DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, and 12 are currently pending. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 10 and 11 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 08 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claims 2, 7, 8, and 12 are further rejected due to their dependency to claim 1. Claim 1 recites “…positions the sensor on the auscultation subject” in lines 4-5, which is encompassing a human organism. Examiner suggests to amend the limitation to read as “…positions the sensor to contact the auscultation subject.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukustuka et al. ‘278 (US Pub No. 2021/0330278 – previously cited) in view of Smith ‘847 (US Pub No. 2003/0128847 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Fukutsuka et al. ‘278 teaches a stethoscope (Title, Abstract) comprising:
a sensor which collects a sound from an auscultation subject (Fig. 4 sound detector 33 and [0033]);
a circuit ([0032]-[0033]; “integrated control unit”);
an enclosure which stores the sensor and the circuit (Fig. 1 biological sound measurement device 1 and [0030]-[0032]) and has a contact surface which contacts to the auscultation subject (Fig. 3 pressure-receiving region 3a and [0035]) and positions the sensor on the auscultation subject ([0035]; “The pressure-receiving region 3a is a flat surface required for receiving pressure from the body surface S, and the extended region 3b is a flat surface formed around the pressure-receiving region 3a and provided to increase a contact area with the body surface S.”), an upper wall is opposed to the contact surface (Fig. 4 top of housing 32 and [0038]) and a side wall which extends from the upper wall to a direction toward the contact surface (Fig. 4 side of housing 43 and [0038]); and
Fukutsuka et al. ‘278 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for an earth plate which is for earthing and is provided at one or both of the side wall and the upper wall.
Smith '847 teaches a transducer for sensing body sounds (Title, Abstract) which includes a housing 1 (Figs. 1, 2). The housing is preferable placed at ground potential, to act as a shield. Shielding requires that the housing 1 be fabricated from an electrically conductive material, or that a conductive surface by applied to the housing 1. The housing 1 and diaphragm 2 therefore form a shielded cavity for the sensor and electronics ([0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stethoscope of Fukustuka et al. ‘278 to include an earth plate which is for earthing and is provided at one or both of the side wall and the upper wall as Smith '847 teaches that this will aid in forming a shielded cavity for the sensor and electronics.
Regarding claim 2, Fukutsuka et al. ‘278 teaches a substrate on which the circuit is mounted (Fig. 4 tapered surface 3c of sound measurement unit 3 and [0046]; [0032] mentions that the integrated control unit is provided inside the gripping portion 10. [0047] mentions that sound measurement unit 3 and gripping portion 10 partially overlap, indicating integrated control unit, interpreted as the circuit, is mounted on the tapered surface 3c, interpreted as the substrate.),
wherein the enclosure stores the substrate (Tapered surface 3c of sound measurement unit 3 is stored in the biological sound measurement device 1.),
the earth plate is provided at the enclosure which surrounds the circuit (Region 12c is on a side of the biological sound measurement device 1, which surrounds the integrated control unit, which is inside the gripping portion 10.).
Regarding claim 7, Fukustuka et al. ‘278 teaches wherein a signal from the sensor is input to the circuit ([0033]; “…the integrated control unit performs a process of analyzing the pulmonary sound detected by a sound detector 33…”).
Regarding claim 12, Fukustuka et al. ‘278 teaches wherein the sensor has a piezoelectric element ([0038]; “…micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) type microphone or a capacitive microphone…” One of ordinary skill would understand that a microphone is a piezoelectric sensor.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukustuka et al. ‘278 in view of Smith ‘847 further in view of Shue ‘501 (US Patent No. 4,878,501 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Fukustuka et al. ‘278 in view of Smith ‘847 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the circuit includes an amplifier which amplifies a signal from the sensor.
Shue ‘501 teaches an audio signal amplifying device in the circuitry of a electronic stethoscope in the area of conventional art and also self-explanatory for those skilled in the art (Figs. 5, 6 audio signal amplifying device 140 and Column 4 Line 65 – Column 5 Line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified circuit of Fukustuka et al. ‘278 in view of Smith ‘847 to include an amplifier which amplifies a signal from the sensor as Shue ‘501 teaches that this is conventional circuitry for those skilled in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AURELIE H TU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791