DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 contains the limitation “a first busbar connected to the first plurality of contact fingers, and a second busbar connected to the third plurality of contact fingers, the first busbar and the second busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the first busbar and the second busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein the first busbar is an outermost busbar for the first solar cell, and the second busbar is an outermost busbar for the second solar cell, and wherein the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction” and “a third busbar connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and to the fourth plurality of contact fingers, the third busbar continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the first busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the second busbar” and also includes the limitation “wherein the photovoltaic string further comprises: a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell”. The instant specification does not provide support for both a third busbar connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell. Further, the instant specification does not provide support for “wherein the first busbar is an outermost busbar for the first solar cell, and the second busbar is an outermost busbar for the second solar cell, and wherein the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction” in combination with the limitation that the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell.
Claims 3-7 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim 8 contains the limitation “a first plurality of contact fingers and a second plurality of contact fingers over the first solar cell along a first direction, the first plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the second plurality of contact fingers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction; a third plurality of contact fingers and a fourth plurality of contact fingers over the second solar cell along the first direction, the third plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the fourth plurality of contact fingers along the second direction; a first conductive structure connected to the first plurality of contact fingers and to the third plurality of contact fingers, the first conductive structure discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein the first conductive structure is an outermost conductive structure for the first solar cell and the second solar cell, and wherein the first conductive structure extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction; a second conductive structure connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and to the fourth plurality of contact fingers, the second conductive structure continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no conductive structures laterally between the second conductive structure and the first conductive structure” and also contains the limitation “wherein the photovoltaic string further comprises: a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell”. The instant specification does not provide support for both a second conductive structure connected to the second plurality of contact fingers in combination with a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell. Further, the instant specification does not provide support for “wherein the first conductive structure is an outermost conductive structure for the first solar cell and the second solar cell, and wherein the first conductive structure extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction” in combination with the limitation that the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell.
Claims 9-15 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim 16 contains the limitation “forming a first plurality of contact fingers and a second plurality of contact fingers over the first solar cell along a first direction, the first plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the second plurality of contact fingers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction; forming a third plurality of contact fingers and a fourth plurality of contact fingers over the second solar cell along the first direction, the third plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the fourth plurality of contact fingers along the second direction; forming a first busbar connected to the first plurality of contact fingers, and a second busbar connected to the third plurality of contact fingers, the first busbar and the second busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the first busbar and the second busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein the first busbar is an outermost busbar for the first solar cell, and the second busbar is an outermost busbar for the second solar cell, and wherein the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction; forming a third busbar connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and to the fourth plurality of contact fingers, the third busbar continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the first busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the second busbar” and also contains the limitation “wherein the method further comprises: forming a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell”. The instant specification does not provide support for both a third busbar connected to the second plurality of contact fingers in combination with a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell. Further, the instant specification does not provide support for “wherein the first busbar is an outermost busbar for the first solar cell, and the second busbar is an outermost busbar for the second solar cell, and wherein the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction” in combination with the limitation that the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell.
Claims 17-20 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 16 contain the limitations “a first plurality of contact fingers and a second plurality of contact fingers over the first solar cell along a first direction, the first plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the second plurality of contact fingers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction; a third plurality of contact fingers and a fourth plurality of contact fingers over the second solar cell along the first direction, the third plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the fourth plurality of contact fingers along the second direction; a first busbar connected to the first plurality of contact fingers, and a second busbar connected to the third plurality of contact fingers, the first busbar and the second busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the first busbar and the second busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein the first busbar is an outermost busbar for the first solar cell, and the second busbar is an outermost busbar for the second solar cell, and wherein the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction; a third busbar connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and to the fourth plurality of contact fingers, the third busbar continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the first busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the second busbar; a fourth busbar over the first solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the third busbar such that the third busbar is laterally between the fourth busbar and the first busbar, and a fifth busbar over the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the third busbar such that the third busbar is laterally between the fifth busbar and the second busbar, the fourth busbar and the fifth busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the fourth busbar and the fifth busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the fourth busbar and the third busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the fifth busbar and the third busbar” and “a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell”. The structure of the device and the method required by claims 2 and 16 is unclear. How can the first edge conductive interconnect be disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell and also be above or directly connected to the second plurality of conductive finger when the second plurality of conductive fingers are connected to the third busbar and there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the first busbar? Where is the first edge conductive interconnect located in relation to the first, second and third busbars and the first and second conductive fingers? Since the structure and method required is not clear from the claims, the limitations in claims 2 and 16 of a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell will not be further treated on the merits.
Claims 3-7 and 17-20 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim 8 contains the limitation “a first plurality of contact fingers and a second plurality of contact fingers over the first solar cell along a first direction, the first plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the second plurality of contact fingers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction” and “a first conductive structure connected to the first plurality of contact fingers and to the third plurality of contact fingers, the first conductive structure discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein the first conductive structure is an outermost conductive structure for the first solar cell and the second solar cell, and wherein the first conductive structure extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction; a second conductive structure connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and to the fourth plurality of contact fingers, the second conductive structure continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no conductive structures laterally between the second conductive structure and the first conductive structure” and “a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell”. The structure of the device required by claim 8 is unclear. How can the first edge conductive interconnect be disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell and also be above or directly connected to the second plurality of conductive finger when the second plurality of conductive fingers are connected to the second conductive structure and there are no conductive structures laterally between the second conductive structure and the first conductive structure? Where is the first edge conductive interconnect located in relation to the first and second conductive structures and the first and second conductive fingers? Since the structure required is not clear from the claims, the limitations in claim 8 of “a first edge conductive interconnect disposed along and in contact with an edge of the first solar cell, wherein the first edge conductive interconnect is disposed above or directly connected to the second plurality of contact fingers of the first solar cell” will not be further treated on the merits.
Claims 9-15 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6-12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 104282774A, see English machine translation previously provided for mapping).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses a photovoltaic string in Annotated Figure 6 above, comprising:
a first solar cell and a second solar cell ([69]-[70], see top and bottom solar cell in Annotated Figure 6 above);
a first plurality of contact fingers and a second plurality of contact fingers over the first solar cell along a first direction, the first plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the second plurality of contact fingers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above, see contact fingers connected to first and third busbars);
a third plurality of contact fingers and a fourth plurality of contact fingers over the second solar cell along the first direction, the third plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the fourth plurality of contact fingers along the second direction ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above, see contact fingers connected to second and third busbars);
a first busbar connected to the first plurality of contact fingers, and a second busbar connected to the third plurality of contact fingers, the first busbar and the second busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the first busbar and the second busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above), wherein the first busbar is an outermost busbar for the first solar cell (As shown in Annotated Figure 6 above, the first busbar is the outermost right busbar for the first solar cell), and the second busbar is an outermost busbar for the second solar cell (As shown in Annotated Figure 6 above, the second busbar is an outermost right busbar for the second solar cell);
a third busbar connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and to the fourth plurality of contact fingers, the third busbar continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the third bus bar and the first busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the second busbar ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above);
a fourth bus bar over the first solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the third busbar such that the third busbar is laterally between the fourth busbar and the first busbar, and a fifth busbar over the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the third busbar such that the third busbar is laterally between the fifth busbar and the second busbar, the fourth busbar and the fifth busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the fourth busbar and the fifth busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the fourth bus bar and the third busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the fifth busbar and the third busbar ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above);
a sixth busbar over the first solar cell and the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the fourth busbar and the fifth busbar such that the fourth busbar is laterally between the sixth busbar and the third busbar, and the fifth busbar is laterally between the sixth busbar and the third busbar, the sixth busbar continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the sixth bus bar and the fourth busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the sixth busbar and the fifth busbar (See Annotated Figure 6 above); and
a seventh bus bar over the first solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the sixth busbar such that the sixth busbar is laterally between the seventh busbar and the fourth busbar, and an eighth busbar over the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the sixth busbar such that the sixth busbar is laterally between the eighth busbar and the fifth busbar, the seventh busbar and the eighth busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the seventh busbar and the eighth busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein the eighth busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction, and wherein there are no busbars laterally between the seventh bus bar and the sixth busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the eighth busbar and the sixth busbar (See Annotated Figure 6 above).
In the embodiment of Figure 6, Lin does not disclose that the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction. However, in the embodiment of Figure 5 Lin discloses a first and second outermost busbars (rightmost outer busbars in Figure 5) corresponding to the first and second outermost busbars of the embodiment of Figure 6 wherein the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction (Figure 5 and [67]-[68]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the embodiment of Figure 6 of Lin such that the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction in the manner disclosed in Figure 5 of Lin, since such a modification would merely require a rearrangement of parts of the invention, specifically a rearrangement of the locations of the extending bus ribbons. It has been held that rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 3, modified Lin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lin additionally discloses that the third busbar is parallel with the first busbar and the second busbar along the second direction (See Annotated Figure 6 above, the first, second and third busbars are all parallel with each other and extend in the second direction).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Lin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lin additionally discloses that the first busbar extends beyond an edge of the first solar cell opposite the second solar cell and the second busbar extends beyond an edge of the second solar cell opposite the first solar cell (Modified Lin, Figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses a photovoltaic string in Annotated Figure 6 above, comprising:
a first solar cell and a second solar cell ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above, see top and bottom solar cells);
a first plurality of contact fingers and a second plurality of contact fingers over the first solar cell along a first direction, the first plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the second plurality of contact fingers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above, see fingers attached to first and third busbars);
a third plurality of contact fingers and a fourth plurality of contact fingers over the second solar cell along the first direction, the third plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the fourth plurality of contact fingers along the second direction ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above, see fingers attached to second and third busbars);
a first conductive structure (first and second busbars form first conductive structure) connected to the first plurality of contact fingers and to the third plurality of contact fingers, the first conductive structure discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell (first and second busbars are discontinuous between the first and second solar cell, [69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above), wherein the first conductive structure is an outermost conductive structure for the first solar cell and the second solar cell (As shown in Annotated Figure 6 above, the first and second busbars are the outermost busbars for the first and second solar cells); and
a second conductive structure (third busbar shown in Annotated Figure 6 above) connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and to the fourth plurality of contact fingers, the second conductive structure continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no conductive structures laterally between the second conductive structure and the first conductive structure ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above);
a third conductive structure (fourth busbar) over the first solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the second conductive structure such that the second conductive structure is laterally between the third conductive structure and the first conductive structure, and a fourth conductive structure (fifth busbar) over the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the second conductive structure such that the second conductive structure is laterally between the fourth conductive structure and the first conductive structure, the third conductive structure and the fourth conductive structure in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the third conductive structure and the fourth conductive structure discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no conductive structures laterally between the third conductive structure and the second conductive structure, and there are no conductive structures laterally between the fourth conductive structure and the second conductive structure (See Annotated Figure 6 above);
a fifth conductive structure (sixth busbar) over the first solar cell and the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the third conductive structure and the fourth conductive structure (fourth and fifth busbars) such that the third conductive structure is laterally between the fifth conductive structure and the second conductive structure, and the fourth conductive structure is laterally between the fifth conductive structure and the second conductive structure (See Annotated Figure 6 above), the fifth conductive structure (sixth busbar) continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the fifth conductive structure and the third conductive structure, and there are no busbars laterally between the fifth conductive structure and the fourth conductive structure (See Annotated Figure 6 above); and
a sixth conductive structure (seventh busbar) over the first solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the fifth conductive structure (see Annotated Figure 6 above) such that the fifth conductive structure is laterally between the sixth conductive structure and the third conductive structure (See Annotated Figure 6 above), and a seventh conductive structure (eight busbar) over the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the fifth conductive structure (sixth busbar) such that the fifth conductive structure is laterally between the seventh conductive structure and the fourth conductive structure (see Annotated Figure 6 above), the sixth conductive structure and the seventh conductive structure in alignment with one another along the second direction (seventh and eight busbar are aligned as shown in Annotated Figure 6 above), and the sixth conductive structure and the seventh conductive structure discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell (seventh and eight busbars are separated as shown in Annotated Figure 6 above) and wherein the seventh conductive structure (eight busbar) extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction (See Annotated Figure 6 above, the eighth busbar extends beyond the second solar cell) and wherein there are no busbars laterally between the sixth conductive structure and the fifth conductive structure, and there are no busbars laterally between the seventh conductive structure and the fifth conductive structure (See Annotated Figure 6 above).
In the embodiment of Figure 6, Lin does not disclose that the first conductive structure (includes first and second busbars in Annotated Figure 6) extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction. However, in the embodiment of Figure 5 Lin discloses a first and second outermost busbars (rightmost outer busbars in Figure 5) corresponding to the first and second outermost busbars of the embodiment of Figure 6 wherein the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction (Figure 5 and [67]-[68]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the embodiment of Figure 6 of Lin such that the first conductive structure including the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction in the manner disclosed in Figure 5 of Lin, since such a modification would merely require a rearrangement of parts of the invention, specifically a rearrangement of the locations of the extending bus ribbons. It has been held that rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 9-12, modified Lin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lin additionally discloses that the first conductive structure and the second conductive structure are parallel with one another along the second direction (See Annotated Figure 6 above), wherein the first conductive structure comprises a first busbar over the first solar cell, and a second busbar over the second solar cell (See Annotated Figure 6 above) and wherein the second conductive structure is a third conductive busbar (See Annotated Figure 6 above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Lin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lin additionally discloses that the first conductive structure (first and second busbar) extends beyond an edge of the second solar cell opposite the first solar cell (modified Lin, Figure 5).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses a method of fabricating a photovoltaic string ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above), the method comprising:
providing a first solar cell and a second solar cell ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above);
forming a first plurality of contact fingers and a second plurality of contact fingers over the first solar cell along a first direction, the first plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the second plurality of contact fingers along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above);
forming a third plurality of contact fingers and a fourth plurality of contact fingers over the second solar cell along the first direction, the third plurality of contact fingers alternating with and overlapping with the fourth plurality of contact fingers along the second direction ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above);
forming a first busbar connected to the first plurality of contact fingers, and a second busbar connected to the third plurality of contact fingers, the first busbar and the second busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the first busbar and the second busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above), wherein the first busbar is an outermost busbar for the first solar cell (As shown in Annotated Figure 6 above, the first busbar is the outermost right busbar for the first solar cell), and the second busbar is an outermost busbar for the second solar cell (As shown in Annotated Figure 6 above, the second busbar is an outermost right busbar for the second solar cell); and
forming a third busbar connected to the second plurality of contact fingers and to the fourth plurality of contact fingers, the third busbar continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the third bus bar and the first busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the third busbar and the second busbar ([69]-[70] and Annotated Figure 6 above);
forming a fourth bus bar over the first solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the third busbar such that the third busbar is laterally between the fourth busbar and the first busbar, and a fifth busbar over the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the third busbar such that the third busbar is laterally between the fifth busbar and the second busbar, the fourth busbar and the fifth busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the fourth busbar and the fifth busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the fourth bus bar and the third busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the fifth busbar and the third busbar (See Annotated Figure 6 above);
forming a sixth busbar over the first solar cell and the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the fourth busbar and the fifth busbar such that the fourth busbar is laterally between the sixth busbar and the third busbar, and the fifth busbar is laterally between the sixth busbar and the third busbar, the sixth busbar continuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein there are no busbars laterally between the sixth bus bar and the fourth busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the sixth busbar and the fifth busbar (See Annotated Figure 6 above); and
forming a seventh bus bar over the first solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the sixth busbar such that the sixth busbar is laterally between the seventh busbar and the fourth busbar, and an eighth busbar over the second solar cell and laterally spaced apart from the sixth busbar such that the sixth busbar is laterally between the eighth busbar and the fifth busbar, the seventh busbar and the eighth busbar in alignment with one another along the second direction, and the seventh busbar and the eighth busbar discontinuous between the first solar cell and the second solar cell, wherein the eighth busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction, and wherein there are no busbars laterally between the seventh bus bar and the sixth busbar, and there are no busbars laterally between the eighth busbar and the sixth busbar (See Annotated Figure 6 above).
In the embodiment of Figure 6, Lin does not disclose that the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction. However, in the embodiment of Figure 5 Lin discloses a first and second outermost busbars (rightmost outer busbars in Figure 5) corresponding to the first and second outermost busbars of the embodiment of Figure 6 wherein the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction (Figure 5 and [67]-[68]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the embodiment of Figure 6 of Lin such that the second busbar extends beyond the second solar cell along the second direction in the manner disclosed in Figure 5 of Lin, since such a modification would merely require a rearrangement of parts of the invention, specifically a rearrangement of the locations of the extending bus ribbons. It has been held that rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 17, modified Lin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lin additionally discloses that the third busbar is parallel with the first busbar and the second busbar along the second direction (See Annotated Figure 6 above, the first, second and third busbars are all parallel with each other).
Regarding claim 20, modified Lin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lin additionally discloses that the first busbar extends beyond an edge of the first solar cell opposite the second solar cell and the second busbar extends beyond an edge of the second solar cell opposite the first solar cell (modified Lin, Figure 5).
Claims 4, 5, 13, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 104282774A, see English machine translation previously provided for mapping), as applied to claims 2, 8 and 16 above, in view of Rim et al. (US 2015/0280018).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 13, 14, 18 and 19, modified Lin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lin does not explicitly discloses that the first and second pluralities of contact fingers are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions in a substrate of the first solar cell, and wherein the third and fourth pluralities of contact fingers are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions in a substrate of the second solar cell or the first and second pluralities of contact fingers are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions above a substrate of the first solar cell, and wherein the third and fourth pluralities of contact fingers are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions above a substrate of the second solar cell.
Rim discloses a back contact solar cell comprising first and second pluralities of contact fingers (158, 160) that are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions (150, 152) in a substrate (100) of the solar cell (Figure 4 and [49]-[51]) or the first and second pluralities of contact fingers (128, 130) are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions (120, 122) above a substrate (100) of the solar cell (Figure 3 and [45]-[48]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device and method of modified Lin such that the first and second pluralities of contact fingers are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions in a substrate of the first solar cell, and wherein the third and fourth pluralities of contact fingers are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions in a substrate of the second solar cell or the first and second pluralities of contact fingers are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions above a substrate of the first solar cell, and wherein the third and fourth pluralities of contact fingers are coupled to corresponding semiconductor regions above a substrate of the second solar cell, as taught by Rim, because it would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that modified Figure 6 of Lin does not disclose the newly added limitations of claims 2, 8 and 16.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly added limitations to claims 2, 8 and 16 are unclear and are not supported by the instant specification (See 35 USC 112 (a) and (b) rejections above). As a result, the newly added limitations have not been further treated on the merits and the rejection over modified Lin has been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728