Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al. (US 2024/0270234 A1) in view of Nicosia (US 2014/0204934 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weston discloses a cellular network system comprising:
a radio access network (RAN) comprising a core network (see RAN, [0073]); and
a storage management server (see database [0033]) configured to:
receive travel data associated with a mobile device (obtaining speed data from various sensors, [0020]);
determine whether the travel data meets an unusual behavior (see “undesired behavior”, [0056]) threshold (see “threshold” [0018],[0056], inter alia) associated with unusual behavior for a user of the mobile device (see “undesired behavior”, [0056]);
in response to determining that the travel data meets or exceeds the threshold (see [0037], “ greater than the threshold speed”), cause the travel data to be stored in long term storage (see [0056], “historical data) including sensor data previously collected by the vehicle sensors 108 and/or the trailer sensors” wherein historical data is stored in database described earlier in [0033] as storage of various forms of long term storage including “optical media”, “hard drives”, “magnetic media” etc.), the long term storage being greater than a predetermined time length associated with short term storage (see [0033], “optical media”, “hard drives”, “magnetic media” are long term types of storage); and
Weston does not specifically disclose however Nicosia discloses in response to determining that the travel data does not meet or exceed the threshold, cause the travel data to be stored in short term storage (see [0031] when speed is below threshold, information is placed in non-volatile memory, which is for longer term storage);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Nicosia with that of Weston. Doing so would conform to well-known conventions in the field of invention.
Regarding claims 8 & 15, Weston discloses a storage management server and method comprising:
a processor (see processor [0075]) configured to:
receive travel data associated with a mobile device via a series of clusters that
each comprise a distributed unit (DU) (see mobile [0034]) that communicates with a central unit (CU) and cellular towers (see RAN , [0073], known to have central network unit and cellular towers);
determine whether the travel data meets an unusual behavior (see “undesired behavior”, [0056]) threshold (see “threshold” [0018],[0056], inter alia) associated with unusual behavior for a user of the mobile device (see “undesired behavior”, [0056]);
in response to determining that the travel data meets or exceeds the threshold (see [0037], “ greater than the threshold speed”), cause the travel data to be stored in long term storage (see [0056], “historical data) including sensor data previously collected by the vehicle sensors 108 and/or the trailer sensors” wherein historical data is stored in database described earlier in [0033] as storage of various forms of long term storage including “optical media”, “hard drives”, “magnetic media” etc.), the long term storage being greater than a predetermined time length associated with short term storage (see [0033], “optical media”, “hard drives”, “magnetic media” are long term types of storage); and
Weston does not specifically disclose however Nicosia discloses in response to determining that the travel data does not meet or exceed the threshold, cause the travel data to be stored in short term storage (see [0031] when speed is below threshold, information is placed in non-volatile memory, which is for longer term storage);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Nicosia with that of Weston. Doing so would conform to well-known conventions in the field of invention.
Regarding claims 2, 9 & 16, Weston in view Nicosia discloses the system, server and method of claims 1, 9 & 15,
Weston does not specifically disclose wherein the storage management server is further configured to in response to determining that the travel data being less than the unusual behavior threshold (see normal speed, i.e. not speeding [0031]), store the travel data for short term storage which is less than the
predetermined time length (store in long term memory, non-volatile [0031]) ;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Nicosia with that of Weston. Doing so would conform to well-known conventions in the field of invention.
Regarding claims 3, 10 & 17, Weston in view Nicosia discloses the system, server and method of claims 1, 9 & 15, wherein the unusual behavior threshold is
determined based on movement behavior that the user takes that is unusual for the user based on
historical movement data of the user (see historical data [0056]).
Regarding claims 6, 13 & 20, Weston in view Nicosia discloses the system, server and method of claims 1, 9 & 15, wherein the travel data comprises locations and
times corresponding to respective locations of the mobile device (see different positions at different points in time [0027], also see GPS [0028]).
Regarding claims 7 & 14, Weston in view Nicosia discloses the system, server and method of claims 1 & 9, wherein the RAN further comprises a central unit (CU); and a series of clusters that each comprise a distributed unit (DU) that communicates with the CU and cellular towers, wherein each respective cluster creates and then transmits the
travel data from the DU of the cluster (see RAN, [0073]) to the storage management server (see database [0033]).
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston et al. (US 2024/0270234 A1) in view of Nicosia (US 2014/0204934 A1) in further view of Abbott et al. (US 2021/0287262 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Weston in view of Nicosia disclose the system of claim 3, server of 11 and method of 17,
Here, Abbott best discloses wherein the unusual behavior threshold is calculated based on a score (see score [0075]), whereby the score is calculated by determining a number of instances the user has made the movement behavior in the past based on comparing the user's travel data with past movement behavior (see behaviors [0002]) stored in the historical movement data of the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 & 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643