Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the curved opening at a transition to the frame from claim 6 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to because a figure part is mislabeled. In Fig. 3, Sectional View: B-B, the lower “2a” arrow pointing upwards should be “2b”, indicating the 2b string-fitting plane for proper orientation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “slot-like” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slot-like” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, for this claim, “slot-like” is being interpreted as a channel into which something fits.
Claim 6 is indefinite, due to the lack of any further description in the specification or figures. “Curved in a convex manner” is relative depending on orientation, and “transition to the frame” is vague and ill-defined. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DE 202005009721 U1 (hereinafter “Inside Sport”).
Regarding claim 1, Inside Sport discloses stringing arrangement for a ball sports racket (Fig. 1, 1) that has a string array (Fig. 1, 5); a frame (Fig. 1, 3) that substantially surrounds the string array; and string guides (Fig. 1, 4) formed on the frame, the string guides supporting and guiding strings of a racket string-fitting (Para. 0006), wherein the string guides are formed asymmetrically such that a free length of the string respectively guided on the string guide is substantially perpendicular to a striking direction and to a string-fitting plane of the racket and is greater on a first side of the string-fitting plane than on a second side of the string-fitting plane so that a tension and/or elasticity criterion of the stringing arrangement is different for each of the first and second sides of the string-fitting plane (Para. 0007).
Regarding claim 2, Inside Sport further discloses that the string guides (Fig. 1, 4) are designed in the form of openings as string channels which pass through the frame from an inside to an outside so that the channels have an asymmetrical widening at their opening facing the string array (Para. 0009).
Regarding claim 3, Inside Sport further discloses that the opening facing the string array is widened in the shape of a funnel parallel to the striking direction (Para. 0009, “truncated cone”).
Regarding claim 4, Inside Sport discloses all the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses the opening facing the string array is widened in a slot-like manner parallel to the striking direction (Fig. 2, 7, Para. 0009). “Slot-like” is being interpreted as stated supra regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inside Sport as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Inside Sport discloses all the limitations of claim 2. However, Inside Sport does not specifically recite that the opening facing the string array is widened in steps parallel to the striking direction. Further specifying how the opening is widened (i.e. steps), as opposed to a “truncated cone” (Para. 0009) in Inside Sport’s disclosure accomplishes the same feat of receiving strings through an asymmetric widening of an opening. Thus, claiming widening in steps is a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed opening is significant. See MPEP 2144 - In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inside Sport as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 9302159 B2 (hereinafter “Schwenger”).
Regarding claim 6, Inside Sport discloses all the limitations of claim 2. However, Inside Sport does not specifically recite that the opening facing the string array is curved in a convex manner such that it is curved at a transition to the frame and fits tightly to the played string. Schwenger, in the analogous art of racket sports, discloses an opening that faces the string array and is curved in a convex manner which receives racket strings (Fig. 4C). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate different opening designs to vary the force/tension profile of the racket strings (Schwenger, Col. 6, lines 36-38). Additionally, further specifying how the opening is widened (i.e. in curving fashion), as opposed to a “truncated cone” (Para. 0009) in Inside Sport’s disclosure accomplishes the same feat of receiving strings through an asymmetric widening of an opening. Thus, claiming widening in a curved manner is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed opening is significant. See MPEP 2144 - In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). As a reminder to Applicant, this claim is subject to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection due to lack of clarity and is being interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inside Sport as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 10369422 B2 (hereinafter, “Yamanaka”).
Regarding claim 7, Inside Sport discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Inside Sport does not specifically disclose that the asymmetrical string guide is created by a frame profile which is thickened on one side of the string-fitting plane. However, Yamanaka, analogous in the art of racket sports, discloses a frame profile that is thicker on one side (Fig. 2, 21) of the string-fitting plane (Fig. 2, B1) (See also Col. 5, lines 25-29). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adjust frame thickness in order to enhance the asymmetric design of Inside Sport to produce a greater tension differential between the two sides. Additionally, one might be motivated to adjust the frame alone to prevent having to change from a conventional bore shape in order to create the different-tensioned sides.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inside Sport as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20060046876 A1 (hereinafter, “Tucker”).
Regarding claim 8, Inside Sport discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Inside Sport does not specifically disclose that the asymmetrical string guide is created by stiffening the strings on one side. In the analogous art of stringed sports equipment, Tucker discloses stiffening material that can be applied to different areas of strings on player equipment (Abstract). Thus, it would be obvious to apply the stiffening material of Tucker to an area on the racket to enable a firmer surface on one side/area for versatility and customizable use.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inside Sport as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 6782154 B2 (hereinafter, “Kazuya”).
Regarding claim 9, Inside Sport discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Inside Sport does not disclose that the asymmetrical string guide is created by a plurality of sleeve-like inserts fitted into the frame, the inserts being designed in such a way that the strings can move more freely on one side of the string- fitting plane compared to the other side of the string-fitting plane. Kazuya, in the analogous art of racket sports, discloses sleeve-like inserts (Fig. 4, 51) that fit into the frame that allow the string to move different distances (i.e. more freely) on one side of the string-fitting plane than the other (Para. 0041, Fig. 2A). Thus, to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing it would be obvious to substitute the asymmetric bore holes of Inside Sport for the fitted-sleeve insert design for increased compatibility with conventional rackets, allowing players to use their own rackets rather than having to purchase a new racket or drill new bore holes.
Regarding claim 10, modified Inside Sport further discloses that the plurality of inserts are contiguous, connected in one piece (Fig. 4, 52), and abuts a frame side (Para. 0034). Motivation for modification is as stated supra.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inside Sport as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 107998628 A (hereinafter, “Huilin”).
Regarding claim 11, Inside Sport discloses all limitations of claim 1. While Inside Sport discloses a handle (Fig. 1, 2), it is silent regarding if the handle has a haptically detectable attachment indicating an orientation of the string-fitting plane. Huilin, in the analogous art of racket sports, discloses a racket with a handle that has asymmetric features (Fig. 2, 5) that enable the user to “distinguish the front and back of the racket by feel” (Para. 0020). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the wooden grip (Fig. 2, 5) is attached to the conical cap (Fig. 2, 4) that makes up the handle, thus qualifying it as a haptically detectable attachment. Thus, to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing it would be obvious to for Inside Sport to include an asymmetric handle so that the player can feel and know which side of the racket they are playing with.
Regarding claim 12, Inside Sport discloses all limitations of claim 1. Inside Sport does not specifically disclose coloration of the racket, specifically that the frame indicates an orientation of the string-fitting plane by a different coloring of the two playing sides. Huilin discusses conventional methods in the art of racket sports, stating “Currently, the distinction between the front and back sides is based on the color of the racket” (Para. 0004). Thus, to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing it would be obvious to for Inside Sport to include different coloration so that the player can know which side of the racket they are playing with. Use of two different colored sides in rackets is widely known in the art.
Conclusion
/S.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711