU) ([0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may be formatted according to a high efficiency (HE) format protocol data unit (PDU) field (e.g., HE orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) associated with 802.11ax format). In some aspects, the OBSS packet 505 may be formatted according to a non-HE PDU field (e.g., non-HE OFDMA associated with legacy formats)”), and the preamble is a PHY preamble of the PPDU ([0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may include a preamble 506 including a set of fields”. [0046] “Spatial reuse utilizes, for example, BSS coloring, aspects of which include increasing a number of concurrent transmissions in an area, based on an OBSS preamble detection (OBSS PD) threshold and a received signal strength indication (RSSI) of received OBSSs.” [0047] “the BSS color information may be communicated in the preamble of an 802.11ax PHY header”).
Regarding claim 11, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the at least one indication is carried in at least one field in the PHY preamble ([0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may include a preamble 506 including a set of fields”), and the at least one field comprises one or a combination of an SR field and another field in the PHY preamble ([0061] “preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet may include a combined duration of Legacy fields: HE-STF (HE Short Training Field), HE-LTFs (HE Long Training Fields), and HE-SIG fields (HE Signal fields)”).
Regarding claim 12, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the third network device is arranged to determine the SR transmission availability based on the device assignment indication ([0049] “In another example, another AP 105 (such as, the AP 105-b) may detect an OBSS transmission 205-a output by the AP 105-a and determine, based on the OBSS transmission 205-a, a spatial reuse alignment for performing a spatial reuse transmission. For example, the AP 105-b may detect the OBSS transmission 205-a and perform a spatial reuse transmission (such as spatial reuse transmission 210-a) based on the spatial reuse alignment”), wherein the first network device is arranged to selectively communicate with the third network device according to a mesh protocol in advance for sending the device assignment indication to the third network device, or carry the device assignment indication in the preamble of the first data transmission frame ([0061] “‘AP2’ may determine a duration D2 of a preamble 545 of a spatial reuse packet 540 in queue (such as, where the spatial reuse packet 540 is queued to be transmitted by the ‘AP2’). In some aspects, the preamble 545 may include one or more of a legacy short training field, a legacy long training field, a legacy signaling field, a repeat legacy signal field, or a high efficiency signaling A field. For example, the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet may include a combined duration of Legacy fields: HE-STF (HE Short Training Field), HE-LTFs (HE Long Training Fields), and HE-SIG fields (HE Signal fields)”).
Regarding claim 13, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the device assignment indication is arranged to indicate a selected network device that is scheduled to perform SR transmission with respect to the first data transmission frame ([0062] “the ‘AP2’ may determine timing information (such as, the duration D2 or a start time) associated with the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540 associated with the ‘AP2’. In determining the timing information, the ‘AP2’ may determine that the spatial reuse packet 540 is in a queue of the ‘AP2’.” [0070] “the ‘AP2’ may communicate a spatial reuse transmission, for example, based on the aligning at 425. In an example, the ‘AP2’ may communicate the spatial reuse transmission to a ‘STA2’”).
Regarding claim 20, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first data transmission frame is a physical layer (PHY) protocol data unit (PPDU) ([0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may be formatted according to a high efficiency (HE) format protocol data unit (PDU) field (e.g., HE orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) associated with 802.11ax format). In some aspects, the OBSS packet 505 may be formatted according to a non-HE PDU field (e.g., non-HE OFDMA associated with legacy formats)”), and the preamble is a PHY preamble of the PPDU ([0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may include a preamble 506 including a set of fields”); and the first network device is arranged to selectively communicate with the third network device according to a mesh protocol in advance for sending the device assignment indication to the third network device ([0055] “‘AP2’ (such as, the AP 105-b illustrated in FIG. 2) may receive or detect an OBSS packet 505 included in an OBSS transmission output by an ‘AP1’” [0046] “Spatial reuse utilizes, for example, BSS coloring, aspects of which include increasing a number of concurrent transmissions in an area, based on an OBSS preamble detection (OBSS PD) threshold and a received signal strength indication (RSSI) of received OBSSs.” [0047] “the BSS color information may be communicated in the preamble of an 802.11ax PHY header”), or integrate both of the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication into an encoded indication carried by a predetermined field in the PHY preamble.
Regarding claim 21, Parthasarathy teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first data transmission frame is a physical layer (PHY) protocol data unit (PPDU) ([0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may be formatted according to a high efficiency (HE) format protocol data unit (PDU) field (e.g., HE orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) associated with 802.11ax format). In some aspects, the OBSS packet 505 may be formatted according to a non-HE PDU field (e.g., non-HE OFDMA associated with legacy formats)”), and the preamble is a PHY preamble of the PPDU ([0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may include a preamble 506 including a set of fields”); but fails to teach
the first network device is arranged to integrate both of the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication are integrated into an encoded indication carried by a predetermined field in the PHY preamble; and the predetermined field comprises one or a combination of an SR field and another field in the PHY preamble, and the encoded indication is a first field value for indicating the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication, wherein:
if the predetermined field comprises the SR field, the first field value is an SR-field value, and the SR-field value is equal to any value among multiple integer values in a predetermined interval [1, 12]; and
if the predetermined field comprises the other field or the combination of the SR field and the other field, the first field value is equal to any value among multiple integer values in the predetermined interval [1, 12]or another predetermined interval.
Takada teaches
the first network device is arranged to integrate both of the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication are integrated into an encoded indication carried by a predetermined field in the PHY preamble ([0007] “there is provided an information processing device comprising a generation unit configured to generate a radio frame including a preamble and a data field of a physical layer (PHY), wherein the preamble includes an L-STF (Legacy Short Training Field), an L-LTF (Legacy Long Training Field), an L-SIG (Legacy Signal Field), an EHT-SIG (Extremely High Throughput Signal Field), an EHT-STF (EHT Short Training Field), and an EHT-LTF (EHT Long Training Field), and the EHT-SIG includes a subfield in which information on whether NOMA (Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access) is used in transmission of data included in the data field is set.” [0038] “The EHT-SIG-x can include one structured subfield for each data destination. Hereinafter, this subfield is referred to as a Destination_y subfield (where y is an integer of 0 or more). One Destination_y subfield may be formed by one OFDM symbol, or may be formed by a plurality of OFDM symbols. Each of one or more Destination_y subfields can include a field indicating the ID (identifier) of the destination STA, a field indicating the necessity of SIC (Successive Interference Cancellation), a field indicating the index of the MCS (Modulation and Coding Scheme) to be used, and a field indicating the transmission power. Hereinafter, these fields are referred to as an ID field, an SIC field, an MCS field, and a TX power field, respectively”); and the predetermined field comprises one or a combination of an SR field and another field in the PHY preamble, and the encoded indication is a first field value for indicating the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication ([0042] “The TX power field indicates a ratio of power assigned to the STA (or STA group) corresponding to this Destination_y subfield to the transmission power of the data included in the data field”), wherein:
if the predetermined field comprises the SR field, the first field value is an SR-field value, and the SR-field value is equal to any value among multiple integer values in a predetermined interval [1, 12] (page 3, table 1 “EHT SU PPDU, n = 0, 1, 2, . . . , 11” “B15-B18 Spatial Reuse 4 This subfield indicates whether Spatial Reuse is allowed during transmission of this PPDU”); and if the predetermined field comprises the other field or the combination of the SR field and the other field, the first field value is equal to any value among multiple integer values in the predetermined interval [1, 12]or another predetermined interval.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the first network device is arranged to integrate both of the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication are integrated into an encoded indication carried by a predetermined field in the PHY preamble; and the predetermined field comprises one or a combination of an SR field and another field in the PHY preamble, and the encoded indication is a first field value for indicating the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication, wherein: if the predetermined field comprises the SR field, the first field value is an SR-field value, and the SR-field value is equal to any value among multiple integer values in a predetermined interval [1, 12]; and if the predetermined field comprises the other field or the combination of the SR field and the other field, the first field value is equal to any value among multiple integer values in the predetermined interval [1, 12]or another predetermined interval, as taught by Takada in Parthasarathy so that “the radio resource is effectively used, and the overall system throughput can be improved”.
Regarding claim 22, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first network device is arranged to generate the encoded indication according to one or more predetermined mapping relationships, for mapping the destination device indication ([0060] “the data portion 535 of the OBSS packet 505 may include multiple MAC PDUs (MPDUs). In some examples, the ‘AP2’ may decode the MPDUs and determine the source and destination (e.g., read the source and destination) associated with each of the MPDUs”), the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication to the encoded indication, to allow the third network device to obtain the destination device indication, the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication from the encoded indication according to the one or more predetermined mapping relationships.
Regarding claim 25, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 and further teaches second network device (FIG. 3, STA 115-c, also STA1) that operates according to the method of claim 1, wherein the second network device comprises: a processing circuit, arranged to control operations of the second network device; and at least one communications control circuit, coupled to the processing circuit, arranged to perform communications control (FIG. 8), wherein the at least one communications control circuit is arranged to perform wireless communications operations with the first network device for the second network device (([0050] “the AP 105-c may output a transmission (such as, an OBSS transmission 305-a) to the STA 115-c”); wherein: the second network device is arranged to receive the first data transmission frame carrying the set of link information in the preamble and correctly process the first data transmission frame, without being hindered by any SR transmission performed by the third network device to another network device with respect to the first data transmission frame ([0050] “the AP 105-c may output a transmission (such as, an OBSS transmission 305-a) to the STA 115-c.”)
Regarding claim 26, Parthasarathy teaches a first network device (e.g., FIG. 3, [00500] - AP 105-c, also referred to as AP1), for performing network control in a wireless communications system, the wireless communications system comprising the first network device, a second network device (FIG. 3, STA 115-c, also STA1) and a third network device (FIG. 3, AP 105-d, also AP2), the first network device comprising: a processing circuit, arranged to control operations of the first network device; and at least one communications control circuit, coupled to the processing circuit, arranged to perform communications control (FIG. 8), wherein the at least one communications control circuit is arranged to perform wireless communications operations with the second network device for the first network device; wherein:
{the first network device is arranged to carry a set of link information in a preamble of a first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication}; and
the third network device is arranged to monitor wireless transmission in the wireless communications system ([0050] “Another AP (such as, the AP 105-d) may detect the OBSS transmission 305-a output by the AP 105-c.” [0055] “an ‘AP2’ (such as, the AP 105-b illustrated in FIG. 2) may receive or detect an OBSS packet 505 included in an OBSS transmission output by an ‘AP1’”) to obtain the set of link information from the first data transmission frame, and determine spatial reuse (SR) transmission availability of the third network device based on the set of link information ([0062] Accordingly, in some examples, the ‘AP2’ may determine timing information (such as, the duration D2 or a start time) associated with the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540 associated with the ‘AP2’. In determining the timing information, the ‘AP2’ may determine that the spatial reuse packet 540 is in a queue of the ‘AP2’. In some aspects, the ‘AP2’ may identify one or more fields in the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540 based on determining that the spatial reuse packet 540 is in the queue. In some examples, the ‘AP2’ may determine, based on the identified fields, one or more of a start period D1 associated with a beginning data symbol (such as, data OFDM symbol 550-a) of the data symbols (such as, data OFDM symbols 550-a and 550-b) of the spatial reuse packet 540 or a duration of the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540.” [0070] “At 430, the ‘AP2’ may communicate a spatial reuse transmission, for example, based on the aligning at 425”).
Parthasarathy does not teach the first network device is arranged to carry a set of link information in a preamble of a first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication;
Takada teaches the first network device is arranged to carry a set of link information in a preamble of a first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device (abstract, A “communication device that transmits or receives a radio frame including a preamble and a data field of a physical layer (PHY) is provided. The preamble includes an L-STF (Legacy Short Training Field), an L-LTF (Legacy Long Training Field), an L-SIG (Legacy Signal Field), an EHT-SIG (Extremely High Throughput Signal Field), an EHT-STF (EHT Short Training Field), and an EHT-LTF (EHT Long Training Field), and the EHT-SIG includes a subfield in which information on whether NOMA (Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access) is used in transmission of data included in the data field is set”), wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication ([0038] “The EHT-SIG-x can include one structured subfield for each data destination…. One Destination_y subfield may be formed by one OFDM symbol, or may be formed by a plurality of OFDM symbols. Each of one or more Destination_y subfields can include a field indicating the ID (identifier) of the destination STA, a field indicating the necessity of SIC (Successive Interference Cancellation), a field indicating the index of the MCS (Modulation and Coding Scheme) to be used, and a field indicating the transmission power.” [0042] “The TX power field indicates a ratio of power assigned to the STA (or STA group) corresponding to this Destination_y subfield to the transmission power of the data included in the data field”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the first network device is arranged to carry a set of link information in a preamble of a first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication, as taught by Takada in Parthasarathy so that “the radio resource is effectively used, and the overall system throughput can be improved”.
Regarding claim 27, Parthasarathy teaches a method for performing network control in a wireless communications system, the wireless communications system comprising a first network device (e.g., FIG. 3, [00500] - AP 105-c, also referred to as AP1), a second network device (FIG. 3, STA 115-c, also STA1) and a third network device (FIG. 3, AP 105-d, also AP2), the method comprising: monitoring wireless transmission in the wireless communications system to obtain a set of link information from a preamble of a first data transmission frame ([0050] “Another AP (such as, the AP 105-d) may detect the OBSS transmission 305-a output by the AP 105-c.” [0055] “an ‘AP2’ (such as, the AP 105-b illustrated in FIG. 2) may receive or detect an OBSS packet 505 included in an OBSS transmission output by an ‘AP1’” [0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may include a combination of preamble and data fields”), wherein the first network device is arranged to carry the set of link information in the preamble of the first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device ([0050] “the AP 105-c may output a transmission (such as, an OBSS transmission 305-a) to the STA 115-c”, [0055] “OBSS packet 505 included in an OBSS transmission output by an ‘AP1’”, [0056] “the OBSS packet 505 may include a combination of preamble and data fields”), {wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication}; and determining spatial reuse (SR) transmission availability of the third network device based on the set of link information ([0062] Accordingly, in some examples, the ‘AP2’ may determine timing information (such as, the duration D2 or a start time) associated with the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540 associated with the ‘AP2’. In determining the timing information, the ‘AP2’ may determine that the spatial reuse packet 540 is in a queue of the ‘AP2’. In some aspects, the ‘AP2’ may identify one or more fields in the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540 based on determining that the spatial reuse packet 540 is in the queue. In some examples, the ‘AP2’ may determine, based on the identified fields, one or more of a start period D1 associated with a beginning data symbol (such as, data OFDM symbol 550-a) of the data symbols (such as, data OFDM symbols 550-a and 550-b) of the spatial reuse packet 540 or a duration of the preamble 545 of the spatial reuse packet 540.” [0070] “At 430, the ‘AP2’ may communicate a spatial reuse transmission, for example, based on the aligning at 425”).
Parthasarathy does not teach wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication;
Takada teaches, wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication (abstract, “communication device that transmits or receives a radio frame including a preamble and a data field of a physical layer (PHY) is provided. The preamble includes an L-STF (Legacy Short Training Field), an L-LTF (Legacy Long Training Field), an L-SIG (Legacy Signal Field), an EHT-SIG (Extremely High Throughput Signal Field), an EHT-STF (EHT Short Training Field), and an EHT-LTF (EHT Long Training Field), and the EHT-SIG includes a subfield in which information on whether NOMA (Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access) is used in transmission of data included in the data field is set.” [0038] “The EHT-SIG-x can include one structured subfield for each data destination…. One Destination_y subfield may be formed by one OFDM symbol, or may be formed by a plurality of OFDM symbols. Each of one or more Destination_y subfields can include a field indicating the ID (identifier) of the destination STA, a field indicating the necessity of SIC (Successive Interference Cancellation), a field indicating the index of the MCS (Modulation and Coding Scheme) to be used, and a field indicating the transmission power.” [0042] “The TX power field indicates a ratio of power assigned to the STA (or STA group) corresponding to this Destination_y subfield to the transmission power of the data included in the data field”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the set of link information comprises at least one indication, for enabling at least spatial reuse scheduling, among the following indications: a destination device indication, a device assignment indication and a transmission power control indication, as taught by Takada in Parthasarathy so that “the radio resource is effectively used, and the overall system throughput can be improved”.
Regarding claim 28, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 27 and further teaches wherein the third network device comprises: a processing circuit, arranged to control operations of the third network device; and at least one communications control circuit, coupled to the processing circuit, arranged to perform communications control (FIG. 8), wherein the at least one communications control circuit is arranged to perform wireless communications operations with another network device in the wireless communications system for the third network device ([0051] “Based on the RSSI with respect to the OBSS PD threshold, the AP 105-d may output a transmission 310 (such as, a spatial reuse transmission) to the STA 115-d.”; wherein: the second network device is arranged to receive the first data transmission frame carrying the set of link information in the preamble and correctly process the first data transmission frame, without being hindered by any SR transmission performed by the third network device to said another network device with respect to the first data transmission frame ([0050] “the AP 105-c may output a transmission (such as, an OBSS transmission 305-a) to the STA 115-c.”)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy in view of Takada and further in view of Homchaudhuri et al. (US 2024/0057062, “Homchaudhuri”).
Regarding claim 2, Parthasarathy teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first network device is arranged to communicate with the third network device according to a mesh protocol in advance ([0055] “‘AP2’ (such as, the AP 105-b illustrated in FIG. 2) may receive or detect an OBSS packet 505 included in an OBSS transmission output by an ‘AP1’), for allowing the third network device to perform SR transmission during a predetermined time period ([0055] “the ‘AP2’ may determine a format associated with the OBSS packet 505 and perform a spatial reuse transmission based the format associated with the OBSS packet 505”), wherein the third network device receives the first data transmission frame during the predetermined time period ([0055] “‘AP2’ (such as, the AP 105-b illustrated in FIG. 2) may receive or detect an OBSS packet 505 included in an OBSS transmission output by an ‘AP1’); {the at least one indication further comprises a first basic service set (BSS) color, and the third network device is arranged to detect the first BSS color carried by the first data transmission frame, for determining whether the first data transmission frame is sent from the first network device; and in response to the first BSS color being equal to a predetermined BSS color of the first network device, the third network device is arranged to perform the SR transmission with respect to the first data transmission frame}.
Parthasarathy does not teach the at least one indication further comprises a first basic service set (BSS) color, and the third network device is arranged to detect the first BSS color carried by the first data transmission frame, for determining whether the first data transmission frame is sent from the first network device; and in response to the first BSS color being equal to a predetermined BSS color of the first network device, the third network device is arranged to perform the SR transmission with respect to the first data transmission frame.
Homchaudhuri teaches the at least one indication further comprises a first basic service set (BSS) color ([0048] “If an AP or a STA detects a wireless packet from another wireless communication device while contending for access, the AP or STA may apply different contention parameters based on whether the wireless packet is transmitted by, or transmitted to, another wireless communication device within its BSS or from a wireless communication device from an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as determined by a BSS color indication in a preamble of the wireless packet”), and the third network device is arranged to detect the first BSS color carried by the first data transmission frame, for determining whether the first data transmission frame is sent from the first network device; and in response to the first BSS color being equal to a predetermined BSS color of the first network device, the third network device is arranged to perform the SR transmission with respect to the first data transmission frame ([0048] “Some APs and STAs may be configured to implement spatial reuse techniques… if the BSS color associated with the wireless packet is the same as the BSS color of the AP or STA, the AP or STA may use a first received signal strength indication (RSSI) detection threshold when performing a CCA on the wireless channel. However, if the BSS color associated with the wireless packet is different than the BSS color of the AP or STA, the AP or STA may use a second RSSI detection threshold in lieu of using the first RSSI detection threshold when performing the CCA on the wireless channel, the second RSSI detection threshold being greater than the first RSSI detection threshold. In this way, the requirements for winning contention are relaxed when interfering transmissions are associated with an OBSS”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the at least one indication further comprises a first basic service set (BSS) color, and the third network device is arranged to detect the first BSS color carried by the first data transmission frame, for determining whether the first data transmission frame is sent from the first network device; and in response to the first BSS color being equal to a predetermined BSS color of the first network device, the third network device is arranged to perform the SR transmission with respect to the first data transmission frame, as taught by Homchaudhuri in Parthasarathy to avoid collision.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy in view of Parthasarathy in view of Takada in view of Homchaudhuri and further in view of Rengarajan et al. (US 2018/0324607, “Rengarajan”)
Regarding claim 3, Parthasarathy in view of Takada and Homchaudhuri teaches claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the third network device is arranged to perform SR transmission power control at least according to the transmission power control indication.
Rengarajan teaches wherein the third network device is arranged to perform SR transmission power control at least according to the transmission power control indication ([0074] “The transmit power levels of the APs are examples of Wi-Fi AP parameters that can be adjusted dynamically and automatically to optimize the overall network performance based on a set of network optimization goals. The Wi-Fi network manager 302 also tunes the individual transmit power at APs based on their radio measurements. The transmit power at each AP is selected, optimally or sub-optimally, based on the network optimization goals.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the third network device is arranged to perform SR transmission power control at least according to the transmission power control indication, as taught by Rengarajan in Parthasarathy to enable efficient operation of the Wi-Fi system.
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy in view of Parthasarathy in view of Takada and further in view of Rengarajan et al. (US 2018/0324607, “Rengarajan”)
Regarding claim 4, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the third network device is arranged to perform SR transmission at least according to the device assignment indication and perform SR transmission power control at least according to the transmission power control indication; and the first network device is arranged to monitor a packet error rate (PER) while the third network device is performing the SR transmission, for guiding the SR transmission power control with another transmission power control indication carried by another first data transmission frame according to the PER.
Rengarajan teaches
wherein the third network device is arranged to perform SR transmission at least according to the device assignment indication and perform SR transmission power control at least according to the transmission power control indication ([0074] “The transmit power levels of the APs are examples of Wi-Fi AP parameters that can be adjusted dynamically and automatically to optimize the overall network performance based on a set of network optimization goals. The Wi-Fi network manager 302 also tunes the individual transmit power at APs based on their radio measurements. The transmit power at each AP is selected, optimally or sub-optimally, based on the network optimization goals”); and the first network device is arranged to monitor a packet error rate (PER) while the third network device is performing the SR transmission, for guiding the SR transmission power control with another transmission power control indication carried by another first data transmission frame according to the PER ([0053] “The measurement data is locally collected by the APs and then sent to the Wi-Fi network manager 302. The measurement data collected by an AP may include data regarding the AP's clients and data regarding clients connected to neighboring APs. The measurement data may include Receive Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), Channel Quality Index (CQI), throughput, packet error rate” [0074] “The transmit power levels of the APs are examples of Wi-Fi AP parameters that can be adjusted dynamically and automatically to optimize the overall network performance based on a set of network optimization goals. The Wi-Fi network manager 302 also tunes the individual transmit power at APs based on their radio measurements. The transmit power at each AP is selected, optimally or sub-optimally, based on the network optimization goals”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the third network device is arranged to perform SR transmission power control at least according to the transmission power control indication, as taught by Rengarajan in Parthasarathy to enable efficient operation of the Wi-Fi system.
Regarding claim 5, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1, Parthasarathy further teaches {wherein the first network device is arranged to monitor the PER according to a device identifier (ID) of the second network device and a device ID of the third network device}, wherein the destination device indication is arranged to indicate the device ID of the second network device ([0051] “the AP 105-d may output a transmission 310 (such as, a spatial reuse transmission) to the STA 115-d” ), and the device assignment indication is arranged to indicate the device ID of the third network device ([0059] “VHT packet including a partial AID may provide an indication to the ‘AP2’”).
The combination does not teach wherein the first network device is arranged to monitor the PER according to a device identifier (ID) of the second network device and a device ID of the third network device.
Rengarajan teaches wherein the first network device is arranged to monitor the PER according to a device identifier (ID) of the second network device and a device ID of the third network device ([0053] “The measurement data is locally collected by the APs and then sent to the Wi-Fi network manager 302. The measurement data collected by an AP may include data regarding the AP's clients and data regarding clients connected to neighboring APs. The measurement data may include Receive Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), Channel Quality Index (CQI), throughput, packet error rate”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the third network device is arranged to perform SR transmission power control at least according to the transmission power control indication, as taught by Rengarajan in Parthasarathy to enable efficient operation of the Wi-Fi system.
Regarding claim 6, Parthasarathy in view of Takada and Rengarajan teaches claim 4 and Parthasarath further teaches wherein the third network device is arranged to perform the SR transmission power control according to a device identifier (ID) of the first network device ([0050] “the AP 105-c may output a transmission (such as, an OBSS transmission 305-a) to the STA 115-c… Another AP (such as, the AP 105-d) may detect the OBSS transmission 305-a output by the AP 105-c.” [0055] “an ‘AP2’ (such as, the AP 105-b illustrated in FIG. 2) may receive or detect an OBSS packet 505 included in an OBSS transmission output by an ‘AP1’”. [0060] “the data portion 535 of the OBSS packet 505 may include multiple MAC PDUs (MPDUs). In some examples, the ‘AP2’ may decode the MPDUs and determine the source and destination (e.g., read the source and destination) associated with each of the MPDUs”. Note Rengarajan teaches power control in [0074]) and a device ID of the second network device, wherein the destination device indication is arranged to indicate the device ID of the second network device ([0060] “the data portion 535 of the OBSS packet 505 may include multiple MAC PDUs (MPDUs). In some examples, the ‘AP2’ may decode the MPDUs and determine the source and destination (e.g., read the source and destination) associated with each of the MPDUs”).
Regarding claim 7, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 but fail to teaches wherein the first network device is arranged to monitor a packet error rate (PER) while the third network device is performing SR transmission, for guiding SR transmission power control of the third network device with at least the transmission power control indication according to the PER.
Rengarajan teaches wherein the first network device is arranged to monitor a packet error rate (PER) while the third network device is performing SR transmission, for guiding SR transmission power control of the third network device with at least the transmission power control indication according to the PER ([0053] “The measurement data is locally collected by the APs and then sent to the Wi-Fi network manager 302. The measurement data collected by an AP may include data regarding the AP's clients and data regarding clients connected to neighboring APs. The measurement data may include Receive Signal Strength Indication (RSSI), Channel Quality Index (CQI), throughput, packet error rate” [0074] “The transmit power levels of the APs are examples of Wi-Fi AP parameters that can be adjusted dynamically and automatically to optimize the overall network performance based on a set of network optimization goals. The Wi-Fi network manager 302 also tunes the individual transmit power at APs based on their radio measurements. The transmit power at each AP is selected, optimally or sub-optimally, based on the network optimization goals”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first network device is arranged to monitor a packet error rate (PER) while the third network device is performing SR transmission, for guiding SR transmission power control of the third network device with at least the transmission power control indication according to the PER, as taught by Rengarajan in Parthasarathy to enable efficient operation of the Wi-Fi system.
Regarding claim 8, Parthasarathy in view of Takada and Rengarajan teaches claim 7 but fail to teaches wherein the at least one indication comprises the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication, for guiding the SR transmission power control.
Rengarajan teaches wherein the at least one indication comprises the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication, for guiding the SR transmission power control ([0074] “The transmit power levels of the APs are examples of Wi-Fi AP parameters that can be adjusted dynamically and automatically to optimize the overall network performance based on a set of network optimization goals. The Wi-Fi network manager 302 also tunes the individual transmit power at APs based on their radio measurements. The transmit power at each AP is selected, optimally or sub-optimally, based on the network optimization goals”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the first network device is arranged to monitor a packet error rate (PER) while the third network device is performing SR transmission, for guiding SR transmission power control of the third network device with at least the transmission power control indication according to the PER, as taught by Rengarajan in Parthasarathy to enable efficient operation of the Wi-Fi system.
Regarding claim 9, Parthasarathy in view of Takada and of Rengarajan teaches claim 7, and further teaches wherein the at least one indication comprises the destination device indication ([0060] “the data portion 535 of the OBSS packet 505 may include multiple MAC PDUs (MPDUs). In some examples, the ‘AP2’ may decode the MPDUs and determine the source and destination (e.g., read the source and destination) associated with each of the MPDUs”),
Parthasarathy does not teach the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication, for guiding the SR transmission power control.
Rengarajan teaches the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication, for guiding the SR transmission power control ([0074] “The transmit power levels of the APs are examples of Wi-Fi AP parameters that can be adjusted dynamically and automatically to optimize the overall network performance based on a set of network optimization goals. The Wi-Fi network manager 302 also tunes the individual transmit power at APs based on their radio measurements. The transmit power at each AP is selected, optimally or sub-optimally, based on the network optimization goals”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the device assignment indication and the transmission power control indication, for guiding the SR transmission power control, as taught by Rengarajan in Parthasarathy to enable efficient operation of the Wi-Fi system.
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy in view of Takada and further in view of Ali et al. (US 2024/0334478, “Ali”).
Regarding claim 14, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 13 but does not teach wherein if the selected network device is equal to the third network device, the third network device is arranged to perform the SR transmission with respect to the first data transmission frame, otherwise, the third network device is prevented from performing any SR transmission operation with respect to the first data transmission frame.
Ali teaches wherein if the selected network device is equal to the third network device, the third network device is arranged to perform the SR transmission with respect to the first data transmission frame, otherwise, the third network device is prevented from performing any SR transmission operation with respect to the first data transmission frame ([0107] “[0107] The DL transmission start time may represent a time at which the TXOP owner AP 302 and the Co-AP (e.g., AP 304) selected for Co-SR may start DL transmission.” [0111] “out of K Co-APs, the TXOP owner AP 302 may select Co-APs based on the power reduction parameter Ak”. It is understood non-selected APs are not to transmit.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein if the selected network device is equal to the third network device, the third network device is arranged to perform the SR transmission with respect to the first data transmission frame, otherwise, the third network device is prevented from performing any SR transmission operation with respect to the first data transmission frame, as taught by Ali in Parthasarathy to improve the performance of the WLAN.
Regarding claim 15, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the third network device is arranged to control SR transmission power based on the transmission power control indication.
Ali teaches wherein the third network device is arranged to control SR transmission power based on the transmission power control indication ([0009] “the coordination-trigger frame includes: the power reduction parameters corresponding to the access points included in the subset of coordinated access points” [0107] “a power of the DL transmission of the Co-AP (e.g., AP 304) may be adjusted in accordance with the power reduction parameter Ak).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the third network device is arranged to control SR transmission power based on the transmission power control indication, as taught by Ali in Parthasarathy to improve the performance of the WLAN.
Regarding claim 16, Parthasarathy in view of Takada and Ali teaches claim 13 but Parthasarathy does not teach wherein the transmission power control indication is arranged to indicate whether to adjust the SR transmission power; and if the transmission power control indication indicates that adjusting the SR transmission power is requested, the third network device is arranged to configure the SR transmission power to correspond to a first predetermined power value instead of a default power value, otherwise, the third network device is arranged to configure the SR transmission power to correspond to the default power value.
Ali teaches wherein the transmission power control indication is arranged to indicate whether to adjust the SR transmission power; and if the transmission power control indication indicates that adjusting the SR transmission power is requested, the third network device is arranged to configure the SR transmission power to correspond to a first predetermined power value instead of a default power value, otherwise, the third network device is arranged to configure the SR transmission power to correspond to the default power value ([0009] “the coordination-trigger frame includes: the power reduction parameters corresponding to the access points included in the subset of coordinated access points” [0107] “a power of the DL transmission of the Co-AP (e.g., AP 304) may be adjusted in accordance with the power reduction parameter Ak).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the transmission power control indication is arranged to indicate whether to adjust the SR transmission power; and if the transmission power control indication indicates that adjusting the SR transmission power is requested, the third network device is arranged to configure the SR transmission power to correspond to a first predetermined power value instead of a default power value, otherwise, the third network device is arranged to configure the SR transmission power to correspond to the default power value, as taught by Ali in Parthasarathy to improve the performance of the WLAN.
Regarding claim 17, Parthasarathy in view of Takada and Ali teaches claim 15 but does not teach wherein according to the transmission power control indication, the third network device is arranged to selectively keep, increase or decrease the SR transmission power.
Ali teaches wherein according to the transmission power control indication, the third network device is arranged to selectively keep, increase or decrease the SR transmission power ([0009] “the coordination-trigger frame includes: the power reduction parameters corresponding to the access points included in the subset of coordinated access points” [0107] “a power of the DL transmission of the Co-AP (e.g., AP 304) may be adjusted in accordance with the power reduction parameter Ak).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein according to the transmission power control indication, the third network device is arranged to selectively keep, increase or decrease the SR transmission power, as taught by Ali in Parthasarathy to improve the performance of the WLAN.
Regarding claim 18, Parthasarathy in view of Takada and Ali teaches claim 15 but does not teach wherein in response to the transmission power control indication indicating that adjusting the SR transmission power is requested, the third network device is arranged to adjust the SR transmission power of a second data transmission frame transmitted from the third network device to a fourth network device according to at least one adjustment control parameter.
Ali teaches wherein in response to the transmission power control indication indicating that adjusting the SR transmission power is requested, the third network device is arranged to adjust the SR transmission power of a second data transmission frame transmitted from the third network device to a fourth network device according to at least one adjustment control parameter ([0009] “the coordination-trigger frame includes: the power reduction parameters corresponding to the access points included in the subset of coordinated access points” [0107] “a power of the DL transmission of the Co-AP (e.g., AP 304) may be adjusted in accordance with the power reduction parameter Ak).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein according to the transmission power control indication, the third network device is arranged to selectively keep, increase or decrease the SR transmission power, as taught by Ali in Parthasarathy to improve the performance of the WLAN.
Regarding claim 19, Parthasarathy teaches in view of Takada and Ali teaches claim 15 but does not teach wherein the at least one adjustment control parameter comprise one or a combination of an SR rate offset and an SR power offset.
Ali teaches wherein the at least one adjustment control parameter comprise one or a combination of an SR rate offset and an SR power offset ([0009] “the coordination-trigger frame includes: the power reduction parameters corresponding to the access points included in the subset of coordinated access points” [0107] “a power of the DL transmission of the Co-AP (e.g., AP 304) may be adjusted in accordance with the power reduction parameter Ak).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein according to the transmission power control indication, the third network device is arranged to selectively keep, increase or decrease the SR transmission power, as taught by Ali in Parthasarathy to improve the performance of the WLAN.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parthasarathy in view of Takada and further in view of Lanante et al. (US 2023/0362834, “Lanante”).
Regarding claim 23, Parthasarathy in view of Takada teaches claim 1 but does not teach carrying another set of link information in a preamble of another first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the other set of link information comprises a forbidden indication; wherein according to the forbidden indication, the third network device is prevented from performing any SR transmission operation with respect to the other first data transmission frame.
Lanante teaches carrying another set of link information in a preamble of another first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the other set of link information comprises a forbidden indication; wherein according to the forbidden indication, the third network device is prevented from performing any SR transmission operation with respect to the other first data transmission frame ([0089] “a value of 15 indicates that both PSR-based SR and OBSS PD-based SR are not allowed.” [0126] “the spatial reuse parameter may be a parameter for PSR-based spatial reuse. For example, the spatial reuse parameter may indicate a parameter for a transmit power threshold for setting a transmit power for PSR-based spatial reuse. The spatial reuse parameter may contain a special value to indicate that PSR-based spatial reuse is prohibited for the duration of the transmitted PPDU.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature carrying another set of link information in a preamble of another first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the other set of link information comprises a forbidden indication; wherein according to the forbidden indication, the third network device is prevented from performing any SR transmission operation with respect to the other first data transmission frame, as taught by Lanante in Parthasarathy to achieve better coexistence among wireless standards.
Regarding claim 24, Parthasarathy in view of Takada and Lanante teaches claim 23 but does not teach
wherein each data transmission frame among the first data transmission frame and the other first data transmission frame is a physical layer (PHY) protocol data unit (PPDU), and the preamble of said each data transmission frame is a PHY preamble of the PPDU; and the forbidden indication is carried by an SR field in the PHY preamble, and the at least one indication is carried by either the SR field or another field in the PHY preamble
Lanante teaches wherein each data transmission frame among the first data transmission frame and the other first data transmission frame is a physical layer (PHY) protocol data unit (PPDU), and the preamble of said each data transmission frame is a PHY preamble of the PPDU; and the forbidden indication is carried by an SR field in the PHY preamble, and the at least one indication is carried by either the SR field or another field in the PHY preamble ([0122] “the preamble of the PPDU comprising a first field indicating presence or absence of the spatial reuse parameter in a second field of the PPDU.” [0089] “a value of 15 indicates that both PSR-based SR and OBSS PD-based SR are not allowed.” [0126] “the spatial reuse parameter may be a parameter for PSR-based spatial reuse. For example, the spatial reuse parameter may indicate a parameter for a transmit power threshold for setting a transmit power for PSR-based spatial reuse. The spatial reuse parameter may contain a special value to indicate that PSR-based spatial reuse is prohibited for the duration of the transmitted PPDU.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature carrying another set of link information in a preamble of another first data transmission frame transmitted from the first network device to the second network device, wherein the other set of link information comprises a forbidden indication; wherein according to the forbidden indication, the third network device is prevented from performing any SR transmission operation with respect to the other first data transmission frame, as taught by Lanante in Parthasarathy to achieve better coexistence among wireless standards.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642