DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113161550 A (to Li et al.) – translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claim 1, Li et al. teaches a fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material, having a chemical formula (1-x) Li1 + a (Ni (1-m-n) ConMnm) 1-bMbO2-xLicAldTieM ' fM ' ' g (PO4) 3 (Abstract) of wherein M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ba, La, Ti, Zr, V, Nb, Cu, Mg, B, S, Sr, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zn, W, Mo, Si, Sb and Ca; M' is an oxide of one or two elements selected from the group consisting of La, Al, Sc, Ti, Y, V and Zr; M" is an oxide of one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Se, Fe, Mn and Co; wherein 00≤c≤1 (page 4, lines 8-15).
With respect to claim 2, Li et al. teaches fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1,
wherein the lithium-transition metal oxide material has a layered structure (page 4, line 16), and a chemical formula of (1-X)Li₁+a(Ni(1-m-n)Con Mnₘ)₁-bMbO₂, wherein M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ba, La, Ti, Zr, V, Nb, Cu, Mg, B, S, Sr, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zn, W, Mo, Si, Sb and Ca, wherein 0≤a≤0.1, (page 4, lines 16-18).
With respect to claim 3, Li et al. teaches fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1,
wherein the fast ionic conductor has a chemical formula of:
LicAldTieM 'fM' g (PO4) 3 (page 4, lines 19-21) wherein M'
is an oxide of one or two elements selected from the group consisting of La, Al, Sc, Ti, Y, V and Zr, wherein M" is an oxide of one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Se, Fe, Mn and Co, wherein 0≤c≤1, (page 4, lines 19-21).
With respect to claim 4, Li et al. teaches a preparing method of the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1, comprising the following steps:
1) mixing a lithium source, a transition metal compound/(cobalt) and an M-containing compound,
stirring, performing calcination, and crushing to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide primary powder/(lithium cobaltate powder) (page 10 – Embodiment 1 – steps 1-2);
2) mixing the lithium-transition metal oxide primary powder with M' and M", performing
calcination, crushing, and screening to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide material powder (page 10 – Embodiment 1 – steps 1-2);
3) dissolving a crosslinking agent/(tetrabutyl titanate) in a mixture of alcohol/(ethanol) and water to obtain a solution A (page 10 – Embodiment 1 – steps 1-3),
dissolving a lithium salt, an aluminum salt and a phosphorus source in an alcohol respectively (page 10 – Embodiment 1 – steps 1-3),
and stirring and mixing resulting solutions to obtain a solution B (page 10 – Embodiment 1 – steps 1-3);
4) mixing the solution A and the solution B, stirring, heating, and drying, slightly
disaggregating a resulting product to obtain a fast ionic conductor precursor, subjecting the fast ionic conductor precursor to calcination, crushing, and screening to obtain a fast ionic conductor intermediate product (page 10 – Embodiment 1 – steps 3-4);
5) mixing the fast/super ionic conductor intermediate product with the lithium-transition metal oxide material powder and performing calcination, followed by slightly disaggregating a resulting mixture to obtain the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material (page 10 - Embodiment 1);
wherein in step 1), the M-containing compound/(magnesium) is at least one selected from the group consisting of an M-containing oxide, an M-containing hydroxide, an M-containing acetate, an M-containing carbonate and an M-containing basic carbonate, wherein M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ba, La, Ti, Zr, V, Nb, Cu, Mg, B, S, Sr, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zn, W, Mo, Si, Sb and Ca (page 4, lines 8-21);
in step 2), M' is an oxide of one or two elements selected from the group consisting
of La, Al, Sc, Ti, Y, V and Zr, and M" (cobalt) is an oxide of one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Se, Fe, Mn and Co (page 4, lines 8-21).
With respect to claim 5, Li et al. teaches a preparing method of the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1, comprising the following steps:
1) mixing a lithium source, a transition metal compound and an M-containing compound
thoroughly, performing calcination, and crushing to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide primary powder (page 11, Embodiment 2 – steps 1-2);
2) dissolving a cross-linking agent/(tetrabutyl titanate), a lithium salt, an aluminum salt and a phosphorus source in an alcohol respectively, mixing resulting solutions and stirring to obtain a mixed solution a (page 11, Embodiment 2 – step 3);
3) dissolving M' and M" in an acidic alcohol to obtain a mixed solution b (para. [0052]);
4) adding the lithium-transition metal oxide primary powder (i.e. lithium carbonate) into an alcohol/(ethanol) solution, stirring to disperse to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide suspension (page 11, Embodiment 2 – steps - 2);
5) adding the lithium-transition metal oxide suspension to the mixed solution b, stirring,
heating and evaporating to dryness, drying, slightly disaggregating a resulting product to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide intermediate product (page 11, Embodiment 2 – step 3);
6) adding the lithium-transition metal oxide intermediate product to the mixed solution a,
stirring, heating and evaporating to dryness, then drying to obtain a dried product, subjecting the dried product to calcination, twin rolling, and slightly disaggregating to obtain a fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material (page 11, Embodiment 2 – steps 3-4); wherein in step 1), the M-containing compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of an M-containing oxide, an M-containing hydroxide, an M-containing acetate, an M-containing carbonate and an M-containing basic carbonate, wherein M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ba, La, Ti, Zr, V, Nb, Cu, Mg, B, S, Sr, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zn, W, Mo, Si, Sb and Ca; in step 2) (page 4, lines 8-21), M' is an oxide of one or two elements selected from the group consisting of La, Al, Sc, Ti, Y, V and Zr, and M" is an oxide of one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Se, Fe, Mn and Co (page 4, lines 8-21).
With respect to claims 6-7, Li et al. teaches a preparation method according to claim 4, wherein the lithium source is at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium carbonate (page 7, line 7) and lithium hydroxide.
With respect to claims 8-9, Li et al. teaches wherein the transition metal compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of a cobalt source, a nickel source and a manganese source; the transition metal compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of cobalt tetraoxide, cobalt oxyhydroxide, cobalt hydroxide (page 7, lines 8-11), nickel-cobalt-manganese oxide, nickel-cobalt-manganese hydroxide, manganese hydroxide, nickel hydroxide, nickel oxide and manganese oxide.
With respect to claims 10-11, Li et al. teaches wherein the crosslinking agent is tetrabutyl titanate (page 7, line 19);
the lithium salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium carbonate and lithium acetate (page 7, line 22), and the aluminum salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum nitrate and aluminum acetate (page 7, line 23);
the phosphorus source is at least one selected from the group consisting of ammonium
dihydrogen phosphate, lithium dihydrogen phosphate, diammonium hydrogen phosphate, phosphoric acid, lithium phosphate and a phosphate ester (page 7, lines 27-28).
With respect to claim 12, Li et al. teaches wherein the fast ionic conductor
intermediate product and the lithium-transition metal oxide material powder are in a mass ratio of (0.01-0.05): (0.95-0.99) (page 6, lines 18-19).
With respect to claim 13, Li et al. teaches a battery comprising the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1 - (page 4, lines 8-15).
With respect to claim 14, Li et al. teaches a battery comprising the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide
material according to claim 2 - (page 4, lines 16-18).
With respect to claim 15, Li et al. teaches a battery comprising the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 3 - (page 4, lines 19-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
CN 104037407 A (to Li et al.) – translation & foreign publication are attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claim 1, Li et al. teaches a fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material, having a chemical formula of (1-x) Li1 + a (Ni (1-m-n) ConMnm) 1-bMbO2-xLicAldTieM ' fM ' ' g (PO4) 3 wherein M is at least
one selected from the group consisting of Ba, La, Ti, Zr, V, Nb, Cu, Mg, B, S, Sr, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zn, W, Mo, Si, Sb and Ca; M' is an oxide of one or two elements selected from the group consisting of La, Al, Sc, Ti, Y, V and Zr; M" is an oxide of one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Se, Fe, Mn and Co; wherein 00≤c≤1 (see page 9, claim 1, and page 12 – 1st paragraph, (para. [0054]-[0056]).
With respect to claim 2, Li et al. teaches fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1,
wherein the lithium-transition metal oxide material has a layered structure, and a chemical formula of (1-X)Li₁+a(Ni(1-m-n)Con Mnₘ)₁-bMbO₂, wherein M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ba, La, Ti, Zr, V, Nb, Cu, Mg, B, S, Sr, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zn, W, Mo, Si, Sb and Ca, wherein 0≤a≤0.1 etc. (para. [0051], [0058]).
With respect to claim 3, Li et al. teaches fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1,
wherein the fast ionic conductor has a chemical formula of wherein M' is an oxide of one or two elements selected from the group consisting of La, Al, Sc, Ti, Y, V and
Zr, wherein M" is an oxide of one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Se, Fe, Mn and Co, wherein 0≤c≤1, etc. (para. [0059]).
With respect to claim 4, Li et al. teaches a preparing method of the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1, comprising the following steps:
1) mixing a lithium source (lithium carbonate), a transition metal compound/(cobalt) and an M-containing compound/(magnesium) (para. [0039]),
stirring, performing calcination, and crushing/(ball milling) (para. [0039]) to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide primary powder/(cobalt acid lithium powder) (para. [0039]);
2) mixing the lithium-transition metal oxide primary powder/(cobalt acid lithium powder) with M' (aluminum) and M" (manganese acetate), performing calcination, crushing, and screening to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide material powder (para. [0040]);
3) dissolving a crosslinking agent/(tetrabutyl titanate) in a mixture of alcohol/(ethanol) and water to obtain a solution A (para. [0039]-[0040]),
dissolving a lithium salt, an aluminum salt (para. [0039]) and a phosphorus source/(ammonium dihydrogen phosphate) in an alcohol respectively (para. [0039]-[0040]),
and stirring and mixing resulting solutions to obtain a solution B (para. [0039]-[0040]);
4) mixing the solution A and the solution B, stirring, heating, and drying, slightly
disaggregating a resulting product to obtain a fast ionic conductor precursor, subjecting the fast ionic conductor precursor to calcination, crushing, and screening to obtain a fast ionic conductor intermediate product (para. [0039]-[0040]);
5) mixing the fast/super ionic conductor intermediate product with the lithium-transition metal oxide material powder and performing calcination, followed by slightly disaggregating a resulting mixture to obtain the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material (para. [0041]);
wherein in step 1), the M-containing compound/(magnesium) (para. [0039]) is at least one selected from the group consisting of an M-containing oxide, an M-containing hydroxide, an M-containing acetate, an M-containing carbonate and an M-containing basic carbonate, wherein M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ba, La, Ti, Zr, V, Nb, Cu, Mg, B, S, Sr, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zn, W, Mo, Si, Sb and Ca (para. [0039]);
in step 2), M' is an oxide of one or two elements selected from the group consisting
of La, Al (aluminum), Sc, Ti, Y, V and Zr, and M" (cobalt) is an oxide of one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Se, Fe, Mn and Co (para. [0039]-[0040]).
With respect to claim 5, Li et al. teaches a preparing method of the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1, comprising the following steps:
1) mixing a lithium source, a transition metal compound and an M-containing compound
thoroughly, performing calcination, and crushing to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide primary powder (para. [0051]);
2) dissolving a cross-linking agent/(tetrabutyl titanate), a lithium salt (lithium acetate), an aluminum salt (aluminum nitrate) and a phosphorus source (lithium dihydrogen phosphate) in an alcohol/(ethanol) respectively, mixing resulting solutions and stirring to obtain a mixed solution a (para. [0052]);
3) dissolving M' (lithium actetate) and M" (manganese acetate) in an acidic alcohol/(ethanol) to obtain a mixed solution b (para. [0052]);
4) adding the lithium-transition metal oxide primary powder (i.e. lithium cobaltate powder) (para. [0051]-[0052]) into an alcohol/(ethanol) solution, stirring to disperse to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide suspension (para. [0052]);
5) adding the lithium-transition metal oxide (i.e. lithium cobaltate powder) suspension to the mixed solution b (i.e. lithium actetate and manganese acetate) (para. [0052]), stirring, heating and evaporating to dryness, drying, slightly disaggregating a resulting product to obtain a lithium-transition metal oxide intermediate product (para. [0052]);
6) adding the lithium-transition metal oxide intermediate product to the mixed solution a (para. [0052]), stirring, heating and evaporating to dryness, then drying to obtain a dried product, subjecting the dried product to calcination, twin rolling, and slightly disaggregating to obtain a fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material (para. [0052]); wherein in step 1), the M-containing compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of an M-containing oxide, an M-containing hydroxide, an M-containing acetate, an M-containing carbonate (lithium carbonate) (para. [0051]) and an M-containing basic carbonate, wherein M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ba, La, Ti, Zr, V, Nb, Cu, Mg, B, S, Sr, Al, Sc, Y, Ga, Zn, W, Mo, Si, Sb and Ca; in step 2) (para. [0051]-[0052]), M' is an oxide of one or two elements selected from the group consisting of La, Al (aluminum nitrate) (para. [0052]), Sc, Ti, Y, V and Zr, and M" is an oxide of one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Se, Fe, Mn (manganese acetate) and Co (para. [0051]-[0052]).
With respect to claims 6-7, Li et al. teaches a preparation method according to claim 4 or claim 5, wherein the lithium source is at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium carbonate (para. [0039], [0051]) and lithium hydroxide.
With respect to claim 8, Li et al. teaches wherein the transition metal compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of a cobalt source/(cobaltosic oxide) (para. [0039]), a nickel source and a manganese source; the transition metal compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of cobalt tetraoxide (para. [0039]), cobalt oxyhydroxide, cobalt hydroxide, nickel-cobalt-manganese oxide, nickel-cobalt-manganese hydroxide, manganese hydroxide, nickel hydroxide, nickel oxide and manganese oxide.
With respect to claim 9, Li et al. teaches wherein the transition metal compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of a cobalt source/(cobalt hydroxide) (para. [0051]), a nickel source and a manganese source; the transition metal compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of cobalt tetraoxide, cobalt oxyhydroxide, cobalt hydroxide (para. [0051]), nickel-cobalt-manganese oxide, nickel-cobalt-manganese hydroxide, manganese hydroxide, nickel hydroxide, nickel oxide and manganese oxide.
With respect to claim 10, Li et al. teaches wherein the crosslinking agent is tetrabutyl titanate (para. [0040]);
the lithium salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium carbonate (para. [0039]) and lithium acetate, and the aluminum salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum nitrate and aluminum acetate;
the phosphorus source is at least one selected from the group consisting of ammonium
dihydrogen phosphate, lithium dihydrogen phosphate (para. [0040]), diammonium hydrogen phosphate, phosphoric acid, lithium phosphate and a phosphate ester.
With respect to claim 11, Li et al. teaches wherein the crosslinking agent is tetrabutyl titanate (para. [0055]);
the lithium salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of lithium carbonate and lithium acetate, and the aluminum salt is at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum nitrate and aluminum acetate (para. [0055]);
the phosphorus source is at least one selected from the group consisting of ammonium
dihydrogen phosphate, lithium dihydrogen phosphate (para. [0055]), diammonium hydrogen phosphate, phosphoric acid, lithium phosphate and a phosphate ester.
With respect to claim 12, though Li et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the fast ionic conductor intermediate product and the lithium-transition metal oxide material powder are in a mass ratio of (0.01-0.05): (0.95-0.99) – it would be obvious that the ratio in Li et al. would fall within that instantly claimed range since the latter is a very wide range.
With respect to claim 13, Li et al. teaches a battery comprising the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 1 (para. [0054]-[0056]).
With respect to claim 14, Li et al. teaches a battery comprising the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 2 (para. [0051], [0058]).
With respect to claim 15, Li et al. teaches a battery comprising the fast ionic conductor coated lithium-transition metal oxide material according to claim 3 (para. [0059]).
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 3/17/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725