DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 14, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite, “a substate wetting agent” should be amended to recite “a substrate wetting agent.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 6 recite the limitation "wherein the bisphenol A liquid epoxy resin" claim 5 depends on claim 1 which there is no mention of bisphenol A liquid epoxy resin, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7 and 8 recites the limitation "wherein the bisphenol F liquid epoxy resin" claim 7 depends on claim 1 which there is no mention of bisphenol F liquid epoxy resin, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "wherein the bisphenol A solid epoxy resin" the claim depends on claim 1 which there is no mention of bisphenol F liquid epoxy resin, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10 and 11 recite the limitation "wherein the first toughening agent" claim 10 depends on claim 1 which there is no mention of a first toughening agent, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "wherein the second toughening agent" the claim depends on claim 1, which there is no mention of a second toughening agent, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "wherein the at least one filler material" the claim depends on claim 1, which there is no mention of at least one filler material, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "wherein the substrate wetting agent" the claim depends on claim 1, which there is no mention of a substrate wetting agent, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "wherein the corrosion inhibiting agent" the claim depends on claim 1, which there is no mention of a corrosion inhibiting agent, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "wherein the amine curing agent" the claim depends on claim 1, which there is no mention of a amine curing agent, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "wherein the unmodified imidazole curing agent" the claim depends on claim 1, which there is no mention of a unmodified imidazole curing agent, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "wherein the accelerating agent" the claim depends on claim 1, which there is no mention of an accelerating agent, therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 13, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JIALANELLA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0292049, hereinafter JIALANELLA).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, JIALANELLA a one component epoxy adhesive composition which includes one or more epoxy resins (Abstract; [0024-0033]) and adhesion promoters [0056] such as SILQUEST ®187 (an epoxy functionalized silane adhesive) [0088].
The epoxy resin is a bisphenol epoxy resin or mixture thereof with up to 10 percent by weight of another epoxy resin. The epoxy resins are bisphenol-A epoxy resins and bisphenol-F epoxy resins [0031-0032].
The composition further contains a curing agent and the adhesive cures when heated to a temperature of 80oC or greater [0050 and 0059] (which reads on a low energy curable). The epoxy adhesive compositions have improved wash off resistance (Abstract; [0001]). The epoxy adhesive composition can be used to bond a variety of substrates together including wood, metal, coated metal, aluminum, a variety of plastic and filled plastic substrates, fiberglass, and the like [0060-0061].
Regarding claim 5, JIALANELLA teaches the composition comprises diglycidyl ethers of bisphenol A [0026 and 0076] in the amount of from about 30 to 60 weight percent ([0012]; Claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, JIALANELLA teaches the composition the epoxy resin is a bisphenol epoxy resin or mixture thereof with up to 10 percent by weight of another epoxy resin. The epoxy resins are bisphenol-A epoxy resins and bisphenol-F epoxy resins [0031-0032]. Bisphenol F epoxy resins include D.E.R. 354 [0028].
Regarding claim 13, JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition comprises various other optional components including fillers such as carbon black and fumed silica [0054-0055] in the amount of up to 25 weight percent.
Regarding claim 16, JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition further contains a curing agent including dicyandiamide [0050] in the amount of at least about 1.5 weight percent to up to about 15 weight percent [0051].
Regarding claim 19, JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition comprises adhesion promoters [0056] such as SILQUEST ®187 (an epoxy functionalized silane adhesive) [0088] in the amount of 0.68 wt% (Table 1). It is well-known that SILQUEST®187’s active ingredient is 3-Glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane which is a bifunctional organosilane with a reactive organic epoxide group and hydrolysable inorganic methoxysilyl group as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition comprises various other optional components including rheology modifiers or pigments [0054] and thixotropic agents [0056].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JIALANELLA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0292049, hereinafter JIALANELLA) as evidenced by AUVIL et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0231849, hereinafter AUVIL).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed in paragraph 6 above, JIALANELLA teaches the epoxy adhesive composition comprises diglycidyl ethers of bisphenol A. The commercially available diglycidyl ethers of bisphenol A resins include D.E.R.®331 [0026]. As evidenced by AUVIL, D.E.R. 331 has a chemical structure as follows:
Where n is generally in the range of 0 to about 25 (the structure is of D.E.R. 331) [0028-0029].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JIALANELLA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0292049, hereinafter JIALANELLA) as evidenced by DRZAL et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0109603, hereinafter DRZAL).
Regarding claim 8, as discussed in paragraphs 6 and 8 above, JIALANELLA teaches the epoxy adhesive composition comprises bisphenol F epoxy resins [0031-0032]. Bisphenol F epoxy resins include D.E.R. 354 [0028]. As evidenced by DRZAL, D.E.R. 354 has a formula as follows [0059]:
which reads on the claimed structure.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AUVIL et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0231849, hereinafter AUVIL).
Regarding claims 1-3, AUVIL teaches an epoxy-durable adhesive composition including (I) a liquid resin system comprising (a) at least one epoxy resin (Abstract), wherein the liquid resin system can be a (ii) a blend of a liquid resin and a solid resin [0022, 0024-0033]. The adhesive formulation can include other liquid epoxy resin which include epoxysilane (i.e., RAM 1087 available from Huntsman and Silquest A-187 available from Momentive; also known as adhesion promoters) [0061].
When used as a crash durable adhesive, the adhesive formulation to be pumpable at about room temperature (about 25oC) [0084] and the cured paste adhesive is cured in an oven at a temperature of ≥about 130oC to ≤about 210oC at a curing time of ≤about 12 min[0096].
The epoxy-based crash durable adhesive composition exhibits an increase in wash-off resistance (Abstract). The structure adhesive composition can be used to bond materials in automotive applications ([0011-0012, and 0083]; Claim 11).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, AUVIL teaches the liquid epoxy resin can be derived by reaction of bisphenol A or bisphenol F and epichlorohydrin. Epoxy resins that are useful are liquid at room temperature (e.g., diglycidyl ethers of bisphenol A are liquid at about 25oC). Examples of epoxy resins include D.E.R. 331, D.E.R. 332, D.E.R. 383, D.E.R. 431 and D.E.R. 736 [0027]. The amount of liquid epoxy resin is in the range of from about 25 wt% to about 75 wt% [0034].
In one embodiment, a liquid epoxy resin can have the following general formula :
Where n is generally in the range of 0 to about 25 (the structure is of D.E.R. 331) [0028-0029].
Regarding claim 19, AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises other liquid epoxy resin which include epoxysilane (i.e., RAM 1087 available from Huntsman and Silquest A-187 available from Momentive; also known as adhesion promoters) in the amount of greater than 0 wt% and up to about 30 wt% [0061].
Regarding claim 20, AUVIL teaches other optional adjuvants or additives including pigments, flow control agents, viscosity modifiers, and solvents [0062]. Other optional additive include thixotropic agent [0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AUVIL et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0231849, hereinafter AUVIL) in view of VEERARGHAVAN et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0074509, hereinafter VEERARGHAVAN).
Regarding claims 4, 21, and 22, AUVIL teaches an epoxy-durable adhesive composition including (I) a liquid resin system comprising (a) at least one epoxy resin and (b) at least one toughener; (II) a solid epoxy resin (Abstract), wherein the liquid resin system can be a (ii) a blend of a liquid resin and a solid resin [0022, 0024-0033]. The liquid epoxy resin can be derived by reaction of bisphenol A or bisphenol F and epichlorohydrin wherein the amount of the liquid system is from about 25 wt% to about 75 wt% [0034]. The adhesive further comprises solid epoxy resin is in the amount of 0-15 wt% [0025 and 0062].
The toughening agent may include polyurethane (PU)-based materials, liquid rubber, epoxidized polyols, liquid rubber tougheners, core-shell rubber materials, or combination thereof [0036] (which reads on a first and second toughening agent) in the amount ranging of from about 20 wt% to about 40 wt% [0039]. The adhesive formulation can include other liquid epoxy resin which include epoxysilane (i.e., RAM 1087 available from Huntsman and Silquest A-187 available from Momentive; also known as adhesion promoters) in the amount of greater than 0 wt% to up to about 30 wt% of optional component (g) [0061]. The adhesive composition further comprises (e) a filler material [0023 and 0052-0056], optional additives such as at least one surfactant or wetting agent for metal substrates [0064] in the amount of from 0 wt% to about 15 wt% [0065], calcium carbonate to increase corrosion resistance [0053] (which reads on the corrosion inhibiting agent) in the amount of greater than 0 wt% to less than about 35 wt% [0056], (d) curing agents including dicyandiamide, amines, amides, imidazoles and etc. [0047-0048] (which reads on an amine curing agent) in the amount of from 0.01 wt% to about 10 wt% [0049]], (f) a liquid curing accelerator [0023] and curing accelerators [0052 and 0057-0060] (which reads on an accelerating agent) in the amount of from greater than 0 wt% to less than about 2 wt% [0060]. The adhesive composition further comprises other optional adjuvants or additives including thixotropic agents, flow control agents, viscosity modifiers, and combinations thereof [0062] (flow control agents and viscosity modifiers would read on rheology modifier) in the amount from 0 wt% to about 15 wt% [0065]. The adhesive composition further optional adjuvants or additives including pigments [0062] in the amount of from 0 wt% to about 15 wt% [0065]. The structure adhesive composition can be used to bond materials in automotive applications ([0011-0012, and 0083]; Claim 11).
However, AUVIL does not teach wherein the modified imidazole curing agent.
In the same field of structural adhesive, VEERARGHAVEN teaches a one-component structural adhesive includes one or more curing agents such as modified imidazole curing agents [0026] (Technicure LC-80) [0053 and 0066].
Given AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises curing agents [0048], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the modified imidazole curing agents and substituted urea of VEERARGHAVEN with the adhesive composition of AUVIL for its art recognized function of curing the adhesive composition. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIALANELLA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0292049, hereinafter JIALANELLA) in view of VEERARGHAVAN et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0074509, hereinafter VEERARGHAVAN) as evidenced by Technical Datasheet.
Regarding claim 9, JIALANELLA teaches the present invention, see paragraph 6 above. More specifically, JIALANELLA teaches an adhesive composition comprising epoxy resin is a mixture of bisphenol epoxy resin including a liquid epoxy resin or a mixture of a solid epoxy resin dispersed in a liquid epoxy resin. The epoxy resins are bisphenol A and bisphenol F [0031].
However, JIALANELLA does not teach wherein the bisphenol A solid epoxy resin comprises a bisphenol A unmodified epoxy resin.
In the same field of endeavor of epoxy structural adhesives, VEERARGHAVEN teaches one-component structural adhesive comprising (c) a bisphenol A solid epoxy resin [0013]. The bisphenol A solid epoxy resin comprises a bisphenol A unmodified solid epoxy resin [0019] present in the amount of 5 percent to 15 percent by weight of the structural adhesive [0020 and 0048]. An example of bisphenol A unmodified solid epoxy resin include YD-011H (Table 1; [0059]). As evidenced by technical data sheet, YD-011 by Kukdo Chemical has very good mechanical strength, adhesive strength and chemical resistance after curing.
Given JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition comprises a solid epoxy resin [0031], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the solid epoxy resin of JIALANELLA for the bisphenol A unmodified solid epoxy resin of VEERARGHAVEN for the benefit of obtaining good mechanical strength, adhesive strength, and chemical resistance after curing as taught by the Technical Datasheet.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AUVIL et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0231849, hereinafter AUVIL) in view of VEERARGHAVAN et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0074509, hereinafter VEERARGHAVAN) as evidenced by Technical Datasheet.
Regarding claim 9, AUVIL teaches the present invention, see paragraph 18 above. More specifically, AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises (ii) one or more solid epoxy resins [0025] which is based on bisphenol A [0033].
However, AUVIL does not teach wherein the bisphenol A solid epoxy resin comprises a bisphenol A unmodified epoxy resin.
In the same field of endeavor of epoxy structural adhesives, VEERARGHAVEN teaches one-component structural adhesive comprising (c) a bisphenol A solid epoxy resin [0013]. The bisphenol A solid epoxy resin comprises a bisphenol A unmodified solid epoxy resin [0019] present in the amount of 5 percent to 15 percent by weight of the structural adhesive [0020 and 0048]. An example of bisphenol A unmodified solid epoxy resin include YD-011H (Table 1; [0059]). As evidenced by technical data sheet, YD-011 by Kukdo Chemical has very good mechanical strength, adhesive strength and chemical resistance after curing.
Given AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises a solid epoxy resin [0025], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the solid epoxy resin of AUVIL for the bisphenol A unmodified solid epoxy resin of VEERARGHAVEN for the benefit of obtaining good mechanical strength, adhesive strength, and chemical resistance after curing as taught by the Technical Datasheet.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIALANELLA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0292049, hereinafter JIALANELLA) in view of VEERARGHAVAN et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0074509, hereinafter VEERARGHAVAN).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, JIALANELLA teaches the present invention, see paragraph 6 above. More specifically, JIALANELLA teaches an adhesive composition comprising at least one polyurethane toughener (Abstract; [0041-0049]).
However, JIALANELLA does not teach wherein the first toughening agent comprises an epoxy terminated polyurethane interpenetrating network.
In the same field of epoxy structural adhesives, VEERARGHAVAN teaches a one-component structural adhesive comprising (d) a toughening agent [0013]. The toughening agent comprises an epoxy terminated polyurethane network represented by the following chemical structure [0022]:
The toughening agent is present in the amount of 5 percent to 15 percent by weight of the structural adhesive [0023 and 0049-0051]. An example of the toughening agent is Uniseal IPN11 ([0050]; Table 1; [0060]).
Given JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition comprises a polyurethane toughener, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the polyurethane toughener of JIALANELLA for the epoxy terminated polyurethane interpenetrating network of VEERARAGHAVAN for the its art recognized function as a toughener in structural adhesives. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIALANELLA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0292049, hereinafter JIALANELLA) in view of CURA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0282592, hereinafter CURA).
Regarding claim 12, JIALANELLA teaches the present invention, see paragraph 6 above. More specifically, JIALANELLA teaches an adhesive composition comprises optional components such a core-shell rubber [0054], more specifically Kane Ace MX 152 [0089].
However, JIALANELLA does not specifically teach wherein the second toughening agent comprises polybutadiene rubber particles pre-dispersed into a thermosetting resin present from approximately 10 percent to approximately 25 percent of the total weight of the composition.
In the same field of endeavor of structural adhesive, CURA teaches the adhesive composition comprises a toughening agent such as core-shell toughening agents [0038-42]. Examples of core-shell toughening agents include Kane Ace™MX 153 from Kaneka [0039] in the amount of from 10 to 40 wt% [0042].
Given JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition further comprises core-shell rubber [0054 and 0089], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the core-shell toughening agents of CURA with the adhesive composition of JIALANELLA for the benefit of its art recognized function as a toughening agent/impact modifier in adhesive compositions. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AUVIL et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0231849, hereinafter AUVIL) in view of LAMMERSCHOP et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0036497, LAMMERSCHOP (also known as U.S. Patent No. 8,545,667)).
Regarding claim 12, AUVIL teaches the present invention, see paragraph 18 above. More specifically, AUVIL teaches the epoxy adhesive composition comprises (b) at least one toughener (Abstract; [0017]). The toughening agent include core-shell rubber materials described in U.S. Pat. No. 8,545,667 incorporated herein by reference [0036]. The amount of toughener can be in the range of from about 20 wt% to about 40 wt% [0039].
However, AUVIL does not specifically teach wherein the second toughening agent comprises polybutadiene rubber particles pre-dispersed into a thermosetting resin.
In the same field of endeavor of pumpable epoxy paste adhesives resistant to wash-off, LAMMERSCHOP teaches core-shell rubber particles which form a masterbatch in epoxy resin [0039]. The core-shell structure is prepared and supplied to the epoxy paste adhesive as a masterbatch where the rubber particles are dispersed in one or more epoxy resins [0020]. The core may be formed from feed stocks of dienes such as butadiene and the outer shell may be formed from feed stocks of (meth)acrylates [0021]. An example of rubber particles having a core-shell structure in an epoxy resin matrix are available from Kaneka Corporation under the tradenames ACE MX 120 and ACE MX 156 [0039] (which reads on the second toughening agent of the present invention). The presence of core-shell rubber particles is beneficial in improving the impact resistance of the composition when cured [0044].
Given AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises tougheners including core-shell rubber materials [0036], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the core-shell rubber particles of LAMMERSCHOP with the adhesive composition of AUVIL for the benefit of improving the impact resistance of the composition when cured as taught by LAMMERSCHOP [0044]. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AUVIL et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0231849, hereinafter AUVIL) in view of KUTSINA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2005/0014908, hereinafter KUTSINA).
Regarding claim 14, AUVIL teaches the present invention, see paragraph 18 above. More specifically, AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises optional additives such as at least one surfactant or wetting agent for metal substrates [0064] in the amount of from about 0.01 wt% to about 15 wt% [0065].
However, AUVIL does not teach wherein the substrate wetting agent comprises a silicone acrylate copolymer, a polysiloxane and/or fluoro-modifed surfactants.
In the same field of endeavor of adhesives for metals [0001, 0006-0007, and 0050], KUTSINA teaches an epoxy resin composition contains a wetting agent such as silicone and acrylic compounds. Examples of wetting agent include BYK 331, BYK 333, BYK 348, and BYK 381 available from BYK Chemie GmbH. The amount of the wetting agent is in the amount of 0.01% by weight to 2% by weight [0045].
Given AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises at least one surfactant or wetting agents for metal substrates [0064], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the wetting agent of KUTSINA with the adhesive composition of AUVIL for the benefit of facilitating adhesion to metal surfaces. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIALANELLA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0292049, hereinafter JIALANELLA) in view of CODY et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,740,393, hereinafter CODY).
Regarding claim 15, JIALANELLA teaches the present invention, see paragraph 6 above. More specifically, JIALANELLA teaches an adhesive composition having improved wash off resistance when subjected to an e-coat bath treatment [0064]. The e-coat bath improves corrosion resistance for structural components (automotive industry) [0065].
However, JIALANELLA does not teach wherein the corrosion inhibiting agent comprises barium phosphosilicate present from approximately 5 percent to approximately 10 percent of the total weight of the composition.
CODY teaches a coating composition for increasing the corrosion resistance of a surface (Abstract). The composition comprises a coating a material (e.g., epoxies (Col. 3, line 7)) and a first anti-corrosive agent (Col. 2, lines 30-34). The first anti-corrosive agent include calcium barium phosphosilicate (Col. 4, lines 4-21) in the amount ranging from about 0.75 to about 74.75%. Examples of calcium barium phosphosilicate include BW-111 and BW-191(Col. 5 and Col. 6).
The coating composition is applied to metallic surfaces (Col. 9, lines 14-20).
Given JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition is subjected to an e-coat to improve resistance for structural components in the automotive industry [0064-0065], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the anti-corrosive agent of CODY with the adhesive composition of JIALNELLA for the benefit of preventing corrosion for metallic surfaces as taught by CODY. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIALANELLA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0292049, hereinafter JIALANELLA) in view of VEERARGHAVAN et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0074509, hereinafter VEERARGHAVAN).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, JIALANELLA teaches the present invention, see paragraph 6 above. More specifically, JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition further comprises curing agents [0050-0051], catalysts [0052], curing promoting, and accelerating agents [0016].
However, JIALANELLA does not teach wherein the modified imidazole curing agent (claim 17) and wherein the accelerating agent comprises a substituted urea (claim 18).
In the same field of structural adhesive, VEERARGHAVEN teaches a one-component structural adhesive includes one or more curing agents such as modified imidazole curing agents (Technicure LC-80) and cycloaliphatic substituted urea (Omnicure U35M) [0053 and 0069]) which are present in the amount of 2 percent to 7 percent by weight of the structural adhesive [0053].
Given JIALANELLA teaches the adhesive composition comprises curing agents [0050-0051], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the modified imidazole curing agents and substituted urea of VEERARGHAVEN with the adhesive composition of JIALANELLA for its art recognized function of curing the adhesive composition. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AUVIL et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0231849, hereinafter AUVIL) in view of VEERARGHAVAN et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0074509, hereinafter VEERARGHAVAN).
Regarding claim 17, AUVIL teaches the present invention, see paragraph 18 above. More specifically, AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises (d) curing agents including imidazoles [0048].
However, AUVIL does not teach wherein the modified imidazole curing agent.
In the same field of structural adhesive, VEERARGHAVEN teaches a one-component structural adhesive includes one or more curing agents such as modified imidazole curing agents (Technicure LC-80) [0053 and 0066].
Given AUVIL teaches the adhesive composition comprises curing agents including imidazoles [0048], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the modified imidazole curing agents and substituted urea of VEERARGHAVEN with the adhesive composition of AUVIL for its art recognized function of curing the adhesive composition. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Conclusion
DEVE V. HALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/DEVE V HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763