DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2025 and 08/04/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
The claims filed 08/04/2023 are under consideration.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. Rejections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “and/or” in the last line should be changed to “and” to conform with Markush language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 103999865 B (Hou) as evidenced by Adnan, Plant Disease, 2018, cyflufenamid, AgData, 2026, and zoxamide, AgData, 2026 and CN 103999865 B, Scifinder entry, 2026.
Hou teaches compositions comprising a combination of cyflufenamid and zoxamide which are present in ratio ranging from 1:20-1:2 (Hou, e.g., claim 1). The composition is applied to agricultural plants, e.g., wheat (cereals), watermelon and cucumber are named (Hou, e.g., claim 4). The composition may be in the form of granules, aqueous dispersion or aqueous emulsion (Hou, e.g., claim 3). Aqueous emulsion is a liquid solvent and/or diluent.
Hou’s method is necessarily effective to control phytopathogenic fungi as claimed.
In the original document, e.g., table at ¶ 0034, the final row lists the combination:
The first compound is cyflufenamid (环氟菌胺), and the second compound is zoxamide
(苯酰菌胺) as evidenced by the cyflufenamid and zoxamide documents respectively.
Additionally, the CN 103999865 B Scifinder entry indexes the reference as teaching the claimed combination. See, e.g., pg. 2, CAS # 1447822-34-5:
To the extent that claims 3-4 and 10-11 refer to an effect of practicing the method of claim 1: it is noted that at least zoxamide was known to control Botrytis cinerea, and Venturia inaequalis. See Adnan, e.g., Abstract and pg. 1299. Thus, control of the named species is an inherent feature of Hou’s method.
Hou anticipates the subject matter of instant claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou, CN 103999865 B (Hou) evidenced by cyflufenamid, AgData, 2026, and zoxamide, AgData, 2026, and CN 103999865 B, Scifinder entry, 2026 in view of Bayer, WO 2015189110 (cited on Applicant’s IDS dated 06/03/2025).
The teachings of Hou enumerated above are reiterated here.
Hou teaches a method according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein the composition further comprises at least one active ingredient selected from: fungicides other than components (A) and (B), insecticides, plant growth regulators, antibiotics, herbicides, fertilizers and/or mixtures thereof.
However, Bayer teaches fungicides which are synergistic with cyflufenamid such as biaxafen, spiroxamine and optionally prothioconazole (Bayer, e.g., Title, Abstract, claims, examples). The synergistic compositions are effective for controlling Venturia inaequalis (Bayer, e.g., pg. 12:22) and Botrytis cinerea (Bayer, e.g., pg. 13:5, and 14:3). Further, Bayer teaches fungicidal compositions may further comprise preservatives, e.g., dichlorophene or benzyl alcohol hemiformal (Bayer, e.g., pg. 21:29-31). Additionally, Bayer teaches fungicidal compositions may further comprise fertilizers (Bayer, e.g., pg. 7:16-25).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to modify compositions comprising a synergistic mixture of cyflufenamid and zoxamide used in Hou’s method by including additional fungicides or fertilizers as suggested by Bayer with a reasonable expectation of success. Since Hou employs synergistic combinations of cyflufenamid with zoxamide, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to include other fungicides known to be synergistic with cyflufenamid to practice the method with a reasonable expectation of success. Since Bayer suggests similar synergistic combinations of cyflufenamid benefit from the addition of fertilizers, the skilled artisan would have had motivation to practice Hou’s method with a composition further comprising a fertilizer in the same way with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both documents teach methods for protecting crops using synergistic cyflufenamid combinations.
To the extent that Hou does not expressly teach practicing the method for controlling Botrytis cinerea, and Venturia inaequalis:
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to practice Hou’s method to control Botrytis cinerea and Venturia inaequalis fungi with a reasonable expectation of success. Hou’s composition contains a synergistic combination of cyflufenamid fungicides. Bayer provides a teaching which would have prompted the skilled artisan to use synergistic fungicide combinations containing cyflufenamid to control Botrytis cinerea and Venturia inaequalis fungi on similar crops. Thus, Bayer provided a teaching which would have prompted the skilled artisan to practice Hou’s method to control Botrytis cinerea and Venturia inaequalis fungi with a reasonable expectation of success.
Accordingly, the subject matter of claims 1-18 would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/WILLIAM CRAIGO/Examiner, Art Unit 1615