DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 (line 9), should recite “receive an engagement force to move the index plunger inwardly along an”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “”at least one feature configured to restrain a range of movement of the index plunger along its axial axis” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Page 5, Para [007] sets forth “the index member can include at least one feature that constrains a range of movement of the index plunger along its axial axis,” but does not provide details to the corresponding structure which permits the range of movement to be constrained. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 20220234123 to Zhou et al.
In re claim 11, a shoe positioning system for use with a power tool that operates on a work piece, the shoe positioning system comprising:
a shoe (143) configured to abut the work piece;
an indexing member (140) including a base region and a plurality of elevated portions (see Annotated Figure 1, above) extending upwardly to a maximum elevation above the base region, wherein the plurality of elevated portions are separated by a plurality of index openings (1412) that do not extend upwardly to the maximum elevation above the base region;
an index plunger (145) coupled to the shoe, wherein the index plunger includes a transverse portion (as shown in at least Figure 11) having a lowest elevation that is maintained at an elevation above the elevated portions of the indexing member, and wherein the index plunger includes an engagement portion (1452) extending downwardly from the transverse portion towards the base region of the indexing member; and
wherein:
the shoe is configured to move along a longitudinal dimension with respect to the indexing member (Para 0042);
the index plunger is configured to move along an axial dimension (103) inwardly towards index openings and outwardly away from the index openings, wherein the index plunger is moveable to a first position and a second position with respect to the indexing member (Para 0042), wherein the axial dimension is orthogonal to the longitudinal dimension (as shown in at least Figure 11, by arrow a))
when the index plunger is in the first position, at least a portion of the engagement portion is positioned in one of the index openings of the indexing member, thereby preventing substantial movement of the shoe along the longitudinal dimension with respect to the indexing member (Para 0042);
and when the index plunger is in the second position, the at least a portion of the engagement portion is positioned outside the index openings of the indexing member, thereby permitting movement of the shoe with respect to the indexing member along the longitudinal dimension, such that at least a portion of at least one elevated portion passes under the transverse portion of the index plunger as the shoe moves along the longitudinal direction, wherein said outside of the index openings is on a side of the index openings opposite the engagement portion of the index plunger (see Annotated Figure 1).
Examiner’s note, the index plunger moves in a vertical direction, which moves the plunger vertically outside the opening, in an opposite direction than when the engagement portion engages the opening.
.
In re claim 12, further comprising a spring (1453) configured to bias the index plunger towards the first position.
In re claim 14, wherein:
the spring (1453) is configured to maintain the index plunger (145) in the first position when an engagement force is not received by the index plunger; and
the spring (1453) is configured to return the index plunger (145) to the first position when the index plunger is in the second position and the engagement force is removed from the index plunger.
In re claim 15, wherein the axial axis (103) of the index plunger and the longitudinal dimension are substantially orthogonal (as shown in at least Figure 11).
In re claim 16, wherein two of the index openings (1412) are spaced apart from each other along the longitudinal dimension.
In re claim 17, the shoe (143) includes a slot (as shown in at least Figure 11, the shoe is recessed relative to the side ridges, creating a slot which receives the indexing member) configured to receive the indexing member.
In re claim 18, wherein the indexing member (140) is configured to be mounted to the power tool (as shown in at least Figure 22).
In re claim 19, wherein the indexing member (140) further comprises at least one feature (see Annotated Figure 1, above, Pg. 6) configured to constrain a range of movement of the shoe along the longitudinal dimension.
Per the disclosure the at least one feature is a ridge. The plain and ordinary meaning of the term “ridge” per Merriam Webster Dictionary, defined as an elevated body part or structure has been applied to the pending application.
In re claim 20, as best understood, the indexing member further comprises at least one feature (see Annotated Figure 11, above) configured to constrain a range of movement of the index plunger (145) along its axial axis (see Annotated Figure 2, below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20220234123 to Zhou et al. in view of US Patent No. 3,770,236 to Marsh et al.
In re claim 1, Zhou teaches a shoe positioning system for use with a power tool that operates on a work piece, the shoe positioning system comprising:
a shoe (143) configured to abut the work piece;
an indexing member (140) movably engaged with the shoe to permit movement of the shoe along a longitudinal dimension (as shown in at least Figure 11, via arrow (a)), wherein the indexing member includes a plurality of elevated portions (see Annotated Figure 1 on Pg. 6, below) separating a plurality of index openings (1412);
an index plunger (145) coupled to the shoe, wherein the index plunger is configured to receive an engagement force to move the index plunger inwardly, and wherein the index plunger includes an engagement portion (Para 0042); and
wherein:
when the engagement force is not received by the index plunger, the engagement portion is configured to be disposed in a first position (Para 0042);
when the engagement force is received by the index plunger, the engagement portion is configured to move to a second position (Para 0042);
when the index plunger is in the first position, the engagement portion of the index plunger is received by at least one of the index openings, thereby preventing the shoe from substantially moving along the longitudinal dimension with respect to the indexing member (Para 0042); and
when the index plunger is in the second position, the engagement portion of the index plunger is moved inwardly and is outside of the index openings, thereby permitting the shoe to move along the longitudinal dimension with respect to the plurality of elevated portions and plurality of index openings (Para 0042), wherein said outside of the index openings is on a side of the index openings opposite the engagement portion of the index plunger.
In re claim 5, wherein an axial axis (103) of the index plunger and the longitudinal dimension are substantially orthogonal (as shown in at least Figure 11).
In re claim 6, wherein two of the index openings (1412) are spaced apart from each other along the longitudinal dimension.
In re claim 8, wherein the indexing member (140) is configured to be mounted to the power tool (as shown in at least Figure 22).
In re claim 9, wherein the indexing member (140) further comprises at least one feature ((see at least Figure 11 and Annotated Figure 1, above) configured to constrain a range of movement of the shoe along the longitudinal dimension.
Per the disclosure the at least one feature is a ridge. The plain and ordinary meaning of the term “ridge” per Merriam Webster Dictionary, defined as an elevated body part or structure has been applied to the pending application.
In re claim 10, as best understood, wherein the indexing member further comprises at least one feature (see Annotated Figure 11, above) configured to constrain a range of movement of the index plunger (145) along its axial axis (see Annotated Figure 2, Pg. 8, above).
In re claim 11, a shoe positioning system for use with a power tool that operates on a work piece, the shoe positioning system comprising:
a shoe (143) configured to abut the work piece;
an indexing member (140) including a base region and a plurality of elevated portions (see Annotated Figure 1, above) extending upwardly to a maximum elevation above the base region, wherein the plurality of elevated portions are separated by a plurality of index openings (1412) that do not extend upwardly to the maximum elevation above the base region;
an index plunger (145) coupled to the shoe, wherein the index plunger includes a transverse portion (as shown in at least Figure 11) having a lowest elevation that is maintained at an elevation above the elevated portions of the indexing member, and wherein the index plunger includes an engagement portion (1452) extending downwardly from the transverse portion towards the base region of the indexing member; and
wherein:
the shoe is configured to move along a longitudinal dimension with respect to the indexing member (Para 0042);
the index plunger is configured to move along a dimension (103) wherein the index plunger is moveable to a first position and a second position with respect to the indexing member (Para 0042), wherein the dimension is orthogonal to the longitudinal dimension (as shown in at least Figure 11, by arrow a))
when the index plunger is in the first position, at least a portion of the engagement portion is positioned in one of the index openings of the indexing member, thereby preventing substantial movement of the shoe along the longitudinal dimension with respect to the indexing member (Para 0042);
and when the index plunger is in the second position, the at least a portion of the engagement portion is positioned outside the index openings of the indexing member, thereby permitting movement of the shoe with respect to the indexing member along the longitudinal dimension, such that at least a portion of at least one elevated portion passes under the transverse portion of the index plunger as the shoe moves along the longitudinal direction, wherein said outside of the index openings is on a side of the index openings opposite the engagement portion of the index plunger (see Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a plunger which moves inwardly about axis (103) to move between index openings which permit and/or prohibit movement of the plunger in a longitudinal direction, but does not teach the index plunger is configured to receive an engagement force to move the index plunger inwardly in an axial dimension orthogonal to the longitudinal dimension and regarding claim 11, in the event on may argue Zhou does not teach the index plunger is configured to move along an axial dimension inwardly towards index openings and outwardly away from index openings, wherein the axial dimension is orthogonal to the longitudinal dimension.
The concept of a spring located rod is known across various arts to permit and/or inhibit motion as a corresponding structure slides in a vertical direction. Marsh teaches in the art of vertically adjustable structures, a positioning system having an index plunger (44) configured to receive an engagement force to move the plunger inwardly in an axial dimension orthogonal to the longitudinal dimension, and wherein the plunger includes an engagement portion (50),
wherein:
when the engagement force is not received by the index plunger, the engagement portion is configured to be disposed in a first position (Col. 2, lines 47-67, Col. 3, lines 1-11);
when the engagement force is received by the index plunger, the engagement portion is configured to move to a second position (Col. 2, lines 47-67, Col. 3, lines 1-11);
when the index plunger is in the first position, the engagement portion of the index plunger is received by at least one of the index openings, thereby preventing the shoe from substantially moving along a longitudinal dimension with respect to the indexing member (Col. 2, lines 47-67, Col. 3, lines 1-11); and
when the index plunger is in the second position, the engagement portion of the index plunger is moved inwardly along the first direction and is outside of the index openings, thereby permitting the shoe to move along the longitudinal dimension with respect to the indexing member (Col. 2, lines 47-67, Col. 3, lines 1-11) and said outside the index openings is on a side of the index openings opposite the engagement portion of the index plunger (as shown in at least Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (when building from the ground up) to modify the plunger arrangement Zhou to move along an axial dimension (a linear axis) orthogonal to the longitudinal dimension (of the plunger) as taught by Marsh which is an obvious design locking arrangement variant to prevent unwanted movement of the plunger which leads to the reduction in user injury. Known work in one field of endeavor may have prompted variations of it for use in either the same of a different on based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one skill in the art. The modification of Zhou in view of Marsh would have been obvious for the following reasons:
A finding that the scope and content of the prior art, whether in the same field of endeavor as that of the applicant’s invention or a different field of endeavor, included a similar or analogous device (method, or product).
The Examiner recognized that vertical slides with corresponding a lock are found in various fields of endeavors. Zhou is in the sawing field of endeavor, while Marsh is in the field of endeavor of adjusting an elongated tubular member of a chair or stool, which is a different field of endeavor; however, both Zhou and Marsh include similar devices. The scope of Marsh is to vertically adjust corresponding tubular rods and secure the adjusted rods via a locking pin and spring arrangement to maintain the tube in an adjusted position. This is done by the locking pin sliding through the desired opening to secure the corresponding tubes. The Examiner concluded that based on the teachings of Marsh, the device of Zhou could have been modified using a locking pin and spring arrangement, in which the locking pin moves along axial direction.
A finding that there were design incentives or market forces which would have prompted adaptation of the known device (method, or product).
The Examiner recognized there was a design need to lock the device of Zhou with a locking pin and spring arrangement as taught by Marsh to prevent unwanted movement of the shoe positioning system during sawing. This reduces user injury. Based on the teachings of Marsh, the Examiner concluded the modification would have lead to the advantages set forth above.
A finding that the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art were encompassed in known variations or in a principle known in the prior art.
The Examiner recognized that differences between the claimed invention were disclosed in the prior art to both Zhou and Marsh. Marsh encompasses known variations, for instance, a locking pin which biased and moved along an axis of the pin to permit locking of two corresponding parts relative to one another. Zhou teaches the same concept; however, the locking pin pivots about an axis. The concept of modifying Zhou to have a locking arrangement as taught by Marsh would still permit proper locking to prevent unwanted movement and reduce the risk for user injury.
(4) A finding that one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the identified design incentives or other market forces, could have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art, and the claimed variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The Examiner determined that based on the teachings of March, that the shoe positioning system of Zhou could have a locking pin and spring arrangement as taught by Zhou, since it would not jeopardize the intended locking purpose of the shoe. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been knowledgeable that the expectation of success, of providing the shoe positioning system with a locking pin moving in the axial direction would still permit the shoe to perform the intended operation.
(5) Whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
The Examiner recognized that Marsh teaches a locking pin and spring arrangement that moves along the axis of the locking pin to lock two corresponding structures, which is in view of the facts of the case under consideration. Therefore, based on the facts of the case, one would have been prompted to look to known work in one field of endeavor to prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different field based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In other words, one would have looked to the locking pin and spring arrangement of Marsh to modify Zhou to lock the positioning member, since the modification would not jeopardize the integrity of the positioning member.
In re claim 2, modified Zhou teaches further comprising a spring (1453, Marsh) configured to bias the index plunger along the axial dimension towards to engagement portion being disposed in the first position (Col. 2, lines 61-67, Col. 3, lines 1-3, Marsh).
In re claim 3, modified Zhou teaches wherein the spring (58, Marsh) substantially surrounds an axial portion of the index plunger (44, Marsh).
In re claim 4, modified Zhou teaches wherein:
the spring (1453, Zhou) is configured to maintain the index plunger in the first position when the engagement force is not received by the index plunger (Para 0042, Zhou); and
the spring is configured to return the index plunger to the first position when the index plunger is in the second position and the engagement force is removed from the index plunger (Para 0042, Zhou).
In re claim 13, modified Zhou teaches wherein the spring (58, Marsh) substantially surrounds a portion of the index plunger (44, Marsh).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Zhou teaches an indexing member, but does not teach further comprise at least one feature configured to constrain a range of the movement of the index plunger along its axial axis.
Examiner’s note, the rejection of claim 20 above is not wrong; however, this merely provides an alternative interpretation.
Marsh teaches in the art of vertically adjustable structures, a positioning system having an index plunger (44) configured to receive an engagement force to move the plunger in a first direction inwardly along its axial axis (as shown in at Figure 1), and wherein the plunger includes an engagement portion (50), and a notch (70) which receives a corresponding flange (34) of the respective hole.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the opening of Zhou with a flange to receive the plunger as taught by Marsh to prevent the pin for withdrawing due to inadvertent action of the lever (Col. 3, lines 37-51).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. in view of Marsh et al., as applied to the above claims, and in further view of US Patent No. 9,701,035 to Bertsch et al.
In re claim 7, Zhou teaches the indexing member (140) having a slot sliding along a rail of the shoe (143) and does not teach the shoe include a slot configured to receive the indexing member.
Bertsch teaches a shoe (100) includes a slot (172) configured to receive the indexing member (104).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (when building from the ground up) before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the shoe arrangement of Zhou with a slot for receiving the indexing member as taught by Bertsch which is merely an obvious design variant of mechanical slides to maintain linear motion while preventing unwanted lateral movement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 31, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Zhou’s alleged plunger does not move in an axial dimension orthogonal to the longitudinal dimension of movement of the alleged shoe, since Zhou’s alleged plunger 145, rotates.
Zhou teaches the plunger moves in an axial dimension, which is vertical axis (103), as shown in at least Figure 11. Movement of the plunger with respect to the axial dimension permits the plunger to move orthogonal to the longitudinal dimension (a) as shown in at least Figure 11. Per Merriam Webster Dictionary, the term “axial” is defined as “of, relating to, or having characteristics of an axis” and the term “dimension” is defined as “parameter of coordinate variable assigned to such a property; one of three coordinates determining a position in space of four coordinates determining a position in space and time.” The term “axial” does not define a specific direction. Due to the BRI of the term “axial” there is nothing precluding the interpretation of Zhou that has been set forth in the above office action, in that, Zhou moves along the axial dimension (103).
Applicant argues engagement portion (1452) is blocked from moving outside of the alleged index opening by the fixing member 141.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The index opening is a space and when the engagement portion is disengaged from the opening, the slider moves. Disengaging the engagement portion moves a portion of it (in a vertical direction) outside the opening so that the indexing plunger can move in the longitudinal direction.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724