DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim1, 10, 18 and 21-37 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims submitted on 2/9/26. The prior art of Sauer 4,451,070 is being reapplied due to the removal of the limitation “wherein the limiting portion has an acute angle in cross section”. This limitation was added to overcome the Sauer rejection in the amendment filed on 10/23/24 and now that the limitation is deleted, the art is being reapplied. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 18, 21-23 and 25-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sauer 4,451,070.
In regard to claim 1, Sauer discloses (fig. 5) a pipe connection assembly, comprising:
a first pipe 8 comprising a first end, a second end and a tubular wall between the first and
second ends, the tubular wall having an outer periphery;
a second pipe 7 comprising:
an insertion portion inserted into the first pipe from the second end of the first pipe,
and
a first protrusion 10 protruding radially outward from the insertion portion and forcing
the tubular wall of the first pipe 8 to expand radially outward to form a second protrusion;
and
a fixing member 39 sleeved around an outer periphery of the first pipe and disposed between the second protrusion and the second end of the first pipe, the fixing member comprising:
a first end 42 abutting against the second protrusion;
a second end 41 disposed between the first end of the fixing member and the second
end of the second pipe; and
a plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws 45 engaging with an outer periphery of
the first pipe, each of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws having an end portion 41
curved inwards in a radial direction to form a limiting portion.
In regard to claim 10, Sauer discloses an inflatable product (8 is flexible and therefore inflatable) having a pipe assembly, the pipe assembly comprising:
a first pipe 8 comprising a first end, a second end and a tubular wall between the first and
second ends, the tubular wall having an outer periphery;
a second pipe 7 comprising:
an insertion portion 7 inserted into the first pipe from the second end of the first pipe,
and
a first protrusion 10 protruding radially outward from the insertion portion and forcing the tubular wall of the first pipe to expand radially outward to form a second protrusion; and
a fixing member 39 sleeved around an outer periphery of the first pipe and disposed between the second protrusion and the second end of the first pipe, the fixing member comprising:
a first end 42 abutting against the second protrusion;
a second end 41 disposed between the first end of the fixing member and the second
end of the second pipe; and
a plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws 45 engaging with an outer periphery of
the first pipe, each of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws having an end portion 41
curved inwards in a radial direction to form a limiting portion.
In regard to claim 18, Sauer discloses an inflatable product comprising:
at least one inflatable chamber (8 has a bore and is flexible, therefore the bore of the 8 is inflatable) defining at least one tubular wall having an outer
periphery; and
a pipe assembly comprising:
a pipe 7 including an insertion portion inserted into the at least one inflatable
chamber 8;
a protrusion 10 protruding radially outward from the insertion portion and
forcing the at least one tubular wall to expand radially outward to form a second
protrusion; and
a fixing member 39 comprising:
a plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws 45 engaging with the outer
periphery of the at least one tubular wall, each of the plurality of circumferentially-
spaced claws having an end portion 41 curved inwards in a radial direction to form a
limiting portion.
In regard to claim 21, wherein the second protrusion (protrusion of 8) is positioned between the fixing member 39 and the first protrusion 10 and forms a seal between the first pipe and the second pipe.
In regard to claim 22, wherein the second protrusion forms a stop between the fixing member 39 and the first pipe 10 to prevent the fixing member from sliding out of the first pipe.
In regard to claim 23, wherein the first protrusion 10 entirely surrounds the insertion portion of the second pipe 7 in a circumferential direction.
In regard to claim 25, wherein the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws 45 extend from the second end of the fixing member in a lengthwise direction and extend towards the second pipe 7.
In regard to claim 26, wherein an inner diameter (at 41 or 42) defined between each of
the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws is less than an outer diameter of the first pipe 8.
In regard to claim 27, wherein the limiting portion 41 of each of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws is clamped to the outer periphery of the tubular wall of the first pipe 8.
In regard to claim 28, wherein a radial distance between each limiting portion 41 of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws and the first protrusion of the second pipe is less than a thickness of the tubular wall of the first pipe (see fig. 5).
In regard to claim 29, wherein the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws 45 extend from the second end of the fixing member in a lengthwise direction and extend towards the second pipe 7.
In regard to claim 30, wherein an inner diameter (at 41 or 42) defined between each of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws is less than an outer diameter of the first pipe.
In regard to claim 31, wherein a radial distance between each limiting portion 41 of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws and the first protrusion of the second pipe is less than a thickness of the first pipe (see fig. 5).
In regard to claim 32, wherein the second protrusion (protrusion of 8) is positioned between the fixing member 39 and the first protrusion 10 and forms a seal between the first pipe and the second pipe.
In regard to claim 33, wherein the second protrusion forms a stop between the fixing member 39 and the first pipe 7 to prevent the fixing member from sliding out of the first pipe.
In regard to claim 34, wherein the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws 45 extend from the fixing member in a lengthwise direction and extend towards the pipe (at 41).
In regard to claim 35, wherein an inner diameter defined between each of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws (at 41) is less than an outer diameter of the pipe 8.
In regard to claim 36, wherein the limiting portion of each of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws is clamped to the outer periphery of the tubular wall (see fig. 5).
In regard to claim 37, wherein a radial distance between each limiting portion of the plurality of circumferentially-spaced claws and the protrusion of the pipe is less than a thickness of the tubular wall of the first pipe (see fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer 4,451,070 in view of Huang 6,557,788.
In regard to claim 24, Sauer discloses a second pipe as described above, but it is unclear as to the exact structure of the second of the second pipe. Huang teaches that providing a second end of a second pipe 14 in a similar type of pipe coupling with an internal threaded end 12 is common and well known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to provide the second end of the second pipe 7 of Sauer with an internal threaded end, as taught by Huang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 18 and 21-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679