Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 6/16/2026.
The amendments are sufficient to overcome the objection to the claims.
The amendment is sufficient to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 1-2, 8-11 and 13-14 were amended. Therefore, claims 1-2, 8-11 and 13-14 are currently pending in the current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s argument regarding the prior art rejection of claim 1 is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kasuga et al. (US 20220003876 A1, “Kasuga”).
Applicant’s argument regarding the prior art rejection of claim 2 is not persuasive. However, because the amendments to claim 1 are persuasive, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kasuga.
The applicant states on page 11-12 of the remarks that neither “Price nor Donovan has taught or suggested the concept of ‘batch comparison’, ‘eliminating abnormal subframes’, ‘fusing normal subframes’. However, the applicant fails to consider Donovan Para [0131], Fig 21, where “if the two wavelengths are intended to be used for different distance ranges, then the angular resolution can be different”, as a batch comparison of sets of different wavelength points (i.e. subframes) via the generation of a single point cloud. In addition, the applicant also fails to consider Price [0101] and [0107], Fig 2 and 3, where as more specifically shown in Fig 15 and 16 the system will be calibrated at depths measured at different distances (short and long distances in Fig 2 and 3), calibrations including distortion and disparity in images, and therefore eliminating abnormal subframes. Donovan, Para [0131], where the “measurement point cloud 2100 generated by an embodiment of a multi-wavelength LIDAR” is a map generated from multiple sets of different wavelength points (different subframes), and therefore is a single map fusing normal (different emitted wavelengths dependent on distance range) subframes.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 3: “being witched for the detection range” appears to be --being switched for the detection range--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 20180227566 A1, "Price") in view of Grandjean et al. (DE 69801758 T2, "Grandjean"), Donovan (US 20170307736 A1, "Donovan") and Kasuga et al. (US 20220003876 A1, “Kasuga”).
Regarding claim 1, Price teaches a LiDAR system, comprising:
a microcontroller unit (Price, Para [0042], Fig 1, where the imaging system 100 can be a time-of-flight measurement device that modulates over time. Resultingly, the system must have a controller unit in order to modulate);
a laser light source, coupled to the microcontroller unit (Price, Para [0043], Fig 1, where the illuminator 104 can output multiple wavelength light within a wavelength range and is a part of the imaging system 100 and therefore coupled to the controller modulating the laser);
a lens module (Price, Para [0047], Fig 1, where the illuminator 104 may include lenses that can change the field of illumination (FOI) of the illuminator. Para [0052] discloses how the imaging sensor 106 may also include lenses to change the field of view (FOV)); and
a receiver, coupled to the microcontroller unit (Price, Para [0044], Fig 1, where the imaging sensor receives reflected light and is a part of the imaging system 100 and therefore coupled to the controller modulating the laser),
wherein:
the lens module includes (Price, Para [0076], Fig 5-2)
the receiver lens module receives a reflective light signal(Price, Para [0076], Fig 5-2, where the multiple lenses shown the light back toward the photoreceptor 265);
the laser light source emits a pulse signal with a cycle time (Price, Para [0042], Fig 1, where the imaging sensor 1-6 has a coordinated shutter that operates with light modulation, which when allowing for a time-of-flight dept measurement, implies a pulse emission and return time);
the microcontroller unit controls the receiver to turn on during a sensor shutter time and turn off during a reset time in each cycle time (Price, Para [0042], Fig 1, where the imaging sensor 1-6 has a coordinated shutter that operates with light modulation);
according to a plurality of sensor shutter times in the frame (Price, Para [0042], Fig 1, where the imaging sensor 1-6 has a coordinated shutter that operates with light modulation, which when allowing for a time-of-flight depth measurement, implies a pulse emission and return time),
However, Price does not teach the laser light source emits a plurality of laser lights with different wavelengths and includes a light coupler and a fiber, the light coupler optically coupling the laser lights into a collimated light signal transmitted through the fiber;
the lens module includes a laser beam splitter module
the laser beam splitter module includes a diffractive optical element and a collimation lens assembly;
the receiver lens module receives a reflective light signal of the diffractive lights reflected from the target, and emits the reflective light signal towards the receiver
in a sensor shutter time of a subframe in a frame, a plurality of pixels of the receiver receives at least one reflective light signal of the laser lights with different wavelengths, the receiver obtains of environmental images in sequence and takes distance values representing the reflective light signals as the distance values of the pixels in each the environmental images; and
the microcontroller unit fuses the distance values of the pixels of the subframes as a final distance value of the frame.
On the other hand, a different embodiment of Price teaches a diffraction grating as a part of a lens assembly, to produce the diffractive lights that can be adjusted axially for different FOI’s (Price, Para [0087], Fig 8, where the diffraction grating 364 can be used in Fig 5-1 to produce structured light for higher resolution).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of a first embodiment of Price in view a second embodiment of Price, by substituting the diffuser with a diffraction grating to produce structured light to which allows for the improvement angular resolution to improve depth calculations. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale B.
However, Price still does not teach the laser light source emits a plurality of laser lights with different wavelengths and includes a light coupler and a fiber, the light coupler optically coupling the laser lights into a collimated light signal transmitted through the fiber
the laser beam splitter module includes a and a collimation lens assembly;
in a sensor shutter time of a subframe in a frame, a plurality of pixels of the receiver receives at least one reflective light signal of the laser lights with different wavelengths, the receiver obtains of environmental images in sequence and takes distance values representing the reflective light signals as the distance values of the pixels in each the environmental images; and
the microcontroller unit fuses the distance values of the pixels of the subframes as a final distance value of the frame.
On the other hand, Grandjean teaches the use of collimating lenses and optical fibers to focus incoming emitted light (Grandjean, Para [0069], Fig 1A, where diffraction devices 12 collimate light transmitting through fiber 8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Price in view of Grandjean, by applying Grandjean’s optical fiber 8 to allow for the transport of radiation coming from the laser in the direction of the desired target See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale B.
Accordingly, it also would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Price in view of Grandjean, by applying diffractive-type devices 12 to correct any aberrations of the focused light while being transmitted through optical fiber 8. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale B.
However, Price in view of Grandjean still does not teach
in a sensor shutter time of a subframe in a frame, a plurality of pixels of the receiver receives at least one reflective light signal of the laser lights with different wavelengths, the receiver obtains of environmental images in sequence and takes distance values representing the reflective light signals as the distance values of the pixels in each the environmental images; and
the microcontroller unit fuses the distance values of the pixels of the subframes as a final distance value of the frame.
On the other hand, Donovan teaches the use of multiple wavelengths (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where multiple wavelengths are used to create an image using multiple lasers), using multiple subframes base on the distances measured from the different wavelengths (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where two wavelengths are used for different distance ranges which can be used as a combined point cloud image made up of multiple wavelength based subframes) to create a final map representing the distance of the frame (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where two wavelengths are used for different distance ranges which can be used as a combined point cloud image made up of multiple wavelength based subframes).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Price’s Lidar system, in view of Grandjean and Donovan, by using multiple wavelengths to achieve a frame rate, which would allow for increased resolution relative to a fast moving body. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale G.
However, Price in view of Grandjean and Donovan still does not teach the receiver obtains of environmental images in sequence and takes distance values representing the reflective light signals as the distance values of the pixels in each the environmental images.
On the other hand, Kasuga teaches multiple subframes of a single frame each with respective distance measurements, which are processed to obtain segment distance images in an order (Kasuga, Para [0106], Fig 4A-7, where a first frame can be split into a plurality of subframes which have respective distance measurements and therefore environmental images, similar to the first segment distance image as disclosed in Para [0168] to resultingly process in sequence).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Price’s Lidar system, in view of Grandjean, Donovan and Kasuga, by separating distance images into subframes with different distance ranges, such that in combination with Donovan (Para [0131], Fig 21) the different subframes of different ranges differentiated by wavelength are not processed with a distance continuity.
Regarding claim 2, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, and Kasuga teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 1,
wherein each subframe of the environmental images (Kasuga, Para [0106], Fig 4A-7, where a first frame can be split into a plurality of subframes which have respective distance measurements and therefore environmental images similar to the first segment distance image as disclosed in Para [0168]) includes a plurality of sampling areas, and plurality of the subframes (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where two wavelengths are used for different distance ranges such as the short and long ranges in Price, Fig 2 and Fig 3, which are compared to get a final combined point cloud image) is performed to identify abnormal and normal subframes (Price, Para [0101] and [0107], Fig 16, where distortion is identified and results in calibration for the 3D imaging system and therefore, in combination with Kasuga (Para [0106]) identifies abnormal and normal subframes); and
according to the result of the batch comparison, the microcontroller unit eliminates the fuses the fusing normal subframes as the final distance value of the frame (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where two wavelengths are used for different distance ranges such as the short and long ranges in Price, Fig 2 and Fig 3, which are compared to get a final combined point cloud image).
Regarding claim 3, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, and Kasuga teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 1, wherein the diffractive optical element has a function of rotation or oscillation (Price, Para [0121]-[0122], Fig 20, where the gimbal comprising the illuminator and therefore associated lenses can rotate vertically or horizontally).
Regarding claim 4, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, and Kasuga teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 1, wherein the receiver lens module includes a lens module with an adjustable focal length including at least one concave lens and at least one convex lens, which modulates a size of field of view according to a detection range (Price, Para [0076], Fig 5-2, where the lens module consists of the multiple lenses shown and moveable lens 258, which is moveable for different FOV's).
Regarding claim 5, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, and Kasuga teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 1, wherein the receiver lens module includes a plurality of lens modules with fixed focal lengths, each lens module including at least one concave lens and at least one convex lens, the lens modules being switched according to a detection range to modulate a size of field of view (Price, Para [0076], Fig 5-2, where the lens module consists of the combination of multiple lenses shown and moveable lens 258, which is moveable for different FOV's).
Regarding claim 7, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, and Kasuga teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 1, wherein the laser beam splitter module includes the diffractive optical element and a collimation lens assembly with an adjustable focal length, the collimation lens assembly being switched according to a detection range to modulate a range of field of image (Grandjean, Para [0069], Fig 1A, where diffraction-type devices 12 collimate light transmitting through fiber 8 and is used with Price’s Para [0087], Fig 8, diffraction grating and lens assembly where the lens module consists of the multiple lenses shown and moveable lens 354, which is moveable for different FOV's ).
Regarding claim 12, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, and Kasuga teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 1, wherein the sensor shutter time and the reset time are determined according to a detection range (Price, Para [0042], Fig 1, where the imaging sensor 1-6 has a coordinated shutter that operates with light modulation, which when allowing for a time of flight dept measurement, implies the modulation of different depths, such as in Fig 2 and Fig 3).
Regarding claim 13, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, and Kasuga teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 12, further including a start time and an end time, wherein the microcontroller unit controls the receiver to turn on between the start time and the end time within each cycle time (Price, Para [0042], Fig 1, where the imaging sensor 1-6 has a coordinated shutter that operates with light modulation, which when allowing for a time of flight depth measurement, implies the modulation of different depths, such as in Fig 2 and Fig 3), and to turn off during the remaining time (Price, Para [0042], Fig 1, where the imaging sensor 1-6 has a coordinated shutter that operates with light modulation, which when allowing for a time of flight depth measurement, implies the modulation of different depths, such as in Fig 2 and Fig 3);
the start time is determined according to a lower limit of the detection range (Price, Para [0064], Fig 2, where the lower limit is in between 5 degrees and 90 degrees (for the longer range)); and
the end time is determined according to an upper limit of the detection range (Price, Para [0056], Fig 3, where the upper limit is in between 60 degrees and 150 degrees (for the shorter range)).
Regarding claim 14, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, and Kasuga teaches a resolution improvement method of the LiDAR system according to claim 1, the method comprising:
setting the diffractive optical element as a movable element with a function of rotation and/or reciprocating movement (Price, Para [0121]-[0122], Fig 20, where the gimbal comprising the illuminator and therefore associated lenses can rotate vertically or horizontally from 1 degree to 180 degrees);
under conditions of a plurality of rotation angles or reciprocating positions, obtaining the the environmental images (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where two wavelengths are used for different distance ranges which can be used as a combined point cloud image made up of multiple wavelength based subframes);
each of the reflective light signals at each pixel of the subframes of the environmental images constituting a three-dimensional image with depth information (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where two wavelengths are used for different distance ranges which can be used as a combined point cloud image made up of multiple wavelength based subframes);
performing a batch comparison of average sub-distance values (Donovan, Para [0082], Fig 9, where in the multi wavelength LIDAR system are averaged to improve signal integrity) of the plurality of the subframes (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where two wavelengths are used for different distance ranges such as the short and long ranges in Price, Fig 2 and Fig 3, which are compared to get a final combined point cloud image) to identify abnormal subframes (Price, Para [0101] and [0107], Fig 16, where distortion is identified and results in calibration for the 3D imaging system and therefore, in combination with Kasuga (Para [0106]) identifies abnormal and normal subframes); and
after eliminating the abnormal subframes, fusing the of the sub-distance values(Kasuga, Para [0106], Fig 4A-7, where a first frame can be split into a plurality of subframes which have respective distance measurements and therefore environmental images similar to the first segment distance image as disclosed in Para [0168]), if the pixel has only one sub- distance value, selecting the one sub-distance value, if the pixel has no sub- distance value, selecting a maximum value within a detection range, and calculating the final distance value of (Donovan, Para [0131], Fig 21, where two wavelengths are used for different distance ranges which can be used as a combined point cloud image made up of multiple wavelength based subframes).
Claims 6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan and Dong et al. (US 20210341610 A1, "Dong").
Regarding claim 6, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan and Kasuga teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 1, wherein the laser beam splitter module includes the diffractive optical element (Grandjean, Para [0069], Fig 1A, where diffraction-type devices 12 collimate light transmitting through fiber 8 and is used with Price’s Para [0087], Fig 8, diffraction grating and lens assembly where the lens module consists of the multiple lenses shown and moveable lens 354, which is moveable for different FOV's).
On the other hand, Dong teaches a collimation lens assembly including a concave mirror and a collimating lens to make incoming light from multiple angles parallel (Dong, Para [0050], Fig 6, where concave reflector 3 and lens 4 as disclosed in Para [0047] also collimates light).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, Kasuga and Dong, by applying the use of a collimating light assembly to collimate the light diffracted by the lenses in Price Fig 5-1 for improving the strength of the optical signal and making the system more compact. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 8, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, Kasuga and Dong teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 6, wherein the diffractive optical element diffracts the laser lights into the diffractive lights, the collimation lens assembly being witched for the detection range(Grandjean, Para [0069], Fig 1A, where diffraction-type devices 12 collimate light transmitting through fiber 8 and is used with Price’s Para [0087], Fig 8, diffraction grating and lens assembly where the lens module consists of the multiple lenses shown and moveable lens 354, which is moveable for different FOV's ) is placed at a front of the diffractive optical element, and a mirror surface of the collimation lens assembly is perpendicular to an incident direction of the laser lights to converge the diffractive lights to be substantially parallel to each other (Dong, Para [0050], Fig 6, where concave reflector 3 and lens 4 as disclosed in Para [0047], in order to collimate diffracted light, can be placed in front of the lenses in Prince Fig 8).
Regarding claim 9, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, Kasuga and Dong teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 7, wherein the diffractive optical element diffracts the laser lights into the diffractive lights (Price, Para [0087], Fig 8, where the diffraction grating 364 can be used in Fig 5-1 to produce structured light for higher resolution), the collimation lens assembly is placed at a front of the diffractive optical element, and a mirror surface of the collimation lens assembly is perpendicular to an incident direction of the laser lights to converge the diffractive lights to be substantially parallel to each other (Dong, Para [0050], Fig 6, where concave reflector 3 and lens 4 as disclosed in Para [0047], in order to collimate diffracted light, can be placed in front of the combination of lenses in Price, Fig 8 ).
Regarding claim 10, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, Kasuga and Dong teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 6,wherein the laser beam splitter module further includes switched for the detection range(Grandjean, Para [0069], Fig 1A, where diffraction-type devices 12 collimate light transmitting through fiber 8 and is used with Price’s Para [0087], Fig 8, diffraction grating and lens assembly where the lens module consists of the multiple lenses shown and moveable lens 354, which is moveable for different FOV's ) is placed at a front of the concave mirror to converge the diffractive lights to be substantially parallel to each other (Dong, Para [0050], Fig 6, where concave reflector 3 and lens 4 as disclosed in Para [0047], in order to collimate diffracted light, can be placed in front of the combination of lenses in Price, Fig 8).
Regarding claim 11, Price in view of Grandjean, Donovan, Kasuga and Dong teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 7,wherein the laser bean splitter module further includes s into the diffractive lights (Price, Para [0087], Fig 8, where the diffraction grating 364 can be used in Fig 5-1 to produce structured light for higher resolution), the concave mirror collects the diffractive lights, and the collimation lens assembly is placed at a front of the concave mirror (Dong, Para [0050], Fig 6, where concave reflector 3 and lens 4 as disclosed in Para [0047], in order to collimate diffracted light, can be placed in front of the combination of lenses in Price, Fig 8) to converge the diffractive lights to be substantially parallel to each other.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645