DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication of 8/4/2023. Currently claims 1-20 are pending and rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bahar et al. (US 2020/0353417 A1).
Bahar teaches a coated tubing (figure 4 and figure 6-7), comprising an etched PTFE tubing (see para [0010] and scaffold PTFE) with an inner surface and an outer surface,(as in figure 4 for one example) wherein the outer surface comprises a layer of PEBA (see paras [0009]-[0010] and PEBA coated on the scaffold) thereon with an average thickness of less than 1 micron (see para [0009] and preferably less than 5 μm).
Concerning claim 3 and prepared using a PEBA-containing solution (see para [0011] and solution casting).
Concerning claim 4 and the PEBA-containing solution comprises a solvent selected from methanol, ethanol, 2-methyl-2-propanol, 1-butanol, 2-butanol, and mixtures thereof (see para [0029] and solvent is ethanol).
Concerning claim 7 and the PEBA-containing solution is at a temperature of 20*C to 100*C at the time of coating (see para [0029]-[0031] and note the temp during drying and coating).
Concerning claim 8 and the average thickness of the layer of PEBA is below 0.9 μm (see paras [0009]-[0010] and PEBA coated on the scaffold).
Concerning claim 9 and the average thickness of the layer of PEBA is below 0.8 μm (see paras [0009]-[0010] and PEBA coated on the scaffold).
Concerning claim 10 and a jacket layer comprising PEBA or a polyamide coated on the layer of PEBA (see figure 5 and note multiple layers of PEBA 20 forming a jacket layer on the underlying layers of PEBA).
Concerning claim 11 and the layer of PEBA consists essentially of PEBA (see para [0006], [0009] and the discussion of the PEBA film).
Concerning claim 12 and the layer of PEBA comprises one or more additives (see para [0018] and biocide addition).
Concerning claim 13 and the layer of PEBA is substantially free of residual solvent (see para [0015] and water use instead of solvent).
Concerning claim 14 and the coated tubing is a catheter liner (see para [0005] and use in catheters).
Concerning claim 15 and a catheter comprising the coated tubing (see para [0005] and use in catheters).
Concerning claim 16 and a coated tubing comprising a tubing comprising (figure 4 and figure 6-7) a fluoropolymer (see para [0010] and scaffold PTFE), with an inner surface and an outer surface (as in figure 4 for example), wherein the outer surface comprises a tie-layer thereon, wherein the tie-layer has an average thickness of less than 1 micron (see para [0009] and preferably less than 5 μm).
Concerning claim 17 and a method of preparing a coated tubing with an inner surface and an outer surface, comprising: providing an etched PTFE tubing (see para [0010] and scaffold PTFE), with an inner surface and an outer surface; dissolving PEBA in one or more solvents to provide a PEBA-containing solution (see para [0011] and solvent casting); and applying the PEBA-containing solution to the outer surface of the etched PTFE tubing to give a layer of PEBA thereon with an average thickness of less than 1 micron (again see para [0011] and solvent casting para [0009] and preferably less than 5 μm).
Concerning claim 18 and the dissolving comprises heating and/or agitating the PEBA in one or more solvents (see para [0015] and heating).
Concerning claim 19 and the PEBA-containing solution comprises a solvent selected from non-aromatic alcohols (see para [0029] and solvent is ethanol a nonaromatic alcohol compound).
Concerning claim 20 and the non-aromatic alcohol is selected from methanol, ethanol, 2- methyl-2-propanol, 1-butanol, 2-butanol, and mixtures thereof (again see para [0029] and solvent is ethanol - a nonaromatic alcohol compound).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahar et al. (US 2020/0353417 A1).
Bahar discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that the PEBA has a durometer of 25 to 72. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the PEBA with a durometer of 25 to 72, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is disclosed the the PEBA may be the PEBAX product (para [0003]) and this is known to have a durometer of 25 to 72 (see Key Properties of Pebax® Elastomers | Arkema High Performance Polymers as evidence of this property).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahar et al. (US 2020/0353417 A1) in view of Montes de Oca et al. (US 2019/0030214 A1).
Bahar discloses the claimed invention except for the the PEBA-containing solution comprises 1-butanol. Montes de Oca teaches that it is known to use the PEBA-containing solution comprises 1-butanol as set forth in para [0026] to providing a suitable medium that allows application or wetting of a coating formulation to a surface of a tubular catheter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Bahar with the PEBA-containing solution comprises 1-butanol as taught by Montes de Oca, since such a modification would provide the system with the PEBA-containing solution comprises 1-butanol for providing a suitable medium that allows application or wetting of a coating formulation to a surface of a tubular catheter.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahar et al. (US 2020/0353417 A1).
Bahar discloses the claimed invention except for the PEBA-containing solution at a wt/vol ratio of less than 0.10 g/mL . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have PEBA-containing solution at a wt/vol ratio of less than 0.10 g/mL, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Bahar discloses adjusting the ratio but does not specify less than 0.10 g/mL (see para [0029]-[0031]. Examiner is of the position that Bahar discusses using little or no solvent (see para [0015] and water use instead of solvent) so examiner is of the position that a PHOSITA would use a ratio less than 0.10g/mL in order to form the PEBA layer in order to adhere and dry as appropriate to the adherence needed to form a compliant catheter with safe and biocompatibility.
Conclusion
PHILLIP A. GRAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/PHILLIP A GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783